An official website of the State of Oregon
How you know »
(how to identify a Oregon.gov website)
An official website of the State of Oregon »
You are here:
Welcome to the Juvenile Division of the Multnomah County Circuit Court. Court cases handled by juvenile court come in different types including Dependency: for families working with the Department of Human Services (DHS) regarding safety and welfare of children; and Delinquency: court cases that involve youth under the age of 18 who have violated laws or engaged in behavior that may require court ordered supervision. Also handled at juvenile court is Emancipation: becoming your own guardian; and Expunction: removing juvenile charges from your record.
Dependency petitions involve a person who is under 18 years of age. Situations in which a dependency petition may be filed, include a child
This is the process by which a juvenile 16 to 18 years of age, can obtain most of the rights and responsibilities of an adult, including the ability to contract, loan, and work for adult wages. The Juvenile Department in Multnomah County will assist a juvenile with filing emancipation. There are filing fees. Emancipation applications are available through the Juvenile Department accessed through the reception desk at the Juvenile Justice Complex, 1401 NE 68th Ave., Portland, OR 97213. For forms or more information please contact the Department of Community Justice
Persons residing in Oregon who are currently required to register as sex offenders, from cases originating from a juvenile offense, can be relieved of that requirement under certain circumstances by filing a petition in court. There is a filing fee.Oregon Youth Authority provides a Frequently Asked Questions information sheet about the process.
Measure 11 requires that any person age 15 or older arrested for certain crimes be charged as an adult.
The purpose of this proceeding is the extinguishment of all legal ties between a parent and a child. Parental rights may be terminated by consent of the parents or involuntarily by order of the court. The rights of one parent may be terminated without affecting the rights of the other parent. Petitions are usually filed by the Attorney General’s or District Attorney’s office on behalf of children who have been committed to the Department of Human Services - Child Welfare.
This is the process by which a person requests that the court expunge (remove/seal) juvenile charges from their record. The Juvenile Department in Multnomah County will assist a person with filing an expunction. Expunction applications are available through the Juvenile Department accessed through the reception desk at the Juvenile Justice Complex, 1401 NE 68th Ave., Portland, OR 97213. For forms or more information please contact the Department of Community Justice
A youth arrested for a crime may be booked into custody and held at the Donald E. Long Detention Center. You will receive a call from the detention center to let you know your child is in custody and to expect more information within 1 day.If the case proceeds, your child will be assigned a Juvenile Court Counselor (JCC), who will help your child navigate the legal system and provide guidance and support. Your child will have his or her preliminary hearing (first court appearance for this charge) in the afternoon of the next business day. If your child doesn’t have an attorney, he or she will be given an assigned attorney at the preliminary hearing. For more information please refer to:
Juvenile Justice Center1401 NE 68th Ave.Portland, OR 97213
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock icon ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website.
Only share sensitive information on official, secure websites.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how