You are here:
If you have not paid your balance in full within 30 days of sentencing, and have not set up a payment plan, one or more of the following may occur:
A party has 30 days from sentencing to pay in full any fees, fines, and obligations ordered by the court. If a payment plan has not been set up within 30 days from sentencing, the following information below will apply:
Payment Schedule Fees for Financial Obligations Not Paid in Full within 30 Days Under Oregon law (ORS 1.202(1)) additional fees are added to any judgment that includes a monetary obligation that the court or judicial branch is charged with collecting. Under this statutory authority, the Chief Justice imposes an extra fee of:
The fees are added without further notice to the debtor or further order of the court. The fee is added to any case that is not paid in full 30 days after a judgment is entered.
Your debt may have also been sent to a collection agency and collections fees added to the financial obligation.
You may either come in person, or contact the Court Collection Unit, on or before your payment due date.
If you have set up a payment plan, and you believe you will have trouble making your payment, please contact the Court Collections Unit. Failure to make the payment may result in one or more of the following:
If you were notified by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) that your license was suspended due to unpaid citation(s), or that you have a pending suspension for unpaid citations(s), you will either need to pay in full, or set up a payment plan on that citation(s). In order to either reinstate your license or stop a pending suspension, you will need to obtain a “clearance” from the court. Please contact the Collections Unit for more information. You will need your case/citation number.
Oregon law (ORS 1.202) requires the court to add a fee to any judgment that includes money owed to the court. Examples: filing fees on a civil or family law case, traffic fines, parking fines, criminal fines. If the balance is not paid in full within 30 days of the judgment being entered into the court's records, the law imposes an extra fee. A fee of 28% of the case balance will be added to each case referred to collections. All past due debt may be referred out for collection and garnishment or seizure of state tax refund(s) may occur.
You can make payments in the following ways:
If the court ordered you to pay fines/fees, they are due on the day of sentencing. If you are unable to pay the balance in full within 30 days from sentencing, the court may allow you to set up a payment plan.
There is a fee for setting up a payment plan. A one-time fee of not less than $50.00, and not more than $200, will be automatically assessed to the case without further notice to the debtor, or further order by the court (ORS 1.202 and CJO 11-027).
The Court Collection Unit will set up and monitor your payment plan; working with you to establish a monthly payment and due date, which may vary depending on the balance owed. A payment agreement will need to be filled out with the court to set up a payment plan that works best for you. The court does not send monthly billing statements, or reminders. It is your responsibility to make sure the payments are received as agreed.
Your payment plan may be set up by either visiting our Court Collections Unit in person, or over the phone
If making a payment online, a payment plan must be set up in order to pay less than the balance owed.
There are several ways to make a payment on your payment plan; by our OJD Courts E-Pay, by mail, by phone, or in person. Before making your payment, be sure to have your case or citation number(s) available. If you do not know what your case or citation number is, you may be able to look it up Online Records Search.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how