Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon Judicial Department Logo

Written Transcript Requests

A Written Transcript of non-confidential court proceedings can be requested online, in-person, or by mail, phone, or fax. A Written Transcript is a word-for-word transcription of the audio recorded during a court proceeding. An audio recording will be needed for the transcriber. Written Transcripts are prepared by private transcribers and fees are paid directly to the transcriber.

To request an audio recording, refer to the Audio Copy Requests page.

To request documents from a court case, refer to the Case File Copies page, or Juvenile Records Requests page for Juvenile cases.

​​ Transcripts may be requested through an online web form.​​

Email Written Transcript Requests to: ​​​​​

In-person: Fill out the Written Transcript Request Form and hand in at the Jury window on the 1st floor of the Justice Building.

Mail: Fill out the Written Transcript Request Form​. Click to download the form. Mail form to:
Jackson County Circuit Court
100 S. Oakdale Ave.
Medford, OR 975​01

Phone: Call in request to the Transcript Coordinator 541-776-7171 ext. 35052. When a request is called in a staff member will ask the questions listed on the request form.

Fax: Fill out the Written Transcript Request Form​ and fax to the court at 541-776-7057.

After you submit your request, the Transcript Coordinator will provide you with a list of outside transcribers to contact for an estimate of cost and time to prepare the transcript.​

Transcription Fees​​

​The fees for transcripts are set by state law (ORS 21.345) at:

  • Up to $4.25 per page for the original transcript, payable to the private transcriber.
  • If you are requesting a Non-Appeal Transcript, the transcriber may charge more than $3.00 per page. The transcriber will notify you regarding those costs prior to preparation of the transcript.​
  • You may request that your transcript be expedited, but the transcriber may charge you a higher amount per page.
Fees are paid directly to the private transcriber. The private transcriber will tell you what forms of payment they accept (cash, check, money order, credit cards, etc.) and when the payment is due.​

Audio Recording for Transcription​

An audio recording will be necessary for transcription. Audio recordings are provided on compact disk (CD). See the Audio Copy Requests page to request​ an audio recording.

  • ​$10.00 per CD is due immediately to the Courts to create a CD(s).

All fees must be paid in full before audio recordings are produced. Payment of the fees can be made by cash, check, cashier check, money order, Visa, MasterCard, or Discover.

For payment of fees by phone, using a credit card, call the Audio Request unit at​ ​541-776-7171 ext. 35024. You may also mail your check or money order with your request to:

​Jackson County Circuit Court​
100 S. Oakdale Avenue
Medford, OR 97501-3127

​The amount of time it takes for the transcriber to prepare your transcript depends on the length of the hearing or trial being transcribed and the current workload of the transcriber. Questions or concerns about the time it will take to prepare a transcript should be discussed with the assigned transcriber.​