An official website of the State of Oregon
How you know »
(how to identify a Oregon.gov website)
An official website of the State of Oregon »
You are here:
1036 SE Douglas Ave, Roseburg OR 97470Room 201, Justice Building, Douglas County Courthouse
Main Phone Line: 541.957.2470Restraining Orders: 541.957.2427Child Support: 541.957.2449Divorces, Custody, Modifications: 541.957.2403
Forms available: 8:00 A.M. – Noon; Monday through Friday
Filing hours: 8:00 A.M – Noon & 1:00 P.M. – 5:00 PM; Monday through Friday.
The Don Mills Family Law Center is a place to find some court approved family law forms, such as dissolution, custody, parenting time plans, enforcement, modifications and information about court procedures.
This center also provides a Family Law Facilitator. Family Law Facilitators are not attorneys and cannot help you with legal advice or strategy, but they are authorized to review paperwork with you in certain family law matters before you try to file. Reviews are available by appointment only. To schedule an appointment, call 541.957.2403 or email your request to email@example.com
**NOTE* Children are not allowed in the review area, so you must provide your own day care.
Family law cases include divorce, separation, child custody, and modification involving child custody, parenting time, and child support. There is generally a fee for filing these types of cases. Filing fees are due at the time of filing. View fee schedule.
Mediation is an opportunity for the parties to settle custody and parenting time issues out of court instead of going to trial and asking a judge to make these decisions. The mediator is a neutral person who helps guide settlement discussions, provides information, and writes down agreements. There is no fee for court-ordered mediation.
Mediation is mandatory in all contested custody and parenting time cases unless waived by a judge. Family abuse restraining order cases are exempt by law. Parties should notify the mediator if domestic violence is an issue in the case.
Arbitration is mandatory in domestic relation cases in which the only contested issue is the division or other disposition of property. Arbitration is a procedure, much like a trial but less formal. Arbitrators are Oregon State Bar members and have been approved by the Douglas County Arbitration Commission.
The cost of arbitration is $125.00 per hour not to exceed 8 hours ($1,000.00). The cost is shared by the parties. Each party is required to pay $500.00 to the arbitrator prior to the hearing.
For further information on arbitration please refer to UTCR Chapter 13.
Oregon law requires a parenting plan in court cases involving parenting time. The parenting plan may be general or detailed. It must show how much time, at minimum, the children will spend with each parent. ORS 107.102 View Parenting Plans.
The court requires parties to complete a parent education class in all contested domestic relations cases involving custody or parenting time.
Douglas County, Oregon requires a minimum three hour class. The court will accept any appropriate class as long as it meets the minimum three hour requirement.
Online Parenting Programs Douglas County (OR) Online Parenting Classes The Center for Divorce Education
Child support is money regularly paid by a parent to help support a child. The court can order child support to be paid. Oregon has guidelines for calculating support. Your attorney or the Family Resource Center can provide help with child support.
Division of Child support
How to Prepare for your Trial Brochure
Associated trial fees
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock icon ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website.
Only share sensitive information on official, secure websites.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how