Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon Judicial Department Logo

Juror Resources

Juror Orientation

jurors in a courtroomOn the day you are instructed to appear for jury service, you will attend the jury orientation, you will then be directed to the courtroom where you will either be selected for a jury panel or excused. 

To lessen the impact of jury service, our court has created a system in which jurors are only required to serve on one trial to complete their service. If you are not selected for a jury panel, you will continue to call the code-a-phone as you may be selected again during the remainder of your service month. Most trials do not last more than a couple of days. 

A very small minority of jurors are summoned for grand jury, which involves a 2 month commitment. 

Once a Juror has served as instructed by the court, the juror’s obligation is complete for a two-year period.

We thank those who have spent the time - and completed the hard work -- of serving on a jury.


You are eligible if:

  • You live in Douglas County, are a U.S. citizen, and are at least 18 years of age.​
You are NOT eligible if:​
  • You have reported for jury duty in a state or federal court in Oregon within the previous 24 months, even if you were not called to a courtroom or selected for jury duty.
  • You have been convicted of a felony and on the day you are to report for jury duty, you are 1) in state prison, or 2) in county jail as a condition of a suspended sentence.
If you are not eligible to be a juror for one of these reasons, you should check the appropriate box on the Juror Eligibility Form that came with your summons, sign the declaration and mail it back to the court.

Oregon law provides that "the opportunity for jury service shall not be denied or limited on the basis of race, national origin, gender, age, religious belief, income, occupation, or any other factor that discriminates against a cognizable group in this state." A person who is blind, hearing or speech impaired or physically disabled shall
not be ineligible to act as a juror, or be excluded from a juror list because of their impairment. 

If you are 70 years of age, you may be excused upon request. Please indicate that on the Jury Eligibility Form and return it back to the court.​

Other reasons to be excused should be indicated on the Jury Eligibility Form and returned to the Jury Coordinator; i.e. critical medical condition; breast-feeding a new born baby; moved out of state or another county; prior service; full time student; non-citizen; active duty armed forces.​

​If you are unable to serve as a juror for any term, you may request to be deferred to another month. You must choose a month not more than (1) year from the date of your original summons. On the Jury Eligibility Form, please indicate which month you would like to serve. Please be aware that the court can work with a juror if they need dates off during their month of service.

Yes, you would need to advise the Jury Coordinator of days you would not be available for service. In most cases the courts are able to grant requests.​

In Douglas County, unless you are summoned for a grand jury, the term of jury service will be for (1) month. Depending on the number of trials, you may be called to serve again within the month. 

If a juror is seated for a trial, then the juror may be excused for the remainder of the month. 

After serving, you are excused for the next two years thereafter.

​The Court will provide accommodations for American with Disabilities Act (ADA) upon request of jurors with disabilities. If you have a disability, please tell the Jury Coordinator what accommodation(s) you need so we can remove any barriers to your effective service as a juror.

Any person who has a hearing disability and needs accommodation in order to participate in jury service may notify the jury coordinator of the need.

It is common for people who do not usually consider themselves as having a hearing disability to have trouble hearing everyone clearly in some of the courtrooms. If this happens to you, please tell the judge or clerk. Every courtroom is equipped with assistive listening devices.

Contact the Douglas County Circuit Court Jury Coordinator or ADA Coordinator as soon as possible after receiving your summons so that we have sufficient time to arrange for accommodation.

Jury Coordi​nator
541-957-2417 (M-F 8-5pm)
Douglas County ADA Coordinator

​The Oregon Legislature sets compensation for jury duty. Unless otherwise provided by the terms of an employment agreement, under ORS 10.061(3), a juror must waive the juror fee if the juror's employer pays the juror a wage or salary for the day(s) of jury service. Jurors are entitled to:

  • Days 1 and 2 - $10 per day
  • Day 3 and any subsequent day served - $25 per day

If driving, travel expenses for each day of service are reimbursed at the rate of $.20 per mile for the distance traveled between your home and the Jury Assembly Room.​

​Your summons postcard is your parking permit. Please place the permit, with the parking information face up, on the dash (driver's side front window) of your vehicle. You may park in any space in the Courthouse parking lot that is not designated as reserved and in public parking spaces on Fowler Street. Parking in front of businesses in downtown Roseburg may result in a fine from the City of Roseburg.

Restricted parking areas cannot be used unless you are otherwise authorized. This includes handicapped, employee, yellow marked spaces, Sheriff department, police, maintenance zones and driveway passageways.​

​You will receive detailed instructions on your jury service at your orientation, which will be on the first day you report. You are to report to the address below at the time indicated on the jury recording line or jury website. Please refer to your jury summons for further call-in instructions.

Douglas County Circuit Court
Jury Assembly Room #JB301
1036 SE Douglas
Roseburg, OR 97470

​You must check in at the Jury Assembly Room at the time given on the jury recording for your service date. There will be an orientation, and then after that jurors may be called to courtrooms to start a trial. Trials may start at different times throughout the day. Most trials go from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm with short rest breaks and a lunch break. The schedule for a trial, including breaks, will be set by the judge. Some trials may continue after 5:00 pm. If trial goes after 6:00 pm, dinner may be provided.​

You will receive detailed instructions on your jury service at your orientation, which will be on the first day you report. You are to report to the address below at the time indicated on the jury recording line or jury website. Please refer to your jury summons for further call-in instructions.

Douglas County Circuit Court
Jury Assembly Room #JB301
1036 SE Douglas
Roseburg, OR 97470​

​You may bring your cellular phone, however, it will need to be placed in the security tray for inspection as you go through security. When you go into a courtroom, make sure your cell phone is turned off and locked in one of the lockers in the Jury Assembly Room (lockers are limited availability).

 You may bring work or reading material. You may also bring a lunch or a snack. A refrigerator is available in the Jury Assembly Room.

PROHIBITED ITEMS: The Justice Building is a secure area – DO NOT BRING THESE ITEMS – chemical sprays, pocket knives, handguns, or any other electronic device that is not a necessary medical device.

​Jury Duty is a civic duty of each citizen. If someone fails to respond to jury summons, the court may hold the person in contempt. Similarly, a person who fails to complete jury service without first getting permission from the court may be punished for contempt. If you receive a summons but cannot comply with the summons, you must follow the procedures to be excused or deferred by the court.

Additional information is also available at Juror Handbook on the
Oregon State Bar website.

​Oregon law provides that an employer shall not discharge or threaten to discharge, intimidate, or coerce an employee by reason of the employee's service as a juror.

See Juror Employment Protections

Jury Coordinator
541-957-2417​ (M-F 8-5pm)


Security at the Courthouse is provided by Douglas County Sheriff’s Office. Security equipment in use at the Courthouse includes magnetometers (walk-through metal detectors), x-ray scanners, and hand held metal detectors. If you have a pacemaker, tell the security officer about it before you enter the metal detector. The security screening process can create long lines of people waiting to enter the courthouse during peak hours.
The main objective of Courthouse security is to maintain a safe and secure environment for everyone in the building. Everyone’s cooperation is needed in order to achieve this very important goal. Weapons of any kind are strictly prohibited and may be confiscated. Among items prohibited from court facilities are guns, knives, ammunition, pepper spray, mace, razor blades, illegal drugs and any other type of dangerous or hazardous material or property. A variety of items may be prohibited because they are hazardous or could be used as potential weapons. These include any object that is sharp, pointed or with a cutting blade regardless of length. If you are unsure if an item is allowed or not, the safest option is to not bring it into the courthouse.
Courthouse security will not hold unauthorized items for return later. Any prohibited item that is brought to the courthouse will be taken from you and permanently destroyed.