Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon Judicial Department Logo

Traffic / Violations

Circuit Courts do not oversee Justice Courts. If you have any issues or concerns, please refer to the links to each respective court.

Plea Options

No Contest Plea: When you enter a plea of no contest, you waive the right to trial. Your fine will be assessed at the time you enter your no contest plea.
Not Guilty Plea:  If you plead not guilty, the case will be set for trial and you will receive notice of the trial date by mail. At the trial you may present evidence and call witnesses.
Trial by Declaration:  If you plead not guilty and request a trial by affidavit, court staff will send you Trial by Declaration paperwork for you to complete and return to the court.
In person or mail: 
Douglas County Circuit Court
1036 SE Douglas Ave 
Justice Building, Room 201
Roseburg, OR 97470

Failure to Appear

If you do not appear on or before your first appearance date by mail or in person, court staff will enter a default judgment.
The entire presumptive fine will be charged along with any additional fees or assessments.

Violations Trials

When you appear at the courthouse for your trial, you should check in to Room 201 and court staff will direct you to the correct courtroom. Please be prepared to present your case at the time listed on your trial notice.
Please be respectful and follow courthouse etiquette.

Electronic Payments

If you receive a ticket from the Oregon State Police and wish to pay using OJD Courts ePay, you will enter the Complaint/summons number located on the right side of the ticket not the Case number SP##. 
Traffic ticket with Complaint Number circled


Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Note question will be in a box. When you click the box, it will reveal the answer.

​Yes the Court will return out of state phone calls.

​You may plead guilty, no contest or not guilty.

​The court will contact you by mail with the new date to appear.

​The judge has the authority to raise or lower the fine as he/she deems appropriate within the statutory limits.

The judges follow the same bail reduction schedule the court staff follows.

​Upon written request, we can send you the paperwork to proceed with trial by affidavit.

​Douglas County does not use or offer traffic school for traffic violations at this time.

​Possibly, reduction is based upon driving history.

​You can appeal the decision with the Court of Appeals. The time frame allowed for filing a notice of appeal is within 30 days from the date of conviction.

​You must pay to the court the full amount you owe on the ticket plus $15. Once the court receives your money, we will notify the DMV to reinstate your license. There may be additional fees you have to pay the DMV.

​You may wish to seek advice from an attorney.

​For consideration of a reduction, you would have to provide a 3 year driving history to the court.

​Call the court’s main phone number 541-957-2470 and choose prompt to be connected with the accounting department.