Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon Judicial Department Logo

Protective Orders

Warning! If an abuser is monitoring your computer activity, it may be impossible to erase all trace of the sites you visit on your computer or mobile device. For more information on erasing your browser's history, visit Learn more about safety and technology at Oregon Coalition Against Domestic & Sexual Violence.

Quick Escape

Protective Orders Overview

The court hears requests for protective orders Monday through Friday at 10:00 a.m. Your petition must be filed before that time to be heard on the same day.

Applying for a Protective Order

For information about how to apply for a Protective Order, visit the Lane County Victim Services webpage. Volunteer advocates from Lane County Victim Services can assist in filling your forms and will also attend the hearing.

Protective Order Types

There are several different kinds of protective orders that a person can apply for. 

A person may obtain a Family Abuse Prevention Act (FAPA) Order to provide for protection from abuse by a family, household member, or someone with whom they have had a sexual relationship. The abuse must have been committed within the last 180 days.

A person may obtain a Stalking Protective Order if he/she or a member of the immediate family or household has been the subject of stalking and qualifies under Oregon law.

If you are 65 years or age or older and not a resident of a long-term care facility or a person with disabilities, you may be eligible for this restraining order. A restraining order is an order of the court that restricts the person named in the order to stop threatening or abusing and to stay away from you.

Available in certain cases where a person was subjected to unwanted sexual abuse by another person who is not a family member or intimate partner.

An Extreme Risk Protection Order (ERPO) is a court order that prevents a person who is at risk of hurting another person or of committing suicide from having or getting deadly weapons, including firearms.

Domestic Violence
24 Hour Crisis Lines

Sexual Assault Support Services (SASS)