Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon Judicial Department Logo

Protective Order

Quick Escape ​​

Getting a Protective Order in Deschutes County

Hearings for all types of protective orders are held at 1:15 pm every day that the Court is open.
Your paperwork must be completed and filed with the Court no later than 11:00 am. Protective Order forms may be obtained using the links below, in person at the Deschute Circuit Court, or may be submitted electronically via Guide & File.  The Guide & File forms that are available include: Family Abuse Prevention Act (FAPA) petitions, challenges, modifications, and renewals; Elder Persons and Persons with Disabilities Abuse Prevention Act (EPPDAPA); and Sexual Abuse Protection Order (SAPO).

Due to COVID-19 Pandemic, all protective order first appearances are being held telephonically.  If you have not received information about how to dial in for your telephonic appearance, please contact the Deschutes Circuit Court no later than 12:45 pm on the day of your hearing.
There are several different types of protective orders:  

Deschutes County Resources for Protective Order Assistance

Saving Grace provides free and confidential services to victims of domestic violence and sexual assault. Services include but are not limited to a 24-hour hotline, emergency shelter, crisis counseling, support groups and court advocacy. Court advocacy services include assistance with filing restraining orders or other civil paperwork, safety planning, court accompaniment and resource referrals. Please call the 24-hour hotline at 541-389-7021 or 1-866-504-8992 for assistance.  For more information, please visit the Saving Grace website.
Legal Aid Services of Oregon provides free legal assistance to low-income individuals. Legal Aid Services of Oregon (LASO) provides assistance in family law matters to victims of domestic violence and/or sexual assault. LASO does not assist with initiating restraining orders, but can assist Petitioners if the restraining order is contested. Generally, LASO does not assist Respondents in restraining orders. LASO can assist on stalking orders and elder and disabled abuse prevention orders. Please call 541-385-6944 for more information.
Victims’ Assistance within the Deschutes County District Attorney Office helps crime victims navigate the criminal justice system process and provide assistance that promotes establishing victim stabilization after the crime. The Victims’ Assistance Program works to ensure that victims are treated with dignity, respect and compassion.  Please call 541-388-6525 for more information.