Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon Judicial Department Logo

Juror Resources

Juror Orientation

jurors in a courtroomYour first day of your jury term will consist of Juror Orientation. 

You are required to attend the virutal Juror Orientation as instructed in summons. If there is a conflict with access tothe virtual WebEx session, please call the jury coordinator to discuss the options for an alternative orientation session.

During your virtual Juror Orientation, you will learn more about what Jury Service in Wallowa County entails. We will discuss many of the materials listed under the Orientation Materials and Additional Resources.

Please review the FAQs and if you still have questions, please ask them during your Juror Orientation.


You are eligible if:

  • You live in Wallowa County, are a U.S. citizen, and are at least 18 years of age.
You are NOT eligible if:
  • You have reported for jury duty in a state or federal court in Oregon within the previous 24 months, even if you were not called to a courtroom or selected for jury duty.
  • You have been convicted of a felony and on the day you are to report for jury duty, you are 1) in state prison, or 2) in county jail as a condition of a suspended sentence.
If you are not eligible to be a juror for one of these reasons, you should check the appropriate box
Oregon law provides that “the opportunity for jury service shall not be denied or limited on the basis of race, national origin, gender, age, religious belief, income, occupation, or any other factor that discriminates against a cognizable group in this state.” A person who is blind, hearing or speech impaired or physically disabled shall not be ineligible to act as a juror, or be excluded from a juror list because of their impairment. 

There are four jury terms per year, each term lasts for 3 months:
  • 1st Term: Jan/Feb/Mar
  • 2nd Term: Apr/May/Jun
  • 3rd Term: Jul/Aug/Sep
  • 4th Term: Oct/Nov/Dec
Once a juror has served as instructed by the court, the juror's obligation is complete for a two-year period.

​The Oregon Legislature sets compensation for jury duty. Unless otherwise provided by the terms of an employment agreement, under ORS 10.061(3), a juror must waive the juror fee if the juror's employer pays the juror a wage or salary for the day(s) of jury service. Jurors are entitled to:

  • Days 1 and 2 - $10 per day
  • Day 3 and any subsequent day served - $25 per day

If driving, the rate of travel reimbursement is $.20 per mile for distance traveled between your home and the Wallowa County Courthouse. When filling out your Juror Waiver & Certification form, please account for roundtrip mileage​

​​Jury Duty is a civic duty of each citizen. If someone fails to respond to jury summons, the court may hold the person in contempt. Similarly, a person who fails to complete jury service without first getting permission from the court may be punished for contempt. If you receive a summons but cannot comply with the summons, you must follow the procedures to be excused or deferred by the court. The steps for requesting to be excused from jury service or to defer your jury service is available on our website. Additional information is also available at Juror Handbook on the Oregon State Bar website.

​No.  Oregon law provides that an employer shall not discharge or threaten to discharge, intimidate, or coerce an employee by reason of the employee’s service as a juror. 

See Juror Employment Protections​.​​

​Contact the Wallowa Circuit Court Jury Coordinator or ADA Coordinator as soon as possible after receiving your summons. 

Jury Coordinator
Zak Bradshaw

ADA Contact
Heather Retherford

Jury Coordinator
Zak Bradshaw


An airport-type security metal detector is located on the 2nd floor at the entrance to the Wallowa County Courtroom. Purses, backpacks, briefcases, etc. will be searched. It is a Class C felony for any person to intentionally possess a weapon in a court facility (ORS 166.370).

Unless otherwise ordered by the court, no person except a law enforcement officer shall possess in a court facility a firearm, knife, device, or hazardous substance capable of inflicting death or physical injury.

Wallowa County Sheriff’s Office is in charge of what items may enter the Courtroom. Through the screening process items such as, but not limited to: drugs, drug paraphernalia, weapons, lighters, smoking instruments, vaping instruments are not allowed in the court facility unless being used as evidence for a court hearing and are properly sealed and labeled for safe handling.