Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon Judicial Department Logo

Juror Resources

Juror Orientation

jurors in a courtroomJury orientation is typically held Monday afternoons at 1:30 PM and 3:00 PM, unless otherwise noted on the jury summons. Potential jurors will be instructed to call 541-476-2309 Ext. 37009 or check the Josephine County Circuit Court Jury Schedule the Friday before orientation and during their term of service to obtain instructions on when to report. Jurors can serve on more than one trial during their term of service. Once a juror has served as instructed by the court, the juror's obligation is complete for a two-year period.

We thank those who have spent the time -- and completed the hard work -- of serving on a jury.


You are ineligible to serve if:

  • You are not a citizen of the United States.
  • You will not be at least 18 years of age at the time of service.
  • You are not a legal resident of Josephine County.

You have the OPTION to be excused if:

  • You are 70 years of age or older.
  • You are breast-feeding an infant.
  • You are the sole caregiver for your dependent(s) (child or adult) during the Court's normal hours of operation and you are unable to afford daycare or make other arrangements for the care of the dependent and you personally attend to your dependent(s) during the Court's normal hours of operation.
  • You are on active military duty and are serving outside of Josephine County

Oregon law provides that “the opportunity for jury service shall not be denied or limited on the basis of race, national origin, gender, age, religious belief, income, occupation, or any other factor that discriminates against a cognizable group in this state." A person who is blind, hearing or speech impaired or physically disabled shall not be ineligible to act as a juror or be excluded from a juror list because of their impairment. Please see Special Accommodations page for more information. ​​

​Jury service is generally for the duration of 1-week unless indicated differently on your summons. Grand Jury is a 2-month term and if selected, requires a 1 day a week commitment during that term.​

​The Oregon Legislature sets compensation for jury duty. Unless otherwise provided by the terms of an employment agreement, under ORS 10.061(3), a juror must waive the juror fee if the juror's employer pays the juror a wage or salary for the day(s) of jury service. Jurors are entitled to:

  • $10 a day for the first and second day then $25 a day thereafter
  • Juror milage expenses for each day of service will be compensated at $.20 per mile for the distance traveled between your home and the Josephine County Circuit Court
  • ​Upon request, Josephine County Transit bus fare will be reimbursed.

Parking is available in the juror parking lot located between 4th and 5th Streets and D and E Streets. Place the jury summons postcard on your dashboard where it is clearly visible. If you choose to park elsewhere, please be sure to observe all parking restriction signs. You will NOT be permitted to move your car until the lunch hour or at the end of the business day. Disabled permit parking is available in the lot behind the Anne G. Basker Auditorium, between the Courthouse and Municipal Building. Place the jury summons postcard and your disabled person parking permit on your dashboard where it is clearly visible.

Where to Report

The Jury Assembly room is located on the second floor of the Josephine County Circuit Court 510 NW 6th Street, Grants Pass, OR 97526

When to Report

You must check in at the Jury Assembly Room at the time given on your jury summons. Orientation typically lasts an hour to an hour and a half. Trials begin on various days during the week. Most trials go from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm with short rest breaks and a lunch break. The schedule for a trial, including breaks, will be set by the judge.

Jury Orientation

You will receive detailed instructions on your jury service at your orientation, which will be on the first day you report

Cell Phones and Computers

You may bring your cell phone and laptop computer to the courthouse. They have to be placed on the x-ray scanner when you go through security. When you go into a courtroom, make sure your cell phone is turned off (not just silent or vibrate).

Jury Duty is a civic duty of each citizen. If someone fails to respond to jury summons, the court may hold the person in contempt. Similarly, a person who fails to complete jury service without first getting permission from the court may be punished for contempt. If you receive a summons but cannot comply with the summons, you must follow the procedures to be excused or deferred by the court. If you failed to report when previously summons you may contact the Jury Coordinator 541-476-2309​ Ext. 37010 or email at

​Oregon law (ORS 10.090) provides that it is an unlawful practice for an employer to discharge, intimidate, or coerce an employee due to their service as a juror. An employee who believes their employer has violated the law may file a civil suit or file a complaint with the Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor Industries.​

​The courts operate in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Anyone with a disability who needs accommodation to participate in jury service should advise the jury coordinator of the disability and the type of accommodation needed at least four (4) days prior to the term of service. Assistive Listening System devices are available upon request. Alternatively, you can fill out an ADA request for accommodations.

Main Entrance
Josephine County Courthouse
510 NW 6th Street
Grants Pass, Oregon 97526

Mailing Address
Josephine County Courthouse
Department 17
500 NW 6th Street
Grants Pass, OR 97526-1975

Phone: 541-476-2309​ Ext. 37010



Security at the Courthouse is provided by Josephine County Sheriff’s Office. Security equipment in use at the Courthouse includes magnetometers (walk-through metal detectors), x-ray scanners, and hand held metal detectors. If you have a pacemaker, tell the security officer about it before you enter the metal detector. The security screening process can create long lines of people waiting to enter the courthouse during peak hours.
The main objective of Courthouse security is to maintain a safe and secure environment for everyone in the building. Everyone’s cooperation is needed in order to achieve this very important goal. Weapons of any kind are strictly prohibited and may be confiscated. Among items prohibited from court facilities are guns, knives, ammunition, pepper spray, mace, razor blades, illegal drugs and any other type of dangerous or hazardous material or property. A variety of items may be prohibited because they are hazardous or could be used as potential weapons. These include any object that is sharp, pointed or with a cutting blade regardless of length. If you are unsure if an item is allowed or not, the safest option is to not bring it into the courthouse.
Courthouse security will not hold unauthorized items for return later. Any prohibited item that is brought to the courthouse will be taken from you and permanently destroyed.