Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon Judicial Department Logo

Juror Resources

Juror Orientation

jurors in a courtroomOn the first day of your jury term, you will attend orientation in the morning. After jury orientation you will either be selected for a jury panel or excused. Please check Jury Reporting Instructions or call 541-243-7830 to find out when and where to report for jury orientation.

To lessen the impact of jury service, our court has created a system in which jurors only have to serve on one trial to complete their service. Most trials do not last more than a few days. If a juror reports for duty and is available to serve but is not selected for a trial, that juror will be released and his or her service will be complete.

Once a juror has served as instructed by the court, the juror's obligation is complete for a two-year period.  We thank those who have spent the time -- and completed the hard work -- of serving on a jury. 

Any questions please contact:

Jury Coordinator
Rm 106


​You are eligible if:

  • You live in Benton County, are a U.S. citizen, and are at least 18 years of age.
You are NOT eligible if:
  • You have reported for jury duty in a state or federal court in Oregon within the previous 24 months, even if you were not called to a courtroom or selected for jury duty.
  • You have been convicted of a felony and on the day you are to report for jury duty, you are 1) in state prison, or 2) in county jail as a condition of a suspended sentence.
If you are not eligible to be a juror for one of these reasons, you should check the appropriate box in on the Juror Eligibility Form that came with your summons, sign the declaration and mail it back to the court.
Oregon law provides that “the opportunity for jury service shall not be denied or limited on the basis of race, national origin, gender, age, religious belief, income, occupation, or any other factor that discriminates against a cognizable group in this state.” A person who is blind, hearing or speech impaired or physically disabled shall not be ineligible to act as a juror, or be excluded from a juror list because of their impairment. 

​In Benton County, Petit jury service is generally for the duration of one trial.  You may be included in more than one jury selection process, but you will not be selected for more than one jury per summons.  If you are selected to serve on a jury, you will serve for the entire length of the trial.  Once you are dismissed by the judge, you have fulfilled your jury service commitment, and you are exempt from service for two years.

​Grand jury service, if you are selected, is a two-month commitment.  You do not call in.  You will simply arrive at the courthouse by 2:15​ pm on the day indicated on your postcard summons.  There will be a selection process, and anyone not selected will be dismissed.

​The Oregon Legislature sets compensation for jury duty. Unless otherwise provided by the terms of an employment agreement, under ORS 10.061(3), a juror must waive the juror fee if the juror's employer pays the juror a wage or salary for the day(s) of jury service. Jurors are entitled to:

    • Days 1 and 2 - $10 per day
    • Day 3 and any subsequent day served - $25 per day

 Juror travel expenses for each day of service will be compensated in one of three ways:​

  1. The Corvallis Transit System is free.  The Linn-Benton Loop is $1.50 one way.
  2. If driving, the rate of travel reimbursement is $.20 per mile for the distance traveled between your home and the Jury Assembly Room round trip.
  3. For other transportation expenses, please contact the Jury Coordinator for assistance.

What Happens?
If your juror number is called, you will be expected to follow the directions on the reporting website or call-in number.  Generally, you are expected to arrive at the Benton County Courthouse at 120 NW 4th​ St by 8:30 am, but please refer to the ​specific reporting instructions.

On your first day, jurors will be provided an orientation, where you will watch videos about jury service.  When the court is ready, jurors will be taken into the courtroom for jury selection.  There will be a lunch break, and short breaks throughout the day as needed.  Plan to be at the courthouse the entire day for orientation and selection.

Your jury summons postcard is also your parking pass.  Make sure you clearly display your postcard on your car dash with the parking pass side facing up.  You may use your permit to park in any City of Corvallis public parking space.   Parking in the vicinity of the courthouse is limited, jurors are encouraged to ride the bus if possible.  Corvallis city buses are free to ride, and the city bus terminal is across from the courthouse. 

What can I bring?
The courthouse is a secure location, and you will be passing through a metal detection device.  You may bring your cell phone, computer, a book, your purse or bag, snacks, plastic spill proof beverage containers, etc.  Please leave anything that may cause security problems at home.  Please see Security for more information on prohibited items.  ​

​​Jury Duty is a civic duty of each citizen. If someone fails to respond to jury summons, the court may hold the person in contempt. Similarly, a person who fails to complete jury service without first getting permission from the court may be punished for contempt. If you receive a summons but cannot comply with the summons, you must follow the procedures to be excused or deferred by the court. The steps for requesting to be excused from jury service or to defer your jury service is available on our website. Additional information is also available at Juror Handbook on the Oregon State Bar website.

No.  Oregon law provides that an employer shall not discharge or threaten to discharge, intimidate, or coerce an employee by reason of the employee’s service as a juror. 

See Juror Employment Protections​.​​

​Contact the ADA Coordinator as soon as possible after receiving your summons.

ADA Coordinator

​View additional information .

Oregon Judicial Department Request for ADA Accommodations and Response


Security at the Courthouse is provided by Benton County Sheriff's Office. Security equipment in use at the Courthouse includes magnetometers (walk-through metal detectors), x-ray scanners, and hand-held metal detectors. If you have a pacemaker, tell the security officer about it before you enter the metal detector.

The main objective of Courthouse security is to maintain a safe and secure environment for everyone in the building. Everyone's cooperation is needed in order to achieve this very important goal. Weapons of any kind are strictly prohibited and will be held by security until your service is completed for the day. Among items prohibited from court facilities are guns, knives, ammunition, pepper spray, mace, razor blades, illegal drugs and any other type of dangerous or hazardous material or property. Please do not bring metal or glass objects such as mugs, thermoses, water containers, folding chairs, etc.  If you are unsure if an item is allowed or not, the safest option is to not bring it into the courthouse.