Skip to main content

Benton Home


In the interest of minimizing potential exposure for staff and patrons, the Benton County Circuit Court discourages people from coming into the court if they are not party to a scheduled matter. Patrons who arrive at court displaying visible symptoms of illness will be asked to leave the premises. Court staff are working remotely to the greatest extent possible so it is advisable to call ahead to confirm availability of in-person service. The general court phone number is 541-243-7850. Parties who seek information regarding a particular case should consult their attorney.

The court website, including docketed matters, will be updated twice per day with any other changes.

These restrictions are in effect until further order.

Benton County Circuit Court recommends that all court patrons follow the published advice of the Benton County Health Department, the Oregon Health Authority, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.


Current as of August 11, 2020; 8:00 AM.

Presiding Judge Locke Williams issued Presiding Judge Order (PJO) 20-006, effective July 10, 2020, which required use of protective face coverings for all persons entering court premises, except for witnesses while testifying in a proceeding. Protective face coverings and information about the proper application and use of protective face coverings will be provided by the court. The court will continue to operate in accordance with Chief Justice Order 20-016, including strict adherence to 6’ social distancing. Presiding Judge Order 20-006 may be found here.
Customer service counters remain closed. However, the court does maintain a secure drop box on the 1st floor of the courthouse for in-person filings.
Remains in Effect:.
Posted June 1, 2020.
Presiding Judge Locke Williams issued Presiding Judge Order (PJO) 20-005, effective June 1, 2020, to clarify local implementation of Chief Justice Order 20-016. This PJO affects slight adjustments to expand the type of proceedings that may be scheduled for remote appearances and alters the scheduling times for certain proceedings. The court will continue to operate in accordance with Chief Justice Order 20-016, including strict adherence to 6’ social distancing. Presiding Judge Order 20-005 may be found here.
Posted April 16, 2020.
Presiding Judge Locke Williams issued Order 20-004 on April 16, 2020 to establish an extended time period for seeking restitution in certain criminal proceedings and to automatically extend the time during which a qualified defendant has the opportunity to seek a DUII diversion. Presiding Judge Order 20-004 may be found here.
Posted April 13, 2020.
Presiding Judge Locke Williams issued Order 20-003 on April 13, 2020 to provide opportunities for modification to payment plans and to reduce fees. Individuals experiencing financial hardship during the COVID-19 pandemic are encouraged to contact the court to seek temporary reduction of monthly payments, to arrange flexible payment plans, or to suspend payments. No interest, fees, or penalties will be assessed. Presiding Judge Order 20-003 may be found here.
Posted April 3, 2020.
All exhibits for remote hearings must be submitted in electronic format at least 24 hours prior to a scheduled hearing. Click for further instructions.
Posted April 3, 2020.
Presiding Judge Locke Williams issued Order 20-002 April 2, 2020 addressing shared custody and parenting time during the COVID-19 pandemic. By this PJO, Benton County Circuit Court adopts the recommendations of the Statewide Family Law Advisory Committee. Presiding Judge Order 20-002 may be found here.
Posted March 16, 2020.
The health and safety of all patrons and employees of the Benton County Circuit Court is of the utmost importance to the court. We are maintaining regular communication with our state and local public health and emergency management professionals to monitor the developing situation with the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). In partnership with our state and local preparedness partners, we have developed a comprehensive response plan. We are taking all necessary and available measures to maintain a safe and sanitary space for all employees and patrons of our court.
The court recognizes that requiring people to congregate in close proximity for any period of time is now risky. Therefore, effective March 12, 2020, Benton County Circuit Court has cancelled all jury trials through April 30, 2020, to be rescheduled as conditions allow.
Contact & Location Information
Map highlighting Benton County

Main Telephone

Main Fax

 Courthouse Hours
8am - Noon; 1pm - 5pm Mon-Fri
The courthouse is closed on legal holidays

 ADA Contact
Chris Westfall

 Trial Court Administrator
Chris Westfall

 Main Address
Benton County Courthouse
120 NW 4th Street
Corvallis, OR, 97330

 Mailing Address
Benton County Circuit Court
Post Office Box 1870
Corvallis, OR, 97339-1870

Picture of the Benton courthouse

The State of Oregon has 36 different counties which are divided into 27 judicial districts. The Benton County Circuit Court is the 21st Judicial District within the Oregon Judicial Branch of government and is located in Corvallis, Oregon. Our role is to resolve disputes according to the law, and process other legal transactions, as allowed by law. We cover the geographical area of Benton County although we are not part of county government. Our court has 3 elected Circuit Court Judge positions that each serve six-year terms.
  • Honorable Joan E. Demarest (Appointed 4/24/19)
  • Honorable Matthew J. Donohue
  • Honorable Locke A. Williams
*The land the courthouse occupies was donated to the county by Joseph and Martha Avery and William and Julia Dixon, co-founders of the town first known as Marysville and later named Corvallis. The Benton County Courthouse, designed by Portland architect Delos D. Neer, was built in 1888-1889.  Its style is consistent with the Italianate architecture popular at the time.   The total cost of the project, including furnishings, was less than $70,000. The Circuit Court, with Judge R.S. Bean presiding, sat in its first session in the new courthouse on November 4, 1889. The Benton County Courthouse was designated an Oregon Historic Site in 1968 and is the oldest courthouse in Oregon still serving its original purpose.
*This material was derived from a publication titled "The Flight of Time," that was prepared to celebrate the Courthouse Centennial Celebration.

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how