Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon Judicial Department Logo

Jury Duty

Scales on desk

Jury Coordinator: 541.386.2676
Fax: 541.387.6904


Hood River County Circuit Court
309 State Street
Hood River, Oregon 97031

Jury-related scam alert! Protect yourself by reading this important update about a scam targeting citizens across Oregon: Jury Duty Scams Reported in Oregon.

Term of Service

Your term of service is 3 months that are quarterly beginning in January of each year. At the beginning of each term, we conduct a short orientation to provide detailed instruction on your duties over the three month period. It is important that you complete the juror response form that was sent in your summons and return it to the court prior to your orientation date. In a three month period you may be called to serve 1 to 2 times.


You must be a United States Citizen, a resident of Hood River County and 18 years or older. You are also not eligible to serve if you have served as juror in this state in the last 24 months or are currently serving a jail or prison term due to a felony. If you are not eligible for any of these reasons please check the appropriate box on your juror response form and return it to the court to be excused.

Requests to be excused or deferred

If you are 70 years of age or older or currently breast feeding a child, mark the appropriate box on the juror response form and you will be excused. All other requests to be excused must be detailed and in writing. In most cases you will not be excused, but we may defer your term of service. Requests to be deferred may be granted one time not to exceed one year from the date of your original summons. We will notify you by mail whether your request has been granted or denied.

Failure to Respond

Jury duty is a civic duty of each citizen. Failure to respond to the jury summons may result in Contempt of Court.

Upcoming Juror Orientations

(will add as scheduled)

Additional resources

Juror Handbook