Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon Judicial Department Logo

Columbia Home

Columbia Notices

JURY SCAM ALERT: Protect yourself by reading this important update about a scam targeting citizens across Oregon: Jury Duty Scams Reported in Oregon.

 Contact & Location Information

Map highlighting Columbia County

Telephone Directory

 Courthouse Hours

Due to the current conditions regarding COVID-19, the public counter will be operating on limited hours until further notice.

Monday – Thursday                        8:30am – 4:00pm

Friday                                                    8:30am – 1:00pm

Phones: Monday – Friday 8:30am – 4:00pm

After Hours Self-Filing Box Information

 ADA Accomodations
Je Nessa Housley
503.397.2327 x70116

Additional ADA information

 Court Administration
Crystal Reeves

 Main Entrance
Columbia County Circuit Court
230 Strand Street
Saint Helens, OR 97051

 Mailing Address
Columbia County Circuit Court
230 Strand Street
Saint Helens, OR 97051

Wi-Fi Access
The courthouse has a public Wi-Fi network provided by the Oregon Judicial Department. The network name is OJD Guest Wi-Fi. The court does not provide technical, software, or other support services to any user, either in the courtroom or the lobby.

Picture of the front of the Columbia courthouse

Columbia County, named for the Columbia River, was created in 1854 from the northern half of Washington County. It covers 646 square miles and is bounded on the north and east by the Columbia River, on the west by Clatsop County, and on the south by Washington and Multnomah Counties. Columbia County was the 16th county created in Oregon and is the 3rd smallest county in Oregon after Multnomah and Hood River counties.

Lewis and Clark explored this area in 1805-1806. Early settlements were established by fur traders as early as 1810. As American immigration increased in the mid-1840s, lasting settlements appeared. The Yakima Indian War (1855-1859) drove many Washington Territory residents south of the Columbia River and helped boost the populations of St. Helens and Columbia City.

The first district court met in 1854 in Milton, which served as the county seat until 1857 when it moved to St. Helens. St. Helens was founded in 1848 and took its name from the nearby Mt. St. Helens. The present courthouse was built in 1906, and the signature clock tower and bell were added in 1910. The annex, which now houses most county offices, was constructed in 1968. Columbia County had a county court form of government until 1971 when a board of commissioners was elected.

For contact information, please see the Telephone Directory page.