Skip to main content
Oregon Judicial Department Logo

Statutory Tort Compensation

Oregon Tort Claims Act Liability Limits

Effective July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022

The Office of the State Court Administrator (OSCA) has calculated the annual adjustment to the limitations on liability of state and local public bodies for personal injury, death, and property damage or destruction. Based on these calculations, the limitations are adjusted as shown in this table:

Public Body Claimant(s) Claim Adjusted Limit
statesingleinjury or death
$ 2,347,700
state
multipleinjury or death$ 4,695,300
localsingleinjury or death
$ 782,600
local
multipleinjury or death$ 1,565,100
state or localsingleproperty damage or destruction$ 128,400
state or localmultipleproperty damage or destruction$ 641,800
 These new limitations became effective on July 1, 2021, and apply to all causes of action arising on or after July 1, 2021, and before July 1, 2022.
 
OSCA opened a public comment period on the adjustments from April 5, 2021, to 5:00 p.m. on May 24, 2021.  We received no public comment.
 
OSCA makes these adjustments annually, as required by ORS 30.271(4), 30.272(4), and 30.273(3).

Effective July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023

 The Office of the State Court Administrator (OSCA) has calculated the annual adjustment to the limitations on liability of state and local public bodies for personal injury, death, and property damage or destruction. Based on these calculations, the limitations are adjusted as shown in this table:

Public Body Claimant(s) Claim Adjusted Limit
state
singleinjury or death$ 2,418,100
state
multiple
injury or death$ 4,836,200
localsingleinjury or death
$ 806,100
local
multipleinjury or death$ 1,612,000
state or localsingleproperty damage or destruction$ 132,200
state or local
multipleproperty damage or destruction$ 661,000
These new limitations become effective on July 1, 2022, and apply to all causes of action arising on or after July 1, 2022, and before July 1, 2023.
 
OSCA opened a public comment period on the adjustments from March 11, 2022, to 5:00 p.m. on April 29, 2022.  We received no public comment.
 
OSCA makes these adjustments annually, as required by ORS 30.271(4), 30.272(4), and 30.273(3).



Wrongful Conviction Compensation


View a list of current conviction compensation amounts.

Effective March 23, 2022

This year, the Oregon Legislative Assembly passed Senate Bill (SB) 1584 (Oregon Laws 2022, chapter 105), effective on March 23, 2022.  The measure allows a wrongfully convicted person to file a petition seeking compensation in the Marion County Circuit Court or in the circuit court for the county of conviction.  The Office of the State Court Administrator (OSCA) has published the following wrongful conviction compensation amounts for petitions filed on or after March 23, 2022, and before July 1, 2023:

For petitions filed Compensation for Wrongful Conviction
on or after 03/23/2022
and before 07/01/2023
$65,000 for each year of imprisonment
$25,000 for each additional year served on parole or post-prison supervision or was required to register as a sex offender, whichever is greater
The measure directs OSCA to determine the percentage increase or decrease in the cost of living for the previous calendar year, based on changes in the consumer price index, and to adjust these compensation amounts according to the methodology described in the measure beginning in 2023.  Next spring, OSCA will publish the proposed adjusted amounts and invite public comment prior to finalization.