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INSTRUCTIONS 
RELIEF FROM SEX OFFENDER REPORTING 

 

 
 

Important Contact Information 
Oregon Judicial Department - http://courts.oregon.gov 
Oregon State Bar Lawyer Referral Service - www.oregonstatebar.org 
 Phone: 503.684.3763 or toll-free in Oregon at 800.452.7636 
ORS (Oregon Revised Statutes) - www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors163A.html 
 

 

If you are required to report as a sex offender in Oregon, you may be able to ask the court to 
remove that requirement. There are 3 types of reporters, and 3 sets of requirements for relief 
from reporting.  Read the summaries below to see if you qualify. Talk to an attorney if you have 
any questions. 
 

NOTE: If you have been classified as a level 1, 2, or 3 sex offender under ORS 163A.100, 
you must file your Petition with the State Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision, or 
the Psychiatric Review Board. The circuit court cannot remove the reporting requirement 
for you.  

______________________________________________________________________ 
ELIGIBILITY 

 
“Lack of Consent: Victim’s Age” Offenders (ORS 163A.140) 

If you meet all of the following requirements, you can apply at any time: 
 

 You were convicted1 or found guilty except for insanity of:  
o Rape in the third degree* 
o Sodomy in the third degree* 
o Sexual abuse in the third degree  
o Contributing to the sexual delinquency of a minor  
o Sexual misconduct  
o Attempt to commit any of these offenses 

 The lack of consent was based solely on the victim’s age 
 The victim was at least 14 years old at the time of the act 
 You are less than 5 years older than the victim 
 There was only one victim 

 
If you meet these requirements, use the forms that refer to “ORS 163A.140.” If you do not meet 
all of the above requirements, you may be able to file under another law depending on whether 
you were convicted as an adult or a juvenile. Continue reading for more information. 
 
Adult Offenders (ORS 163A.120) 

If you meet all of the following requirements, you can apply for relief if your supervision on 
probation, conditional release, parole, or post-prison supervision ended at least 10 years ago: 

 

                                                        
1 *If you were a juvenile, you were found within the jurisdiction of the juvenile court for an act that, if 
committed by an adult, would constitute rape (3rd degree) or sodomy (3rd degree). If you were convicted in 
another state, the conviction was for an offense that would constitute those crimes in Oregon. If it is 
unclear whether an offense in another state constitutes a listed crime in Oregon, the judge will decide. 

http://courts.oregon.gov/
http://www.oregonstatebar.org/
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 You were convicted  of a misdemeanor or Class C felony in Oregon; if committed out of 
state, the conviction must qualify as a misdemeanor or Class C felony in Oregon 

 You have only one such conviction  
 You were not determined to be a ‘predatory sex offender’ before January 1, 2014 

 
If you meet these requirements, use the forms that refer to “ORS 163A.120” 
 
Juvenile Offenders2 (ORS 163A.130-.135)  

If you meet all of the following requirements, you can apply for relief according to the following 
restrictions:   

 

If the act you are required to report for would (if committed by an adult) constitute a: 
 Class A or B felony:  

o at least 2 years after the end of juvenile court or Psychiatric Security Review 
Board (PSRB) jurisdiction (or equivalent jurisdiction in the state where you were 
ordered to report, if not Oregon) 

 Class C felony: 
o up to 30 days before, and any time after, the end of juvenile court or Psychiatric 

Security Review Board (PSRB) jurisdiction (or equivalent jurisdiction in the state 
where you were ordered to report, if not Oregon) 

 
If you meet these requirements, use the forms that refer to “ORS 163A.130” 

 

PROCEDURES 
 

Complete the Motion or Petition Form 
 For the name and location of the court you will file in, see Where to File, below 

 

 Who are the parties? 
o You are the “petitioner”  
o The District Attorney for the county where you file is the “respondent” 

 

For “Lack of Consent: Victim’s Age” Offenders (ORS 163A.140) cases, the Motion or 
Petition includes an affidavit, which must be notarized before filing. DO NOT immediately 
sign the form! Bring the completed, unsigned form to a notary or to a court clerk with proper 
identification. You will sign in front of the notary or clerk.  

 

Keep a copy of all documents for your records 
 

Fees 
Before filing, pay all registration fees due to the Oregon State Police. The Oregon State Police 
will report any unpaid balance to the court. 
 

There is a filing fee for filing your Motion or Petition in circuit court.  Go to 
www.courts.oregon.gov/Pages/fees.aspx to see the current fees.  
 

If you are low income, you may ask the court to defer (postpone) or waive your filing fee. You 
must complete an Application and Declaration for Deferral or Waiver of Fees and an Order 
Regarding Deferral or Waiver of Fees and file them with your papers. If the fee is deferred, 
you will have to pay the fee later. If the fee is waived, you don’t have to pay it.  

 
Where to File 

                                                        
2  Applies to a person found within the jurisdiction of the juvenile court for committing an act which, if 
committed by an adult, would constitute a sex crime 

http://www.courts.oregon.gov/Pages/fees.aspx
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 “Lack of Consent: Victim’s Age” Offenders (ORS 163A.140)  
and  

 Adult Offenders (ORS 163A.120) 
 

Convicted in Oregon:  File in the circuit court for the county where you were 
convicted or adjudicated 
 
Convicted in another state:  File in the circuit court for county where you live 

 
 Juvenile Offenders (ORS 163A.130-.135)  

Ordered to report by an Oregon court - file in the court that ordered you to report  
 
Ordered to report by another state but you live in Oregon - file in the circuit court for 
the county where you live 
 
Required to report in Oregon because you work or go to school in Oregon (but you live 
in another state)- file in the county where you work or go to school 

 
What to File 

Bring 2 copies of your forms to court with your filing fee. Court staff will fill in the case 
number.  
 
You will need one copy to serve on the respondent.  See Service, below. Keep a copy of all 
documents for your records. 

 
Service 

You must officially notify the respondent (the district attorney) that you have filed a case. 
This is called “service.”  
 
You can serve by delivering a copy of the forms to the District Attorney’s office in person, by 
mail, or by fax 

 
In person: give the papers to someone who works in the office. Make sure you get the 
person’s name for your Certificate of Service.  
 
By Mail: mail a copy of the forms first class to the office of the District Attorney. 
Service by mail is considered “complete” when you put the envelope in the mailbox.  
 
By Fax: make sure you have a current fax number for the office of the District Attorney. 
Keep the confirmation sheet for your records.  

 
Complete the Certificate of Service and file it with the court. Your case will not proceed 
until the court receives proof of service. If you fail to provide proof of service within the time 
allowed by the court, your case may be dismissed and you will have to pay another filing fee 
to re-file. You can also pay a professional process server if you want to. The server will 
complete and file the Certificate of Service.  

 

 
Court Hearings 

The court may hold a hearing, depending on your case type. If so, the court will schedule the 
hearing after the Certificate of Service is filed. You will get a notice from the court with the 
hearing time, date, and location. If you do not attend the hearing, your request will be 
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denied. Be sure the court has correct contact information for you.  
 
● “Lack of Consent: Victim’s Age” Offenders (ORS 163A.140) 

The court will schedule a hearing at least 90 days from the date you file.  The district 
attorney (DA) will review your case and decide whether to oppose relief.  

 

DA does not oppose - If the district attorney does not oppose relief, the district 
attorney will submit an order to the circuit court removing the requirement to 
report. You will receive a Notice of Entry of Judgment from the court. 
 
DA does oppose – The DA will notify you. The court will schedule a hearing and 
send you notice of the date, time, and location. If you do not appear at the hearing, 
your request will not be granted. At the hearing, you must prove that you meet the 
eligibility requirements. The victim may appear and may testify. The court’s 
decision after the hearing cannot be appealed 

 
● Adult Offenders:  Completed Supervision 10 Years Ago (ORS 163A.120) 

The court will scheduled a hearing at least 90 days after you file.  You must prove to the 
court by clear and convincing evidence that you are rehabilitated and are not a threat 
to public safety. 
 
 The court will consider a number of factors. You can read the factors at ORS 
163A.120(2). 

 
● Juvenile Offenders (ORS 163A.130) 

A hearing will be scheduled at least 90 days after you file. The victim will be notified of 
the hearing. The victim may attend the hearing. 
 
You must prove to the court by clear and convincing evidence that you are rehabilitated 
and are not a threat to public safety.  You can present evidence, reports, and testimony 
at the hearing. 
 
The court will consider a number of factors. You can read the factors at ORS 
163A.130(4). 
 
The court may not relieve you of the reporting requirement if you are still under the 
jurisdiction of the juvenile court or the PSRB until jurisdiction ends 
 
The district attorney may require you to have a psychosexual evaluation. If so, you will 
receive notice. You have the right to object to the chosen evaluator if you have a good 
reason.  

 
Removal from the Oregon Sex Offender Registry 

 

To actually be removed from the Registry, you must send a certified court copy of the signed 
order to: 

Oregon State Police 
Sex Offender Registration Unit  
3565 Trelstad Ave SE 
Salem, OR 97317-9614 
 

The court will give you a certified copy, but may charge a fee 
 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors163A.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors163A.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors163A.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors163A.html
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