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Set Aside (Expunge) an Adult Criminal Record 

Linn County Circuit Court 

 

You do not need a lawyer to complete this process, however, you should talk to a lawyer if you need 
legal advice or guidance on certain situations. Court clerks cannot give legal advice, opinions, or make 
recommendations. 

• This packet is not intended to advise on Oregon Law.  Please refer to ORS 137.225 for the legal 
authority on set aside (expunged) records.  

Step 1) Determine whether to use Packet A, B, or C 

Packet A: You were arrested but no charges were filed in court. No filing fee. 

Packet B: You were arrested and charged in court, but the case was dismissed, or you were acquitted 

of the charges. No filing fee.  

Packet C: You were arrested, charged, and convicted of a crime. Filing fee required (see fee schedule).  

If you are not sure, contact the Records Department and speak with a clerk. 

Step 2) Determine whether your case qualifies for a set aside (ORS 137.255) 

• Generally – misdemeanors, class C felonies, and some Class B felonies qualify. There are exceptions. 

Please refer to ORS 137.255 or talk to an attorney if you are not sure. Court staff cannot interpret 

the law or give recommendations on your situation.  

• The case must have occurred in Linn County Circuit Court or in the jurisdiction of Linn County Circuit 

Court. 

• If the case occurred when you were a juvenile, contact the Juvenile Department. 

• You must not owe money associated with criminal cases to the courts (restitution, court ordered 

fines, probation fees, etc.) 

Step 3) Complete the Motion, Affidavit, and Order to Set Aside the Record 

• Take care to complete the information accurately – do not guess or use abbreviations. Failure to 

complete this information accurately may slow down the process.    
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• The affidavit must be notarized – only sign the affidavit in front of a notary or the court clerk. 

• On the Order please fill in your name and case number and the arrest/charge/conviction 

information. The clerk will fill the FBI, SID, and Arresting Agency numbers.  

Step 4) File your documents by mail or in person at the courthouse 

If using Packet C for a conviction, a filing fee is due at the time of filing (ORS 21.135 or see 

courts.oregon.gov/fees). Fee waivers or deferrals based on income are available from the court clerk.  

Step 5) Have your fingerprints taken 

This can be done at many law enforcement agencies for a fee, including the Linn County Sheriff’s Office 

inside the courthouse. You will be given a fingerprint card, write “criminal set aside” as your reason for 

getting the card. This must be served to the District Attorney’s Office with the rest of your paperwork 

(see step 6).  

Step 6) Serve (give) a copy of your Motion, Affidavit, and Order to the District 

Attorney’s (DA) Office by mail or in person 

They require the fingerprint card and an $80 money order made out to the Oregon State Police to 

complete a background check.   

Step 7) Wait for a response from the DA and the Court  

The DA has 90 days to respond. They will file a response with the court. If there is no objection to your 

request, the final order will be sent to the judge for signature. You will get a certified copy by mail 

indicating your records are set aside and sealed. The clerk will send this order to the required agencies.  

If the DA objects to your request, you will need to appear for a court hearing in front of a judge. You will 

receive this notice by mail. You do not need an attorney for this hearing, but you may hire one if you 

wish. There are no court-appointed attorneys provided for this type of hearing. If you do not appear or 

are late for the hearing, your request may be denied or dismissed.   

YOU MUST NOTIFY THE COURT IF YOUR ADDRESS CHANGES AT ANY POINT IN THIS PROCESS. 
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Frequently Asked Questions  

 

What is a Set Aside or Expungement of a Conviction? 

A motion to set aside is asking the State to remove and seal a criminal record. If granted, the event 
(arrest, charges, and/or conviction) will no longer appear on a background check or public record and 
the person is deemed to not have been arrested and/or convicted for that event. The court and law 
enforcement agencies will seal the case and any records of the incident will legally no longer exist.  

The formal name of this process in the State of Oregon is “set aside.”  The term “expungement” is also 
used but is not included in ORS 137.255. For your purposes, the terms “set aside” and “expungement” 
carry the same meaning.  

How long does it take? 

On average, 3-6 months. After the order is signed, it can take up to 4 weeks for law enforcement 
agencies to receive and comply with the order. If information still appears on a background check after 4 
weeks or you would like to confirm the agency has complied, please contact the agency directly, not the 
court.    

Is there any way to expedite the process?  

No. This process involves multiple agencies and can take time.   

What types of charges or convictions qualify for a set aside? 

Generally – misdemeanors, class C felonies, and some Class B felonies qualify for set aside. There are 
exceptions. 

Court clerks by law cannot tell you whether your case qualifies for a set aside or give an opinion on your 
case. This is considered the practice of law. Please read ORS 137.255 or talk to a lawyer if you are not 
sure if you qualify. Filing fees and associated costs are non-refundable.  

What types of convictions do not qualify for a set aside?  

Generally – traffic offenses and certain violations, DUII convictions (even if they have been dismissed 
through diversion), Class A felonies, and some Class B felonies do not qualify. There are exceptions. See 
ORS 137.255 and talk to a lawyer about your options.  

How do my records get sealed? 

Once the order is signed by a judge, the clerk enters the order and seals the case(s) which removes the 
information from public record. A certified copy is sent to law enforcement agencies, the District 
Attorney, and other applicable state agencies. These agencies are required to destroy or seal their 
reports concerning the incident.  
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What about cases involving marijuana?  

Please consult ORS 137.255 and 137.226 or talk to an attorney if you have specific questions related to 
marijuana law. The court clerk cannot advise on legislation or interpret the law for you.  

If I live in Linn County but my case took place in another county or state, can I still file here?  

No. You must file in the jurisdiction (or location) where the case took place. See our website for contact 
information for other courts in Oregon.  

Do I need more than one fingerprint card and money order? 

No. If you are setting aside multiple cases in Linn County Circuit Court the DA’s office only needs one 
fingerprint card and one $80 money order made out to the Oregon State Police.  

What if my address changes during this process?  

You must notify the court in writing or in person with photo I.D. The court does not know your address 
or where you receive mail unless you provide it.  

 

Important Contact Information – Linn County Circuit Court 

• Mail: PO 1749, Albany OR 97321 

• Physical: 300 4th Ave SW, Albany OR 97321 

• Request Records: (541) 967-3841, Opt. 1 or lin.copy.center@ojd.state.or.us 

• Set Aside General Questions: 541-967-3841, Opt. 2 

• Online: www.courts.gov/courts/linn  

• Linn County District Attorney: (541) 967-3836, PO BOX 100, Albany OR 97321 

 

http://www.courts.gov/courts/linn

