An official website of the State of Oregon
How you know »
(how to identify a Oregon.gov website)
An official website of the State of Oregon »
You are here:
You may be eligible to defer your service date one (1) time to another term within one (1) year of your original summons date. You can request to defer online or you may return the response card attached to your summons indicating the week you wish to serve. You will receive a confirmation letter within approximately two (2) weeks.
The courts operate in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Anyone with a disability who needs accommodation to participate in jury service should advise the jury coordinator of the disability and the type of accommodation needed at least four (4) days prior to the term of service. Assistive Listening System devices are available upon request.
Yes. Juror per diem is established by the legislature at $10.00 per day for the first two (2) days of service and $25.00 per day for each day thereafter. Round trip mileage reimbursement is $0.20 per mile for the mileage traveled between your home and the courthouse. Additional information regarding jury pay will be provided when you report for jury orientation.
Jury service is the civic duty of each citizen. Failure to respond to your jury summons may result in a warrant being issued for your arrest. You will then appear in court before a judge and show cause why you should not be held in contempt.
NO. Please refer to the front page of your summons and follow the call-in instructions. You are required to call in to see if your juror number has been selected to attend. If selected, you MUST attend as instructed. Trials may begin immediately following jury orientation so be prepared to stay for the entire day. Be sure to check your mail in the days just prior to your orientation date. Letters may be sent out to notify jurors of any changes or cancellations.If you have been summonsed for Grand Jury, reply online or by returning the enclosed response card. Please refer to the front page of your summons and follow the call-in instructions. You are required to call in to see if your juror number has been selected to attend. If selected, you MUST attend as instructed. Selected Grand Jurors will also receive a letter approximately one week prior to your orientation date with specific reporting instructions.
Yes. During a jury trial, the judge will typically break at least once during the morning and again in the afternoon. Judges will accommodate a juror’s request to take a break at any time during a trial. All breaks will be taken in the jury rooms with the exception of lunch. Jurors will be released from the courthouse for the lunch hour.Water coolers, coffee, tea and afternoon snacks will be available in each jury room. Jurors are welcome to bring their own food and non-alcoholic beverages into the jury rooms; however, only water will be allowed in the courtroom. Tobacco use of any kind (including electronic cigarettes) is not allowed anywhere in the courthouse.
You do not need to bring anything with you, but please know your juror number. If you are selected to serve as a juror on a trial, you will have down time. You are welcome to bring books, magazines, hand-held gaming devices, laptops, etc. Your personal belongings will be locked and secure while you are in the courtroom. You may also bring snacks and non-alcoholic beverages. Water coolers, coffee and tea will be available in the jury rooms.
Contained within your summons is a parking permit. This authorizes you to park in the Juror Parking Lot during your term of service at the Courthouse. The Juror Parking Lot is located between 4th and 5th and 'D' and 'E' Streets.
If you choose to park elsewhere, be careful to observe any parking restriction signs. Keep in mind that you will not be able to leave the building until lunchtime if you choose to park in a timed spot.If you have a DMV issued disabled parking permit, you may park in the lot behind the Anne G. Basker Auditorium. Although this parking lot is posted two-hour parking only, if you display your DMV disabled permit as well as your juror parking permit, you will be permitted to park there.
Main Entrance Josephine County Courthouse 500 NW 6th StreetGrants Pass, Oregon 97526 Map
Read your entire summons thoroughly. You will find the answers to most questions in your summons. Please reply online or return the response card attached to your summons immediately and/or provide documentation to be excused as outlined in your summons.
You must be a resident of Josephine County in order to serve as a juror. If you are no longer residing in Josephine County, return your juror response card indicating you are no longer eligible to serve. Please provide your new physical address as indicated on the response card.
If you are requesting to be excused for one of the reasons listed on the response card, return the response card attached to your summons indicating the reason you wish to be excused. You will not receive a response. Requests to be excused for any reason other than listed in your summons must be made in writing explaining the extreme nature of the situation which necessitates your request. If you have not received a reply to such a request within two (2) weeks of having submitted it, please contact the jury office to confirm it was received.
Josephine County Circuit CourtAttn: Jury Coordinator500 NW 6th Street Dept 17Grants Pass, OR 97526
Room 209 2nd floor of the Josephine County Courthouse 500 NW 6th Street Grants Pass, OR 97526
Phone: 541.476.2309Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
No. Oregon law (ORS 10.090) provides that it is an unlawful practice for an employer to discharge, intimidate, or coerce an employee due to their service as a juror. An employee who believes their employer has violated the law may file a civil suit or file a complaint with the Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor Industries.
No. Concealed weapons permits do not apply to any court facility.
No weapons of any kind are allowed at jury orientation or anywhere in the courthouse. It is a Class C felony for any person to intentionally possess a weapon in a court facility (ORS 166.370). The Josephine County Sheriff enforces this prohibition against weapons. All jurors will be required to pass through a security check in which anything that can be considered to be a weapon will be confiscated and will not be returned. Purses, backpacks, briefcases, etc. will be searched. Items such as pocket knives, small keychain knives, Leatherman-type tools, box cutters, pepper spray/foam, knitting/crochet needles and scissors are examples of things that are considered to be weapons and will be confiscated.
Contact the jury office at 541.476.2309 immediately.
The term of service for trial jurors in Josephine County is typically one week. Jurors may serve on more than one trial during that term. If you are selected to be a potential juror on a trial that is scheduled to take more than one week, you will be informed of this prior to the start of the trial.The term of service for Grand Jurors in Josephine County is two months. At orientation, jurors will be selected to report and serve one day a week for that two month term.
You are still eligible to serve on a civil trial. You are not eligible to serve on a criminal trial or as a Grand Juror if you were convicted of a felony or have served any part of a felony sentence within fifteen (15) years immediately preceding your call to jury service; or, if you were convicted of a misdemeanor involving violence or dishonesty or have served a misdemeanor sentence involving violence or dishonesty within five (5) years immediately preceding your call to jury service.
You must provide the jury office with written verification from a medical professional indicating that you are unable to serve as a juror. You do not need to provide details of your condition, just a simple note stating youare unable to serve will suffice. If the request is permanent, please have the medical professional indicate such. Your name will then be removed from the jury pool.
Casual business attire is appropriate. The court expects jurors to be dressed modestly and respectfully. Clothing with obscene images or slogans and/or abbreviated clothing such as shorts, tank tops or halter tops are not acceptable attire and will not be allowed in the courtroom. Hats must be removed prior to entering any courtroom. Please be mindful to avoid any strong perfumes or colognes. Such odors can cause individuals with allergies or respiratory conditions to have severe reactions.
Contact the Josephine County Jury Office at 541.476.2309 and further information will be provided.
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock icon ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website.
Only share sensitive information on official, secure websites.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how