
 
Instructions for Filing Small Estates 

Multnomah County Circuit Court 
Fourth Judicial District 

 
 

1. ELIGIBLE ESTATES  
 
A small estate affidavit may be filed if:  
 
A. $75,000 or less of the fair market value of the estate is from personal property, and  
 
B. $200,000 or less of the fair market value of the estate is from real property.  
 

 “Estate” is the decedent’s property that is subject to administration by a court. 
 “Fair market value” is the value of the property on the open market (between unrelated 

parties), not reduced to reflect debts owed against the property, such as mortgages, home 
equity loans and liens.  

 “Real property” is land or interests in land, such as an easement or timber or mineral 
rights.  

 “Personal property” is all other property that is not real property, including contracts for 
the sale of real property, bank accounts, vehicles, and so on.  

 
The dollar limits do not include any property that transfers without probate or the small estate 
process (such as bank accounts or real property held with right of survivorship or accounts with 
beneficiary designations.)  Please note that the limitations listed above are for 
decedents who died on or after January 1, 2010.  When filing a small estate affidavit for 
someone who passed away prior to 1/1/2010, please contact probate court staff at 503-988-
3022 opt. 4 to determine the small estate limitations in effect as of the date of death.   
 
2. DEFINITIONS THAT APPLY TO THE PROCESS  
 

A. Affiant:  The person signing this affidavit is the “affiant.” The affiant has specific legal 
duties under ORS 114.505 to 114.560.  

 
B. Decedent:  The “decedent” is the person who died leaving an estate that needs to be paid 

to creditors or transferred to heirs or devisees.  
 

C. Estate:  The “estate” means all of the decedent’s property that is subject to administration 
by a court in Oregon. This does not include property that transfers automatically to others 
following death (such as joint bank accounts or assets with beneficiary designations, 
unless the decedent’s estate is the designated beneficiary).  

 
D. Heirs:  The “heirs” are the people who would inherit the decedent's estate if the decedent 

did not leave a will.  The heirs are determined by Oregon's laws of intestacy, ORS 112.015 
to 112.115.  
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E. Devisees: The “devisees” are the people named in the will to receive the decedent’s estate.  

Charities and trustees of trusts can also be devisees.  If the decedent died without a will, 
there are no devisees.   The devisees may or may not be the same people as the heirs. 

 
3. WHO CAN FILE  
 

A. If the decedent died intestate (did not leave a will), the heirs entitled by law to the 
decedent’s estate, or the Division of State Lands if there are no heirs.  
 

B. If the decedent died testate (with a will) the devisees of the estate. 
 

C. Any creditor of the estate who has not been paid the full amount owed within 60 days of 
the decedent’s death. Note: If the decedent died intestate and without heirs, a creditor 
cannot file without first receiving authorization from the Division of State Lands. See 
ORS 114.520. Check the box under item 1 of the affidavit indicating that you are a creditor 
and that the decedent died intestate and without heirs. Attach your written authorization 
from the Division to the affidavit.  
 

 4. HOW TO FILE  
 

A. Fill out the form. Do not leave any part blank. If a part does not apply, please 
indicate “none.”   

 
B. Have your signature notarized. 

 
C. Get a certified copy of the death certificate. You may order death certificates 

from the Department of Vital Statistics by calling 503-988-3745 (for deaths 
within the last 6 months) or 971-673-1190 (for deaths that occurred more than 6 
months ago). 

 
D. If the decedent had a will, you must get the original will (not a copy), The 

original will was signed by the decedent.   If you only have a copy of the will, you 
cannot file a small estate affidavit. 

 
E. File the affidavit, death certificate, and original will (if any) at room 224 of the 

Multnomah County Courthouse (Probate Department), 1021 SW Fourth Ave, 
Portland, Oregon 97204. A filing fee of $111.00 is required. Please make 
checks payable to “State of Oregon.” 

 
F. Often banks or other financial institutions will require a court-certified copy of the 

small estate affidavit you file with the court.  You may order a court certified 
copy of the affidavit for an additional fee.  The fee for a certified copy is $5.00 
plus .25 per page and the certified copy must include everything you file with 
the court (affidavit, death certificate, and will (if there was a will)).  For 
example, if your small estate affidavit packet is 6 pages, the fee for one certified 
copy would be $6.50 (6 pages x .25 = $1.50 + $5.00 = $6.50). 
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5. WHEN TO FILE  
 
The affidavit cannot be filed until 30 days after the death of the decedent.  
 
 
6. PART 10 OF THE FORM -- WHO GETS WHAT?  
 
Part 10 of the form deals with who gets what property. This is the interest that each heir or 
devisee is to receive from the estate. If the decedent did not leave a will, the property passes to 
the heirs according to the laws of intestate succession. If the decedent left a will, the property 
goes according to the will.  
 
Examples:  

A. If the decedent left no will and had the following relatives survive:  
 

1. A spouse but no surviving children or grandchildren: everything would go to the 
spouse.  
 
2. A spouse and children:  

a. Everything would go to the spouse if all of the surviving children (and deceased 
children who left children) were also children of the spouse.  
 
b. Half would go to the spouse and half would go to the children if any of the 
surviving children (or deceased children who left children) were not also the 
children of the spouse.  
 

3. No spouse but three children (no deceased children): each child would receive one-
third of the estate.  
 
4. No spouse but two surviving children and one deceased child who left two children: the 
two surviving children would receive one-third each and the children of the deceased 
child would receive one-sixth each (they share the deceased child’s share).  
 
Oregon’s laws of intestate succession are at ORS 112.015 to 112.115   Note that persons of 
the half-blood inherit the same share that they would inherit if they were of the whole 
blood.   ORS 112.095.   Also see ORS 112.175(10, which provides that adopted personal 
have the same status as natural children. 
 

B. If the decedent left a will, each person who is named to receive property would be 
listed, with the property to be received described next to each name under “property to be 
received.”  
 
1. If five people are to receive the estate in equal shares, then “one-fifth” should be 

written under “property to be received,” next to each name.  
 

2. If Joe Smith is to receive the decedent’s house on Elm Street, that should be written in 
under “property to be received” next to Joe Smith’s name. 
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7. WHERE TO FILE  
 
The affidavit can be filed with the circuit court for:  
 

A. The county in which the decedent died,  
 

B. Any county in which the decedent lived or had a home at death, or  
 

C. Any county in which any property of the decedent was located at death or when the 
affidavit is filed.  

 
 
8. DUTIES OF THE AFFIANT  
 
The affiant has the following duties under the law:  
 

A. Mail or deliver a copy of the affidavit showing the date of filing to the parties listed in 
the affidavit. This must be done within 30 days after filing the affidavit.  
 

B. Take control of the property of the estate. See ORS 114.535. 
 

C. From the estate property, pay estate expenses and claims as provided in ORS       
114.545(1)(c) and ORS 114.545(d).   If the assets of the estate are insufficient to pay all 
claims and expenses in full, they must be paid in the order set out in ORS 115.125. 

 

D. File any required tax returns, such as the decedent’s final personal income tax returns, 
and pay any taxes owed. 

 
E. After four months have passed from the date the affidavit was filed (if no personal 

representative has been appointed for the estate), and the expenses and claims 
(including any taxes owed) have been paid, the affiant should transfer the estate 
property to the heirs or devisees. Before the four months is up, the affiant may 
transfer or sell property as allowed by ORS 114.545(1)(e) and (f).  

 
 
9. CLAIMS AGAINST THE ESTATE  
 
See ORS 114.540.  
 
Note that claims against the estate may be presented to the affiant within four months after the 
affidavit was filed.   If an amended or supplemental affidavit is filed, claims may be presented 
within four months after the amended or supplemental affidavit is filed. 
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10. ACCOUNTABILITY OF CLAIMING SUCCESSORS  
 
The affiant and any other claiming successor who receives property under the small estate 
statute are personally answerable and accountable:  
 

A. To estate creditors, to the extent of the value of the property received, ORS 114.545(2);  
 

B. To any personal representative appointed within four months after the affidavit is 
filed; ORS 114.545(2), 114.555; and  

 
C. To any omitted heir or devisee. 

  
 
11. GUIDELINES 
  
Safe Deposit Boxes:   See ORS 114.537 for the procedure to obtain an inventory of a safe 
deposit box before the small estate affidavit is filed. 
 
Vehicles: MUST have year, make, model, estimate of fair market value as of the date of death.  
SHOULD have VIN and license number, but not required  
 
Bank and Investment Accounts: MUST have name of bank/brokerage, type of account (ex: 
checking, savings, IRA, 401(k), brokerage, etc.), and balance on each account (or total balance of 
all accounts) as of the date of death.  
 
Stocks: MUST have name of company, number of shares, and fair market value on date of 
death.  
 
Bonds: MUST have description of type of bond and fair market value of date of death.  
 
Real Estate: MUST have either street address or legal description, and a statement of fair 
market value as of the date of death (you may use the “real market value” or “RMV” from a 
property tax assessment statement as of the date of death). 
 
Tangible Personal Property: MUST have the legal description and a statement of fair 
market value as of the date of death.   ORS 114.525(3).  Estimating the fair market value may 
require obtaining a professional appraisal or a comparative market analysis from one or more 
realtors.  
 
Manufactured Home: We MUST know if it is real or personal property. A manufactured 
home on a solid foundation is real property; otherwise generally personal property. We MUST 
have a description (year, make, model, location). We SHOULD have a serial number.  
 
Property Discovered After the Affidavit is Filed:   If additional property is discovered 
after the small estate affidavit is filed, the affiant must file a supplemental affidavit to include the 
property not described in the original affidavit.   See ORS 114.515(8). 
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12. QUESTIONS  
 
The court staff is not allowed to give legal advice.  
 
If you have questions about handling a small estate, or whether a small estate is the right 
process for you to use, you should contact a lawyer. The Oregon State Bar Lawyer Referral  
 
Service can provide names of lawyers in your area who accept referrals in this area. The number  
for the referral service is 1-800-452-7636. You may also inquire about obtaining a listing of low-
cost legal services available in Multnomah County from a Probate staff member.   
 
The references to ORS in these instructions are to the Oregon Revised Statutes. You can read 
these at the law library located in the Multnomah County courthouse or find them on the 
internet at: http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/114.html (Chapter 114) and 
http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/112.html (Chapter 112).  
 
 
CONTACT INFORMATION FOR MULTNOMAH COUNTY PROBATE: 

Multnomah County Courthouse 
Probate Department, Room 224 
1021 SW Fourth Ave 
Portland OR  97204 
 
Phone: 503-988-3022 opt. 4   
Phone hours: 8:30AM -10:30AM  & 1:30PM-4:30PM Mon-Fri 
 
Regular Business Hours: 8AM – 5PM Monday- Friday  
If filing a new case, please try to arrive before 4:30PM 
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IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OFOREGON 
FOR THE COUNTY OF MULTNOMAH 

PROBATE DEPARTMENT 
 
 

In the Matter of the Small Estate of: 
 
CASE NO. 
_______________________  
AFFIDAVIT OF CLAIMING 
SUCCESSOR  
(Small Estate Affidavit)        

          Filing Fee:   $111 (ORS21.145 (4)) 
    

STATE OF OREGON ) 
    ) ss. 
County of Multnomah ) 
 
 I swear that the following statements are true: 
 

1. The affiant:  My name and address are:  
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________ 
 
I have authority to file this affidavit because: [check at least one that applies] 
 
[  ] I am an heir of the decedent, and the decedent left no will. 
[  ] I am a devisee of the decedent under the decedent’s will. 
[  ] I am named the personal representative under the decedent’s will. 
[  ] I am a creditor and have not been paid the full amount owed to me within 60 days  

of the date of the decedent’s death.  Creditors must check the box that 
applies: 

 [  ] The decedent died intestate and without heirs.  I have attached written    
authorization from the Division of State Lands allowing me to file this small estate 
proceeding; or 

 [  ] Authorization from the Department of State Lands is not required because 
the decedent died testate or left heirs. 

 
2. The decedent: 

 
Name: ________________________________ Age: ____   
Mailing address:                 Date of death: _____________ 
_____________________________________ Place of death: _____________ 
_____________________________________ 
_____________________________________ 
 
A certified copy of the death record is attached. 
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___________________________________ 
(PRINT Name of Deceased)  



 
 

3. The decedent’s estate. The following property is in the decedent’s estate: 
 
Real Property (Land, house, rental property, etc.)  Fair Market Value 
[attach a legal description- required]  [maximum total value $200,000] 
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________ 
     Total all Real Property:  $ ________________ 

 
 Personal Property      Fair Market Value 
 [PERS accounts, bank accounts, jewelry,]  [maximum total value $75,000] 

_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________ 
     Total all Personal Property: $ _____________ 
 
[“Fair market value” means the value of the property on the open market (between 
unrelated parties), not reduced to reflect debts owed against the property.  Do not 
include property that transfers automatically to others following death (such as joint 
bank accounts or insurance policies with specific individuals listed as beneficiaries).] 
 

4. Affidavit should be filed in Multnomah County. This small estate affidavit 
should be filed in Multnomah County because [check at least one that applies]: 
 
[  ] The decedent died in Multnomah County. 
[  ] At death, the decedent lived in or had a home in Multnomah County. 
[  ] The decedent had property located in Multnomah County at death or when this 

affidavit is filed. 
 
Thirty or more days have passed since the decedent died. 
 

5. No probate estate exists. No application or petition for the appointment of a 
personal representative has been granted in Oregon.  [This means that no Oregon court 
has opened a probate estate for the decedent.] 

 
6. Is there a will? [Check the one that applies] 

 
[  ] The decedent died testate (did leave a will).  The original will (not a copy) is 
attached. 
 
[  ] The decedent died intestate (did not leave a will). 
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7. The heirs. The heirs of the decedent, and their addresses, are: 

Name of each heir  Relationship to decedent Last known address 
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________ 
 

8. The devisees. [This part only applies if the decedent left a will.  If the decedent did 
not leave a will, write in “none.”] 
 
Name of each devisee      Last known address 
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________ 
 

9. Notice to heirs and devisees.  I promise to give to each heir and devisee, if any, (1) a 
copy of this affidavit showing the date of filing and (2) a copy of the will, if the decedent 
died testate.  I will do this by delivering or mailing the papers to the heirs and devisees at 
the last-known addresses.  I will do this within 30 days after this affidavit is filed with the 
court. 
 

10. Who gets what? The following people are entitled to the following property: 
 

Name of heir or devisee     Property to be received 
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________ 
[The will, if one  exists, governs who gets what.  If no will exists, the laws of intestacy 
apply (see  instructions).  If one person is to receive the entire estate, state “entire estate” 
or “100% of residue” under “Property to be received.”  If, for example, three people share 
the estate equally, state “1/3 of residue” under “Property to be received.”] 
 

11. Creditors. Reasonable efforts have been made to ascertain the creditors of the estate.  
The following expenses of or claims against the estate remain unpaid (including 
reimbursement owed to someone who paid claims or expenses): 
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Creditor’s name Last-known address  Type of claim & estimate of amount 
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________ 
[If the estate has no creditors, please write “none.”] 
 

12. Disputed claims. I, as affiant, dispute the following claims against the estate: 
 

Creditor’s name Last-known address  Type of claim & estimate of amount 
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
____________________________________________ 
[If the estate has no creditors making claims disputed by the affiant, write “none.”] 
 

13. Notice to creditors. I promise to give each creditor listed in parts 11 and 12 above a 
copy of this affidavit showing the date of filing.  I will do this by delivering or mailing the 
papers to the creditor at the last-known address.  I will do this within 30 days after this 
affidavit is filed with the court.  

 
14. Notice to State. Within 30 days after this affidavit is filed with the court, I promise to 

mail or deliver a copy of the affidavit showing the date of filing to the Department of 
Human Services (DHS) and the Oregon Health Authority at the following address: 

 
Department of Human Services 
Estate Administration Unit 
PO Box 14021 
Salem, OR  97309-5024 

(Pursuant to OAR 943-001-015(1)(h), mailing notice to DHS at the address above is 
considered giving notice to the Oregon Health Authority.) 

 
15. Claims may be barred. Some claims against the estate may be barred unless specific 

things happen. 
 
a. Claims against the estate not listed in this affidavit or in amounts larger than those 

listed in this affidavit may be barred unless: 
 
(1) A claim is presented to the affiant within four months of the filing of the affidavit 

at the address stated in part 1 of this affidavit; or 
(2) A personal representative of the estate is appointed within the time allowed under 

ORS 114.555 
 
 

Page 4 of 5 – Affidavit of Claiming Successor 
 



b. If this affidavit lists one or more claims which the affiant disputes, any such claim may 
be barred unless: 
 
(1) A petition for summary determination is filed within four months of the filing of 

this affidavit; or 
 

(2) A personal representative of the estate is appointed within the time allowed under 
ORS 114.555 

 

I have read this affidavit.  The statements it contains are true and correct to the 
best of my knowledge. 
 
 

            
   ______________________________________ 

     Affiant (sign in front of Notary Public) 
     Telephone Number:  (             )            ____                                . 
       

Signed and sworn to before me on ______________________, 20_______. 
 
    By   __________________________________________ 
 
     __________________________________________ 
          Notary Public  
           My commission expires  _______________________ 
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