Skip to main content

Legal Holidays

Here are the legal holidays that have been announced by the Office of the State Court Administrator:

Holiday Event​
Date Closed
New Year’s Day (Jan. 1) Mon., Jan. 2, 2017
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Mon., Jan. 16, 2017
Presidents’ Day Mon., Feb. 20, 2017
Memorial Day Mon., May 29, 2017
Independence Day (July 4) Tues., July 4, 2017
Labor Day Mon., Sept. 4, 2017
Veterans Day (Nov. 11) Fri., Nov. 10, 2017
Thanksgiving Day Thurs., Nov. 23, 2017
Christmas Day (Dec. 25) Mon., Dec. 25, 2017
Holiday Event​
Date Closed
New Year’s Day (Jan. 1) Mon., Jan. 1, 2018​
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Mon., Jan. 15, 2018
Presidents’ Day Mon., Feb. 19, 2018
Memorial Day Mon., May 28, 2018
Independence Day (July 4) Wed., July 4, 2018
Labor Day Mon., Sept. 3, 2018
Veterans Day (Nov. 11) Mon., Nov. 12, 2018
Thanksgiving Day Thurs., Nov. 22, 2018
Christmas Day (Dec. 25) Tues., Dec. 25, 2018​

 

Courts' Public Service Hours of Operation


All state courts and state court offices close each calendar year for certain holidays:

  • 9 holidays defined by state law
  • Any other day the Governor appoints as a holiday

State law provides that when a holiday falls on Saturday, the legal holiday (the day we close) is the Friday before. When a holiday falls on Sunday, the legal holiday is the following Monday. The state court system closes for each legal holiday set by state law.

For information on how legal holidays affect computing time for filing or serving process, see ORS 174.120 and 174.125, ORCP 10, UTCR 1.130, TCR 10, and ORAP 1.25.


 

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×