Skip to Main Content
Sherman Circuit Court

Welcome to Oregon's 7th Judicial District

Sherman County Circuit Court


Created in 1889, Sherman County was named for Civil War General William Tecumseh Sherman. The town of Wasco was the original county seat but it was subsequently moved to Moro after several elections to determine the permanent county seat. The courthouse was built in 1899 and it remains in use today serving as both a courthouse and a historic icon. Sherman County can boast that it has the highest percentage of cultivated land than any other county in Oregon. The mainstay of their agriculture is wheat, barley, and cattle raising. Sherman County has continued the impressive use of the land by developing wind turbine farms to provide energy for years to come.

The Sherman County Courthouse is located at 500 Court St., Moro, Oregon 97039

Hours of operation are from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.​

Main Phone: 541-565-3650

Photos and information from the Oregon Secretary of State Archives Division and The Oregon Blue Book, 2007 – 2008.