Skip to Main Content

About Us

Created in 1889, the Sherman County was named for Civil War General William Tecumseh Sherman. The town of Wasco was the original county seat but it was subsequently moved to Moro after several elections to determine the permanent county seat. The courthouse was built in 1899 and it remains in use today serving as both a courthouse and a historic icon. The Sherman County can boast that it has the highest percentage of cultivated land than any other county in Oregon. The mainstay of their agriculture is wheat, barley, and cattle raising. Sherman County has continued the impressive use of the land by developing wind turbine farms to provide energy for years to come.
Information from the Oregon Secretary of State Archives Division and the Oregon Blue Book.

For contact information and courthouse location, please see the Contact Us and Courthouse Location pages.