2012 “ SCHEDULE OF FINES” ON VIOLATIONS (SOF-12)

PRESUMPTIVE, MINIMUM, AND MAXIMUM AMOUNTS
FOR VIOLATION OFFENSES IN OREGON

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012

Office of the State Court Administrator
Oregon Judicial Department



ABOUT THE SCHEDULE

Effective Date: Oregon Laws 2011, chapter 597 (HB 2712), eliminated the complex structure
of calculated “base fines” on violations in favor of explicit “presumptive fines” for classified
violations and many unclassified “specific fine violations.” The law also set new minimum and
maximum fines on violations. The new presumptive fines and minimum and maximum fine
amounts apply to offenses committed on or after January 1, 2012.

Effective January 1, 2012, this “schedule of fines” (SOF-12) supersedes MBFS-11 and all
previous fine schedules and summaries for violations committed on or after that date.

Purposes: The Office of the State Court Administrator is publishing SOF-12 as a helpful guide
for courts and law enforcement. The schedule is not a substitute for reading the actual law.
The legislature may adopt changes in 2012 to clarify some provisions passed in 2011; we will
update this schedule as needed.

SOF-12 provides summarized information on

e the amount a citing enforcement officer must enter on the citation in the place
designated for "presumptive fine" when charging a person with a violation offense under
state law, regardless of the court the officer cites the person to appear in, and

e minimum and maximum amounts courts can impose on conviction.

The presumptive fine is not the maximum fine a court can impose. It is the fine amount the
defendant can pay to resolve the violation offense without having to do anything else, unless the
law or the court requires the defendant to appear. (See ORS 153.061 as amended by Or Laws
2011, c 597, 825.) The court can impose a higher fine, up to the maximum statutory sanction, if
the law or the court requires the defendant to appear.

Offenses Included: SOF-12 includes amounts for Class A, B, C, and D violations and common
“specific fine violations.” Many offenses separately listed in MBFS-11 and prior schedules are
not separately listed in SOF-12 because various changes in 2011 reclassified offenses and
removed offense-specific provisions, eliminating the need for separate listing.

What Presumptive Fines Are Not/Do Not Do: The presumptive fines listed in SOF-12

e are not bail, security-release amounts, or security-release deposit amounts; they do not
affect security-release procedures under ORS 135.265;

e do not include any moneys for restitution or costs; and
e do not apply to misdemeanors or felonies.

Where to Find Schedules: SOF-12 and earlier schedules are posted in PDF on the Oregon
Judicial Department’s website — www.courts.oregon.gov/OJD.

Click on Materials & Resources.

Click on the Court Rules tab.

Using the drop-down menu under “Complete List of Rules,” select Fines on Violations.
Click on Go.
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(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

(e)

2012 Schedule of Fines

. . Presumptive | Minimum Maximum Fine Maximum Fine
on Violations Fine Fine (Individuals) (Corporations)
Standard

(1) Class A violation $435 $220 $2,000 $4,000
(2) Class B violation $260 $130 $1,000 $2,000
(3) Class C violation $160 $80 $500 $1,000
(4) Class D violation $110 $60 $250 $500

Traffic Violation in Special Zone
(5) Class A violation $870 $220 $2,000 $4,000
(6) Class B violation $520 $130 $1,000 $2,000
(7) Class C violation, speed only $320 $80 $500 $1,000
(8) Class D violation, speed only $220 $60 $250 $500

Drugs and Alcohol
(9) A Viol. OLCC licensee furnishing
alcohol to a minor, 471.410(6), first_
offense $435 $220 $2,000 $4,000
(10) SE Viol. OLCC licensee furnishing
alcohol to a minor, 471.410(6), second
offense (third or subsequent is a Class A
misd.) $860 $172 $2,000 $2,000
(11) A Viol. Allow minor to consume
alcohol on property, 471.410(9), first_
offense $435 $220 $2,000 $4,000
(12) SE Viol. Allow minor to consume
alcohol on property, 471.410(9), second
or subsequent offense $1,000 $200 $2,000 $2,000
(13) SE Vial. Delivery of less than 5
grams of marijuana for no consideration,
475.860(3)(b), (within 1000 ft. of a school
is a Class C misd.) $650 $130 $2,000 $2,000
(14) SE Viol. Possession of less than an
ounce of marijuana, 475.864(3) (within
1000 ft. of school is a Class C misd.) $650 $130 $2,000 $2,000
(15) SF Traffic Viol. Refusal to take test
for intoxicants, 813.095 $650 $130 $2,000 $2,000
Special Traffic Violations

(16) SE Traffic Viol. Speeding 100 mph
or greater, 811.109(5) $1,150 $230 $2,000 $2,000
(17) A Viol. Careless driving, injury or N/A
death of vulnerable user, 811.135(3) must appear N/A $12,500 $12,500
(18) SE Traffic Viol. Unlawful parking in
a winter recreation parking area, 811.590 $30 $6 $2,000 $2,000
(19) SF Traffic Viol. Bicycle helmet,
814.485 and 814.486 $25 $5 $2,000 $2,000
(20) SFE Traffic Viol. Motor-assisted
scooter helmet, 814.534 and 814.536 $25 $5 $2,000 $2,000
(21) SE Traffic Viol. Skateboarder,
scooter rider, in-line skater helmet,
814.600 $25 $5 $2,000 $2,000
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(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

(e)

2012 Schedule of Fines

. . Presumptive | Minimum Maximum Fine Maximum Fine
on Violations Fine Fine (Individuals) (Corporations)
Overweight--Schedule |
(22) 1,000 or less $100 $20 $2,000 $2,000
(23) 1,001 - 2,000 $150 $30 $2,000 $2,000
(24) 2,001 - 3,000 $200 $40 $2,000 $2,000
(25) 3,001 - 5,000 $300 $60 $2,000 $2,000
(26) 5,001 - 7,500 (a) *0.15 (b) * 0.20 $2,000 $2,000
(27) 7,501 - 10,000 (a) *0.16 (b) * 0.20 $2,000 $2,000
(28) 10,001 - 12,500 (a) * 0.20 (b) *0.20 amt in (b) amt in (b)
(29) 12,501 and over (a) *0.24 (b) * 0.20 amt in (b) amt in (b)
Overweight--Schedule Il
$200 +
(30) 100 - 5,000 (a) *0.10 (b) *0.20 $2,000 $2,000
$350 +
(31) 5,001 - 10,000 (a) *0.15 (b) *0.20 $2,000 $2,000
$600 +
(32) 10,001 - and over (a) *0.30 (b) *0.20 amt in (b) amt in (b)
Overweight--Schedule I
$200 +
(33) 100 - 5,000 (a) *0.15 (b) *0.20 $2,000 $2,000
$350 +
(34) 5,001 - 8,250 (a) *0.20 (b) *0.20 $2,000 $2,000
$350 +
(35) 8,251 -10,000 (a) * 0.20 (b) *0.20 amt in (b) amt in (b)
(36) 10,001 - and over (Class C misd.) N/A N/A N/A N/A
Miscellaneous Other Violations
(37) SE Viol. Scrap metal business
violation, 165.107, first through third
offense $1,000 $200 $2,000 $2,000
(38) SE Viol. Scrap metal business
violation, 165.107, fourth or subsequent
offense $5,000 $1,000 $5,000 $5,000
(39) SE Viol. Unlawful air pollution in the
second degree, 468.936 $5,000 $1,000 $25,000 $25,000
(40) D Viol. Operating manually propelled
boat w/o aquatic invasive species permit,
830.565 $30 $30 $250 $500
(41) D Viol. Operating motor boat w/o
aquatic invasive species permit, 830.565 $50 $50 $250 $500
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