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 SMALL ESTATES AFFIDAVIT 
 
To file a Small Estates Affidavit, you will need the following: 

1.  Affidavit of Claiming Successor 
Testate if there is a will 
Intestate if there is no will 

 
The affidavit can be purchased at office supply or stationery stores.  Fill in 

the blanks and have the affidavit notarized.  If you bring the affidavit to the 
courthouse with proper identification (i.e. valid driver's license), the clerk can 
witness your signature. 
 

2.  Certified copy of the death certificate. 
A photocopy cannot be accepted. 

 
3.  The original will, if one exists. 

 
4.  Filing fee in the amount of $111.00.  A certified copy of the affidavit 

will cost $5.00 (certification fee) plus $ .25 per page (copy fee).   
 

Note:  For those persons filing for PERS distribution, a certified copy of the 
affidavit should be sent to PERS.   

 
******************************************************************************************** 
******************************************************************************************** 
 
Washington County Circuit Court  HOURS:    8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m 
Probate Department               Monday - Friday 
150 North First Avenue 
Hillsboro, OR 97124 
 
******************************************************************************************** 
******************************************************************************************** 

 
PLEASE NOTE:   The court staff is not allowed to give legal advice.   
You must decide if the estate qualifies as a small estate.  If you have questions 
about handling an estate, you should contact an attorney.  The Oregon State Bar 
Lawyer Referral Service can provide names of probate lawyers in your area.  The 
number for the referral service is  
1-800-452-7636.   
 



Page 2 of 13 Small Estate Affidavit 
 

 Small Estates Affidavit 
 
 

Oregon law allows an abbreviated procedure for handling small estates 
which may otherwise require a probate proceeding.  See ORS 114.505 through 
114.560 (copy attached).  This process is accomplished by filing an “Affidavit of 
Claiming Successor”, sometimes referred to as a small estate affidavit.   
 
Estates That Qualify: 
 
An Affidavit of Claiming Successor may be filed if: 

1. The estate has personal property that has fair market value   
  of $50,000 or less, and/or 

2. The estate has real property that has fair market value of  
  $150,000 or less.   
 
“Fair Market Value” is the value of the property on the open market (between 
unrelated parties), not reduced to reflect debts owed against the property. 
 
“Real Property” is land or interests in land. 
 
“Personal Property” is all other property that is not real property, including 
contracts for the sale of real property, bank accounts, vehicles, etc.  The dollar 
amounts do not include any property that transfers without probate or the small 
estate procedure.   
 
An Affidavit of Claiming Successor that includes a safe-deposit box as an asset 
cannot be filed until the requirements of ORS 114.537 and ORS 708A.655 have 
been met. 
 
Who May File: 

 
The small estate affidavit must be filed by one or more “claiming 

successors.”  A claiming successor is:   1.  An heir or devisee of the decedent 
(depending on whether a will exists);   2.  The person nominated as personal 
representative in the decedent's will.   3.  A creditor of the estate who has not 
been paid within 60 days after the decedent's death (Note: If the decedent died 
without a will or heirs, the creditor must have the written authorization from the 
Division of State Lands);   4.  The Director of the Division of State Lands, if there is 
no will and no heirs.   
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What to File: 
 
You can buy printed forms at some stationery stores.  If the decedent had a 

will, the affidavit will be for a “Testate Estate”.  If the decedent did not have a will, 
the affidavit will be for an “Intestate Estate”.  The decedent's “heirs” are the people 
who would inherit property under Oregon's laws of intestacy.  The “devisee” of the 
decedent are people named to receive property in the decedent's will.  An 
“interest” in decedent's property is what each heir/devisee is to receive from the 
estate.   

In addition to the affidavit, a certified copy of the death certificate must be 
filed.  If the decedent died testate, the original will must be filed with the affidavit.   

The filing fee in Washington County is currently $111.00.  To obtain a 
certified copy of the affidavit, the fee is $5.00 plus $.25 per page.   
 
When to File: 

 
The affidavit may not be filed until 30 days after the death of the decedent.   

 
Where to File 

 
The affidavit can be filed with the probate court for:   1) The county where 

the decedent died;   2) The county where the decedent lived or had a home at the 
time of death;   3) A county where property of the decedent is located at the time 
the affidavit is filed or was located at the time of the decedent's death.    
 
Duties of the Claiming Successor: 

 
The person who filed the affidavit is the affiant and has the following duties 

required by law: 
1.   Mail or deliver a copy of the affidavit to the following:               a) The 

heirs and devisees.  If there is a will, a copy should be included with the affidavit;   
b) Each creditor, if any, who has not been paid in full;  c) Any person known to the 
affiant who asserts a claim against the estate;  d) Department of Human Services, 
Estate Administration Unit, P.O. Box 14021, Salem, Oregon 97309-9913;  e)  
Oregon Health Authority, 500 Summer Street NE  E20, Salem Oregon 97301.  
This must be done within 30 days after filing the affidavit.   
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Duties of the Claiming Successor (continued): 

 
2.   Take Control of the property.  See ORS 114.535. 
3.   Pay estate claims and expenses from estate property.   

See ORS 114.545(1)(c).   
4.   After four months from the date the affidavit is filed and if no personal 

representative is appointed for the estate, the affiant should transfer the estate 
property to the heirs and devisees.  Before the four months expire, the affiant may 
transfer property as allowed by ORS 114.545 (1)(e) and (f).   
 
Accountability of the Claiming Successor: 

 
The affiant and any other claiming successor who receives property under 

the small estate statute is personally answerable and accountable to:  1)  estate 
creditors, to the extent of the value of the property received;   2)  to any personal 
representative appointed within four months after the affidavit is filed;  3) any 
omitted heir or devisee.  
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SMALL ESTATES 
 
 114.505 Definitions for ORS 
114.505 to 114.560. As used in ORS 
114.505 to 114.560: 
 (1) “Affiant” means the person or 
persons signing an affidavit filed under 
ORS 114.515. 
 (2) “Claiming successors” means: 
 (a) If the decedent died intestate, the 
heir or heirs of the decedent, or if there 
is no heir, an estate administrator of the 
Department of State Lands appointed 
under ORS 113.235; 
 (b) If the decedent died testate, the 
devisee or devisees of the decedent; 
and 
 (c) Any creditor of the estate entitled 
to payment or reimbursement from the 
estate under ORS 114.545 (1)(c) who 
has not been paid or reimbursed the full 
amount owed such creditor within 60 
days after the date of the decedent’s 
death. 
 (3) “Estate” means decedent’s 
property subject to administration in 
Oregon. [1973 c.710 §2; 1977 c.239 §1; 
1979 c.340 §1; 1979 c.467 §3; 1989 
c.228 §1; 2003 c.395 §14; 2005 c.22 
§92] 
 
 114.515 Value of estate; where 
affidavit filed; fee; amended affidavit; 
supplemental affidavit. (1) If the estate 
of a decedent meets the requirements of 
subsection (2) of this section, any of the 
following persons may file an affidavit 
with the clerk of the probate court in any 
county where there is venue for a 
proceeding seeking the appointment of a 
personal representative for the estate: 
 (a) One or more of the claiming 
successors of the decedent. 
 (b) If the decedent died testate, any 
person named as personal 
representative in the decedent’s will. 
 (2) An affidavit under this section 

may be filed only if: 
 (a) The fair market value of the 
estate is $200,000 or less; 
 (b) Not more than $50,000 of the fair 
market value of the estate is attributable 
to personal property; and 
 (c) Not more than $150,000 of the 
fair market value of the estate is 
attributable to real property. 
 (3) An affidavit under this section 
may not be filed until 30 days after the 
death of the decedent. 
 (4) An affidavit filed under the 
provisions of this section must contain 
the information required in ORS 114.525 
and shall be made a part of the probate 
records. 
 (5) In determining fair market value 
under this section, the fair market value 
of the entire interest in the property 
included in the estate shall be used 
without reduction for liens or other debts. 
 (6) The clerk of the probate court 
shall charge and collect a fee of $23 for 
the filing of any affidavit under this 
section. 
 (7) Any error or omission in an 
affidavit filed under this section may be 
corrected by filing an amended affidavit 
within four months after the filing of the 
affidavit. 
 (8) One or more supplemental 
affidavits may be filed at any time after 
the filing of an affidavit under this section 
for the purpose of including property not 
described in the original affidavit. Copies 
of all previously filed affidavits must be 
attached to the supplemental affidavit 
and all information required in ORS 
114.525 must be reflected in the 
supplemental affidavit. A supplemental 
affidavit may not be filed if by reason of 
the additional property described in the 
supplemental affidavit any limitation 
imposed by subsection (2) of this section 
is exceeded. [1973 c.710 §§3, 8; 1977 
c.239 §2; 1979 c.467 §1; 1981 s.s. c.3 
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§36; 1985 c.368 §1; 1985 c.496 §6; 
1987 c.586 §28; 1989 c.228 §2; 1989 
c.856 §1; 1995 c.682 §1; 1997 c.447 §1; 
1997 c.801 §32; 2003 c.737 §§59,60; 
2005 c.122 §§1,2; 2005 c.273 §§1,2; 
2005 c.702 §§69,70,71] 
 
 Note: Section 3, chapter 273, 
Oregon Laws 2005, provides: 
 Sec. 3. The amendments to ORS 
114.515 by sections 1 and 2 of this 2005 
Act apply only to decedents who die on 
or after the effective date of this 2005 
Act [January 1, 2006]. [2005 c.273 §3] 
 
 Note: Section 15 (19), chapter 860, 
Oregon Laws 2007, provides: 
 Sec. 15. (19) In addition to the fee 
provided for in ORS 114.515 (6), for the 
period commencing September 1, 2007, 
and ending June 30, 2009, the clerk of 
the probate court shall collect a 
surcharge of $1 upon the filing of an 
affidavit under ORS 114.515. [2007 
c.860 §15(19)] 
 
 114.520 Authorization from 
Department of State Lands required 
for filing of affidavit by creditor if 
decedent dies intestate and without 
heirs; rules. (1) If a decedent dies 
intestate and without heirs, a creditor of 
an estate who is a claiming successor 
may not file an affidavit under ORS 
114.515 unless the creditor has received 
written authorization from an estate 
administrator of the Department of State 
Lands appointed under ORS 113.235. 
Except as provided by rule adopted by 
the Director of the Department of State 
Lands, an estate administrator shall 
consent to the filing of an affidavit under 
ORS 114.515 by a creditor only if it 
appears after investigation that the 
estate is insolvent. 
 (2) A creditor of an estate who is 
subject to subsection (1) of this section 
may give written notice to an estate 
administrator of the Department of State 

Lands informing the estate administrator 
that the creditor intends to file an 
affidavit under ORS 114.515. Upon 
receiving the notice permitted by this 
subsection, the estate administrator 
shall investigate the assets and liabilities 
of the estate. Within 30 days after 
receiving the notice required by this 
subsection, the estate administrator 
shall either: 
 (a) Give written authorization to the 
creditor for the filing of an affidavit by the 
creditor under ORS 114.515; or 
 (b) Inform the creditor that the 
Department of State Lands will file an 
affidavit as claiming successor under 
ORS 114.515. 
 (3) If a decedent dies intestate and 
without heirs, a creditor of an estate who 
is a claiming successor and who files an 
affidavit under ORS 114.515 must 
notate at the top of the affidavit that the 
affidavit is being filed by a creditor of the 
estate. If the affidavit contains the 
notation required by this subsection, the 
clerk of the probate court may not 
accept the affidavit for filing unless there 
is attached to the affidavit written 
authorization for the filing of the affidavit 
by the creditor from an estate 
administrator of the Department of State 
Lands. The written authorization may be 
a copy of a memorandum of an 
interagency agreement between the 
Department of State Lands and another 
state agency. [1997 c.88 §2; 2003 c.395 
§15] 
 
 114.525 Content of affidavit. An 
affidavit filed under ORS 114.515 shall: 
 (1) State the name, age, domicile, 
post-office address and Social Security 
number of the decedent; 
 (2) State the date and place of the 
decedent’s death. A certified copy of the 
death certificate shall be attached to the 
affidavit; 
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 (3) Describe and state the fair market 
value of all property in the estate, 
including a legal description of any real 
property; 
 (4) State that no application or 
petition for the appointment of a 
personal representative has been 
granted in Oregon; 
 (5) State whether the decedent died 
testate or intestate, and if the decedent 
died testate, the will shall be attached to 
the affidavit; 
 (6) List the heirs of the decedent and 
the last address of each heir as known 
to the affiant, and state that a copy of 
the affidavit showing the date of filing 
and a copy of the will, if the decedent 
died testate, will be delivered to each 
heir or mailed to the heir at the last-
known address; 
 (7) If the decedent died testate, list 
the devisees of the decedent and the 
last address of each devisee as known 
to the affiant and state that a copy of the 
will and a copy of the affidavit showing 
the date of filing will be delivered to each 
devisee or mailed to the devisee at the 
last-known address; 
 (8) State the interest in the property 
described in the affidavit to which each 
heir or devisee is entitled and the 
interest, if any, that will escheat; 
 (9) State that reasonable efforts have 
been made to ascertain creditors of the 
estate. List the expenses of and claims 
against the estate remaining unpaid or 
on account of which the affiant or any 
other person is entitled to 
reimbursement from the estate, 
including the known or estimated 
amounts thereof and the names and 
addresses of the creditors as known to 
the affiant, and state that a copy of the 
affidavit showing the date of filing will be 
delivered to each creditor who has not 
been paid in full or mailed to the creditor 
at the last-known address; 
 (10) Separately list the name and 
address of each person known to the 

affiant to assert a claim against the 
estate that the affiant disputes and the 
known or estimated amount thereof and 
state that a copy of the affidavit showing 
the date of filing will be delivered to each 
such person or mailed to the person at 
the last-known address; 
 (11) State that a copy of the affidavit 
showing the date of filing will be mailed 
or delivered to the Department of 
Human Services; 
 (12) State that claims against the 
estate not listed in the affidavit or in 
amounts larger than those listed in the 
affidavit may be barred unless: 
 (a) A claim is presented to the affiant 
within four months of the filing of the 
affidavit at the address stated in the 
affidavit for presentment of claims; or 
 (b) A personal representative of the 
estate is appointed within the time 
allowed under ORS 114.555; and 
 (13) If the affidavit lists one or more 
claims that the affiant disputes, state 
that any such claim may be barred 
unless: 
 (a) A petition for summary 
determination is filed within four months 
of the filing of the affidavit; or 
 (b) A personal representative of the 
estate is appointed within the time 
allowed under ORS 114.555. [1973 
c.710 §6; 1977 c.239 §3; 1979 c.340 §2; 
1989 c.228 §3; 1991 c.191 §3; 1995 
c.453 §1; 2001 c.104 §35; 2001 c.620 
§2; 2001 c.900 §18a; 2003 c.196 §1; 
2003 c.395 §16; 2005 c.22 §93] 
 
 114.535 Transfer of decedent’s 
property to affiant; proceedings to 
compel transfer. (1) Any person 
indebted to the decedent or having 
possession of personal property 
belonging to the estate, to whom a 
certified copy of the affidavit filed under 
ORS 114.515 is delivered by the affiant 
on or after the 10th day following the 
filing of the affidavit, shall pay, transfer 
or deliver the personal property to the 
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affiant. Any person who has received 
property of the decedent under ORS 
446.616, 722.262 or 803.094, or any 
similar statute providing for the transfer 
of property of an estate which is not 
being probated shall pay, transfer or 
deliver the property to the affiant if the 
person would be required to pay, 
transfer or deliver the property to a 
personal representative of the estate. 
The transferor is discharged and 
released from any liability or 
responsibility for the transfer in the same 
manner and with the same effect as if 
the property had been transferred, 
delivered or paid to a personal 
representative of the estate of the 
decedent. 
 (2) A transfer agent of any corporate 
security registered in the name of the 
decedent shall change the registered 
ownership on the books of the 
corporation to the person entitled thereto 
on presentation of a certified copy of the 
affidavit filed under ORS 114.515. 
 (3) If a person to whom an affidavit is 
delivered refuses to pay, deliver or 
transfer any personal property to the 
affiant or the person entitled to the 
property as disclosed in the affidavit filed 
under ORS 114.515, the property may 
be recovered or its payment, delivery or 
transfer compelled upon proof of the 
transferee’s entitlement in a proceeding 
brought for the purpose by or on behalf 
of the transferee. 
 (4) If the affidavit was signed by the 
Director of Human Services or a 
designee of the director, the director or 
the designee may certify a copy of the 
affidavit for the purposes described in 
subsection (1) or (2) of this section. 
[1973 c.710 §4; 1979 c.340 §3; 1989 
c.228 §4; 1991 c.67 §23; 1997 c.631 
§404; 2003 c.196 §2; 2003 c.655 §60] 
 
114.537 Safe deposit boxes. (1) If a 
claiming successor or other person who 
is eligible to file an affidavit under ORS 

114.515 is aware that the decedent was 
the sole lessee or the last surviving 
lessee of a safe deposit box at the time 
of the decedent’s death, the claiming 
successor or other person may not file 
an affidavit under ORS 114.515 until the 
person requests an inventory of the box 
under ORS 708A.655, if the lessor of the 
box is an Oregon operating institution as 
defined in ORS 706.008, or under ORS 
723.844, if the lessor of the box is a 
credit union as defined in ORS 723.008. 
Upon receiving the request, the lessor of 
the box shall cause an inventory of the 
contents of the box to be made. The 
lessor shall retain the original inventory 
in the box and shall provide a copy of 
the inventory to the person requesting 
the inventory. The person requesting the 
inventory shall take the contents of the 
box into consideration in determining 
whether the estate of the decedent is 
within the limits prescribed by ORS 
114.515 (2). If an affidavit under ORS 
114.515 is filed by the person, the value 
of the contents of the box shall be stated 
in the affidavit. 
 (2) If a person who has filed an 
affidavit under ORS 114.515 becomes 
aware after the filing of the affidavit that 
the decedent was the sole lessee or the 
last surviving lessee of a safe deposit 
box at the time of the decedent’s death, 
the person shall promptly request an 
inventory of the box under ORS 
708A.655, if the lessor of the box is an 
Oregon operating institution as defined 
in ORS 706.008, or under ORS 723.844, 
if the lessor of the box is a credit union 
as defined in ORS 723.008. Upon 
receiving the request, the lessor of the 
box shall cause an inventory of the 
contents of the box to be made. The 
lessor shall retain the original inventory 
in the box and shall provide a copy of 
the inventory to the person requesting 
the inventory. If the estate of the 
decedent remains within the limits 
prescribed by ORS 114.515 (2) after 
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consideration of the value of the 
contents of the box, the person shall file 
an amended affidavit under ORS 
114.515. Upon providing the lessor of 
the box with a certified copy of the 
amended affidavit, the lessor shall allow 
the person to take possession of the 
contents of the box. If the estate of the 
decedent exceeds the limits prescribed 
by ORS 114.515 (2) after consideration 
of the value of the contents of the box, 
the person may not file an amended 
affidavit under ORS 114.515 and shall 
file notice with the court that the estate 
of the decedent is not subject to ORS 
114.505 to 114.560 and shall serve a 
copy of the notice on the lessor of the 
box. The lessor of the box shall 
thereafter deliver the contents of the box 
to the personal representative for the 
decedent, or to such other person as 
may be provided for under the terms of 
the lease of the box. [2011 c.422 §2] 
 114.540 Procedure for claims; 
disallowance; summary 
determination. (1) A claim against an 
estate with respect to which an affidavit 
is filed under ORS 114.515 may be 
presented to the affiant within four 
months after the affidavit was filed. If an 
amended affidavit is filed under ORS 
114.515 (7), claims against the estate 
must be filed within four months after the 
filing of the amended affidavit. If a 
supplemental affidavit is filed under ORS 
114.515 (8), claims against the estate 
must be filed within four months after the 
filing of the supplemental affidavit. Each 
claim presented to the affiant must 
include the information required by ORS 
115.025. 
 (2) A claim presented to the affiant 
shall be considered allowed as 
presented unless within 60 days after 
the date of presentment of the claim the 
affiant mails or delivers a notice of 
disallowance of the claim in whole or in 
part to the claimant and any attorney for 
the claimant. A notice of disallowance of 

a claim shall inform the claimant that the 
claim has been disallowed in whole or in 
part and, to the extent disallowed, will be 
barred unless: 
 (a) The claimant proceeds as 
provided in subsection (3) of this section; 
or 
 (b) A personal representative is 
appointed within the time allowed under 
ORS 114.555. 
 (3) A creditor of the estate whose 
claim has been presented within the 
time permitted by subsection (1) of this 
section and disallowed by the affiant 
may within 30 days after the date of 
mailing or delivery of the notice of 
disallowance file with the probate court a 
petition for summary determination of 
the claim by the court. A creditor of the 
decedent whose claim is listed in the 
affidavit as disputed may within four 
months after the filing of the affidavit file 
with the probate court a petition for 
summary determination of the creditor’s 
claim by the court. The court shall hear 
the matter without a jury, after notice to 
the creditor and affiant, and any 
interested person may be heard in the 
proceeding. The claim may be proved as 
provided in ORS 115.195 (2). Upon the 
hearing the court shall determine the 
claim in a summary manner and shall 
make an order allowing or disallowing 
the claim in whole or in part. If the court 
allows the claim in whole or in part, the 
order shall direct the affiant, to the 
extent of property of the estate allocable 
to the payment of the claim pursuant to 
ORS 115.125, or any claiming successor 
to whom payment, delivery or transfer 
has been made under ORS 114.505 to 
114.560 as a person entitled thereto as 
disclosed in the affidavit, to the extent of 
the value of the property received, to pay 
to the creditor the amount so allowed. 
No appeal may be taken from the order 
of the court made upon the summary 
determination. [1989 c.228 §7; 2003 
c.523 §3; 2005 c.122 §4] 
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 114.545 Duties of person filing 
affidavit; payment of claims; 
conveyance of real property; liability 
of person to whom property 
transferred or payment made. (1) The 
affiant: 
 (a) Shall take control of the property 
of the estate coming into the possession 
of the affiant. 
 (b) Within 30 days after filing the 
affidavit shall mail, deliver or cause to be 
recorded each instrument which the 
affidavit states will be mailed, delivered 
or recorded. 
 (c) From and to the extent of the 
property of the estate, shall pay or 
reimburse any person who has paid: 
 (A) Expenses described in ORS 
115.125 (1)(b) and (c) and listed in the 
affidavit; 
 (B) Claims listed in the affidavit as 
undisputed; 
 (C) Allowed claims presented to the 
affiant within the time permitted by ORS 
114.540; and 
 (D) Claims which the probate court 
directs the affiant to pay. 
 (d) Shall pay claims and expenses 
under paragraph (c) of this subsection in 
the order of priority prescribed by ORS 
115.125. 
 (e) May transfer or sell any vehicle 
that is part of the estate before the 
completion of the period established 
under ORS 114.555 if the affiant 
complies with the requirements 
established by the Department of 
Transportation for such purposes under 
ORS 803.094. 
 (f) May convey any real or personal 
property that is part of the estate before 
the completion of the period established 
under ORS 114.555, provided that each 
heir or devisee succeeding to the 
interest conveyed joins in the 
conveyance and that any proceeds of 
sale, net of the reasonable expenses of 
sale and any debt secured as of the date 
of the decedent’s death by a duly 

perfected lien on the property, shall 
become a part of the estate subject to 
ORS 114.505 to 114.560. If the property 
is a manufactured structure as defined in 
ORS 446.561, the affiant must assign 
interest in the structure as provided in 
ORS 446.616. Any conveyance to a 
purchaser in good faith and for a 
valuable consideration made by the 
affiant and the heir or devisee 
succeeding to the interest conveyed, or 
made by the heir or devisee succeeding 
to the interest conveyed after completion 
of the period established under ORS 
114.555, conveys the interest stated in 
the conveyance free of any interest of 
the claiming successors, and the 
purchaser has no duty with respect to 
application of the consideration paid for 
the conveyance. 
 (2) Any claiming successor to whom 
payment, delivery or transfer is made 
under ORS 114.505 to 114.560 as a 
person entitled thereto as disclosed in 
the affidavit is personally answerable 
and accountable: 
 (a) To the extent of the value of the 
property received, to creditors of the 
estate to the extent such creditors are 
entitled to payment under subsection (1) 
of this section; and 
 (b) To any personal representative of 
the estate of the decedent thereafter 
appointed. 
 (3) The affiant shall cause to be 
recorded in the deed records of any 
county in which real property belonging 
to the decedent is situated an affiant or 
claiming successor’s deed executed in 
the manner required by ORS chapter 93. 
 (4) For a manufactured structure as 
defined in ORS 446.561 belonging to a 
decedent and assessed as personal 
property, the affiant shall file with the 
Department of Consumer and Business 
Services the necessary information for 
recording the successor’s interest in the 
manufactured structure on an ownership 
document. [1973 c.710 §7; 1979 c.340 
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§4; 1985 c.300 §5; 1989 c.148 §6; 1989 
c.228 §5; 1991 c.191 §4; 2003 c.655 
§61] 
 
 114.550 Summary review of 
administration of estate; hearing. The 
affiant or any claiming successor of the 
estate who has not been paid the full 
amount owed such claiming successor 
may, within two years after the filing of 
an affidavit under ORS 114.515, file with 
the probate court a petition for summary 
review of administration of the estate. A 
creditor may not file a petition under this 
section if the creditor received a copy of 
an affidavit filed under ORS 114.515 
delivered or mailed to such creditor 
within 30 days after the date the affidavit 
was filed, the creditor was shown as a 
disputed creditor in the affidavit, and the 
creditor has not filed a petition for 
summary determination under ORS 
114.540. The court shall hear the matter 
without a jury, after notice to the claiming 
successor and the affiant, and any 
interested person may be heard in the 
proceeding. Upon the hearing the court 
shall review administration of the estate 
in a summary manner and may order the 
affiant to sell property of the estate and 
pay creditors, to pay creditors of the 
estate from property of the estate or of 
the affiant, or to distribute property of the 
estate to the claiming successors, or 
may order any person who has received 
property of the estate to pay amounts 
owed to claiming successors of the 
estate in whole or in part.  
[1989 c.228 §8; 2003 c.196 §3] 
 
 114.555 Effect of failure to appoint 
personal representative. If a personal 
representative is not appointed within 
four months after the filing of the 
affidavit authorized by ORS 114.515, the 
interest of the decedent in all of the 
property described in the affidavit is 
transferred to the person or persons 
shown by the affidavit to be entitled 

thereto, and any other claims against the 
property are barred except as provided 
in ORS 114.540, 114.545 and 114.550. 
[1973 c.710 §5; 1977 c.239 §4; 1989 
c.228 §10] 
 
 114.560 Exclusive remedy. The 
exclusive remedy of a person injured by 
the failure of the affiant or any claiming 
successor to comply with the 
requirements of ORS 114.505 to 
114.560 shall be a summary 
determination under ORS 114.540, a 
summary review of administration under 
ORS 114.550, or appointment of a 
personal representative for the estate 
within the time allowed by ORS 114.555. 
[1989 c.228 §9] 

 
708A.655 Procedures for opening 
safe deposit box after death of person 
who was sole lessee or last surviving 
lessee of box. (1) This section applies 
to the safe deposit box of any person 
who is the sole lessee or last surviving 
lessee of the box and who has died. 
 (2) Subject to ORS 114.537, upon 
being furnished with a certified copy of 
the decedent’s death certificate or other 
evidence of death satisfactory to the 
Oregon operating institution, the Oregon 
operating institution within which the box 
is located shall cause or permit the box 
to be opened and the contents of the 
box examined at the request of an 
individual who furnishes an affidavit 
stating: 
 (a) That the individual believes the 
box may contain the will of the decedent, 
a trust instrument creating a trust of 
which the decedent was a trustor or a 
trustee at the time of the decedent’s 
death, documents pertaining to the 
disposition of the remains of the 
decedent, documents pertaining to 
property of the estate of the decedent or 
property of the estate of the decedent; 
and 
 (b) That the individual is an 
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interested person and wishes to open 
the box to conduct a will search or trust 
instrument search, obtain documents 
relating to the disposition of the 
decedent’s remains, inventory the 
contents of the box or remove property 
of the estate of the decedent pursuant to 
a small estate affidavit filed under ORS 
114.515. 
 (3) For the purpose of this section, 
“interested person” means any of the 
following: 
 (a) A person named as personal 
representative of the decedent in a 
purported will of the decedent; 
 (b) The surviving spouse or any heir 
of the decedent; 
 (c) A person who was serving as the 
court-appointed guardian or conservator 
of the decedent or as trustee for the 
decedent immediately prior to the 
decedent’s death; 
 (d) A person named as successor 
trustee in a purported trust instrument 
creating a trust of which the decedent 
was a trustor or a trustee at the time of 
the decedent’s death; 
 (e) A person designated by the 
decedent in a writing that is acceptable 
to the Oregon operating institution and is 
filed with it prior to the decedent’s death; 
 (f) A person who immediately prior to 
the death of the decedent had the right 
of access to the box as an agent of the 
decedent under a durable power of 
attorney; 
 (g) If there are no heirs of the 
decedent, an estate administrator of the 
Department of State Lands appointed 
under ORS 113.235; or 
 (h) A person who is authorized to file 
an affidavit under ORS 114.515. 
 (4) If the box is opened for the 
purpose of conducting a will search, the 
Oregon operating institution shall 
remove any document that appears to 
be a will, make a true and correct copy 
of it and deliver the original will to a 
person designated in the will to serve as 

the decedent’s personal representative, 
or if no such person is designated or the 
Oregon operating institution cannot, 
despite reasonable efforts, determine 
the whereabouts of such person, the 
Oregon operating institution shall retain 
the will or deliver it to a court having 
jurisdiction of the estate of the decedent. 
A copy of the will shall be retained in the 
box. At the request of the interested 
person, a copy of the will, together with 
copies of any documents pertaining to 
the disposition of the remains of the 
decedent, may be given to the interested 
person. 
 (5) If the box is opened for the 
purpose of conducting a trust instrument 
search, the Oregon operating institution 
shall remove any document that appears 
to be a trust instrument creating a trust 
of which the decedent was a trustor or 
trustee at the time of the decedent’s 
death, make a true and correct copy of it 
and deliver the original trust instrument 
to a person designated in the trust 
instrument to serve as the successor 
trustee on the death of the decedent. If 
no such person is designated or the 
Oregon operating institution cannot, 
despite reasonable efforts, determine 
the whereabouts of such person, the 
Oregon operating institution shall retain 
the trust instrument. A copy of the trust 
instrument shall be retained in the box. 
At the request of any interested person, 
a copy of the trust instrument may be 
given to the interested person. 
 (6) If the box is opened for the 
purpose of obtaining documents 
pertaining to the disposition of the 
decedent’s remains, the Oregon 
operating institution shall comply with 
subsection (4) or (5) of this section with 
respect to any will or trust instrument of 
the decedent found in the box, and may 
in its discretion either: 
 (a) Make and retain in the box a copy 
of any documents pertaining to the 
disposition of the remains of the 
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decedent and tender the original 
documents to the interested person; or 
 (b) Provide a copy of any documents 
pertaining to the disposition of the 
remains of the decedent to the 
interested person and retain the original 
documents in the box. 
 (7) If the box is opened for the 
purpose of making an inventory of its 
contents, the Oregon operating 
institution shall comply with subsection 
(4) or (5) of this section with respect to 
any will or trust instrument of the 
decedent that is found in the box, and 
shall cause the inventory to be made. 
The inventory must be attested to by a 
representative of the Oregon operating 
institution and may be attested to by the 
interested person, if the interested 
person is present when the inventory is 
made. The Oregon operating institution 
shall retain the original inventory in the 
box, and shall furnish a copy of the 
inventory to the interested person upon 
request. 
 (8) If the interested person is an 
affiant of a small estate affidavit filed 
under ORS 114.515 and delivers a 
certified copy of the affidavit in the 
manner provided by ORS 114.535, the 
Oregon operating institution shall 
provide to the affiant access to the 
decedent’s property. The Oregon 
operating institution shall comply with 
subsection (4) or (5) of this section if a 
will or trust instrument of the decedent is 
found in the box. Subject to ORS 
114.537, the Oregon operating 
institution shall allow the affiant to take 
possession of the personal property in 
the box. 

 (9) The Oregon operating institution 
may presume the truth of any statement 
contained in the affidavit required to be 
furnished under this section or ORS 
114.535, and when acting in reliance 
upon such an affidavit, the Oregon 
operating institution is discharged as if it 
had dealt with the personal 
representative of the decedent. The 
Oregon operating institution is not 
responsible for the adequacy of the 
description of any property included in 
an inventory of the contents of a box, or 
for the conversion of the property in 
connection with actions performed under 
this section, except for conversion by 
intentional acts of the Oregon operating 
institution or its employees, directors, 
officers or agents. If the Oregon 
operating institution is not satisfied that 
the requirements of this section have 
been satisfied, the Oregon operating 
institution may decline to open the box. 
 (10) If the interested person or affiant 
does not furnish the key needed to open 
the box, and the Oregon operating 
institution must incur expense in gaining 
entry to the box, the Oregon operating 
institution may require that the interested 
person or affiant pay the expense of 
opening the box. 
 (11) Any examination of the contents 
of a box under this section shall be 
conducted in the presence of at least 
one employee of the Oregon operating 
institution. [1999 c.506 §2; 2001 c.10 §1; 
2003 c.395 §21; 2011 c.422 §4] 
 

_______________ 
 

 


