Skip to Main Content


Justices of the Oregon Supreme Court

Oregon Supreme Court

The Supreme Court is the highest court in the Oregon judicial branch. The court has seven elected justices. They choose one of their own to serve a six-year term as Chief Justice. The only court that may reverse or modify a decision of the Oregon Supreme Court is the United States Supreme Court.

For a more detailed description of the Supreme Court, see An Introduction to the Courts of Oregon. For information on fees, transcripts, appellate case processing, and sample forms, see Appellate Court Records.

If you are looking for information on a pending case, please note that the court does not announce more than one day in advance when it will issue an opinion. You can find the opinions and any announcements about opinions the court expects to issue the next day on the Opinions page. For other information on pending cases, please contact Appellate Court Records.



The 2013 Legislative Assembly adopted SB 5507A which provided for capital land acquisition, planning, construction, modifications, and improvements of state buildings.  This bill included $4.4 million in Article XI-G bonding authority for six years to be used for the Supreme Court Building exterior renovation. These funds were used to address major safety issues with the exterior of the building, water penetration through the façade, and dry rot in wooden-framed windows. This project funded terracotta exterior repair and sealing, window repair, project management, and the review and planning of future phases of critical interior renovation work.  The Supreme Court Building exterior renovation began in August of 2015, and was completed in July of 2016.  Click here to see progress photos of the project.