The protection order against you contains firearm restrictions and <u>may</u> immediately prohibit you from possessing and require you to surrender firearms and ammunition. Additionally, it is a state and federal crime for you to possess firearms or ammunition when a qualifying protective order is in effect against you, or if you have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.

**Read the attached information carefully** to know whether the gun restriction is in effect now or will be soon.

**Important:** Failure to comply with any part of the protection order or firearms surrender procedure can result in contempt charges, criminal penalties, and/or a warrant issued for your arrest without further notice.

**WITHIN 24 HOURS** of becoming subject to the court's order that prohibits you from possessing firearms and ammunition, **you must do one of the following from the list below:** 

 Transfer all firearms and ammunition in your possession, control, or custody to law enforcement or a licensed gun dealer (See Firearms Surrender and Return Terms instructions, pg. 2).

#### or

2. Transfer all firearms and ammunition in your possession, control, or custody to an **eligible third party** (See attached blank forms).

#### and

Within 2 business days of the court's order, you <u>must</u> file with the Washington County Circuit Court *and* with the Washington County District Attorney's Office located at **150** 1<sup>st</sup> Ave, Hillsboro, OR 97124 the following forms:

- ✓ 'Declaration of Firearms Surrender'
- ✓ *'Proof of Transfer'* (if applicable)
- ✓ *'Third Party Recipient's Declaration of Firearms Receipt'* (if applicable)

# You are <u>required</u> to appear at the Washington County Circuit Court\* on the Second Tuesday following service of this Protection Order\*\* at 1:15pm in Courtroom 108C.

\*\*If you are unsure what date you are required to appear call 503-846-2857.

<sup>\*</sup>Note: If you have filed the documents listed above, your appearance at the courthouse will not be required.

You can provide your guns to any Law Enforcement Agency. Firearms must be **unloaded** before transporting and surrendering them. Place the firearm and ammunition in a container or bag.

## Call to schedule an appointment to surrender your firearms.

#### LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY CONTACT INFORMATION

<b>Beaverton Police</b>	<b>Cornelius Police</b>	Forest Grove Police
503-629-0111	503- 629- 0111	503-992-3260
Firearms & Ammunition	Firearms & Ammunition	Firearms & Ammunition
Hillsboro Police	King City Police	North Plains Police
503-629-0111	503-620-8851	503-629-0111
Firearms & Ammunition	Firearms & Ammunition	Firearms & Ammunition
O St. t. P. I.	CI ID!	Tr. I.D.I.
Oregon State Police	Sherwood Police	Tigard Police
503-378-3720	503-629-0111	503-629-0111
Firearms & Ammunition	Firearms & Ammunition	Firearms & Ammunition
Tualatin Police	Washington County Sheriff	Wilsonville Police
503-691-4800	503-846-2537	503-794-8065
Firearms & Ammunition	Firearms & Ammunition	Firearms & Ammunition
Portland Police Bureau	Portland Police Bureau	Multnomah County
Central Precinct	Property & Evidence	Sheriff's Office
1111 SW 2nd Ave.	Division 2619 NW	234 SW Kendall Ct
Portland, Oregon 97204 Hours:	Industrial Way Portland,	Troutdale, OR 97060
24 hours/7 days a week 503-	Oregon 97210	Call 503-988-0373
823-3333	Hours: 9-12; 1-4 M-F	
	503-823-2179	

- ✓ Weapons surrendered to law enforcement must be unloaded.
- ✓ At your appointment, keep your unloaded weapons locked inside your vehicle (in the trunk if possible), and then contact the agency when you arrive.
- ✓ Give the agency a copy of the court's order.
- ✓ Follow the agency's instruction and get a copy of the evidence report that lists the weapons you have surrendered. You will need this as proof to submit to the court.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ's): Surrender and Return of Firearms

### Q: Do I have to surrender (give up) my guns?

A: Yes, but when depends on what the protection order you were served. Review the following:

- Family Abuse Prevention Act Order: Page 7 Sections 18 & 19
- Elderly Persons & Persons with Disabilities Abuse Prevention Act Order: Page 2-3 Section 9
- General Judgment re: Stalking Protective Order: Page 2
- Sexual Abuse Prevention Order: Page 3 Section 7

#### Q: How much time do I have to turn over/turn-in my guns?

A: "Immediate Firearm Prohibition" if the box is checked on the page number listed above

Transfer guns and ammunition in your possession or control within 24 hours.

"Immediate Firearm Prohibition" if the box is **not** checked on the page number listed above

- You have 24 hours from the earlier of one of the following:
  - 30 days passed since you have been served and you have not requested a hearing.
  - If after a hearing is held, the protection order is continued and not dismissed.
  - Withdrawal of the request for a hearing has been filed.
  - If you fail to appear for the contested hearing.

#### Q: What if I don't have any firearms or ammunition?

**A:** You must still file the *Declaration of Firearms Surrender* form ("Declaration") within 2 business days:

- File the *Declaration* with the Washington County Circuit Court *and*,
- Take a copy of the *Declaration* to the Washington County District Attorney's Office ("DA").

#### Q: How much time do I have to file the Declaration(s) and Where do I file?

**A:** You have **2 business days** from the time you become subject to the surrender order, to file the *Declaration of Firearms Surrender* with the Court and DA. Weekend days and holidays are not considered business days. Take the noted documents to:

#### **Family Law Assistance Program**

Justice Services Building, Room 105J Washington County Circuit Court 150 N. 1st Ave Hillsboro, Oregon 97124

#### **Washington County District Attorney**

Washington County Courthouse 150 N. 1<sup>st</sup> Ave Suite 300 / 3rd Floor Hillsboro, Oregon 97124

#### Fillable iForm available on court webpage:

https://www.courts.oregon.gov/courts/washington/programs-services/Pages/FirearmsSurrender.aspx

#### Q: What if I want a friend or relative to store my guns while the restraining order is in effect?

**A:** You can turn your guns over to a friend or relative. **This person cannot live with you**. You must *first* have a criminal background check done on the friend/relative to show that they are legally able to have firearms. **Note:** If you turn your guns over to a friend or relative, that third party must fill out and sign the *Third Party Recipient's Declaration of Firearms Receipt* ("Third Party Declaration"). (See attached blank form.) You must file the *Third Party Declaration* **within 2 business days** with your *Declaration* and the *Proof of Transfer* form showing the criminal background check approval number for the third party.

# Q: How do I complete a firearm background check on the person with whom I want to store my guns?

**A:** The background check is completed through a licensed gun dealer. A fee will be charged, and the dealer will complete the check through the Oregon State Police. If the person with whom you wish to store your guns passes the background check, you will be given an approval number to record on the *Proof of Firearms Transfer*.

The *Firearms Declarations and Proof of Transfer* are included in your service packet and available online at: <u>Oregon Judicial Department : Firearms Surrender Protocol : Programs & Services : State of Oregon</u>

## Q: When can I request the return of my firearms?

**A:** The firearms/ammunition prohibition order ends when the protection order expires, or earlier if dismissed by a court order. **The law requires that you complete a background check** *before* law enforcement, a dealer, or a third party returns your firearms or ammunition to you. You must call the police or sheriff's office at the numbers provided above and make arrangement to pick up your firearms and ammunition.

#### Q: What happens if I don't file the Declaration of Firearms Surrender?

**A:** If you are required to file the *Declaration* of *Firearms Surrender* and do not, you are in violation of the court's order. This is a serious matter. A law enforcement officer could contact you or cite you to appear in court. The DA's office could charge you with violating a restraining order (contempt of court). In that case, you will have the right to a court-appointed attorney if you cannot afford to hire an attorney. If after a hearing, the judge determines that you willfully disobeyed the restraining order by not filing the *Declaration*, you could go to jail for up to 6 months, be placed on probation, or be ordered to pay a fine of up to \$500 plus the cost of your state provided attorney.

# IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON FOR THE COUNTY OF WASHINGTON

		Case No:
v.	Petitioner/Plaintiff	RESPONDENT'S/DEFENDANT'S DECLARATION OF FIREARMS SURRENDER
Re	espondent/Defendant	
	<b>Declaration</b>	<u>l</u>
I am the Respondent/Defen	ndant in this case. I am subje	ect to a court order to surrender firearms.
Check one: ☐ I had no firearms in possess any firearms.	my possession at the time of	the court's order. I do not currently
All firearms and amr	nunition in my possession h	ave been transferred to:
a law enforcemen	nt agency (name):	
a gun dealer (nar	ne):	
a third party who	does not live with me (nam	e):
A proof of transfe	er or receipt is attached (req	uired)
☐ I am asserting my co statement about firearm		f-incrimination. I decline to make any
	THIS $Declaration$ (and the District Attorney $(re$	HE <i>DECLARATION</i> FROM THIRD PARTY equired)
	l they are made for use a	rue to the best of my knowledge is evidence in court and I am
Submitted by Respondent/l	Defendant	
Date	Signature o	of Respondent/Defendant
	Name (pri	nted)
Address	City, State, ZIP	Phone

# IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON FOR THE COUNTY OF WASHINGTON

# **PROOF OF FIREARMS TRANSFER**

Complete this form if you have received firearms and ammunition from the respondent/defendant named below  $^{\scriptscriptstyle 1}$ 

Name of person surrendering	firearms:
Case #:	
Date of transfer:	
RECIPIENT'S INFORMATION:	
I, (full name)	received firearms and/or
ammunition from the Respon	dent/Defendant named above
*OSP background check ☐ licensed gun dealer	es not live with Respondent/Defendant* number:(required for third parties) ency representative (agency name):
☐ Ammunition was surrende☐ The following firearms wer	
Serial Number	Make and Model (or description, if make/model unavailable)
Additional page attac	ned
Date	Signature of recipient
	Name (printed)

 $^1$ Law enforcement and gun dealers may have their own proof of transfer or receipt forms. If so, attach that document to the Respondent's Defendant's Declaration of Firearms Surrender.

# IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON FOR THE COUNTY OF WASHINGTON

	Case No:
	Petitioner/Plaintiff  THIRD PARTY RECIPIENT'S  DECLARATION OF FIREARMS RECEIPT
	Respondent/Defendant
	Notice to Recipient
>	are subject to criminal and/or civil penalties if: You allow Respondent/Defendant access to firearms or ammunition during the time they are prohibited from possession You are subject to any court order prohibiting you from possessing firearmsor ammunition
	<u>Declaration</u>
I, (full	name)received firearms and/or
ammu	nition surrendered by Respondent/Defendant
follo  >  >  >  >  >  >	I am aware that Respondent/Defendant is subject to a court order to surrender all firearms and ammunition and prohibited from possessing firearms or ammunition I am not a law enforcement officer or gun dealer or not acting in my official capacity as a law enforcement officer or gun dealer I do not live with Respondent/Defendant I completed a Proof of Transfer listing the firearms and/orammunition Respondent/Defendant surrendered to me I passed a background check by a law enforcement agency or gun dealer (required)
The OS	SP background check number is:
	by declare that the above statements are true to the best of my knowledge and belief. I stand they are made for use as evidence in court and I am subject to penalty for perjury.
Date	Signature of Recipient
	Name (printed)
Addres	ss City, State, ZIP Phone