Oregon Judicial Department

OJD Courts Electronic Central Violations Bureau
Quick Reference Guide on Reductions

Introduction

The OJD Courts payment site allows you to check if your traffic violation is eligible for a reduction in fine.
Certain traffic violation cases may be eligible for a reduction based on the type of offense and your driving

record.

It may take up to 10-15 days for a citation to be available for online payment.

OJD Courts ePay service accepts MasterCard and Visa credit and debit cards only. Payments are
processed and recorded on your case within 24 hours. A $1.50 processing fee is assessed per transaction.

How do | access the OJD Courts ePay site?

The Oregon Courts website home page (www.courts.oregon.gov) contains a direct link to the ePay site on

the main page or you may choose the drop-down menu in the banner under ‘How Do I?’

DIRECT LINK

Online Services

rour court business. when you need it

OJD Courts ePay

make payments on your
court case

e The OJD Courts ePay contains information regarding
online payments. Make sure and read the information
before clicking Start Now.

e There are several other help options:
o Information & Resources
o Technical Assistance
o Policies / Terms / Condictions

Each circuit court webpage also contains a link to ‘Make
a Payment’.

DROP-DOWN MENU

How Do 1? v  Online Services

File a Case

Find a Case or Court Record
Find a Court

Find a Court Fee

Find a Court Date

Find Court Rules

Find Divorce Information
Find Jurer Information
Request an Interpreter
Become an Interpreter
Get a Restraining Order

Make a Payment

Simple, Secure Online Payments

QJD Courts ePay allows you to pay online for many types of court
cases, citations (violations), and accounts. You can conveniently pay by
credit or debit card, and payments will be posted to your case within
one business day.”

« To use OJD Courts ePay to make a payment on a violation case,
you must electronically enter a plea of no contest, which means you cannot
request a trial to challenge whether you committed the offense, and you must pay
afine.

« You may use the Central Violations Bureau electronic system to request a
reduction in your fine amount that is based on your driving history. If you qualify for
a fine reduction, it will be applied before you make a payment.

« If you want to request a trial, send the court a letter of explanation, or plead not
guilty for any reason, do not use OJD Courts ePay. Instead, follow the instructions
on the citation that you received.

« See Terms and Conditions for additional information about using the Oregon
Judicial Department's ePay website
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How do | start the process?

Navigate to the OJD Courts ePay site and click Start Now m

The Find Your Citation or Court Case page opens.

1 Oregon Courts
Oregon Judicial Department

Find Your Citation or Court Case
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How do | find my information?

Enter the case or citation information

Use OJD Courts ePay to take the following actions on your case:
1. See if you are eligible for a Central Violations Bureau fine reduction on a traffic case.
2. Make a payment or pay the outstanding balance on your case.

Enter your case or citation number to get started

Case# Citations# Select a County: Enter Number:

© o Benton v 1234  Continue - [ start Over

Select the type of search depending on the document by clicking the option next to either Citation
number or Case number.
b) Select the county where the citation occurred by clicking the Select a County drop-down arrow.

c) Enter the number of the citation or case in the Enter Number text box.

d) Click Continue.
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How do | check if I'm eligible for reduction?

If your traffic violation type is eligible for reduction,
you will be offered the opportunity to check to see if
your specific traffic violation is eligible on the next
screen.

a) The “Looking at Your Case” screen will

display.
b)

c)

Read all the information on the screen.

Click the checkmark in the blue box to
check for a reduction.

How do | know | am eligible for reduction?

Looking at Your Case

O] DCOURTS Find Your Fayment Biling Fayment
Court Case Amourt Information Confrmation
| — <> @ D

Depending on the offenses listed in your citation and your driving history, you may be eligible for a reduction in your fine when you piead
‘No Contest to the ofienses in your case.

Check this box to see if you qualify for a reduction.

By clicking 'Pay in Fulf below ng that you are the defendant in this nd that you would ke to plead "No Contest to the ofienses listed on your violation
citation. You are agreeing fo waive y uurﬂnh toa na\ sna understand that you u he euureuw pay the presumptive fine and a judgm; emmv mu ecwenses ill be entered
against you

oy o S )

After checking the box you will either be told that you either qualify or do no qualify for a reduction.

If you are eligible for reduction:

0] DCOU RTS Find Your Payment Billing Payment
EPAY Court Case Amount Information Confirmation
s = O O D

o

offenses in this case.

You are qualified to receive a reduction in your fine, if you plead 'No Contest' to the

County name: Deschutes ... Case number:

Fresumpiive Fine; TA40.00
Allowed Reduction $105.00
Reduced Fine: $335.00
(O I would like to plead 'No Contest and
~ process

nstructions on my citation before the date and time indication in the citation

receive the reduction in my fine identified above, if one was offered, and to continue to the payment

O | do not wish to enter a plea of 'No Contest' at this time. | understand that if | check this box and proceed or if | exit the system now, my
reduction will not be applied and | must appear in this case by either paying my fine in the OJD Court ePay system or following the

Note: You may exit the process at this point if you do not want to accept the offer. If you exit, you must still
contact the court or appear before or by the date and time listed on your citation.

a) Read all the information on the screen.

b) Select the option to plea no contest to accept the offer.

c) Click the checkmark in the red box to verify you understand that you are entering a plea.

d) Click the Enter Plea button.
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0 By accepting a plea of 'No Contest' you are agreeing to the terms listed below.

County name: Deschutes ... Case number: 201151468

Presumptive Fine: $440.00

Allowed Reduction $105.00

Beduced Fine $332.00

@ | would like to plead 'No Contest' and receive the reduction in my fin identified above, if one was offered, and to continue to the payment
process

I do not wish to enter a plea of 'No Contest' at this time. | understand that if | check this box and proceed or if | exit the system now, my
reduction will not be applied and | must appear in this case by either paying my fine in the GJD Court ePay system or following the
nstructions on my citation before the date and time indication in the citation.

By clicking 'Enter Plea’ below and proceeding to the payment process, you are asseriing that you are the defendant in this case and that you would like to plead "No
Contest to the offenses listed on your violation citation. You are agreeing to waive you right to a trial and understand that a judgment requiring you fo pay an amount up
to the presumptive fine for those offenses will be entered against you. Please read the OJD Courts ePay Terms and Conditions and review out FAQs and your citation

itional information
| Check here to indicate that you understand. |

Once this screen displays, your reduction has been processed.
e You may print this page for your records by clicking Print.

e To continute to payment, click Pay Now.

Congratulations, Your Fine Has Been Reduced

O]DCOURTS Find Your Payment Biling Payment
ZEPAY Court Case Amount Information Confirmation

~» = @ 4 @

Summary of Action Taken on Case (Deschutes County)

We have entered your No Contest' plea. Please continue to payment by clicking on the ‘Pay Now’ button below. If you do not make a payment now,
please pay the outstanding balance or contact the court to arrange a payment plan within 30 days.

Presumptive Fine: $440.00
Allowed Reduction: $105.00
Amount Due: $335.00

Effective Date:

If you are Not eligible for reduction:

a Your case does not qualify for an online reduction.

You are not eligible for an online reduction. Common reasons include:
= Three or more traffic convictions in the last three years.
= Driver's license isn't included on the citation.
= Vehicle is registered fo a business.

Please contact the court listed on your citation for more information

"y | would like to continue to the payment process

¢y | can't pay in full today, or | do not wish to enter a plea of ‘Mo Contest' at this time. | understand if | exit the system now | must appear in this
) case by either paying my fine in the OJD Court ePay system or following the instructions on my citation before the indicated date and time.

Note: You may enter a plea and pay the full fine amount or you may exit the process at this point. If you exit,
you must still contact the court or appear before or by the date and time listed on your citation.

a) Read all the information on the screen.
b) Select the option to plea no contest to continue to payment.

c) Click the checkmark in the red box to verify you understand that you must pay in full to enter a plea
on the citation.
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0 By entering a plea of 'No Contest' you are agreeing to the terms listed below.

You are not eligible for an online reduction. Common reasons include
+ Three or more traffic convictions in the last three years
« Driver's license isn't included on the citation
+ Vehicle is registered fo a business

Please contact the court listed on your citation for more information
@ | would like to continue to the payment process.
| can't pay in full today, or | do not wish to enter a plea of 'No Contest' at this time. | understand if | exit the system now | must appear in this
case by either paying my fine in the OJD Court ePay system or following the instructions on my citation before the indicated date and time

By checking the box, clicking the 'Pay In Full' button that appears below, and completing the payment process, you are asserting that you are the defendant in this case
and that you weuld like to plead ‘Mo Contest to the offensas listed on your citation. When you pay in full, you are agreeing to waive your right o a trial and understand

that a judgment for these offenses will be entered against you. Flease review the OJD Courts ePay Terms and Conditions and FAQs; links can be found in the footer of
this page.

Check here to indicate that you understand.

Once you select Pay in Full, you will be taken to the payment site. You must complete the payment process

to make an appearance on your citation. If you are unable to complete the payment process, contact the
court before the date and time listed on your citation.

How do | pay?

Enter the amount to pay in the Payment Amount text box and click Pay Now.
Note: The payment amount entered cannot be less than the specified minimum amount.

1. Oregon Courts
= Oregon Judicial Department

Payment Amount

0D efor e e Payee

s — d @ o
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The Billing Information page opens.

Note: The processing fee for the transaction appears with the Description Amount.

Oregon Courts

Oregon.Judicial-Department

On-line Payment

Find your Payment Billing Payment
O] DCEOPUX‘-\I;,SI court case Amount Information Confirmation
@ —_— o < @

Fees

Description

Fees for 15pk220274 90.00

Processing Fee 1.50

Total 91.50
Cardholder Information
Enter the information as it appears on the Cardholder Account. The fields marked with a red asterisk (*) are required fields.
Card Type v ¢
Card Number
Exp Month ¥ |* Exp Year v ¢
CVV Code * CWV Help
Name on Card |[HA30200634
Address Type ® s Foreign
Address Line 1
Street address, P.O. box, company name, clo
Address Line 2
Apartment, suite, unit, building, floor, ete.
City
State v
Zip Code
[ Continue -

Back to Top

Step 5: Enter the required cardholder information.

Select the type of credit card (MasterCard or Visa) from the Card Type selection list.
Enter the credit card number in the Card Number box.
Select the Exp. Month and Exp. Year from the drop-down lists.

Enter the credit card three-digit security code (located on the back of the card) in the CVV Code box.

Enter credit card holder name in the Name on Card box.

Address Type: US is the default option. For addresses outside the US, select the Foreign option.

Enter your address in the Address Line 1 box.

Enter the city of the address in the City box.

Select the State from the drop-down list (or enter a State/Province for Foreign address option).
Enter your zip code in the ZIP Code (Postal Code for Foreign address option) box.

Click Continue.

The Verify Billing Information page opens.

Oregon Judicial Department
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How do | get a receipt?

Step 6: Verify that the billing information is correct, and Verify Billing Information
then click Process Payment (continue). OJDgoes Pame

Note: If there is incorrect information, click Back, and “m sisn =
correct any errors. Repeat Step 5. -

‘Oregon Courts

Oregon Judicial Department

Once the online payment has been approved and
successfully processed, a payment confirmation page [0JP Courts ePay Confirmation

opens. The payment confirmation page can be O] DSouTs ]
printed for use as a receipt of the transaction. = - ° ®

Date: 71182016 8:12 AM (PDT)  Invoice Number: 1763 Transaction ID: 1763
Party Name
$435.00
$1.50
$436.50
[ o 1o Oregon e

What do | do if | have a problem?

If the program does not allow you to make an online payment on a case, contact the circuit court indicated
on the citation. Click here for a link to contact information for the circuit court.

If you have any questions or problems, click here to return to the OJD Courts ePay webpage to locate which
type of assistance is needed.

© Technical Assistance

Application-Related
Issues

Business-Related Issues

Multnomah Business-
Related Parking Citation
Issues
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