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Court-Connected Mediator Continuing Education Reporting 

What are the continuing education requirements for court-connected mediators? 
Mediators who provide court-connected mediation services in Oregon are required by UTCR Chapter 12 
to participate in continuing education programs as an ongoing obligation of their appointment. The 
requirements are summarized below. 

Civil mediators (including volunteer small claims and FED): 
• 12 hours every two years

o One hour must relate to confidentiality
o One hour must relate to mediator ethics
o Six hours may be satisfied by taking continuing education classes required by the

mediator's licensure unless such licensure is not reasonably related to the practice of
mediation.

Domestic relations mediators: 
• 24 hours every two years

o Two hours must relate to confidentiality
o Two hours must relate to mediator ethics
o Twelve hours must be on the subject of either custody and parenting issues or financial

issues (according to what the mediator is approved for)
o Twelve hours may be satisfied by taking continuing education classes required by the

mediator's licensure unless such licensure is not reasonably related to the practice of
mediation.

Do I have to use the central continuing education reporting form? 
If you mediate in one of the below judicial districts, unless your local court ADR contact has told you 

otherwise, please utilize the central reporting form to report your continuing education hours. If you are 

in a judicial district that is not on the below list, you should continue to report your hours to your local 

court contact.  You may still participate in statewide continuing education activities. 

• Baker
• Benton
• Clatsop
• Columbia
• Crook
• Deschutes (volunteer mediators only)
• Douglas
• Gilliam
• Grant
• Harney
• Hood River
• Jackson
• Jefferson
• Lincoln
• Malheur
• Morrow
• Multnomah (All Court Connected Mediators except for small claims)

https://www.courts.oregon.gov/rules/UTCR/2022_UTCR_ch12.pdf
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• Polk
• Sherman
• Tillamook
• Umatilla
• Union
• Wallowa
• Wasco
• Washington (FED & Small Claims mediators only)
• Wheeler
• Yamhill (Domestic Relations mediators only)

I already report my continuing education hours elsewhere (for example to the Oregon 

State Bar). Do I still need to report them to OSCA? 
Yes, if you mediate in one of the above judicial districts, unless your local court ADR contact has told you 

otherwise, please utilize the central reporting form to report your continuing education hours.  

I mediate for a court that has opted out of the central reporting form. How do I report 

my continuing education hours? 
If you mediate for a court (or service area) that is not on the above list, please contact your local court 

ADR contact for more information about how to report your continuing education hours.  

What are the continuing education topic areas? 
UTCR Chapter 12 states that continuing education topics may include, but are not limited to, the 
following examples: 

(a) Those topics outlined in UTCR 12.100, 12.110, and 12.120;

(b) Practical skills-based training in mediation or facilitation;

(c) Court processes;

(d) Confidentiality laws and rules;

(e) Changes in the subject matter areas of law in which the mediator practices;

(f) Mediation ethics;

(g) Domestic violence;

(h) Sexual assault;

(i) Child abuse and elder abuse;

(j) Gender, ethnic, and cultural diversity;

(k) Psychology and psychopathology;

(l) Organizational development;

(m) Communication;

(n) Crisis intervention;

https://orjudicial.workflowcloud.com/forms/57679782-b37c-4343-b66b-ec8aa2c390f7
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(o) Program administration and service delivery; 

(p) Practices and procedures of state and local social service agencies; and 

(q) Safety issues for mediators. 

What can mediators include as continuing education hours? 
UTCR 12.140 states: Continuing education shall be conducted by an individual or group qualified by 

practical or academic experience. For purposes of this section, an hour is defined as 60 minutes of 

instructional time or activity and may be completed in a variety of formats, including but not limited to: 

(a) Attendance at a live lecture or seminar; 

(b) Attendance at an audio or video playback of a lecture or seminar with a group where the group 

discusses the materials presented; 

(c) Listening or viewing audio, video, or internet presentations; 

(d) Receiving supervision as part of a training mentorship; 

(e) Formally debriefing mediation cases with mediator supervisors and colleagues following the 

mediation; 

(f) Lecturing or teaching in qualified continuing education courses; and 

(g) Reading, authoring, or editing written materials submitted for publication that have significant 

intellectual or practical content directly related to the practice of mediation. 

Continuing education classes should enhance the participant’s competence as a mediator and provide 

opportunities for mediators to expand upon existing skills and explore new areas of practice or interest.  

Why is central reporting being offered now? I’ve never had to report my continuing 

education hours in the past. 
OJD hasn’t had central support for mediation since the budget cuts that we experienced in 2009. We are 

working on building up support for local mediation services. Providing continuing education 

opportunities and assisting courts with tracking mediator continuing education hours are services that 

many circuit courts have requested we provide. 

 UTCR 12.140  states:  

Continuing education topics should be coordinated with, reported to, and approved by the 

determining authority of each court at which the mediator is an approved mediator and reported 

at least every two calendar years via the electronic Court-Connected Mediator Continuing 

Education Credit Form available on the Oregon Judicial Department’s webpage or other 

reporting form authorized by the appropriate determining authority. 

How do I determine the reporting period? What about for a new mediator who starts 

mediating in the middle of a year? 
The first cycle for electronic reporting is the 2023-2024 reporting cycle.  If you are in this group and you 

are in the middle of a reporting cycle, you can include your hours from 2022 in the report that will be 

https://www.courts.oregon.gov/rules/UTCR/2022_UTCR_ch12.pdf
https://www.courts.oregon.gov/rules/UTCR/2022_UTCR_ch12.pdf
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due on December 31, 2024.  If you were unaware of reporting requirements and have concerns about 

meeting the continuing education reporting requirement for this reporting cycle, please contact your 

local ADR contact or Caitlyn Jackson to discuss. As we ease into the first reporting cycle, we are open to 

determining if an exception should be made so that someone’s first reporting period will be 2024-2025. 

Is there a list of already available courses that I can access to begin working on the 

requirement?  

We are working on compiling materials for already existing trainings. There is a list of existing trainings 

and training organizations located on our website under our training resources page: Oregon Judicial 

Department : Resources for Mediators : Alternative Dispute Resolution : State of Oregon. Once on the 

page, click “Training Resources”. 

Is there a way to determine if a training will be approved for continuing education hours 

in advance? I’m hesitant to sign up for something without knowing if it will be approved. 
Our goal is to support mediators to attend continuing education opportunities that will enhance the 

mediator’s skills and knowledge base. If you are unsure whether something will be approved, you may 

contact us in advance of the training. Our goal is to approach continuing education submissions with an 

openness and a level of trust that a mediator will be able to determine which trainings (within the listed 

subject areas) will enhance their development.  If something is obviously outside the mediation 

education categories and is not easily tied to mediation, the submission could be denied. For example, if 

a mediator submitted “Attended University of Oregon football game and observed conflict between 

players,” the submission would likely be denied unless additional justification is provided.  

The electronic continuing education form is confusing. Do you have more detailed 

instructions? 
More detailed instructions for submitting the electronic form are available in the Appendix. 

Is the electronic form accessible to screen readers? 
Unfortunately, the new electronic form is not accessible to screen readers. If you are unable to use the 

new electronic form for any reason, you may keep track of your continuing education hours on the 

paper reporting form. You can submit paper reporting forms by scanning completed forms to 

Emily.J.Burgess@ojd.state.or.us at the end of a reporting period or following the completion of 

individual trainings. 

What can I expect from the ADR Team regarding my continuing education hours? 
The ADR Team will remind mediators when the end of a reporting period is approaching. If we notice 

someone is not on track to complete their continuing education hours, we will send a reminder of the 

continuing education requirements.  Throughout each reporting period, the ADR Team will continue to 

send out training announcements as they are available and will continue to develop continuing 

education opportunities for mediators. It is the mediator’s responsibility to complete and report 

continuing education hours, and it is OSCA’s goal to support mediators to succeed in their continuing 

education journey.  

https://www.courts.oregon.gov/programs/ADR/Pages/MediatorResources.aspx
https://www.courts.oregon.gov/programs/ADR/Pages/MediatorResources.aspx
mailto:Emily.J.Burgess@ojd.state.or.us
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What will happen if I don’t fulfill my continuing education requirements? 
If a mediator does not submit continuing education hours or if the continuing education hours appear to 
be insufficient after OSCA has taken steps to remind the mediator of continuing education expectations, 
OSCA will notify the local court. The local court will then decide whether any action is needed to 
suspend or remove the mediator.  
 

I am the designating authority for a local court and have opted into central reporting. Is 

there a way for me to access my mediator’s continuing education hours?  
If you have questions about your court’s mediator continuing education hours, please email 

Caitlyn.jackson@ojd.state.or.us to request a continuing education report for your court. At this time, 

there is not a way for you to access the hours directly.  The ADR team is happy to pull a report for you 

when requested.  

I am the designating authority for a local court. How do I update my list of mediators? 
If you have questions about which mediators are on our contact list or wish to update your list of 

mediators, please email Emily Burgess at Emily.j.Burgess@ojd.state.or.us.    

 

Scroll down for Appendix  1

mailto:Caitlyn.jackson@ojd.state.or.us
mailto:Emily.J.Burgess@ojd.state.or.us
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1. Open the Mediator Continuing Education Reporting Form link.  

2. Enter your name and email address 

 
3. Select the applicable report year: 

 
4. Select which type of cases you mediate. If you mediate both cases, please select Domestic 

Relations because of the higher reporting requirements. 

 
5. Select all courts in which you mediate:  

 
 

6. Type or Title of Program or Activity 

 
a. If you attended a conference, please list the name of the conference, and then each 

session you attended as separate individual training submission. For example: 

i. 2023 OMA CONFERENCE: Name of Specific Session #1 

ii. 2023 OMA CONFERENCE: Name of Specific Session #2 

iii. 2023 OMA CONFERENCE: Name of Specific Session #3 

b. If you attended a lecture, training, presentation, or webinar (live or playback), please list 

the title of the Training and the training provider. For example: 

https://orjudicial.workflowcloud.com/forms/57679782-b37c-4343-b66b-ec8aa2c390f7
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i. Working with Interpreters as a Court-Approved Mediator, Oregon Judicial 

Department 

ii. Impasse Strategies for Divorce Mediators, Academy of Professional Family 

Mediators 

c. If you received supervision as part of mentorship, please list:  

SUPERVISION/MENTORSHIP with [name of Supervisor} 

i. For example: SUPERVISION with Jane Smith 

d. If you formally debriefed mediation cases with supervisors and colleagues, please list: 

FORMAL CASE DEBRIEFING with [insert name of debrief group or colleagues] 

i. For example: FORMAL CASE DEBRIEFING with [Name of Court] FED Mediators  

e. If you taught an eligible continuing education course, list: TAUGHT, [name of training], 

and [corresponding training organization if applicable], # attendees 

i. For example: TAUGHT, Equity-Informed Mediation, Resolutions Northwest, 12 

attendees 

f. If you read, wrote, or edited a publication that has significant intellectual or practical 

content directly related to the practice of mediation, list: READ or EDITED or WROTE, 

Name of Resource, Author, Publication Title: 

i. For example: READ, A New Agreement to Mediate: Guidelines for Ethical 

Practice in the Digital Space, Amanda First, Harvard Negotiation Law Review 

 

7. Start Date: list the date you completed the training or activity: 

 
 

8. Select the category of training or activity: 

 
9. Enter the number of training or activity hours: 

 
10. If you have a more than one training or activity to submit, Click Add New Row and follow steps 

6-9 until all training or activities have been entered: 
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11. Sign and date your submission. Then click SUBMIT: 

 
12. You will be redirected to a page that says: 

 

13. You will receive an email confirmation that your form was submitted: 

 

14. If you receive the below message, please note that OJD will not receive notification of your 

submission and we will be unable to review your submission for continuing education credit 

until you work with Emily Burgess to resolve the issue. 
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15. If OJD has questions or needs additional information about your submission, we will contact you 

by email.  

 

16. Once OJD reviews your submission and makes a determination to approve or deny a submission, 

you will receive an email that summarizes all of your continuing education hours for the 

reporting period. Please review the “Approval Status” section of the email to determine 

whether each submission was approved or denied. We have highlighted examples of the 

Approval Status Section: 

 
 

17. If a submission is denied, you will receive a separate email outlining the reasoning for the denial. 

We may deny a submission based on, but not limited to, the following situations: 

• Lack of detail: in the above highlighted example, we do not have enough information 

about the movie. Was the whole movie about mediation? Was it a brief clip of 

mediation? 

• A submission is not applicable to the mediation continuing education categories 

outlined in UTCR Chapter 12.140(2). For example, if you submitted “Attended University 

of Oregon football game and observed conflict between players,” the submission would 

likely be denied unless additional justification is provided. 

• Unable to verify training or resource: OJD will verify trainings. If you submit a 

submission and we are unable to validate a submission that should be easily validated, 

we may request additional information. For example, if you indicated you wrote a 

mediation related book, but we are unable to verify the existence of the book, the 

submission might be declined unless additional information is provided. 

• Error in reporting: if we notice an error in a submission, we will let you know so that you 

can resubmit the training or activity with corrected information.  

18. If you have any questions about the Mediator Continuing Education Reporting Form, please 

contact: Emily.burgess@ojd.state.or.us  

mailto:Emily.burgess@ojd.state.or.us

