Attach $50 Fee

IN THE OREGON TAX COURT
MAGISTRATE DIVISION
Property Tax

Name(s)
Plaintiff(s),
versus
COUNTY ASSESSOR,

AND/OR
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE,
State of Oregon,
Defendant(s).

SECTION 1. Tax year(s) appealed:

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

Case No.

(for court use only)

COMPLAINT

. Plaintiff Clowned/[Jleased property identified

by the assessor as account number(s)

the property is: [1Residential [1Omitted [JCommercial [Industrial [JForest [1Farm [JExempt [IPersonal

Other:

SECTION 2. Plaintiff appeals from an order, letter, notice, or other governmental action.
* You Must Attach a Copy of the Order, Letter, Notice, or Other Document Being Appealed. *

SECTION 3. Such order, letter, or notice is in error because

SECTION 4. Plaintiff requests the following real market value: $

or other relief:

Plaintiff’s Name

Additional Plaintiff’s Name

Mailing Address

City, State, Zip

Phone Number (Cell? [1Yes [J No )

[ Notify me of proceedings electronically. I
understand that if [ am ever a party to a case in
another Oregon court, I may receive electronic
notices from that court as well. My email address
is:

Email Address

Plaintiff’s Signature Date Signed

Additional Plaintiff’s Signature =~ Date Signed

Attorney’s Name*

Oregon Bar Number

Direct Telephone Number

Attorney’s Email Address**

Attorney’s Signature

Date Signed

* If the representative is not an lawyer licensed in
Oregon, an Authorization to Represent must be
completed and submitted with this Complaint. That form
is available on request and may also be found here:
https://www.courts.oregon.gov/forms/Documents/TAX-
AuthToRepresent.pdf

** Hearing notices will be sent electronically using
the attorney contact information on file with the
Oregon State Bar.
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https://www.courts.oregon.gov/forms/Documents/TAX-AuthToRepresent.pdf
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How to File a Property Tax Appeal with the Magistrate Division

1) Fill out all sections of the Complaint form; AND
?2) Sign the Complaint (all named plaintiffs must sign the Complaint); AND
A3) Date the Complaint; AND
“) Attach to the Complaint a copy of the order or notice you are appealing; AND
Q) Submit a fee of $50° (make check payable to the “State of Oregon”); AND
6) If mailing or filing in person at the court, make three copies of the Complaint and attachments. Mail
the griginal Complaint and attachments plus two complete copies to the court. Keep one complete
copy for yourself.
@) A complaint is “filed,” on the date that it is deposited with USPS or private express carrier.
See ORS 305.418. Plaintiff must prove the date of mailing or dispatch by “satisfactory evidence.” For more
information see Tax Court Rule — Magistrate Division 1 A(4).
The court’s mailing address is: Oregon Tax Court
Magistrate Division
1163 State Street
Salem, Oregon 97301-2563
(503) 986-5650 or toll free: 1-800-773-1162
The court is located at: 1241 State Street, Third Floor (3R), Salem, Oregon
* The Oregon Legislature may modify fees between publications of this form. The Oregon Tax Court website lists
the current fee. A form to show proof of inability to pay the fee and request waiver of the fee is available upon
request or on the court website at http://courts.oregon.gov/courts/tax

Instructions for Completing the Complaint Form

HEADING. Fill in the name of the plaintiff or plaintiffs (the taxpayer). In most cases, the defendant is the county
assessor where the property is located. Print the name of the county. If this is an industrial property appeal, the
Department of Revenue, the county assessor, or both, may be named as defendant(s), depending on who conducted the
appraisal.

ORS 305.403(3). In some cases, the Department of Revenue may be the only defendant. ORS 305.275.

SECTION 1. Insert the year or years you are appealing and the property account number or numbers (from your tax

statement). Circle the appropriate type of property.

SECTION 2. Describe what action you are appealing.

* You Must Attach a copy of the order, letter, notice, or other document being appealed. *

SECTION 3. Explain why you think the assessor or Department of Revenue is wrong. (If more space is needed,

attach additional pages.)

SECTION 4. State what you want the court to do. If you want the court to reduce the real market value of your

property, you must state the requested real market value as of the assessment date(s).

MEDIATION: In all cases, either party may request mediation. Mediation is court-facilitated negotiation. The
purpose is to help the parties obtain a clearer understanding of the merits of each position and help them reach a
mutually acceptable agreement. A party may request mediation at any time.

Rev. 1/22


http://courts.oregon.gov/courts/tax

	Attach $50 Fee
	Property Tax
	AND/OR )
	Instructions for Completing the Complaint Form
	* You Must Attach a copy of the order, letter, notice, or other document being appealed. *


	undefined: 
	Names: 
	COUNTY ASSESSOR: 
	State of Oregon: 
	Case No: 
	by the assessor as account numbers: 
	owned: Off
	leased property identified: Off
	Plaintiff: 
	Residential: Off
	Omitted: Off
	Commercial: Off
	Industrial: Off
	Forest: Off
	Farm: Off
	Exempt: Off
	Personal: Off
	Other: 
	undefined_2: 
	SECTION 3 Such order letter or notice is in error because: 
	SECTION 4 Plaintiff requests the following real market value: 
	or other relief: 
	undefined_3: 
	Plaintiffs Name: 
	Additional Plaintiffs Name: 
	Mailing Address: 
	City State Zip: 
	fill_22: 
	Notify me of proceedings electronically I: Off
	Email Address: 
	Date Signed: 
	Date Signed_2: 
	Attorneys Name: 
	Oregon Bar Number: 
	Direct Telephone Number: 
	Attorneys Email Address: 
	Date Signed_3: 


