
Parent Rights and Notice of Obligations (Juvenile Dependency)
Case Name          Case No.            
Parent Rights:  You have certain rights as the parent or guardian of a child in a dependency case.
· You have the right to have a lawyer represent you.  If you don’t have money to pay a lawyer, the court will provide one for you if you qualify.  A lawyer can look at the child welfare files, talk to DHS and other people in the case, tell you about the law, help you understand and enforce your rights, attend meetings at DHS and other places, and help you at court hearings.  

· You have the right to be at all hearings about your child.
· You have the right to a trial and to make the state prove the statements in the petition.  At the trial, you can see and question all witnesses who testify, you can require witnesses to come to court and testify for you, and you can testify, which means you can talk under oath in the courtroom.  You may not have the right to remain silent.  If you have questions about your rights, talk to your lawyer.
Important information:
· If you want a court-appointed lawyer, you must fill out and turn in an application.  

· You must keep the Court, your attorney, and DHS advised of your addresses – where you live and where you get mail.  The Court may notify you of court hearings through the mail.  
· If you fail to come to a hearing, the judge may hear evidence without you there and may enter an order that impacts your parental rights.  
· DHS will ask you questions about relatives, grandparents and about whether you have American Indian or Alaskan Native heritage.  Answering these questions will help DHS connect your child to family members and your tribe, if you have one.
Costs you may have to pay:  The court may order you to pay certain costs related to this dependency case, including:

· The cost of your lawyer and your child’s lawyer if lawyers are appointed.
· The cost of applying for a court-appointed lawyer.
· Other legal expenses for you and your child including witness fees and costs, the cost of service of summons, investigator fees, and evaluator fees.
· Child support if your child is not placed in your home.  If you receive child support for your child, you may have to sign over your support to the State of Oregon.
· Other costs from your child’s involvement in juvenile court.
Right to Appeal:  You may be entitled to have a court appointed attorney represent you in an appeal. (ORS 419A.211)   To appeal a circuit court’s decision, you must file a notice of appeal with the Court of Appeals within 30 days of the entry of the court’s final order in the court register.  (The Court of Appeals may extend the deadline to file an appeal up to 90 days after entry of the judgment being appealed only in very limited circumstances.)  
· If no recording or transcript of the proceeding was kept, you may file a request for rehearing with the circuit court within 15 days after the entry of the court’s order and the court will grant a rehearing on the record with certain exceptions. 
· Referee Decisions (ORS 419A.150):   To appeal a decision by a referee, you must file the appeal with the circuit court within 10 days of entry of the referee’s decision in the court register. 
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