

## MANDATORY TRAINING FOR NEW NON-PROFESSIONAL GUARDIANS, CONSERVATORS and PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVES Effective July 12, 2021

Effective July 12, 2021 all non-professional guardians, conservators and personal representatives appointed by Yamhill County Circuit Court must, within 60 days of their appointment date, complete an Oregon Fiduciary 101 class.

Oregon Fiduciary 101 classes are 60-minute presentations about responsibilities as a Guardian, a Conservator or a Personal Representative. The classes will orient you to decision-making, Oregon laws, working with the court, attorneys and the protected person (as appropriate), and give practical tips about successfully managing the issues that are common for guardians, conservators and personal representatives. Currently, the mandated content is delivered by the non-profit Guardian Partners. This is an <u>online</u>, <u>pre-recorded</u> and <u>on demand</u> class.

Guardian Partners will file your Certificate of Compliance/Completion with the court for you (after you complete the Course Assessment at the end of the class). If you have already taken the relevant Guardian Partners class, please provide proof of completion because the court may waive the requirement.

To view the classes and register, go to: <a href="https://guardian-partners.org">https://guardian-partners.org</a>

If you do not have internet access, please call Guardian Partners at (971) 409-1358.

Choose the class(es) relevant to your appointed role:

- **Conservator Class** (\$150) for Conservators that make financial decisions for protected persons (including children) with sums of money generally over \$10,000.
- **Guardian of Adult Class** (\$100)- for Guardians that make healthcare decisions for protected persons aged 18 or older.
- **Guardian of Minor Class** (no charge) for Guardians that make healthcare and other decisions for children under the age of 18.
- **Personal Representative Class** (\$150) for Personal Representatives and Administrators that settle estates of deceased persons through probate.

Fee waivers are available to those who have received a waiver of court fees. Instructions for payment of proof of waiver are provided in the registration process. Class information is sent out via email once payment is received; please read all instructions on the email. You will be charged one fee per class per case; co-fiduciaries pay only one fee. Class fees are available on the Guardian Partners' website. Contact Guardian Partners if you are involved in more than one case of the same type.