
 SMALL ESTATES AFFIDAVIT 
 
UThe statute for small estates changed 1/1/20.  If you have any 
questions regarding the statutory changes, you should consult with 
an attorney.  This packet is specifically for decedents who have died 
prior to January 1, 2020. 
 
To file a Small Estates Affidavit, you will need the following: 

1.  Affidavit of Claiming Successor 
Testate if there is a will 
Intestate if there is no will 

 
The affidavit can be purchased at office supply or stationery stores.  Fill in 

the blanks and Uhave the affidavit notarized.U  If you bring the affidavit to the 
courthouse with proper identification (i.e. valid driver's license), the clerk can 
witness your signature. 
 

2.  UCertifiedU copy of the death certificate. 
A photocopy cannot be accepted. 

 
3.  The UoriginalU will, if one exists. 

 
4.  Filing fee in the amount of $124. A certified copy of the affidavit will 

cost $5.00 (certification fee) UplusU $ .25 per page (copy fee).   
 

Note:  For those persons filing for PERS distribution, a UcertifiedU copy of 
the affidavit should be sent to PERS.   

 
******************************************************************************************** 
******************************************************************************************** 
 
Washington County Circuit Court  HOURS:    8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m 
Probate Department               Monday - Friday 
150 North First Avenue  MS #37 
Hillsboro, OR 97124 
 
******************************************************************************************** 
******************************************************************************************** 

 
PLEASE NOTE:   The court staff is not allowed to give legal advice.   
You must decide if the estate qualifies as a small estate.  If you have questions 
about handling an estate, you should contact an attorney.  The Oregon State Bar 
Lawyer Referral Service can provide names of probate lawyers in your area.  The 
number for the referral service is 1-800-452-7636. 
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Small Estates Affidavit 
 
 

Oregon law allows an abbreviated procedure for handling small estates 
which may otherwise require a probate proceeding.  See ORS 114.505 through 
114.560 (copy attached).  This process is accomplished by filing an “Affidavit of 
Claiming Successor”, sometimes referred to as a small estate affidavit.   
 
UEstates That Qualify: 
 
An Affidavit of Claiming Successor may be filed if: 

1. The estate has personal property that has fair market value   
  of $75,000 or less, Uand/or 

2. The estate has real property that has fair market value of  
  $200,000 or less.   
 
“Fair Market Value” is the value of the property on the open market (between 
unrelated parties), UnotU reduced to reflect debts owed against the property. 
 
“Real Property” is land or interests in land. 
 
“Personal Property” is all other property that is not real property, including 
contracts for the sale of real property, bank accounts, vehicles, etc.  The dollar 
amounts do not include any property that transfers without probate or the small 
estate procedure.   
 
UWho May File: 

 
The small estate affidavit must be filed by one or more “claiming 

successors.”  A claiming successor is:   1.)  An heir or devisee of the decedent 
(depending on whether a will exists); 2.)  The person nominated as personal 
representative in the decedent's will; 3.)  A creditor of the estate who has not 
been paid within 60 days after the decedent's death (Note: If the decedent died 
without a will or heirs, the creditor must have the written authorization from the 
Division of State Lands); 4.)  The Director of the Division of State Lands, if there 
is no will and no heirs.   
 
UWhat to File: 

 
You can buy printed forms at some stationery stores.  If the decedent had a 

will, the affidavit will be for a “Testate Estate”.  If the decedent did not have a will, 
the affidavit will be for an “Intestate Estate”.  The decedent's “heirs” are the 
people who would inherit property under Oregon's laws of intestacy.  The 
“devisee” of the decedent are people named to receive property in the decedent's 
will.  An “interest” in decedent's property is what each heir/devisee is to receive 
from the estate.   
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In addition to the affidavit, a certified copy of the death certificate must be 

filed.  If the decedent died testate, the original will must be filed with the affidavit.   
The filing fee in Washington County is currently listed on the first page of 

this document.  To obtain a certified copy of the affidavit, the fee is $5.00 UplusU 
$.25 per page.   
 
UWhen to File: 

 
The affidavit may not be filed until 30 days after the death of the decedent. 

  
UWhere to File 

 
The affidavit can be filed with the probate court for: 1) The county where 

the decedent died; 2) The county where the decedent lived or had a home at the 
time of death; 3) A county where property of the decedent is located at the time 
the affidavit is filed or was located at the time of the decedent's death.    
 
UDuties of the Claiming Successor: 

 
The person who filed the affidavit is the affiant and has the following duties 

required by law: 
1.   Mail or deliver a copy of the affidavit to the following: a) The heirs and 

devisees.  If there is a will, a copy should be included with the affidavit;   b) Each 
creditor, if any, who has not been paid in full;  c) Any person known to the affiant 
who asserts a claim against the estate;  d) Department of Human Services, 
Estate Administration Unit, P.O. Box 14021, Salem, Oregon 97309-9913;  e)  
Oregon Health Authority, 500 Summer Street NE  E20, Salem Oregon 97301.  
This must be done within 30 days after filing the affidavit.   

2.   Take Control of the property.  See ORS 114.535. 
3.   Pay estate claims and expenses from estate property.  
See ORS 114.545(1)(c).   
4.   After four months from the date the affidavit is filed and if no personal 

representative is appointed for the estate, the affiant should transfer the estate 
property to the heirs and devisees.  Before the four months expire, the affiant 
may transfer property as allowed by ORS 114.545 (1)(e) and (f).   
 
UAccountability of the Claiming Successor: 

 
The affiant and any other claiming successor who receives property under 

the small estate statute is personally answerable and accountable to:  1) estate 
creditors, to the extent of the value of the property received; 2) to any personal 
representative appointed within four months after the affidavit is filed;  3)  any 
omitted heir or devisee.   
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SMALL ESTATES 
  
      114.505 Definitions for ORS 
114.505 to 114.560. As used in ORS 
114.505 to 114.560: 
      (1) “Affiant” means the person or 
persons signing an affidavit filed under 
ORS 114.515. 
      (2) “Claiming successors” means: 
      (a) If the decedent died intestate, 
the heir or heirs of the decedent, or if 
there is no heir, an estate administrator 
of the Department of State Lands 
appointed under ORS 113.235; 
      (b) If the decedent died testate, the 
devisee or devisees of the decedent; 
and 
      (c) Any creditor of the estate entitled 
to payment or reimbursement from the 
estate under ORS 114.545 (1)(c) who 
has not been paid or reimbursed the full 
amount owed such creditor within 60 
days after the date of the decedent’s 
death. 
      (3) “Estate” means decedent’s 
property subject to administration in 
Oregon. [1973 c.710 §2; 1977 c.239 §1; 
1979 c.340 §1; 1979 c.467 §3; 1989 
c.228 §1; 2003 c.395 §14; 2005 c.22 
§92] 
  
      114.515 Value of estate; where 
affidavit filed; fee; amended affidavit; 
supplemental affidavit. (1) If the estate 
of a decedent meets the requirements 
of subsection (2) of this section, any of 
the following persons may file an 
affidavit with the clerk of the probate 
court in any county where there is venue 
for a proceeding seeking the 
appointment of a personal 
representative for the estate: 
      (a) One or more of the claiming 
successors of the decedent. 
      (b) If the decedent died testate, any 
person named as personal 
representative in the decedent’s will. 
      (c) The Director of Human Services, 
the Director of the Oregon Health 
Authority or an attorney approved under 

ORS 114.517, if the decedent received 
public assistance pursuant to ORS 
chapter 411 or 414 or received care at 
an institution as defined in ORS 
179.010, and it appears that the 
assistance or the cost of care may be 
recovered from the estate of the 
decedent. 
      (2) An affidavit under this section 
may be filed only if: 
      (a) The fair market value of the 
estate is $275,000 or less; 
      (b) Not more than $75,000 of the fair 
market value of the estate is attributable 
to personal property; and 
      (c) Not more than $200,000 of the 
fair market value of the estate is 
attributable to real property. 
      (3) An affidavit under this section 
may not be filed until 30 days after the 
death of the decedent. 
      (4) An affidavit filed under the 
provisions of this section must contain 
the information required in ORS 
114.525 and shall be made a part of the 
probate records. If the affiant is an 
attorney approved by the Director of 
Human Services or the Director of the 
Oregon Health Authority, a copy of the 
document approving the attorney must 
be attached to the affidavit. 
      (5) In determining fair market value 
under this section, the fair market value 
of the entire interest in the property 
included in the estate shall be used 
without reduction for liens or other 
debts. 
      (6) The clerk of the probate court 
shall charge and collect a fee of $23 for 
the filing of any affidavit under this 
section. 
      (7) Any error or omission in an 
affidavit filed under this section may be 
corrected by filing an amended affidavit 
within four months after the filing of the 
affidavit. 
      (8) One or more supplemental 
affidavits may be filed at any time after 
the filing of an affidavit under this 
section for the purpose of including 
property not described in the original 



affidavit. Copies of all previously filed 
affidavits must be attached to the 
supplemental affidavit and all 
information required in ORS 114.525 
must be reflected in the supplemental 
affidavit. A supplemental affidavit may 
not be filed if by reason of the additional 
property described in the supplemental 
affidavit any limitation imposed by 
subsection (2) of this section is 
exceeded. [1973 c.710 §§3, 8; 1977 
c.239 §2; 1979 c.467 §1; 1981 s.s. c.3 
§36; 1985 c.368 §1; 1985 c.496 §6; 
1987 c.586 §28; 1989 c.228 §2; 1989 
c.856 §1; 1995 c.682 §1; 1997 c.447 
§1; 1997 c.801 §32; 2003 c.737 
§§59,60; 2005 c.122 §§1,2; 2005 c.273 
§§1,2; 2005 c.702 §§69,70,71; 2009 
c.262 §7; 2009 c.413 §1; 2009 c.828 
§10] 
  
      Note: Section 3, chapter 273, 
Oregon Laws 2005, provides: 
      Sec. 3. The amendments to ORS 
114.515 by sections 1 and 2 of this 
2005 Act apply only to decedents who 
die on or after the effective date of this 
2005 Act [January 1, 2006]. [2005 c.273 
§3] 
  
      Note: Section 2, chapter 413, 
Oregon Laws 2009, provides: 
      Sec. 2. The amendments to ORS 
114.515 by section 1 of this 2009 Act 
apply only to decedents who die on or 
after the effective date of this 2009 Act 
[January 1, 2010]. [2009 c.413 §2] 
  
      Note: Section 4 (19), chapter 659, 
Oregon Laws 2009, provides: 
      Sec. 4. (19) In addition to the fee 
provided for in ORS 114.515 (6), for the 
period commencing October 1, 2009, 
and ending June 30, 2011, the clerk of 
the probate court shall collect a 
surcharge of $1 upon the filing of an 
affidavit under ORS 114.515. [2009 
c.659 §4(19)] 
  
       

114.517 Approval of attorneys filing 
affidavits for recipients of Medicaid 
or other public assistance. The 
Director of Human Services, or the 
director’s designated representative, or 
the Director of the Oregon Health 
Authority, or the director’s designated 
representative, may approve in writing 
attorneys who are eligible to file an 
affidavit under ORS 114.515 if the 
decedent received public assistance 
pursuant to ORS chapter 411 or 414 or 
received care at an institution as defined 
in ORS 179.010, and it appears that the 
assistance or the cost of care may be 
recovered from the estate of the 
decedent. An attorney approved under 
this section does not represent the 
Director of Human Services or the 
Director of the Oregon Health Authority 
when the attorney files an affidavit 
under ORS 114.515. [2009 c.262 §6; 
2009 c.828 §9] 
  
      114.520 Authorization from 
Department of State Lands required 
for filing of affidavit by creditor if 
decedent dies intestate and without 
heirs; rules. (1) If a decedent dies 
intestate and without heirs, a creditor of 
an estate who is a claiming successor 
may not file an affidavit under ORS 
114.515 unless the creditor has 
received written authorization from an 
estate administrator of the Department 
of State Lands appointed under ORS 
113.235. Except as provided by rule 
adopted by the Director of the 
Department of State Lands, an estate 
administrator shall consent to the filing 
of an affidavit under ORS 114.515 by a 
creditor only if it appears after 
investigation that the estate is insolvent. 
      (2) A creditor of an estate who is 
subject to subsection (1) of this section 
may give written notice to an estate 
administrator of the Department of State 
Lands informing the estate administrator 
that the creditor intends to file an 
affidavit under ORS 114.515. Upon 
receiving the notice permitted by this 



subsection, the estate administrator 
shall investigate the assets and liabilities 
of the estate. Within 30 days after 
receiving the notice required by this 
subsection, the estate administrator 
shall either: 
      (a) Give written authorization to the 
creditor for the filing of an affidavit by 
the creditor under ORS 114.515; or 
      (b) Inform the creditor that the 
Department of State Lands will file an 
affidavit as claiming successor under 
ORS 114.515. 
      (3) If a decedent dies intestate and 
without heirs, a creditor of an estate 
who is a claiming successor and who 
files an affidavit under ORS 114.515 
must notate at the top of the affidavit 
that the affidavit is being filed by a 
creditor of the estate. If the affidavit 
contains the notation required by this 
subsection, the clerk of the probate 
court may not accept the affidavit for 
filing unless there is attached to the 
affidavit written authorization for the 
filing of the affidavit by the creditor from 
an estate administrator of the 
Department of State Lands. The written 
authorization may be a copy of a 
memorandum of an interagency 
agreement between the Department of 
State Lands and another state agency. 
[1997 c.88 §2; 2003 c.395 §15] 
  
      114.525 Content of affidavit. An 
affidavit filed under ORS 114.515 shall: 
      (1) State the name, age, domicile, 
post-office address and Social Security 
number of the decedent; 
      (2) State the date and place of the 
decedent’s death. A certified copy of the 
death certificate shall be attached to the 
affidavit; 
      (3) Describe and state the fair 
market value of all property in the 
estate, including a legal description of 
any real property; 
      (4) State that no application or 
petition for the appointment of a 
personal representative has been 
granted in Oregon; 

      (5) State whether the decedent died 
testate or intestate, and if the decedent 
died testate, the will shall be attached to 
the affidavit; 
      (6) List the heirs of the decedent 
and the last address of each heir as 
known to the affiant, and state that a 
copy of the affidavit showing the date of 
filing and a copy of the will, if the 
decedent died testate, will be delivered 
to each heir or mailed to the heir at the 
last-known address; 
      (7) If the decedent died testate, list 
the devisees of the decedent and the 
last address of each devisee as known 
to the affiant and state that a copy of the 
will and a copy of the affidavit showing 
the date of filing will be delivered to 
each devisee or mailed to the devisee at 
the last-known address; 
      (8) State the interest in the property 
described in the affidavit to which each 
heir or devisee is entitled and the 
interest, if any, that will escheat; 
      (9) State that reasonable efforts 
have been made to ascertain creditors 
of the estate. List the expenses of and 
claims against the estate remaining 
unpaid or on account of which the 
affiant or any other person is entitled to 
reimbursement from the estate, 
including the known or estimated 
amounts thereof and the names and 
addresses of the creditors as known to 
the affiant, and state that a copy of the 
affidavit showing the date of filing will be 
delivered to each creditor who has not 
been paid in full or mailed to the creditor 
at the last-known address; 
      (10) Separately list the name and 
address of each person known to the 
affiant to assert a claim against the 
estate that the affiant disputes and the 
known or estimated amount thereof and 
state that a copy of the affidavit showing 
the date of filing will be delivered to 
each such person or mailed to the 
person at the last-known address; 
      (11) State that a copy of the affidavit 
showing the date of filing will be mailed 
or delivered to the Department of 



Human Services and the Oregon Health 
Authority; 
      (12) State that claims against the 
estate not listed in the affidavit or in 
amounts larger than those listed in the 
affidavit may be barred unless: 
      (a) A claim is presented to the 
affiant within four months of the filing of 
the affidavit at the address stated in the 
affidavit for presentment of claims; or 
      (b) A personal representative of the 
estate is appointed within the time 
allowed under ORS 114.555; and 
      (13) If the affidavit lists one or more 
claims that the affiant disputes, state 
that any such claim may be barred 
unless: 
      (a) A petition for summary 
determination is filed within four months 
of the filing of the affidavit; or 
      (b) A personal representative of the 
estate is appointed within the time 
allowed under ORS 114.555. [1973 
c.710 §6; 1977 c.239 §3; 1979 c.340 
§2; 1989 c.228 §3; 1991 c.191 §3; 1995 
c.453 §1; 2001 c.104 §35; 2001 c.620 
§2; 2001 c.900 §18a; 2003 c.196 §1; 
2003 c.395 §16; 2005 c.22 §93; 2009 
c.595 §79] 
  
      114.535 Transfer of decedent’s 
property to affiant; proceedings to 
compel transfer. (1) A person indebted 
to the decedent or having possession of 
personal property belonging to the 
estate, to whom a certified copy of the 
affidavit filed under ORS 114.515 is 
delivered by the affiant on or after the 
10th day following the filing of the 
affidavit, shall pay, transfer or deliver 
the personal property to the affiant. A 
person who has received property of the 
decedent under ORS 446.616 or 
803.094, or a similar statute providing 
for the transfer of property of an estate 
that is not being probated, shall pay, 
transfer or deliver the property to the 
affiant if the person would be required to 
pay, transfer or deliver the property to a 
personal representative of the estate. 
The transferor is discharged and 
released from any liability or 

responsibility for the transfer in the 
same manner and with the same effect 
as if the property had been transferred, 
delivered or paid to a personal 
representative of the estate of the 
decedent. 
      (2) A transfer agent of any corporate 
security registered in the name of the 
decedent shall change the registered 
ownership on the books of the 
corporation to the person entitled 
thereto on presentation of a certified 
copy of the affidavit filed under ORS 
114.515. 
      (3) If a person to whom an affidavit 
is delivered refuses to pay, deliver or 
transfer any personal property to the 
affiant or the person entitled to the 
property as disclosed in the affidavit 
filed under ORS 114.515, the property 
may be recovered or payment, delivery 
or transfer of the property may be 
compelled upon proof of the 
transferee’s entitlement in a proceeding 
brought for the purpose by or on behalf 
of the transferee. 
      (4) If the affidavit was signed by the 
Director of Human Services, the Director 
of the Oregon Health Authority or an 
attorney approved under ORS 114.517, 
the Director of Human Services, the 
Director of the Oregon Health Authority 
or the attorney may certify a copy of the 
affidavit for the purposes described in 
subsection (1) or (2) of this section. 
[1973 c.710 §4; 1979 c.340 §3; 1989 
c.228 §4; 1991 c.67 §23; 1997 c.631 
§404; 2003 c.196 §2; 2003 c.655 §60; 
2009 c.541 §4; 2009 c.595 §80; 2009 
c.828 §11] 
  
      114.540 Procedure for claims; 
disallowance; summary 
determination. (1) A claim against an 
estate with respect to which an affidavit 
is filed under ORS 114.515 may be 
presented to the affiant within four 
months after the affidavit was filed. If an 
amended affidavit is filed under ORS 
114.515 (7), claims against the estate 
must be filed within four months after 
the filing of the amended affidavit. If a 



supplemental affidavit is filed under 
ORS 114.515 (8), claims against the 
estate must be filed within four months 
after the filing of the supplemental 
affidavit. Each claim presented to the 
affiant must include the information 
required by ORS 115.025. 
      (2) A claim presented to the affiant 
shall be considered allowed as 
presented unless within 60 days after 
the date of presentment of the claim the 
affiant mails or delivers a notice of 
disallowance of the claim in whole or in 
part to the claimant and any attorney for 
the claimant. A notice of disallowance of 
a claim shall inform the claimant that the 
claim has been disallowed in whole or in 
part and, to the extent disallowed, will 
be barred unless: 
      (a) The claimant proceeds as 
provided in subsection (3) of this 
section; or 
      (b) A personal representative is 
appointed within the time allowed under 
ORS 114.555. 
      (3) A creditor of the estate whose 
claim has been presented within the 
time permitted by subsection (1) of this 
section and disallowed by the affiant 
may within 30 days after the date of 
mailing or delivery of the notice of 
disallowance file with the probate court 
a petition for summary determination of 
the claim by the court. A creditor of the 
decedent whose claim is listed in the 
affidavit as disputed may within four 
months after the filing of the affidavit file 
with the probate court a petition for 
summary determination of the creditor’s 
claim by the court. The court shall hear 
the matter without a jury, after notice to 
the creditor and affiant, and any 
interested person may be heard in the 
proceeding. The claim may be proved 
as provided in ORS 115.195 (2). Upon 
the hearing the court shall determine the 
claim in a summary manner and shall 
make an order allowing or disallowing 
the claim in whole or in part. If the court 
allows the claim in whole or in part, the 
order shall direct the affiant, to the 
extent of property of the estate allocable 

to the payment of the claim pursuant to 
ORS 115.125, or any claiming 
successor to whom payment, delivery or 
transfer has been made under ORS 
114.505 to 114.560 as a person entitled 
thereto as disclosed in the affidavit, to 
the extent of the value of the property 
received, to pay to the creditor the 
amount so allowed. No appeal may be 
taken from the order of the court made 
upon the summary determination. [1989 
c.228 §7; 2003 c.523 §3; 2005 c.122 
§4] 
  
      114.545 Duties of person filing 
affidavit; payment of claims; 
conveyance of real property; liability 
of person to whom property 
transferred or payment made. (1) The 
affiant: 
      (a) Shall take control of the property 
of the estate coming into the possession 
of the affiant. 
      (b) Within 30 days after filing the 
affidavit shall mail, deliver or cause to 
be recorded each instrument which the 
affidavit states will be mailed, delivered 
or recorded. 
      (c) From and to the extent of the 
property of the estate, shall pay or 
reimburse any person who has paid: 
      (A) Expenses described in ORS 
115.125 (1)(b) and (c) and listed in the 
affidavit; 
      (B) Claims listed in the affidavit as 
undisputed; 
      (C) Allowed claims presented to the 
affiant within the time permitted by ORS 
114.540; and 
      (D) Claims which the probate court 
directs the affiant to pay. 
      (d) Shall pay claims and expenses 
under paragraph (c) of this subsection in 
the order of priority prescribed by ORS 
115.125. 
      (e) May transfer or sell any vehicle 
that is part of the estate before the 
completion of the period established 
under ORS 114.555 if the affiant 
complies with the requirements 
established by the Department of 



Transportation for such purposes under 
ORS 803.094. 
      (f) May convey any real or personal 
property that is part of the estate before 
the completion of the period established 
under ORS 114.555, provided that each 
heir or devisee succeeding to the 
interest conveyed joins in the 
conveyance and that any proceeds of 
sale, net of the reasonable expenses of 
sale and any debt secured as of the 
date of the decedent’s death by a duly 
perfected lien on the property, shall 
become a part of the estate subject to 
ORS 114.505 to 114.560. If the property 
is a manufactured structure as defined 
in ORS 446.561, the affiant must assign 
interest in the structure as provided in 
ORS 446.616. Any conveyance to a 
purchaser in good faith and for a 
valuable consideration made by the 
affiant and the heir or devisee 
succeeding to the interest conveyed, or 
made by the heir or devisee succeeding 
to the interest conveyed after 
completion of the period established 
under ORS 114.555, conveys the 
interest stated in the conveyance free of 
any interest of the claiming successors, 
and the purchaser has no duty with 
respect to application of the 
consideration paid for the conveyance. 
      (2) Any claiming successor to whom 
payment, delivery or transfer is made 
under ORS 114.505 to 114.560 as a 
person entitled thereto as disclosed in 
the affidavit is personally answerable 
and accountable: 
      (a) To the extent of the value of the 
property received, to creditors of the 
estate to the extent such creditors are 
entitled to payment under subsection (1) 
of this section; and 
      (b) To any personal representative 
of the estate of the decedent thereafter 
appointed. 
      (3) The affiant shall cause to be 
recorded in the deed records of any 
county in which real property belonging 
to the decedent is situated an affiant or 
claiming successor’s deed executed in 

the manner required by ORS chapter 
93. 
      (4) For a manufactured structure as 
defined in ORS 446.561 belonging to a 
decedent and assessed as personal 
property, the affiant shall file with the 
Department of Consumer and Business 
Services the necessary information for 
recording the successor’s interest in the 
manufactured structure on an ownership 
document. [1973 c.710 §7; 1979 c.340 
§4; 1985 c.300 §5; 1989 c.148 §6; 1989 
c.228 §5; 1991 c.191 §4; 2003 c.655 
§61] 
  
      114.550 Summary review of 
administration of estate; hearing. The 
affiant or any claiming successor of the 
estate who has not been paid the full 
amount owed such claiming successor 
may, within two years after the filing of 
an affidavit under ORS 114.515, file with 
the probate court a petition for summary 
review of administration of the estate. A 
creditor may not file a petition under this 
section if the creditor received a copy of 
an affidavit filed under ORS 114.515 
delivered or mailed to such creditor 
within 30 days after the date the affidavit 
was filed, the creditor was shown as a 
disputed creditor in the affidavit, and the 
creditor has not filed a petition for 
summary determination under ORS 
114.540. The court shall hear the matter 
without a jury, after notice to the 
claiming successor and the affiant, and 
any interested person may be heard in 
the proceeding. Upon the hearing the 
court shall review administration of the 
estate in a summary manner and may 
order the affiant to sell property of the 
estate and pay creditors, to pay 
creditors of the estate from property of 
the estate or of the affiant, or to 
distribute property of the estate to the 
claiming successors, or may order any 
person who has received property of the 
estate to pay amounts owed to claiming 
successors of the estate in whole or in 
part. [1989 c.228 §8; 2003 c.196 §3] 
  



      114.555 Effect of failure to appoint 
personal representative. If a personal 
representative is not appointed within 
four months after the filing of the 
affidavit authorized by ORS 114.515, 
the interest of the decedent in all of the 
property described in the affidavit is 
transferred to the person or persons 
shown by the affidavit to be entitled 
thereto, and any other claims against 
the property are barred except as 
provided in ORS 114.540, 114.545 and 
114.550. [1973 c.710 §5; 1977 c.239 
§4; 1989 c.228 §10] 
  
      Note: The amendments to 114.555 
by section 21, chapter 574, Oregon 
Laws 2009, take effect January 1, 2011. 
See section 27, chapter 574, Oregon 
Laws 2009. The text that is effective on 
and after January 1, 2011, is set forth 
for the user’s convenience. 
      114.555. If a personal 
representative is not appointed within 
four months after the filing of the 
affidavit authorized by ORS 114.515, 
the interest of the decedent in all of the 
property described in the affidavit is 
transferred to the person or persons 
shown by the affidavit to be entitled 
thereto, and any other claims against 
the property are barred, except: 
      (1) As provided in ORS 114.540, 
114.545 and 114.550; and 
      (2) For the purposes of a surviving 
spouse’s claim for an elective share in 
the manner provided by ORS 114.600 
to 114.725. 
  
      114.560 Exclusive remedy. The 
exclusive remedy of a person injured by 
the failure of the affiant or any claiming 
successor to comply with the 
requirements of ORS 114.505 to 
114.560 shall be a summary 
determination under ORS 114.540, a 
summary review of administration under 
ORS 114.550, or appointment of a 
personal representative for the estate 
within the time allowed by ORS 
114.555. [1989 c.228 §9] 
  

 
 


