<u>Frequently Asked Questions</u> SURRENDER OF FIREARMS In Washington County Qualifying Misdemeanor or Stalking Crimes

1. Do I have to surrender (give up) my guns?

Yes, you are required to surrender all firearms and ammunition within 24 hours of receiving the Order of Firearms Prohibition and Dispossession.

Based on this conviction you are subject to a lifetime prohibition for possession of firearms or ammunition. If you possess firearms or ammunition you are subject to prosecution pursuant to ORS 166.255. You may also be subject to federal prosecution for possession, receipt, shipping, transportation, or purchase of firearms or ammunition under 18 USC § 922(g).

2. How much time do I have to turn over my guns?

You are required to surrender all firearms and ammunition within 24 hours of receiving the Order of Firearms Prohibition and Dispossession.

3. How much time do I have to file the Firearms Declaration (and Proof of Transfer)?

You have 2 court days from the time you become subject to the surrender order to file the *Firearms Declaration* with the Court and District Attorney. Weekend days and holidays do not count as court days. Take or mail the documents to:

Washington County Circuit Co. Law Enforcement Center 215 SW Adams Avenue Hillsboro, Oregon 97123 Washington County District Attorney Justice Services Building 150 N. 1st Avenue, Suite 300 Hillsboro, Oregon 97124

4. Where can I surrender my guns?

You can surrender (give) your guns to any Law Enforcement Agency. Make sure your firearms are unloaded before transporting and surrendering them. Officers prefer that you have your weapon and ammunition in a container or bag. To turn them over to the *Washington County Sheriff's Office*, please call first to schedule an appointment.

Cornelius Police	Beaverton Police	Forest Grove Police
503-359-1881	503-629-0111	503-992-3260
Hillsboro Police	King City Police	Oregon State Police
503-681-6190	503-620-8851	503-378-3720
North Plains Police	Sherwood Police	Tigard Police
503-647-2604	503-625-5523	503-629-0111
Tualatin Police 503-691-4800	Washington Co. Sheriff 503-846-2537	Wilsonville Police 503-682-1012

5. How do I transport my firearms/ammunition for surrender without breaking the law?

You will not break the law for Unlawful Possession of a Firearm if:

- You have in your possession a copy of the court order against you, <u>and</u> it was issued within the last 24 hours,
- The firearm is unloaded, and
- You are transporting it to a law enforcement agency, licensed gun dealer, or third party.

6. Will I get a receipt from the law enforcement agency when I surrender my guns?

Yes. The agency will give you a receipt. The receipt will list all guns you turn over and the type/amount of ammunition. The agency can use the *Proof of Transfer* that is part of your *Firearms Declaration* that you file. The agency can also use their own form for this proof of transfer.

7. Can I surrender my guns and ammunition to a licensed gun dealer?

Yes, if the licensed gun dealer agrees to purchase or accept firearms and ammunition from you. You must get *Proof of Transfer* from the dealer that lists the date of transfer and the serial #, make, and model of each transferred item.

8. What if I want to give a friend or relative (instead of law enforcement or a gun dealer) my guns? If your guns were not given to law enforcement or a dealer, you can turn your guns over to a friend or relative. This person cannot live with you. You must first get a criminal background check done on this friend/relative to show that he or she is legally able to have firearms. *See Question 9*, below. If you decide to turn your guns over to a friend or relative, that Third Party must fill out and sign the *Third Party's Declaration About Taking Possession*.

9. How do I get a firearms background check done on the person I want to transfer my guns to? The background check is done through a licensed gun dealer. A small fee is charged, and the dealer will do the check through the Oregon State Police. If the person passes the background check, you will be given an approval number to record on the *Proof of Transfer*.

10. What if I don't have any firearms?

You still need to complete and file the *Firearms Declaration*. The *Declaration* sets out three choices (boxes) for your response and the first box applies in this situation. This section states that you do not own or possess any firearms. Remember – you must file the *Declaration* at the courthouse within 2 court (business) days of the date you become subject to the surrender order. *See answer to Question* #1 for the date you become subject to the surrender order.

11. What happens if I don't file the Firearms Declaration?

If you are required to file the *Firearms Declaration* and do not, you are disobeying the court's order. This is a serious matter. A law enforcement officer could contact you for questioning or cite you to appear in court. The District Attorney's (DA) office could charge you with contempt of court. In that case, you will have a right to a court-appointed attorney if you cannot afford to hire a lawyer. If the judge decides after a hearing that you willfully disobeyed the court order by not filing the *Declaration*, you could go to jail for up to 6 months, be placed on probation, or be ordered to pay a fine of up to \$500 plus the cost of your state-provided attorney.