## SUPPORT FOR ADULT CHILDREN ATTENDING SCHOOL:

#### **Notice to Parents and Adult Children**

Oregon is one of the few states that allow the court to require divorced or separated parents to pay child support for 18, 19, and 20 year old children who are attending school or training programs. This law applies to never-married parents as well as to married-but-divorcing parents. The law exists because Oregon legislators believe it is important to address the issue of a continuing education for a child who does not benefit from decisions made by an intact family. For more information, refer to ORS 107.108.

#### 1. Which Adult Children Qualify

The Court (or state Child Support Program) can order support for an adult child when a case involving a child support claim has been filed and *all of* the following is true about the adult child who:

- Is unmarried:
- Is 18, 19, or 20 years old;
- Is making satisfactory academic progress, according to the school or program;
- Has a course load that is no less than one-half of the load that is determined by the school to constitute full-time enrollment.

If the adult child's school is on a regularly scheduled summer or other break but the child intends to attend school the *next* scheduled term and carry then at least a one-half course load, the court can order child support to continue through that break and into the next term (and beyond, if continued attendance is planned).

#### 2. How is the Amount of Support Determined

The amount of support, if any, is determined by considering many factors, including the following:

- The incomes of both parents;
- The existence and needs of minor children the parents may have, either jointly or from other relationships;
- · Health care costs of the adult child and any other minor children involved; and

 Other circumstances affecting the resources or needs of the adult child, parents, or minor children.

The ordered support, if any, may supplement other resources the adult child may have. The law does not require parents to pay all tuition and related costs to the college of a child's choice. Parents and the adult child agreeing on an appropriate amount of support for the college years is the best solution, but if both parents and the adult child do not agree, the court will decide.

One or both of the parents could be ordered to pay support. Unless the court finds good cause for the support to be paid in another manner, the court must require that support for an adult child in school be paid directly to the adult child.

If child support for an adult child attending school is paid through the Division of Child Support (DCS) of the Oregon Department of Justice, information about reporting requirements and other rules is available on the DCS website at <a href="https://www.oregonchildsupport.gov">www.oregonchildsupport.gov</a>.

#### 3. What are the Adult Child's Rights to Participate in the Legal Case

Because an 18, 19, or 20 year old child may have an interest in the support part of the case that has been filed, the law entitles that adult child to participate in that part of the case. This means that an adult child is entitled to NOTICE of each parents' position about child support and the RIGHT TO PARTICIPATE in any hearings or other proceedings about the child support issue. The Court will treat the adult child the same way the Court treats a parent in listening to what each says on this issue, even if the child's position disagrees with the parent's. The adult child may hire a lawyer if the child wants to take that step and can afford to do so. The law does not require a court-appointed lawyer for a parent or adult child on this issue.

The adult child can waive (give up) his or her right to participate in the legal proceedings by signing a waiver such as the one provided with this notice. The child is free to *not* sign a waiver and instead participate in the legal proceedings if the child wishes to do so.

# IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON FOR THE COUNTY OF LANE

In the	Matter	of $\square$ the Marriage of:	)	
	and	Petitioner,	) Case No	
□ Chi	and	☐ Respondent,☐ Co-Petitioner.	) ) ) )	
of age		at least 18 and under 21 years ried and unemancipated	) ) )	
	My n adult o On Petition	child of the parties identified above a(date	and I am years old. I am the s the Petitioner and Respondent. I am not married.  ), I received a copy of the (check one) □ Summons and this case that includes a request that child support be paid (or	
	<ul> <li>□ IN SCHOOL NOW: (all of the following are true)         I am attending school (or a high school equivalency program or vocational training or the Job Corps), and         I am carrying at least one-half of what my school or program considers a full courseload, and I am making satisfactory academic progress, according to my school or program.</li></ul>			

- 4. **I DO NOT WANT TO PARTICIPATE IN THE LEGAL PROCEEDINGS** that will determine whether and how much one or both of my parents should pay for my support.
- 5. I understand that my interests may not be the same as one or both of my parents. I know that if any of my parents has an attorney, that attorney represents the interests only of that parent, not my interests. I understand that I can hire my own attorney to represent my own interests.
- 6. I am not in the military service.
- 7. I am not incapacitated in a manner that limits my ability to handle my own affairs. No court has appointed a guardian or conservator to protect me or my property.

I hereby declare that the above statements are true to the best of my knowledge and belief, and that I understand they are made for use as evidence in court and are subject to penalty for perjury.

Dated this day of	, 20	
Signature	Print Name	
Address or Contact Address	City, State, Zip	Telephone or Contact Telephone

If child support for an adult child attending school is paid through the Division of Child Support (DCS) of the Oregon Department of Justice, information about reporting requirements and other rules is available on the DCS website at www.dcs.state.or.us

### FOR THE COUNTY OF Case No: Petitioner and CONFIDENTIAL **INFORMATION FORM** ☐ Amended CIF Respondent UTCR 2.130 Unmarried children age 18, 19, or 20 years old (per ORS 107.108) **Submitted by:** Petitioner Respondent other: **Information about** (name): Petitioner Respondent other: (first, middle, last) **Social Security Number:** Date of Birth: Driver License (Number and State): Former Legal Names: Employer's Name, Address, and Phone: Minor children of the parties:1 Name: Date of Birth: **Social Security Number:**

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON

☐ Additional page attached

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The names of parties and children, and children's ages are not confidential. This form can only be viewed by the party who files it unless the court orders otherwise.