## Measure 110

## Class E Violations Through 08/31/2024

## **Key Points**

- Filed in 35 circuit courts
- 10,122 cases with Class E violations
- 94 cases for offenses before 2/1/21
- 10,028 cases for offenses on or after the 2/1/21 effective date
  - 8,842 with convictions (88%). Of those, 7925 failed to appear.
  - 704 with all Class E violation charges dismissed (7%), of which, 85 had a substance use assessment verification filed. This does not reflect all treatmentrelated activities funded through BM 110.
  - 481 pending (5%)
  - o 53 juvenile cases
- 1,288 people have multiple Class E violation cases.
- Most Class E violations are for possession of Methamphetamine (54%) or Schedule II Drugs (31%).
- 427 (4%) were issued to non-Oregon residents.

#### **Questions?**

Please contact Phil Lemman, Deputy State Court Administrator: Phillip.Lemman@ojd.state.or.us 503-986-5745

# **Oregon Judicial Department**

### Measure 110



2021 Senate Bill 755-C codified and amended Ballot Measure 110, which decriminalized most unlawful possession of a controlled substance (PCS) offenses.

#### **Reduction of Penalties**

Measure 110 reduced penalties for most PCS offenses from a crime to a new Class E violation, punishable with a \$100 maximum fine. Effective February 1, 2021, most PCS offenses are punishable only by a fine – no jail, supervision, or other criminal penalties can be imposed. PCS offenses were recriminalized by 2024 HB 4002, effective September 1, 2024.

#### History

Measure 110 was approved by Oregon voters in the November 2020 election and reduced penalties for most PCS offenses as of February 1, 2021. The legislature passed SB 755-C, which took effect on July 19, 2021. Major court-related changes in SB 755-C include:

- Allowing a person charged with a Class E violation to obtain a treatment needs screening or treatment contact within 45 days of the citation, provide proof to the court, and have their charge dismissed.
- Requiring law enforcement to provide information on how to obtain a screening when issuing a citation for a Class E violation.
- Establishing a \$45 minimum fine.
- Requiring all Class E violations to be filed in circuit courts and prohibiting penalties for failing to appear in court.

#### Circuit Court Cases with Class E Violations by County For Offenses Between 2/1/21 and 08/31/2024

County	Cases	County	Cases	County	Cases
Baker	33	Harney	2	Morrow	10
Benton	362	Hood River	74	Multnomah	2,260
Clackamas	156	Jackson	2,212	Polk	86
Clatsop	125	Jefferson	24	Sherman	7
Columbia	19	Josephine	1,609	Tillamook	5
Coos	187	Klamath	207	Umatilla	157
Crook	41	Lake	13	Union	43
Curry	19	Lane	242	Wallowa	2
Deschutes	345	Lincoln	134	Wasco	64
Douglas	649	Linn	213	Washington	102
Gilliam	2	Malheur	52	Wheeler	0
Grant	6	Marion	159	Yamhill	407



## **Class E Violations in Oregon's Circuit Courts**

#### For Offenses between 2/1/21 and 08/31/2024

Data on demographic characteristics of people cited for Class E violations, the substance involved, and charges in addition to the Class E violation come from the law enforcement citation or district attorney charging document and are transferred into the official court record.

This information is provided by court case, from cases filed in circuit courts. A single court case can involve one or more Class E violations. or Class E violations and other charges. If a person receives two separate citations for a Class E violation, they are counted as separate cases.

Gender			
Male	7,380	73.6%	
Female	2,522	25.1%	
Nonbinary	1	0.01%	
Not Available/Missing	125	1.2%	
Race			
Asian	56	0.66%	
Black	577	5.8%	
Indian	78	0.8%	
Multiracial	27	0.3%	
Native Hawaiian or	56	0.6%	
Other Pacific Islander	50	0.070	
Other	204	2%	
Unavailable	587	5.9%	
White	7,908	78.9%	
Missing	535	5.3%	
Ethnicity			
Hispanic	373	3.7%	
Age at Time of Offense			
Juvenile	53	0.5%	
18-20	229	2.3%	
21-29	2,261	22.5%	
30-39	4,255	42.4%	
40-49	2,007	20%	
50-59	846	8.4%	
60 +	327	3.3%	
Missing	50	0.5%	





#### 8% of cases with a Class E violation have other charges in the same case, most of which are other violations.

1% of cases with a Class E violation have a felony or misdemeanor charge on the same case.

#### Most Frequent More Serious Offenses in **Cases with Class E Violations Criminal Felony**

Mfg/Delivery Controlled Substance in Schedule II Criminal Misdemeanor Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants Violation Violation Driving While Suspended or Revoked **Driving Uninsured**