TORT CLAIMS TABLE OF LIABILITY LIMITS

Causes of action arising

Oregon Tort Claims Act limits on
liability of the state for personal
injury and death

Oregon Tort Claims Act limits on
liability of local public bodies for
personal injury and death

Oregon Tort Claims Act limits on
liability of the state and local
public bodies for property damage

on or after 01/01/1989*
and before 12/28/2007

$200,000 for single claimant
$500,000 for multiple claimants

See below

See below

on or after 12/28/2007
and before 07/01/2010

$1,500,000 for single claimant
$3,000,000 for multiple claimants

See below

See below

on or after 01/01/1989
and before 07/01/2009

See above

$200,000 for single claimant
$500,000 for multiple claimants

$50,000 for single or multiple
claimants

on or after 07/01/2009
and before 07/01/2010

See above

$500,000 for single claimant
$1,000,000 for multiple claimants

$100,000 for single claimant
$500,000 for multiple claimants

on or after 07/01/2010
and before 07/01/2011

$1,600,000 for single claimant
$3,200,000 for multiple claimants

$533,300 for single claimant
$1,066,700 for multiple claimants

$100,100 for single claimant
$500,600 for multiple claimants

on or after 07/01/2011
and before 07/01/2012

$1,700,000 for single claimant
$3,400,000 for multiple claimants

$566,700 for single claimant
$1,133,300 for multiple claimants

$101,400 for single claimant
$506,900 for multiple claimants

on or after 07/01/2012
and before 07/01/2013

$1,800,000 for single claimant
$3,600,000 for multiple claimants

$600,000 for single claimant
$1,200,000 for multiple claimants

$104,300 for single claimant
$521,400 for multiple claimants

on or after 07/01/2013
and before 07/01/2014

$1,900,000 for single claimant
$3.8M for multiple claimants

$633,300 for single claimant
$1,266,700 for multiple claimants

$106,700 for single claimant
$533,400 for multiple claimants

on or after 07/01/2014
and before 07/01/2015

$2,000,000 for single claimant
$4,000,000 for multiple claimants

$666,700 for single claimant
$1,333,300 for multiple claimants

$109,400 for single claimant
$546,800 for multiple claimants

on or after 07/01/2015
and before 07/01/2016

$2,048,300 for single claimant
$4,096,600 for multiple claimants

$682,800 for single claimant
$1,365,500 for multiple claimants

$112,000 for single claimant
$560,000 for multiple claimants

on or after 07/01/2016
and before 07/01/2017

$2,073,600 for single claimant
$4,147,100 for multiple claimants

$691,200 for single claimant
$1,382,300 for multiple claimants

$113,400 for single claimant
$566,900 for multiple claimants

on or after 07/01/2017
and before 07/01/2018

$2,118,000 for single claimant
$4,236,000 for multiple claimants

$706,000 for single claimant
$1,412,000 for multiple claimants

$115,800 for single claimant
$579,000 for multiple claimants




TORT CLAIMS TABLE OF LIABILITY LIMITS

Causes of action arising

Oregon Tort Claims Act limits on
liability of the state for personal
injury and death

Oregon Tort Claims Act limits on
liability of local public bodies for
personal injury and death

Oregon Tort Claims Act limits on
liability of the state and local
public bodies for property damage

on or after 07/01/2018
and before 07/01/2019

$2,181,600 for single claimant
$4,363,100 for multiple claimants

$727,200 for single claimant
$1,454,300 for multiple claimants

$119,300 for single claimant
$596,400 for multiple claimants

on or after 07/01/2019
and before 07/01/2020

$2,247,000 for single claimant
$4,494,000 for multiple claimants

$749,000 for single claimant
$1,498,000 for multiple claimants

$122,900 for single claimant
$614,300 for multiple claimants

on or after 07/01/2020
and before 07/01/2021

$2,307,500 for single claimant
$4,615,000 for multiple claimants

$769,200 for single claimant
$1,538,300 for multiple claimants

$126,200 for single claimant
$630,800 for multiple claimants

on or after 07/01/2021
and before 07/01/2022

$2,347,700 for single claimant
$4,695,300 for multiple claimants

$782,600 for single claimant
$1,565,100 for multiple claimants

$128,400 for single claimant
$641,800 for multiple claimants

on or after 07/01/2022
and before 07/01/2023

$2,418,100 for single claimant
$4,836,200 for multiple claimants

$806,100 for single claimant
$1,612,000 for multiple claimants

$132,200 for single claimant
$661,000 for multiple claimants

on or after 07/01/2023
and before 07/01/2024

$2,490,600 for single claimant
$4,981,300 for multiple claimants

$830,300 for single claimant
$1,660,400 for multiple claimants

$136,200 for single claimant
$680,900 for multiple claimants

on or after 07/01/2024
and before 07/01/2025

$2,565,400 for single claimant
$5,130,700 for multiple claimants

$855,200 for single claimant
$1,710,200 for multiple claimants

$140,300 for single claimant
$701,300 for multiple claimants

etc.

TBD by SCA

TBD by SCA

TBD by SCA

*This is the effective date of the last time any of the limits in ORS 30.270 were amended before 2009 SB 311.




