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MYTH 3: Domestic violence is a personal 

issue and simply doesn’t affect the workplace. 

FACT: In one recent study of batterers, 41% had job per-
formance problems and 48% had difficulty concentrating on 
the job as a result of their abusive behaviors. 

37% of women who experienced domestic violence re-
ported that the abuse had an impact on their work in the 
form of tardiness, missed work, concentration at the job, 
keeping a job, or career promotions. 

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention estimates 
that the annual cost of lost productivity due to domestic 
violence equals $727.8 million, with more than 7.9 million 
paid workdays lost each year.

2
MYTH 2: Domestic violence is the result of 

stress due to poverty and joblessness. 

FACT: Domestic violence happens in all kinds of families, 
rich and poor, urban, suburban and rural, in every part of 
the country, in every racial, religious and age group. 69% of 
women in Oregon who report being abused report being 
employed at the time of the abuse.  89% of batterers in 
Oregon report being employed. 
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“...he had cut up all my clothes 
so I couldn’t go to work…” 

and the Workplace 

The Truth about 
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OREGON BUREAU OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIES 

“...one of his favorite assaults was to choke 
me with my back against the wall, my feet 

dangling a foot or so above the floor.” 

“half the time I wouldn’t even want to go [to 
work]… I feared what he’d do to me before I 
went.  One time he beat me so badly …I don’t 
remember how I made it to work.” 

TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE FOR EMPLOYERS 

1
MYTH 1: Domestic violence is not that 
common and certainly isn’t an issue for any 
of my employees. 

FACT: Every 9 seconds in the US, a man beats a woman. 
In Oregon, crisis service hotlines annually receive more 
than 50,000 emergency calls and 37,000 non-emergency 
calls from survivors of domestic violence.  In the US, 1 in 3 
women experience violence by an intimate or ex-intimate 
partner in their lifetimes.

° 69% of victims surveyed in Oregon were 
employed at the time of their abuse. 

° abusers report using workplace resources 
to perpetrate their crimes. 

° 14,000 violent workplace incidents are 
committed by current or former husbands or 
boyfriends.

° Domestic Violence costs businesses $9.3 
million a year in the state of Oregon. 
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WHAT EMPLOYERS SHOULD KNOW 

One of the most important things an employer can 
do is to provide information to their employees. 
Post this information in a location where all em-
ployees have access to it and where an employee 
in crisis might discreetly take down the needed 
information.

Suggested locations: break rooms, restrooms, regular 
employer publications, employee handbooks, informa-
tion boards.

Add a domestic violence policy to your em-

ployee handbook. 

Know the law.  Victims of domestic violence 

qualify for unemployment insurance and unpaid 
leave to address issues surrounding their abuse.

Provide trainings and educational opportuni-

ties for managers and supervisors. 

Include information about the effects of do-

mestic violence in regular company publications. 

Develop a workplace safety plan that consid-

ers at-risk employees and their coworkers. 

Pay attention to changes in employee work 

patterns including wearing long sleeve clothes in 
warm weather, increases in tardiness and absen-
teeism, or a drop in productivity. 

Educate yourself.

For more information or for help
developing policies or programs contact : 

Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries  
TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE FOR EMPLOYERS 

971-673-0824 or online 

http://www.oregon.gov/BOLI

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE FOR 
VICTIMS OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE 

Oregon law provides unemployment benefits to certain 
victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking if 
they are forced to leave a job in order to protect their 
safety or the safety of their children.  

Employees may be eligible for unemployment benefits if: 

They had to quit a job because they have been victims of 
domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking;  

and

They believe they and/or their child are in danger of fur-
ther harm if they continued to work; and 

They reasonably believe that leaving their jobs would 
protect them or their child from further violence. 

1. KNOW THE LAW. 2. BECOME A PRO-ACTIVE EMPLOYER. 3. PROVIDE RESOURCES. 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE VICTIMS LEAVE LAW 

Oregon law requires employers to allow eligible employ-
ees to take unpaid time off to deal with issues arising 
from being a victim of domestic abuse, rape or stalking. 
Employers may need to allow an employee to take rea-
sonable leave from employment for any of the following 
purposes: 
°To seek legal or law enforcement assistance or reme-

dies to ensure the health and safety of the employee 
or the employee's minor child or dependent. 

°To seek medical treatment for or to recover from injuries 
caused by domestic violence, sexual assault or 
stalking.

°To obtain, or to assist a minor child or dependent in 
obtaining counseling from a licensed mental health 
professional or services from a victim services pro-
vider.

°To relocate or take steps to secure an existing home to 
ensure the employee’s own or the children’s health 
and safety. 

REMEMBER: THE GOAL IS NOT FOR YOU TO INTER-
VENE or ’SAVE’ YOUR EMPLOYEE.  RATHER, THE 
GOALS ARE: 

TO HELP YOU CREATE A SAFE WORKPLACE FOR EM-
PLOYEES AT RISK AND THEIR COWORKERS and

TO PROVIDE THE TOOLS TO RECOGNIZE THE SIGNS 
OF ABUSE and TO ASSIST EMPLOYEES IN GETTING 
THE HELP THEY NEED. 

National Domestic Violence Hotline 800-799-7233

National Sexual Assault Hotline 800-656-HOPE 

Portland Women’s 24-Hr Crisis Line 503-235-5333 

               (statewide) Toll Free 888-235-5333 

Crime Victims’ Assistance  
(Oregon Department of Justice) 

800-503-7983

Legal Aid Services of Oregon  
www.oregonlawhelp.org

800-520-5292 

Resources for Victims and their Employers 
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