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EFFECTIVE AUGUST 12, 2015 
 Oregon Laws 2015, chapter 820 
 Codified in new ORS Chapter 163A 

 ORS 163A.025 (Reporting by sex offender adjudicated 
in juvenile court) 

 ORS 163A.030 (Hearing on issue of reporting by sex 
offender adjudicated in juvenile court) 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2015orLaw0820.pdf


HB 2320 
 Removes automatic requirement that juveniles 

register as sex offenders for youth adjudicated on 
or after 8/12/15. 

 Requires the court to hold a hearing prior to 
termination of juvenile court or Psychiatric 
Security Review Board jurisdiction to determine 
if registration should occur. 



OVERVIEW  
 Applicability 
 Notice of right to hearing 
 Timing of hearing 
 Appointment of attorney 
 Evidence 
 Submission and review of records 
 Right to be heard 
 Burden of proof and considerations 
 Order; notice to youth and Oregon State Police 
 Relief 
 2016 “Fix” 



APPLICABILITY:  FELONY SEX CRIMES 

 ORS 419C.005 
jurisdiction, or 
responsible except for 
insanity under ORS 
419C.111, for: 

 Felony sex crime 
 “Sex crime” defined in 

ORS 163A.005(5) 

 Does not apply 
 Drafting problem in 

ORS 163A.025(1) 
resulting in no 
obligation to report 
since 8/12/15 
 

 

Adjudication on or after 
8/12/15 

Adjudication prior to 
8/12/15 



NOTICE OF RIGHT TO HEARING 
 New notice required.  ORS 163A.030(1)(c) 

 When:  at the time the court finds the youth within 
the jurisdiction of the juvenile court under ORS 
419C.005 

 What:  “court shall notify the person of the person’s 
right to a hearing under this section..” 
 May be done orally or in writing 
 OJD form available on JCIP website. 

 May use Notice event (NO) in OJIN/Odyssey 
 May be scanned and attached to event in Odyssey 

 Best practice is to fill in attorney’s name and phone number 
for youth’s future reference 

 
 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/docs/OSCA/cpsd/courtimprovement/jcip/Juvenile%20Delinquency%20Forms/Notice.Registration.Hearing.pdf


TIMING OF HEARING 
 Six month period before:  ORS 163A.030(1)(b) 

 Termination of juvenile court jurisdiction; or 
 Discharge, if the person is under Psychiatric Security 

Review Board jurisdiction.  
 Trigger: 

 County or state agency responsible for supervision 
shall notify the person when the agency 
determines that termination of jurisdiction will occur 
within six months.  ORS 163.030(1)(d) 

 Person may file a petition requesting a hearing.  
ORS 163.030(1)(e) 

 What if no petition is filed?  ORS 163A.030 
requires a hearing, regardless of petition. 

 



TIMING OF HEARING: CALENDARING 
 Voluntary 6 month notice to courts:   

 OYA, juvenile departments and PSRB  (timing of 
discharge hearings under ORS 419C.540 may result in 
inadequate notice from PSRB)  

 Tracking cases - options: 
 Regular hearings, 
 Status conference once a year,  
 Require a periodic report and  
    track receipt 

 Once 6 months notice received: 
 Status conference (best practice) 

 Appoint/re-appoint attorney 
 Discuss submission of required materials 
 Set hearing date 



APPOINTMENT OF ATTORNEY 
 Person has right to court appointed attorney if 

financially eligible.  ORS 163A.030(8)(b).  The court 
may: 
 Continue the appointment of the existing attorney at 

the time of disposition; 
 Set a date prior to the hearing to reappoint the 

attorney; 
 Appoint or reappoint an attorney based on the 

person’s request. 
 



EVIDENCE 
 Court may receive testimony, reports and other 

evidence if it is relevant to the determination 
and findings, regardless of whether it is 
admissible under ORS 40.010 to 40.210 and 
40.310 to 40.585.  ORS 163A.030(5). 
 Privilege may be asserted. 

 



RECORDS 

 The juvenile court shall review: 
 Evaluations and treatment records concerning 

the person conducted by a clinician or program 
operating under the standards of practice of the Sex 
Offender Treatment Board 

 Recommendations regarding the need for the 
person to register to protect the public from future 
sex crimes 

 Examination preparation material and 
examination records from polygraph 
examinations conducted by or for the treatment 
provider, juvenile department or Oregon Youth 
Authority.       ORS 163A.030(6)(a) 

 How far back in time? Who submits the 
records?  ORS 419A.257 (OYA and JD authority to release) 



RECORDS: DISCLOSURE 
 Any records and materials to be reviewed by the 

court under ORS 163A.030(6) shall be released 
and disclosed to: 
 The court 
 District attorney 
 Person’s attorney 
 OYA or juvenile department 

 No less than 15 days prior to the hearing. 
 History and prognosis materials maintained in 

SCF until offered as an exhibit.  ORS 419A.252(5).  
  Above entities have inspection and copy rights under ORS 

419A.255(2)(b) & (d). 
 

 



MAKING A RECORD 
 If the hearing results in an order or judgment, 

and there are materials not offered as an exhibit, 
but relied on by the court:  ORS 419A.253 
 Identify on the record the materials the court intends 

to rely on; 
 Subject to the court’s ruling on objections, either: 

 Take judicial notice of a fact or law pursuant to ORS 40.060 
to 40.090 (make a list and include in judgment, or attach), 
or  

 Cause the material to be marked and received as an exhibit. 
 An exhibit marked and received and a judicial notice 

list are part of the record of the case.  ORS 419A.253(3). 
 



RIGHT TO BE HEARD 
 The following persons have the right to be heard 

at the hearing: 
 District attorney 
 Victim 
 Person (youth) 
 Juvenile court counselor or OYA representative 

•                                                  ORS 163A.030(3) 



BURDEN OF PROOF 
 Person has burden of proving by clear and 

convincing evidence: 
 Person is rehabilitated; and  
 Does not pose a safety threat to the public. 

                                                          ORS 163A.030(3)(b) 



CONSIDERATIONS 
 Juvenile court may consider, but isn’t limited to considering: 

 Physical and emotion injury to victim; 
 Nature of the act; 
 Use or threatened use of force during act; 
 Pre-mediation; 
 Whether person took advantage of a position of authority or trust; 
 Age of victim at time of act; age difference; # of victims 
 Vulnerability of victim; 
 Statements, documents, recommendations by or on behalf of victim or parents of victim; 
 Other acts by the person that would be crimes if committed by an adult prior to or after the act; 
 Person’s ability and efforts to pay the victim’s counseling and other trauma related expenses; 
 Other efforts to mitigate the effects of the act; 
 Participation in and satisfactory completion of a sex offender treatment program or other intervention: 

 Availability, duration and extent of treatment activities; 
 Reports and recommendations from treatment providers; 
 Person’s compliance with court, board or supervision requirements regarding treatment; 
 Quality and thoroughness of treatment program; 

 Person’s compliance with and success in completing terms of supervision; 
 Person’s academic and employment history 
 Person’s use of drugs or alcohol before and after the adjudication 
 History of public or private indecency; 
 Psychological examination results; 
 Protection afforded the public by the continued existence of the records. 

•                                                                                                                                                                                                ORS 163A.030(4). 

 
 



ORDER AND NOTICE 
 If person does not meet burden: 

 Order required.  Court shall order person to report as 
a sex offender under ORS 163A.025.  ORS 163A.030(3)(b) 

 Notice required.  Court shall provide notice to person 
regarding obligation to report, ensure it is filled out, 
and send it to the Oregon State Police within three 
business days.  ORS 163A.030(7) 
 OJD form available on JCIP website. 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/docs/OSCA/cpsd/courtimprovement/jcip/Juvenile%20Delinquency%20Forms/Notice.re.Sex.Offender.Reporting.pdf


RELIEF FROM SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION 
 A person required to report as a sex offender under 

ORS 163A.025(1)(a)*, or required to report as a sex 
offender under the laws of another state as a result of 
an adjudication in an Oregon juvenile court, may file 
a petition for an order relieving the person of the 
obligation to report:   ORS 163A.130(1) 
  Class A and B felony:  may file no sooner than two years 

after termination of jurisdiction; 
 Class C felony:  may file no sooner than 30 days before the 

termination of jurisdiction .  ORS 163A.130(2) 
 
*Refers to youth adjudicated on or after 8/12/15 who were 
ordered to report after a ORS 163A.030 hearing.  Statute 
currently silent as to youth required to report based on pre-
8/12/15 adjudication. 



2016 “FIX” 
 Potential issues that may be addressed in the 

2016 session: 
 Notice to court 
 Timing issues of PSRB cases 
 Records submission and review 

 Proposal that supervising entity submit. 
 Hearing for youth who were already under 

jurisdiction of the juvenile court or PSRB on 8/12/15 
 Waiver of right to hearing 
 Clarify juvenile court’s continuing jurisdiction for 

purposes of this hearing after person turns 25 or if 
court terminates jurisdiction   



 
Multnomah County Circuit Court:   

Judge Amy Holmes-Hehn 



DISCUSSION 
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