Skip to main content

Criminal - Traffic Violations Bureau

https://us.123rf.com/450wm/auremar/auremar1603/auremar160300031/52979540-client-showing-a-paper.jpg?ver=6

 Contact
Criminal/Traffic Unit
Phone: 503.655.8643 Option 1

 Hours
Monday through Friday, excluding legal holidays, from 8 am – 12 pm and 1pm – 5pm

 Address 

807 Main Street, Room 200
Oregon City, Oregon 97045
 Map


​The Fifth Judicial District (Clackamas County Circuit Court) has created a Violations Bureau under ORS 153.800. Any person who gets a traffic violation will appear before the Violations Bureau. The Violations Bureau permits a violations clerk to take a plea of no contest or not guilty on violations that do not have a required court appearance. The clerk may determine the fine based on your driving record. A plea of not guilty cannot be taken by telephone.

​The Clackamas County Circuit Court does NOT allow an extension for the appearance date. You MUST appear on or BEFORE the appearance date on the bottom of the citation. If you decide to appear in person, your appearance will not be in a courtroom. The Violations Unit is on the second floor of the courthouse, Room 200.

The appearance date is the time set for you to decide how to proceed with your case. If you choose to plead no contest, the violations clerk may determine what your fine will be after looking at your driving record. If you choose to plead not guilty, a trial date will be set.

  • ​Appear in person: The violations unit is located on the second floor of the courthouse, Room 200. A violations clerk will assist you with your case. If requested, the violations clerk may consider reducing the fine after review of your driving record.
  • Appear by mail: If you choose to plead no contest, you may mail your ticket – with the plea option clearly noted on the ticket - along with the full amount of the fine, to the courthouse (address is listed on the ticket). Make sure your ticket will be received on or before your appearance date.
  • Appear by phone: If you choose to plead no contest, you may call the court and make your payment over the phone. The full amount of the fine will be due at the time of the plea. We will be able to take your payment over the phone.

If you choose to plead no contest by telephone, the violations clerk may accept your plea of no contest by telephone with the following exclusions:

  • Possession of Less Than 1 oz Marijuana
  • Minor in Possession (age 18-21 only)
  • Weigh Master Citations
  • Driving While Suspended (VIOLATION)
  • Speeding Violations in excess of the posted speed:
    • Over 100 miles per hour
    • 30 miles per hour over the posted speed AND prior speeding violations within the previous 12 months

Note: You MUST FOLLOW Options 1-3 on your ticket if you any of these exclusions apply.

If you are charged with a crime, then you MUST appear at the court on the date, time, and location indicated on the ticket. If you fail to appear, a warrant may be issued for your arrest.

Drop Box

For your convenience, there is a “Drop Box” on the “Employees Only” door to Room 104 on the first floor of the courthouse that you can drop in your pleadings, other documents, and / or payments during the court’s regular hours. Documents and / or payments placed in the box by 5:00 p.m. will be considered filed or received on that day.
 

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×