IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON
FOR THE COUNTY OF WASHINGTON
SMALL CLAIMS DEPARTMENT

)
Plaintiff (s) ) NOTICE OF DEFENDANT’'S ELECTION
Vs, )
) Case No.
)
Defendant (s) )
PART I. Claim Received. On (date) | was served a notice of claim under ORS 46.445 where

the above-named plaintiff made a claim against me in the above-named court.
O in the amount of: $
L1 for the following property:

PART Il. Defendant’s Election. (Note: Each defendant listed above must sign.) | elect to respond under ORS
46.455 as follows:

1. [ 1 ADMIT the plaintiff's claim. | have paid the money and/or returned the property claimed, together with the filing
fees and service expenses, directly to the plaintiff. Attached is proof of that payment or delivery of property within 14
calendar days of the date the claim was served on me.

2. O 1 DENY the claim and demand a Small Claims hearing. ENCLOSED IS THE REQUIRED FILING FEE OF $50.00 for
claims under $2,500.00, or $90.00 for claims $2,501.00 -$10,000.00.

3. [ I DENY the claim, demand a Small Claims hearing, and wish to file a COUNTERCLAIM arising out of the same transaction
or occurrence that is the subject matter of the plaintiff’s claim. ENCLOSED IS THE REQUIRED FILING FEE OF $50.00 for
claims under $2,500.00, or $90.00 for claims $2,501.00 -$10,000.00.

I claim that the plaintiff owes me $ because:

4. [ 1 DENY the claim and demand a JURY TRIAL. (Only if the claim exceeds $750.00) ENCLOSED IS THE REQUIRED
FILING FEE OF $150.00. This choice requires the plaintiff to file a formal complaint in the circuit court. The plaintiff can mail a
copy of the formal complaint to me at:

Street/Apt. No./PO Box No. City State Zip Code

PART Ill. Fees. | understand that if the appropriate fees are not enclosed, the form will not be accepted for filing and may result in
a default judgment against me. PLEASE MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO THE STATE OF OREGON.

PART IV. Signature. | have read and understand the above. | have chosen one of the four alternatives and have
enclosed the appropriate fee.

SIGNED: SIGNED:
Print Full Name Print Full Name
)
Mailing Address City State Zip Phone
Number

MAIL YOUR ANSWER TO: Small Claims Department, Washington County, 150 N. 1%, Hillshoro, Oregon 97124,
(503) 846-8888 ext 2354 TTY (503) 846-4863 ADA (503) 846-8767



READ THE FOLLOWING CAREFULLY

Unless you check one of the alternatives listed in the Notice of Defendant’s Election and
file it with the clerk within 14 days after service of the notice of claim upon you, plaintiff
may request a default judgment against you for the amount claimed plus filing fees,
service expenses and a prevailing party fee. Plaintiff may then request that any
property owned by you which is subject to be levied upon be taken to satisfy this
judgment.

PAYMENT OF CLAIM:

If you admit owing the claim, make payment in full to the plaintiff and mail proof of
payment to the court. Your payment must include filing fees and service expenses.

DENY CLAIM AND DEMAND A HEARING:

Small Claim cases are first set for a Mediation Hearing. If your case is not settled in
mediation then a trial will be scheduled. Small Claim hearings are informal. Both
plaintiff and defendant may offer testimony, bring witnesses, and offer other evidence
pertinent to the controversy at the time of trial.

No attorney at law or person other than you, the plaintiff, and withesses may participate
in the hearing/trial without the consent of the Circuit Court judge.

There is no appeal from a decision in the Small Claims Department. A judgment in the
Small Claims Department is conclusive upon the parties.

FILING A COUNTERCLAIM:

You may file a counterclaim against the plaintiff if you believe he owes you money or
holds specific personal property of yours as a part of this same controversy. If your
counterclaim is for $10,000 or less, the claim and the counterclaim will be heard and
decided at the same hearing, in the Small Claims Department.

If your Counterclaim is over $10,000, the case will be transferred to Circuit Court. There
is a Motion/Order to Transfer form that you will need to complete and submit with your
Counterclaim. Please call the clerk for the required filing fees and transfer fees.

If your Counterclaim requires a transfer of the case to Circuit Court, the plaintiff will no
longer be limited to the original amount of his claim.

DEMAND FOR JURY TRIAL:

If you choose to demand a jury trial the plaintiff will be given notice to file a formal complaint in
the Circuit Court in order to proceed. If they do not do this within 20 days, the Small Claim
case will be dismissed.

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT PROCEDURES, YOU SHOULD CONTACT THE
CLERK OF THE COURT IMMEDIATELY: HOWEVER, THE CLERK CANNOT GIVE LEGAL
ADVICE.



	_____________________________________________   _____________________________________________
	Print Full Name      Print Full Name

