
SETTING ASIDE A CONVICTION 

Oregon Revised Statute ORS 137.225 allows some types of records to be erased from a person’s 

Computerized Criminal History (CCH).  You are encouraged to read this statute to help you 

decide if you qualify to have an item taken off your record.   

 

Certain crimes are not able to be set aside.  These include: 

-Sex crimes and crimes against children 

-Class “A” or Class “B” felonies (A conviction for possession of marijuana may be able to  

  be set aside, even if it was a Class “A” or “B” felony) 

-Traffic offenses 

Convictions cannot be set aside until 3 years have passed from the pronouncement of 

judgment. 

 

Convictions cannot be set aside if you are still on probation, parole, or post-prison supervision. 

 

Convictions cannot be set aside if you have been convicted of another crime (excluding motor 

vehicle violations) within the 10-year period immediately preceding the filing of your motion. 

 

Convictions cannot be set aside if you are currently charged with the commission of any crime. 

 

 

If you feel your conviction qualifies under Oregon Law (ORS 137.225) to be set aside, you need 

to complete the following: 

 Fill out a Motion, Affidavit and Order to Set Aside Arrest.  These are available at many 

stationary stores and on the Court’s website at http://www.ojd.state.or.us/til/index.html. 

 Get fingerprinted at the Civil Department of the Sheriff’s Office.  You need to be 

fingerprinted for the purpose of setting aside conviction on a special “Applicant Form,” even if 

you were fingerprinted at the time of your arrest. 

 Obtain a money order or certified bank check (no cash or personal checks are 

acceptable) in the amount of $80.00 made payable to “Department of State Police.”  You do not 

get this money back if you lose the motion to set aside your conviction. 

 Obtain a copy of your judgment of conviction from the Tillamook County Courts.  Mark 

the copy of the judgment of conviction as “Exhibit A” and attach it to the Motion for Setting 

Aside Conviction. 



 Give the completed Motion with attached judgment of conviction and Affidavit that has 

your actual signature on it to the Court.  Also give the Court the Order to Set Aside Conviction 

that you have filled out for the judge’s signature. 

 Give  a copy of the same Motion, attached judgment, Affidavit and Order to the District 

Attorney’s Office. 

 Give the completed fingerprint card to the District Attorney’s Office. 

 Give the $80.00 fee (made payable to the Department of State Police) to the District 

Attorney’s Office. 

You may either mail the paperwork or take it to each of the offices in person. 

 Tillamook County Circuit Court  Tillamook County District Attorney’s Office 

 201 Laurel Avenue    201 Laurel Avenue 

 Tillamook, OR 97141    Tillamook, OR 97141 

 

 

When the District Attorney’s Office receives your paperwork and fingerprint card, and the 

$80.00 fee , your documents will be sent to the Oregon State Police Identification Bureau in 

Salem and processed.  The ID Bureau will provide the District Attorney with a copy of your CCH 

and the results of a comprehensive check that will indicate if you qualify to have your 

conviction removed from your record.  The District Attorney will not know whether or not a 

record can be set aside until your CCH is received from Salem. 

 

 

If the District Attorney determines that your arrest is eligible to be set aside, the court will be 

notified that the District Attorney does not oppose your Motion.  Your Motion, Affidavit and 

Order will then be submitted to a judge for signature.  Once the judge has signed the Order, the 

conviction shall be deemed not to have occurred, and you may answer accordingly any 

questions relating to its occurrence.  The Court will send a copy of the signed Order to the ID 

Bureau and the arrest record will be sealed. 

 

 

If the District Attorney determines that your arrest is not eligible to be set aside, the court will 

be notified that the District Attorney opposes your Motion.  The court will then set a hearing on 

the matter.  You will be notified of the hearing date and be given the opportunity to appear 

before a judge.  If your Motion is denied by the judge at the hearing, the conviction will remain 

on your CCH. 

 



Under ORS 137.225, victims of crime have the right to be present at a hearing on motions to set 

aside convictions for crimes in which they were a victim, and to make a statement if they 

desire.  The Court may consider their statement, along with the circumstances and behavior of 

the defendant and the requirements of law, in deciding whether to set aside the conviction.  

Regardless of whether or not you are otherwise eligible to set aside your conviction, a hearing 

will be set if the victim requests one.   

 

 

The District Attorney’s Office cannot provide legal advice or assist you in filling out the 

paperwork.  However, if you have a general question, you may call this office at (503) 842-2596.  

 

 

 


