Attach the $240 fee, as required by ORS 305.490(1) and Or Laws 2011, Ch 595, 8§ 8, 62
Instructions Follow
IN THE OREGON TAX COURT
MAGISTRATE DIVISION

Property Tax
, )
, )
Name(s) )
Plaintiff(s), )
Versus )
COUNTY ASSESSOR, )
AND/OR )
NOTE: See instructions regarding “HEADING.” )
After reviewing instructions, if you want to name the )
Department of Revenue as a defendant, check below: )
)
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, ) Case No. (for court use only)
State of Oregon, )
Defendant(s). ) COMPLAINT
SECTION 1. Tax year(s) appealed: . Plaintiff(s) (circle one) owned/ leased property
identified by the assessor as account number(s) ; the property is (circle one):

Residential Omitted Commercial Industrial Forest Farm Exempt Personal
Other:

SECTION 2. Plaintiff(s) appeal(s) from an order, letter, notice, or other governmental action.
* Attach a Copy of the Order, Letter, Notice, or Other Document Being Appealed.*

SECTION 3. Such order, letter, or notice is in error because

SECTION 4. Plaintiff(s) request(s) the following relief or real market value:

Plaintiff’s Name (PRINT) (must be completed) Representative’s Name (PRINT)**

Plaintiff’s Name (PRINT) (must be completed) Representative’s Oregon Bar or License Number
Mailing Address (must be completed) Mailing Address

City, State, Zip (must be completed) City, State, Zip

Telephone Number (daytime) (must be completed) Telephone Number (daytime)

Signature (must be completed unless represented) Representative’s Signature (if above completed)
Signature (must be completed unless represented) Date Signed

Date Signed Email Address*

Email Address* (must be completed unless represented)

* Notices of Proceedings will be sent by email

(Please adjust your email filters to allow emails from: TAX.OJIN.Notice.Mailer@ojd.state.or.us )

** If your representative is not an Oregon attorney, an Authorization to Represent must be completed and submitted with this Complaint. An
authorization form is available on request or on our website at http://courts.oregon.gov/Tax/.
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How to File a Property Tax Appeal with the Magistrate Division

To Appeal, You must Do All of the Following Within Your Appeal Period:
1) Fill out all sections of the Complaint form; AND
(2 Sign the Complaint (all named plaintiffs must sign the Complaint); AND
3) Date the Complaint; AND
4) Attach to the Complaint a copy of the order or notice you are appealing; AND
(5) Submit a fee of $240 (make check payable to “Oregon Tax Court”); *AND
(6) Make three copies of the Complaint and attachments. Mail the original Complaint and attachments
Plus two complete copies to the court. Keep one complete copy for yourself.
@) To determine the date a mailed Complaint is “filed,” the court is required to use the date shown by
the U.S. post office cancellation mark stamped on the envelope in which the Complaint is mailed.
See ORS 305.418.
The court’s mailing address is: Oregon Tax Court
Magistrate Division
1163 State Street
Salem, Oregon 97301-2563
(503) 986-5650 or toll free: 1-800-773-1162
The court is located at: 1241 State Street, Third Floor (3R), Salem, Oregon
*The fee is $240. The Oregon Legislature may modify fees between publications of this form. The Oregon Tax
Court website lists the current fee. A form to show proof of inability to pay the fee and request waiver of the fee is
available upon request or on the court website at http://courts.oregon.gov/tax

Instructions for Completing the Complaint Form

HEADING. Fill in the name(s) of the plaintiff(s) (the taxpayer(s)). In most cases, the defendant is the county assessor
where the property is located. Print the name of the county. If this is an industrial property appeal, the Department of
Revenue, the county assessor, or both, may be named as defendant(s), depending on who conducted the appraisal.

ORS 305.403(3). In some cases, the Department of Revenue may be the only defendant. ORS 305.275.

SECTION 1. Insert the year or years you are appealing and the property account number or numbers (from your tax

statement). Circle the appropriate type of property.

SECTION 2. Describe what action you are appealing.

* Attach a copy of the order, letter, notice, or other document being appealed. *

SECTION 3. Explain why you think the assessor or Department of Revenue is wrong. (If more space is needed,

attach additional pages.)

SECTION 4. State what you want the court to do. If you want the court to reduce the real market value of your

property, you must state a real market value as of the assessment date(s).

MEDIATION: In all cases, either party may request mediation. Mediation is court-facilitated negotiation. The

purpose is to help the parties obtain a clearer understanding of the merits of each position and help them reach a
mutually acceptable agreement. A party may request mediation at any time.
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