SMALL CLAIMS INSTRUCTIONS FOR PLAINTIFFS

If these instructions do not answer your questions, you can call the Oregon State
Bar 503.684.3763, or go to www.oregonstatebar.org. The website

www.courts.oregon.gov has several useful resources including links to the Oregon
Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules. The court clerk may answer
questions about filing procedures, but cannot give legal advice.

HOW DO YOU “SERVE” THE DEFENDANT?

The plaintiff must officially notify all defendants that a case has been filed. This is known as service.
Important Note: If you are suing the Department of Corrections or any other state agency, you
MUST serve BOTH the agency and the Attorney General. You must also send copies of anything
you file to the Attorney General (see below for information about service).

*Blank proof of service forms are attached at the end of this document*

Acceptance of Service — You can ask the defendant to sign an Acceptance of Service form as
an alternative to formal service. The defendant can accept the claim and other papers from you and
sign the form to prevent having a sheriff or process server perform service. Signing the
Acceptance of Service does not mean the defendant agrees with anything in your claim, only
that he or she received the papers. NOTE: this is NOT required. If the defendant accepts service, he
or she must sign the Acceptance of Service form and YOU must file the form with the court. If you
do not file an Acceptance of Service form (or other Certificate of Service) within 63 days after you
filed your Small Claim, your case may be dismissed.

If the defendant does not want to sign the Acceptance of Service, you must use another method.
There are four ways you can serve a defendant after you file your claim:

NOTE: Serving Public Bodies — If you are suing the state, use personal service to serve the
Attorney General. Or your server can leave the papers with a deputy, assistant, or clerk at the
Attorney General’s office. For any other public body, you can use personal service or office service
on an officer, director, managing agent, or lawyer for the defendant. If you are suing any state
agency, you must also serve all papers on the state Attorney General.

1. Personal Service:

a. By Process Server: Take a copy of the claim to the sheriff’s office in the county where the
defendant is located and have a sheriff’s officer serve the defendant. The sheriff’s office
charges a fee for service. You can also hire a private process server of your choice.

b. By a Non-Party: Have a competent* person 18 years or older who is a resident of Oregon
and who is neither a party to the case (plaintiff or defendant), nor the lawyer of a
party, serve the defendant. If you have safety concerns, have the sheriff serve the
defendant. The server cannot be an employee or director/ officer of any defendant. If
the defendant is not in Oregon, the process server can be a resident of the state where
the defendant is.

*competent means a person who can understand, remember, and tell others about an event.

A Certificate of Service must be filed with the court by whoever serves the
defendant, including the date of service and the name of the person served.

2. Substituted Service: The process server may leave the notice at the defendant’s residence
(where the defendant normally lives) with someone 14 or older who lives there. The process
server must also mail a copy of the papers (with a statement of the date, time, and place that
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the papers were served) to the respondent by first class mail. Make sure the process server
completes a Certificate of Service. The date of service is the day the first class mailing is
put in the mail.

3. Office Service: The process server may leave the papers with someone in charge of the
defendant’s office or normal workplace. The process server must also mail a copy of the
papers (with a statement of the date, time, and place that the papers were served) to the
respondent by first class mail. Make sure the process server completes a Certificate of
Service. The date of service is the day the first class mailing is put in the mail.

1. By Mail: You must do TWO things to serve by mail. First, send the claim to each
defendant’s home or business address by first class mail. Second, send a copy by certified
mail, return receipt requested, Restricted Delivery (delivery only to the addressee). You
must file proof of service with the court, including the signed green card, date of receipt
and item number along with a Certificate of Service by Mail. If you do not receive the
green card back, or if someone other than the defendant signed for it, service by mail was
not effective and you must try another type of service. The date of service is:

a. If the defendant is an individual, the day the defendant signs the green receipt
card
b. If the defendant is not an individual (for example, a business or public agency),
then the earlier of:
i. (if mailed to an Oregon address) 3 days after you put the first class
mailing in the mail or
ii. (if mailed outside of Oregon) 7 days after you put the first class mailing
in the mail
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**An original proof of service must be filed with the court for your case to proceed. If proof of
service is not received within 63 days of the day you filed your claim, your case may be
dismissed without notice to you.

THE DEFENDANT CAN ...

Pay the Claim within 14 days of receiving service. This includes your court fees and costs.
Payment should come directly to you. Defendant may provide proof to the court that the claim is
paid, and you may file a notice with the court to dismiss your claim. You are free to settle with the
defendant for any amount at this point. If you are suing to return property, the defendant can
return the property to you.
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Deny the Claim — A defendant who does not agree with any part of your claim can file a
response within 14 days of service denying the claim and requesting a hearing or jury trial.
Defendants may also file claims against you called “counter-claims.” Counter-claims must be
related to the transaction or event that your claim is about. Jury trials are available only if the
amount of either the claim or counterclaim is over $750.

If the defendant denies the claim, you will be notified by mail of the date and time to appear for a
hearing. If you cannot appear at the time set, you must give a good reason in writing to the court at
least 14 days before the hearing date.

If the defendant demands a jury trial, you must file a formal complaint within 20 days after the
court sends you notice to do so. If you don’t, the case will be dismissed and you may have to pay the
defendant’s fees plus a prevailing party fee. Be aware that additional fees will be due from you. You
should see a lawyer. The court does not provide forms or samples of formal complaints.

IF THE DEFENDANT DOES NOT RESPOND

If the defendant does not file a response within 14 days of the date of service, you can ask the court
to grant you a default judgment. This means that you win because the defendant did not respond.
You must file a request for default judgment with the court within 35 days from the date the proof
of service was filed, or your case may be dismissed without notice to you. You may have to re-file
your claim and pay filing fees again if this happens.

For public body defendants — you must send a notice of your intent to apply for default to the
defendant before filing for default. For state agencies you must also send a copy of the notice to the
Attorney General. The court cannot issue a default less than 10 days from the day you serve the
notice on the defendant (and the Attorney General if necessary). You must formally serve this
notice according to Oregon Rule of Civil Procedure 9. You must also file a proof of service with the
court.

Fill out the Motion for Default Judgment & Defendant Status Declaration, and complete
a Small Claim General Judgment. File both with the court clerk. The prevailing party fee is
listed at ORS 20.190.

If you request more than 9% post-judgment annual interest, you must provide the court with a
copy of the contract at the time you request a Default Judgment.

You must provide a Declaration of Non-Military Service before the court can order a default
judgment. This is part of the Motion for Default Judgment. If the defendant is in active
military service, you cannot get a default judgment unless the servicemember has waived
protection under the Servicemember’s Civil Relief Act. This federal law starts at 50 U.S.C. App 501.
Your local law librarian can help you find it, or go to www.law.cornell.edu” (under Legal
Resources click U.S.Code, then click Appendix to Title 50). This law has strict rules about what
“active military service” means, and it covers servicemembers’ spouses and children if they are
affected by the defendant’s service. This protection does not apply to all servicemembers at all
times.

“ This is an outside site maintained by Cornell University. The Oregon Judicial Department is not responsible for any
information on this site. Links many have moved.
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If the defendant is in the military, you should see a lawyer before trying to get a default judgment.
If a default is not done properly, the defendant can re-open the case after returning from service.
Be aware that if you knowingly make false statements about the defendant’s status, you may face
both federal and state penalties.

If you know the defendant is not in the military, you must state facts that explain how you know.
Some things that are not supporting facts are: he has long hair, he has problems with authority, she
does drugs, she’s too old, or he is not a U.S. citizen.

If you have the defendant’s Social Security Number and date of birth, you can go to the Department
of Defense’s website at www.dmdc.osd.mil/appj/scra/scraHome.do to find out if the defendant is
in active service. This site can give you a free statement of service status that you can print out
(called a “certificate of service” on the website). Attach this statement, or a printout of the screen
(by pressing the “print screen” button on your keyboard), to your motion. You can also call
571.372.1100 for military verification. Put the date and the name of the person you spoke with on
your motion. If you don’t have the Social Security Number or date of birth, commercial websites
may be able to provide information.

If you don’t know whether the defendant is in the military and have checked the website, or don’t
have the necessary information, mark “I am unable to determine whether this person is in military
service” and add any facts that you do know. The judge will decide whether to grant the default.

YOU ARE STRONGLY ADVISED TO TALK TO A LAWYER IF DEFENDANT IS IN THE
MILITARY! Contact the Oregon State Bar at the number above for help finding a lawyer.

KX KKK

The court will send you a notice telling you whether your default was granted.

MEDIATION

Many courts have mediation programs for small claims. Some may require mediation before a
judge will hear your case. If a defendant files a response denying the claim or making a
counterclaim against you, the court may schedule mediation for both parties. Mediation is
confidential.

Mediation has many benefits:

Mediation brings all of the parties together to discuss the dispute with a trained, neutral mediator.
Mediation offers a last chance to maintain control over the outcome of the dispute before turning it
over to a judge. Remember, no matter how right you think you are, you may not win the case.

A mediated agreement is enforceable once a judgment is entered.

If mediation is unavailable or if you are unable to resolve the dispute through mediation, a trial will
be set. Be prepared to present your case at the date and time on your notice of trial.

PREPARING FOR TRIAL

Small claims trials are informal so that the parties can handle their own cases. Lawyers cannot
appear without special permission of the court. The plaintiff first, and the defendant second, will
present sworn testimony, evidence, and witnesses to the judge. The judge is only interested in facts.
Your testimony should be brief and to the point. You may use written notes, but do not expect the
judge to read a written statement.
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You, as the plaintiff, must prove your case. The defendant must prove any counterclaims
(counterclaims are claims the defendant has against you. They are NOT defenses to your claims
against the defendant). Come prepared with factual evidence like receipts, a written contract, police
reports, witnesses, etc.

Bring the following to support your claim:

Records, documents, bills, original contracts, photos, written repair estimates, etc. Make copies of
any material that you may wish to submit to the court and bring the copies AND the originals to
court. You may also want to bring copies for the defendant’s reference.

On the day of your trial, be sure to allow plenty of time to get through security and find your
courtroom. Be prepared to present your case at the time listed on your trial notice.

COURTROOM RULES:

*Appropriate dress is required. See UTCR 3.010 and the local court rules. The judge may
ask you to leave the courtroom if you are not dressed appropriately.

*Caps and hats must be removed upon entering the courtroom.

*Food and drinks are not allowed in the courtroom.

*Weapons are not allowed anywhere in the court building.

*Pagers, cell phones, and all other electronic devices that may disrupt court proceedings
must be turned off (not just silenced, because signals interfere with recordings).

*Audio or video recording is not permitted without advance permission of the judge.

JUDGMENT

Once your trial is over, the judge will make a decision. You could:

Lose the case. You cannot collect money from the defendant if you lose.

Win the full amount of your claim.

Win some of your claim, but not all of it.

Win either the full amount or some of the amount, and lose against a defendant’s
counterclaim.

o Generally, if you and the defendant both asked for money, the amount you lost
(counterclaims) will be subtracted from the amount you won.

o If the counterclaim is for more than you won, then you may win your claim, but still
have to pay the defendant money. For example, if you claim $100 and the
counterclaim is for $150 and the judge decides that you both win, then you will have to
pay the defendant $50 ($150 counterclaim - $100 claim = $50).

YV VYV

The judge will tell you who has to fill out the Judgment form. Then the Judgment form has to be
given to the judge to sign. This form says how much the award is for, and who gets paid (if anyone).

The “judgment creditor” is the person who gets paid, and the “judgment debtor” is the person who
has to pay.

The party who wins is the prevailing party. The prevailing party may be entitled to additional
money called a ‘prevailing party fee’. The judge may tell you how much the fee is, or you can look it
up at ORS 20.190. Write that amount in the “prevailing party fee” box.

NOTE: There is NO APPEAL from a Small Claims judgment. The judge’s decision is final.
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HOW TO COLLECT AFTER JUDGMENT

Demand Letter
Once you receive your notice that the judgment was entered, you must send the defendant a written
demand for payment. This letter must be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested.

Keep a copy of the demand letter and the receipt card showing the recipient’s signature. Your
demand letter should say that you are making a demand for payment and give the debtor the total
balance due and a deadline (usually 10 — 30 days). The judgment will give you the total amount the
court entered as due to you.

If you are still not paid after sending the demand letter, several options are available to you. Go to
www.courts.oregon.gov for more information.

SATISFACTIONS

A “Satisfaction” is a form that tells the court that your judgment has been paid (satisfied). You
MUST file a Satisfaction of Judgment when you have received full payment on the money
award portion of your judgment. You may also file a Satisfaction of Judgment anytime you receive
a payment. A “partial satisfaction” means you have received payment, but not the full amount. A
“full satisfaction” means the award is paid in full. You must also send a copy of the Satisfaction of
Judgment to the other party. Satisfaction of Judgment forms are available online or at the court,
and there is no fee to file this form.

Satisfactions must be notarized. Many banks can do this. You must bring photo I.D. with you and
sign the form in front of the notary public.
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IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON

FOR THE COUNTY OF
: Case No:
Plaintiff
V. ACCEPTANCE OF
SERVICE

’ Defendant
I am the Defendant in this matter.
On (date) I received a copy of (check all that apply):

[ ] Small Claim and Notice of Small Claim [ ] Summons [ ] Information on mediation

[ ] Other:

Certificate of Document Preparation. Check all that apply:

] 1 chose this form for myself and completed it without paid help

] A legal help organization helped me choose or complete this form, but I did not pay money to anyone
(] 1 paid (or will pay) for help choosing, completing, or reviewing this form

I hereby declare that the above statements are true to the best of my knowledge and
belief. I understand they are made for use in court and I am subject to penalty for

perjury.

Date Signature

Name (printed)

Address City/State/Zip Telephone
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IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON

FOR THE COUNTY OF
: Case No.
Plaintiff
V. CERTIFICATE OF
SERVICE BY MAIL
’ Defendant (Small Claim)

I am the Plaintiff in this case. I mailed true copies of the Small Claim and Notice of Claim by
certified mail and by first class mail to the Defendant as follows.

I certify that on (date) , I mailed a true copy of the Small Claim and
Notice of Claim to the defendant (name) at the

following address:

Certificate of Document Preparation. Check all that apply:

[ 11 chose this form for myself and completed it without paid help.

[] A legal help organization helped me choose or complete this form, but I did not pay money to anyone.
[ ]I paid (or will pay) for help choosing, completing, or reviewing this form.

I hereby declare that the above statements are true to the best of my knowledge and
belief, and that I understand they are made for use as evidence in court and I am
subject to penalty for perjury.

Submitted by:

Date Signature

Print Name

Contact Address City, State, ZIP Telephone


rudolph
Typewritten Text
;

rudolph
Typewritten Text
;


IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON
FOR THE COUNTY OF

Case No:

; CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

Plaintiff (ORCP 7D(2))
V. [J (a) Personal Service
[J (b) Substitute Service
[J (c) Office Service
[J (d) Service by Mail

Defendant

I, (name) , declare that I am a resident of the state of
. I am a competent person 18 years of age or older and not a party to
or lawyer in this case. I certify that the person served is the person named below.

I served true copies of the original Petition, Claim, or Complaint and Summons (with attached
notices of mediation and other information provided by the court clerk) and: (name any
additional forms served)

by (check a, b, ¢, or d and complete all information):

(a) O Personal Service on (date) ,at a.m./p.m., to {[]
Plaintiff [] Defendant } (name) in person at the following
address in the County of __

, State of

(b) 0 Substitute Service on (date) , at a.m./p.m., by
delivering them to the following address in
the County of , State of . Delivered to (name)

, who is a person age 14 or older and who lives there.

(Complete the section below only if the server also did the follow-up mailing required by ORCP
7D(2)(b). If a person other than the server did the follow-up mailing, that person must complete
a separate Certificate of Service Mailing.)

(] On (date) , I personally deposited a true copy of the same
documents served with the U.S. Postal Service, via first class mail, in a sealed envelope, postage
paid, addressed to the party to be served: [] Plaintiff [] Defendant
(name), at the party’s home address listed above, together with a statement of the
date, time and place that the documents were hand-delivered to the party’s dwelling (residence).

(c) [ Office Service on (date) , at a.m./p.m., by delivering
them to the office of the party to be served, located at:
(address), during normal working hours for that office, where I left
the documents with (name), who is a person apparently in
charge, to give the documents to the party to be served.

(Complete the section below only if the server also did the follow-up mailing required by ORCP
7D(2)(c). If a person other than the server did the follow-up mailing, that person must complete a
separate Certificate of Service Mailing.)
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(1 On (date) , I personally deposited a true copy of the same
documents served with the U.S. Postal Service, via first class mail, in a sealed envelope, postage
paid, addressed to the party to be served: [] Plaintiff [] Defendant (name)
, at the party’s: [] home address at:
, OR [ ]business address above, together with a statement of
the date, time and place that the documents were hand-delivered to the party’s office.

(d) I Service by Mail, Return Receipt Requested on (date) , 1
personally deposited two true copies with the U.S. Postal Service. One by first class mail, and the
other by certified or registered mail, Return Receipt Requested, or by express mail, postage paid,
addressed to the party to be served: [] Plaintiff [ ] Defendant
(name), at the party’s home address located at:
(address). (NOTE: If mailed Return Receipt
Requested, the return receipt must be attached to this Certificate of Service.)

Certificate of Document Preparation. Check all that apply:

[ 11 chose this form for myself and completed it without paid help.

[] A legal help organization helped me choose or complete this form, but I did not pay money to anyone.
[] I paid (or will pay) for help choosing, completing, or reviewing this form.

I hereby declare that the above statements are true to the best of my knowledge and
belief, and that I understand they are made for use as evidence in court and I am
subject to penalty for perjury.

Date Signature of Server

Print Name

If person serving is NOT a sheriff or sheriff’s deputy, address and phone number of server:




EFILING INFORMATION

If you chose to electronically file your forms there are a few things you need to know.

1)

2)

eFiling happens through the Oregon Judicial Department File and Serve (File and Serve)
system. Y our Guide and File account gives you access to File and Serve, you don’t have to
register separately.

eFiled documents can take up to 3 business days to process.

3) You can view the status of your filing by logging into the File and Serve website at

https://oregon.tylerhost.net/
Case # 155C00001 - Daniel ParrvsHolly Rudolph 3] E [m]ip]

</ 24 filed January 08, 2015 at 2:29 PM by Daniel Parr
Filing Code Filing Type Filing Description Reference Number

Status

Accepted Complaint - Originally Small Cl.  EFile Criginal Small Claim 1

Filing Information and Next Ste  EFile Next Steps 1

The statuses you might see are:

a. Submitting - The filing is in the process of being submitted to the court.

b. Submitted - You filing has been submitted to the court and is waiting for
court staff to review your filing for acceptance.

c. Under Review - The court has begun reviewing your filing.

d. Accepted - The court has accepted your filing.

e. Rejected - The court hasrejected the filing because it fails to comply with
court rules or procedures. Review the rejection email for details. Speak to a
lawyer if you don’t understand why your filing was rejected or don’t know
how to fix it. NOTE: be aware of any filing deadlines that may apply to your
case. Court staff cannot give you legal advice. If you have a deadline coming
up, talk to a lawyer about how to handle your filing.

f. Processing - The filing is being added to the court’s case management system.
Receipted - The filing is not a “filed” document, just information that is not
sent to the court or part of the case record.

4) You will receive an email from File and Serve when your filing is submitted, and when it

5)

6)

is accepted or rejected.

a. Ifyour filing is rejected your will need to resubmit your filing. OJD recommends
you deliver a hard (paper) copy of your filing to the court if your eFiling is
rejected.

b. Emails come from no-reply @tylerhost.net. Make sure these emails do not go to
your spam folder. Ask your internet or email provider about how to do this.

You can return to File and Serve directly to eFile your proofs of service and other
documents later in your case. To learn more about how to use File and Serve go to
https://oregon.tylerhost.net/ and watch the videos under the TRAIN section. There are
specific court rules that apply to electronic filings. Those rules can be found at:
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/programs/uter/Pages/utcrrules.aspx, under Uniform
Trial Court Rules, Chapter 21.

Y ou can also sign up to receive eService notifications through File and Serve. Follow the
instructions on the next page. EService is NOT for court notifications, it allows other
parties to serve you by email when they file something in this case. More information is
below.
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HOWTO SIGN-UP FOR ELECTRONIC SERVICE

After you submit your filing electronically, you can choose to receive service from other parties
on the case by email. File and Serve will send you emails when another party submits a
response, motion, or other filing with the court and chooses to eServe you.

Follow these steps if you want other parties to be able to serve you electronically:

1) Gotothe File & Serve website at https: //oregon.tylerhost.net/
2) Sign into File and Serve using the same user name and password you used when
submitting your filing in Guide and File.

emai ccress [
resovors

B Keep me logged in @

Forgot Password? | Register Now

3) File and Serve will display a list of your filings.

4) Select the Service Contacts button next to your filing to add your service contact
information to the case. The Manage Case Service Contacts box will appear.
5) Select your name and click Add New.

Select a Party to add Service Contacts
Defendant: Angelo Jordan

Plaintiff: Daniel Parr

Other Service Contacts

Add From Master List [l Show History |

6) Add your first and last name, and your email address. This is the email where you will
receive service information from other parties. The court cannot send you notice of
hearings or other information electronically.

7) To save your contact information to use in future cases select

|| Save Contact in My Firm Master Service List

8) Click Save.
9) You are now signed up to receive service of documents by email for that case.

1 Note: eServicewill only apply to individual cases where y ou have selected eService by following these
directions. Ifyou have other cases —even with the same parties —you will continue to receive non-
electronicservice.
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