RESIDENTIAL EVICTION INFORMATION FOR
LANDLORDS

COURT CLERKS CANNOT GIVE LEGAL ADVICE!

Landlord/Tenant law is very complex and detailed. Most of the laws are in chapters 9o and 105
of the Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS). You must also follow other laws, procedures, and prior
appellate court decisions, including the Oregon Evidence Code (OEC), the Uniform Trial Court
Rules (UTCR), and the Oregon Rules of Civil Procedure (ORCP).
(http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/rules/index.page?). If you do not follow the laws exactly, the
court may order you to pay the tenant’s lawyer fees. You are strongly urged to talk to a lawyer
before you try to file an eviction on your own.

Contact the Oregon State Bar at 503.620.0222 or (in Oregon) 800.452.8260 or go to
www.oregonstatebar.org for information and help finding a lawyer.

Following these instructions will not guarantee that you win your case. These
instructions are general and may not apply in a given situation. YOU are responsible for getting
legal advice about how to properly evict a tenant. These forms do NOT provide legal advice and
the Oregon Judicial Department is not responsible for the outcome of your case if you rely on
these forms.

The landlord is the plaintiff, and the tenant is the defendant throughout the case.

A judgment for the plaintiff (landlord) will be for return of the property and the costs of filing
and serving the complaint. To collect back rent or damages, you must file a separate civil
complaint. A judgment for the defendants (tenants) generally means that they do not have to
move out of the property. It may also include the cost of responding to the complaint and lawyer
fees.

Court procedures may vary. Check with your local court.
First Appearance Date

The court clerk will usually set a court date for 7 -14 days from the judicial day after you file and
pay the filing fee. A judicial day is a day that the court is open for regular business.

If you eFile your Complaint (see below for more information about eFiling), you can go online
after your filing has been accepted to get the first appearance date.

If you file your Complaint on paper at the courthouse, the clerk will give you the first
appearance date.

Complete the Summons with the case number and the first appearance date and time. Then
serve it on the defendant along with the Complaint and any other documents you submitted to
the court.
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HOW DO YOU “SERVE” THE DEFENDANT (TENANT)?

You must officially notify all defendants (tenants) that a case has been filed. This is known as
service. Service rules are different for FED cases than for other cases. You must complete
service by the end of the judicial day after the day you filed your Complaint.

1. Personal Service:

a. By Process Server: Take a copy of the Summons and Complaint to the sheriff’s office
where the property is located and have a sheriff’s officer serve the defendant (tenant).
The sheriff’s office charges a fee for service. You can also hire a private process server
of your choice.

b. By a Non-Party: Have a competent* person 18 years or older who is a resident of
Oregon and who is neither a party to the case (plaintiff or defendant), nor the
lawyer of a party, serve the papers. The server cannot be an employee of any
defendant (tenant). If you have safety concerns, have the sheriff serve the papers.

*competent means a person who can understand, remember, and tell others about an event.

A Certificate of Service must be completed and filed with the court by whoever serves
the defendant (tenant). If the server is not a sheriff’s officer, then you must also include
the address and phone number of the server. This form is available online or at the court.

2. Posting: If the defendant (tenant) cannot be personally served, the process server may
post the notice at the main entrance of the defendant (tenant)’s part of the premises. This
means that if the property is an apartment, it must be posted on the front door of the
apartment, not of the whole building.

Service must be completed by the end of the judicial day after you file the Complaint.

FIRST APPEARANCE and MEDIATION
% If the defendant (tenant) leaves the property before the court date, you have two options:
» Go to court on the date specified and request a judgment and money award for your
costs of filing and service or
» Have the case dismissed. Send a written notification with your signature to the court
clerk, directing the court to dismiss your complaint.

You must appear at the time noted on the Summons. If you do not appear, the court will dismiss
your case.

% If the defendant (tenant) does not move, does not appear in court, and has not reached an
agreement with you, the judge may require the defendant (tenant) to return the premises
and pay your costs. See the next section about the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act.

+« If the defendant (tenant) does appear in court to oppose the eviction, the judge may require
that you try to reach an agreement. Some courts may have a mediator available. Check with
your local court to see if it offers this service. A mediator can help you resolve your dispute,
but cannot make decisions for you or order either party to do anything. Mediation is
confidential. If you do not reach an agreement, the defendant (tenant) will have to file an
answer with the clerk, who will provide you with a copy. The case will then be set for trial on
another day.
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% NOTE: if you get a money judgment and the defendant (tenant) pays it, you MUST file a
Satisfaction of Money Award with the court. This form is available online or at the
court.

Servicemembers Civil Relief Act

The Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (SCRA) may apply to your case. This federal law may not
allow you to get a default judgment if the defendant (tenant) does not respond. This law starts at
50 U.S.C. App 501. Your local law librarian can help you find it, or go to www.law.cornell.edu*
(under Legal Resources click U.S. Code, then click Appendix to Title 50). You must provide a
Declaration of Non-Military Service before a judge can order a default. SCRA does not
apply to all military servicemembers at all times. If a servicemember has signed the lease, you
should see a lawyer before trying to evict.

If you know the defendant (tenant) is not in the military, you must state facts that explain how
you know. Some things that are not supporting facts are: he has long hair, he has problems with
authority, she does drugs, she’s too old, or he is not a U.S. citizen. Be aware that if you make
false statements about the defendant (tenant)’s status, you may face both federal and state
penalties.

If you have the defendant (tenant)’s Social Security Number and date of birth, go to the
Department of Defense website at www.dmdc.osd.mil/appj/scra/scraHome.do to find out if
the defendant (tenant) is in active service. This site can give you a free statement of service
status that you can print out (called a “certificate of service” on the website). Bring this
statement, or a printout of the screen (by pressing the “print screen” button on your keyboard),
to court. You can also call 571.372.1100 for military verification. Put the date and the name of
the person you spoke with on your motion. If you don’t have the Social Security Number or date
of birth, commercial websites may be able to provide information.

If you don’t know whether the defendant (tenant) is in the military and have checked the
website, or don’t have the necessary information, check “I am unable to determine whether this
person is in military service” and add any facts that you do know. The judge will decide whether
to grant the default.

YOU ARE STRONGLY ADVISED TO TALK TO A LAWYER IF A DEFENDANT
(TENANT) IS IN THE MILITARY! Contact the Oregon State Bar at the number on Page 1
for help finding a lawyer.

TRIAL

At trial, the judge will hear evidence and testimony, and will make a decision (called the
“judgment”). Both parties may present physical evidence (like photographs, rental agreements,
and the eviction notice) and call witnesses. You may read from a prepared statement or refer to
notes, but do not expect the judge to read your notes or any witness statements.

The plaintiff (landlord) must prove the case, so be prepared to show that you own or manage the

" This is an outside site maintained by Cornell University. The Oregon Judicial Department is not responsible for
any information on this site. Links may have moved.
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property, and facts supporting eviction, including proof of proper notice.

The Oregon Evidence Code (OEC) and Oregon Rules of Civil Procedure (ORCP) govern how to
admit your evidence and what you need to prove. Talk to a lawyer about how to properly prove
your case. You may believe that the facts are on your side, but if you don’t follow proper court
procedures, you may lose anyway. Links to these rules are on Page 1 of this form.

If the judge decides in favor of the defendant (tenant), the court may dismiss the case and
require the plaintiff (landlord) to pay the defendant (tenant)’s costs and lawyer fees.

If the judge decides in favor of the plaintiff (landlord), the court may order the defendant
(tenant) to leave the property (move out). The defendant (tenant) may also have to pay the
plaintiff (landlord)’s costs and lawyer fees.

Go to www.osbar.org/public/legalinfo/tenant.html for information about what may happen
after your judgment.

COURTROOM RULES: These are general court rules. Judges may have additional rules.

* Appropriate dress is required. See UTCR 3.010 and local court rules.
*Caps and hats must be removed upon entering the courtroom.
*Food and drink are not allowed in the courtroom (including gum).

*Weapons are not allowed in any part of the courthouse.

*Pagers, cell phones, and all other electronic devices that may disrupt court proceedings
must be turned off (not just silenced, signals interfere with recordings).

* Audio and video recording is not permitted without advance permission from the judge.
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OJD eFiling Next Steps

If you chose to electronically submit your documents to the court,
there are a few things you need to know.

1) eFiled documents are seamlessly transmitted through a different system called Oregon
Judicial Department File and Serve (File and Serve).

2) Your Guide and File account gives you access to File and Serve.

3) eFiled documents can take up to 3 business days to process.

4) You can view the status of your filing by logging into the File and Serve website,
here: https://oregon.tylerhost.net/

Case # 155C00001 - Daniel ParrvsHolly Rudolph (22]E =]
Envelope # 3724 filed January 08, 2015 at 2:29 PM by Daniel Parr
Status Filing Code Filing Type Filing Description Reference Number
Accepted Complaint - Criginally Small Cl  EFile Criginal Small Claim 1
Receipted Filing Information and Next Ste  EFile Mext Steps 1

a) The statuses you might see are:

a. Submitting: The filing is in the process of being submitted to the court.

b. Submitted: You filing has been submitted to the court and court staff can now
review your filing for acceptance.

c. Under Review: The court has begun reviewing your filing.

d. Accepted: The court has accepted your filing. Your filing is now a part of the
official court record.

e. Rejected: The court has returned the filing because it fails to comply with
court rules or procedures. Review the rejection email you received from the
court for details.

f. Processing: The filing is being entered into the court’s case management
system.

g. Receipted: The filing is not a “filed” document, but an information document
not entered as part of the case record.

5) You will receive email notifications from File and Serve when your filing is submitted
and accepted or rejected.

a. Ifyour filing is rejected your will need to resubmit your filing. OJD recommends
you deliver a hard copy of your filing to the proper court if your eFiling is rejected
and you are not an active member of the Oregon State Bar.

b. Notifications come from no-reply@tylerhost.net (Make sure these emails do not
go to your spam folder).

6) Since you are starting a case, the acceptance email will include your case number. Write
this number on the documents you serve on the defendant. See the next section for
information about how to complete the Summons before you serve the defendant.
Information about service and proof of service forms are above.

7) You can electronically file your proofs of service and other forms not currently available
through Guide and File by using File and Serve directly. To learn more about how to use
File and Serve, go to https://oregon.tylerhost.net/ and watch the videos in the TRAIN
section. There are specific court rules that apply to electronic filings. Those rules can be
found here: http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/programs/utcr/Pages/utcrrules.aspx, under
Uniform Trial Court Rules, Chapter 21.
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8) You can sign up to receive eService notifications in File and Serve by following the guide
on the next page.

Completing the Summons

Once your filing is accepted by the court you will receive your case number and the court will
schedule a hearing. After you receive your case number from the court, follow these steps to
complete the Summons for service on the defendant:

1) On the Residential Eviction Complaint and Summons documents that you intend to
serve the tenant, write in the case number.

2) You need to serve the Residential Eviction Complaint and Summons documents within
certain timelines (See the information above for timelines). You will need to access the
court’s calendar or contact the court to find out your hearing date.

a. To access the court’s calendar:
1. Go to: https://publicaccess.courts.oregon.gov/PublicAccess/default.aspx
ii. Under Select a Location, select the court where you filed your case.

Court Calendars
Zelect a location
Multnomah =

iii. Click Search Calendar
iv. Inthe Case Number field type your case number
v. Inthe On or Before field, add 1 month to search for upcoming hearings
(*) Required Fields

Search By: Case -
Case: * Case Number:
16LT00001
* On or After * On or Before
Date Range: 7158/2015 and  B8/15/2015
(e.g. 11/12/1955)
| Search || Clear Form |

vi. Click Search
vii. The system will display the date, time and courtroom for the hearing
viii. Write this information on the Summons in the appropriate area.
3) You can also find out your hearing date by contacting the court. Be sure to have your
Case Number ready.
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Residential Eviction (FED)

IMPORTANT: Your court may have specific procedures for Residential Evictions (FED)
cases. For information on court-specific procedures go to:
http://courts.oregon.gov/ojd/pages/index.aspx

1) Inthe Court Information Finder select the court you filed in and click GO.
Court Information Finder

Find out your state court Select a court
hours, phone number, location
directions, map, address, from the list.
and website.

Lake -
Lane
Lincoln
Linn
Malheur
Marion
Morrow

T |

Polk
Sherman
Supreme Court  ~

2) Click on the court’s website link
WWW Multnomah County site
=

The court’s website will have any additional information regarding local Residential Eviction
(FED) procedures.
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How to sign up for Electronic Service

Your Guide and File account gives you access to the Oregon Judicial Department’s electronic
filing system File and Serve. Through File and Serve, you can sign up to receive service of
documents from the defendant electronically.

Follow these steps:

1) Go to the Oregon Judicial Department File & Serve website at:
https://oregon.tylerhost.net/

2) Sign in using the same user name and

emai Asdress [N

Password

password you used in Guide and File

B Keep me logged in ©

Forgot Password? | Register Now

3) File and Serve will open up a list of your filings

4) Select the Service Contacts button m next to your filing to add your contact
information to the case

5) The Manage Case Service Contacts box will appear

6) Select your name and click Add New

Select a Party to add Service Contacts
Defendant: Angelo Jordan
Plaintiff: Daniel Parr

Other Service Contacts

Add New Add From Master List Jll Show History |

7) Add your first and last name and your email address (this will be the email address
where service notifications will be sent to you; these are separate from court
notifications)

8) To save your contact information for future cases, select

|| Save Contact in My Firm Master Service List

9) Click Save
10) You are now signed up to receive service of documents by email for that case
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IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON
FOR THE COUNTY OF

Case No:
Plaintiff (Landlord or Agent)
V. RESIDENTIAL EVICTION
SUMMONS
Defendant (Tenant or Occupant)
TO:
Street Address of Property Occupied by Defendant City State ZIP
Mailing Address (if different)
NOTICE TO TENANTS:

READ THESE PAPERS CAREFULLY!
YOUR LANDLORD WANTS TO EVICT YOU

ON AT AM./P.M., you must come to
court at the location below. You do not have to pay any fees to the court for this first
hearing.

e If you do not appear in court and your landlord does, your landlord will win automatically
and can have the sheriff physically remove you from the property.

e Ifyou do appear in court and your landlord does not, the court will dismiss this case.

e If both of you appear in court:
» The judge may ask you to try to reach an agreement with your landlord, but this is
voluntary. Trained mediators may be available for free to help you resolve disputes.
» Ifyou and your landlord do not reach an agreement, the court will schedule a trial.

IF YOU WANT A TRIAL, YOU MUST:

Be in court at the time scheduled above. Allow time to get through security;

On the same day, file an Answer with the court giving a legal reason why you should
not be evicted. The court can give you a form;

Give a copy of the Answer to your landlord (or your landlord’s agent or lawyer); and
Pay a filing fee. The judge may defer payment if you are low-income. Go to
www.courts.oregon.gov to see what the filing fee will be.

VV VY
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GO TO THIS LOCATION:

IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS, YOU SHOULD SEE A LAWYER IMMEDIATELY. If you
need help finding a lawyer, call the Oregon State Bar’s Lawyer Referral Service at 503.684.3763

or toll-free in Oregon at 800.452.7636 or go to www.oregonstatebar.org.

Signature of Plaintiff (landlord or agent)

Name of Plaintiff (printed)

Dated

Address of Plaintiff

Phone Number
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IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON
FOR THE COUNTY OF

Case No:

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

Plaintiff (ORCP 7D(2))
V. [J (a) Personal Service
[J (b) Substitute Service
[J (c) Office Service
[J (d) Service by Mail

Defendant

I, (name) , declare that I am a resident of the state of
. I am a competent person 18 years of age or older and not a party
to or lawyer in this case. I certify that the person served is the person named below.

I served true copies of the original Petition, Claim, or Complaint and Summons (with attached
notices of mediation and other information provided by the court clerk) and: (name any
additional forms served)

by (check a, b, c, or d and complete all information):

(a) O Personal Service on (date) , at a.m./p.m., to
{J Plaintiff [ ] Defendant } (name) in person at the following
address in the County of __
, State of
(b) 0 Substitute Service on (date) , at a.m./p.m., by
delivering them to the following address
in the County of , State of . Delivered to (name)

, who is a person age 14 or older and who lives there.

(Complete the section below only if the server also did the follow-up mailing required by ORCP
7D(2)(b). If a person other than the server did the follow-up mailing, that person must
complete a separate Certificate of Service Mailing.)

(] On (date) , I personally deposited a true copy of the same
documents served with the U.S. Postal Service, via first class mail, in a sealed envelope, postage
paid, addressed to the party to be served: [] Plaintiff [] Defendant

(name), at the party’s home address listed above, together with a statement of
the date, time and place that the documents were hand-delivered to the party’s dwelling
(residence).

(¢) J Office Service on (date) , at a.m./p.m., by

delivering them to the office of the party to be served, located at:
(address), during normal working hours for that office,
where I left the documents with (name), whois a
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person apparently in charge, to give the documents to the party to be served.

(Complete the section below only if the server also did the follow-up mailing required by ORCP
7D(2)(c). If a person other than the server did the follow-up mailing, that person must
complete a separate Certificate of Service Mailing.)

[J On (date) , I personally deposited a true copy of the same
documents served with the U.S. Postal Service, via first class mail, in a sealed envelope, postage

paid, addressed to the party to be served: [] Plaintiff [] Defendant (name)
, at the party’s: [] home address at:

, OR [_]business address above, together with a statement
of the date, time and place that the documents were hand-delivered to the party’s office.

(d) I Service by Mail, Return Receipt Requested on (date) , 1
personally deposited two true copies with the U.S. Postal Service. One by first class mail, and
the other by certified or registered mail, Return Receipt Requested, or by express mail, postage
paid, addressed to the party to be served: [] Plaintiff [] Defendant
(name), at the party’s home address located at:
(address). (NOTE: If mailed Return Receipt
Requested, the return receipt must be attached to this Certificate of Service.)

Certificate of Document Preparation. Check all that apply:

] 1 chose this form for myself and completed it without paid help.

] A legal help organization helped me choose or complete this form, but I did not pay money to anyone.
(] 1 paid (or will pay) for help choosing, completing, or reviewing this form.

I hereby declare that the above statements are true to the best of my knowledge
and belief. I understand they are made for use as evidence in court and I am
subject to penalty for perjury.

Date Signature of Server

Print Name

If person serving is NOT a shertiff or sheriff’s deputy, address and phone number of server:
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