
OREGON JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT
NOTICE OF OBLIGATIONS/RIGHTS OF PARENTS/GUARDIANS IN JUVENILE CASES 
Case Name ____________________ JJIS No. ______________ Case No. ____________ Petitioner No._______

OBLIGATION TO PAY.  
In all juvenile cases, a court may order a parent or legal guardian to pay certain costs.  If your child is found within the jurisdiction of the court, the court may order you to pay such costs which may include but are not limited to the following: 
· compensation and reasonable expenses for counsel for your child; (ORS 419C.020(1)(a), 419B.117(1)(a))
· administrative costs of determining your ability to pay for appointed counsel; (ORS 419C.203, 419B.198(1))
· daily expenses and mileage of certain witnesses; (ORS 419C.408, 419B.201, 419B.908 , 135.055(3)(a))
· service of summons; (ORS 419C.408, 419B.201 , 135.055(3)(a))
· support of your child while he or she is in the custody of a state-financed or state-supported residence; (ORS 419C.020(1)(a) , 419B.117(1)(a)) and 

· any other costs that may arise as a result of your child being within the jurisdiction of the court. (ORS 419C.020(1)(a) , 419B117(1(b))
In a delinquency case (law violations), you may also be obligated to pay the costs of: 

· HIV testing; (ORS 419C.475(2)) 

· graffiti damages caused by your child; (ORS 419C.461(3(a)) 

· drug or alcohol treatment; (ORS 419C.020(1)(a))
· supervision fees for probation of your child; (ORS 419C.449) and  
· detention services for your child. (ORS 419C.590 , 418.034)
ASSIGNMENT OF SUPPORT RIGHTS.  If your child is in substitute care or otherwise in the physical custody of the State of Oregon, any child support you receive for that child may be ordered to be paid to the State of Oregon. (ORS 419C.597, 419B.406)  

RIGHT TO APPEAL.  In juvenile cases, you may appeal decisions in your child’s case as follows: 

· Referee Decisions (ORS 419A.150) 

To appeal a decision by a referee, you must file the appeal with the circuit court within 10 days of entry of the referee’s decision in the court register. 

· Circuit Court Decisions That Are Not Recorded or Transcribed (ORS 419A.200(2)) 
If no recording or transcript of the proceeding was kept, you may file a request for rehearing with the circuit court within 15 days after the entry of the court’s order and the court will grant a rehearing on the record with certain exceptions. 

· Appeal of Circuit Court Decisions (ORS 419A.200) 

To appeal a circuit court’s decision, you must file a notice of appeal with the Court of Appeals within 30 days of the entry of the court’s final order in the court register.  (The Court of Appeals may grant leave to file a notice of appeal within 90 days after entry of the judgment being appealed only in very limited circumstances.  (ORS 419A.200(5))
A copy of this notice was given to the parent/guardian (name(s))_______________________________________.

Dated this ___ day of _____________, 20____.
         _______________________________________________
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