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QUESTIONS AND (Some) ANSWERS 

ABOUT MANDATORY CHILD ABUSE REPORTING FOR LAWYERS 

Oregon State Bar General Counsel’s Office 

 

Question 1: What is Mandatory Child Abuse Reporting? 

 The Oregon Child Abuse Reporting Law is found at ORS 419B.005 to 419B.050. It imposes a 

legal obligation on certain “public and private officials” to report child abuse. The statute also 

expresses the state’s policy that all citizens have a responsibility to prevent abuse and protect 

children, and the statute encourages voluntary reporting in situations in which reporting is not 

required. Mandatory reporters are a critical link in the state’s system of child protection and 

account for approximately 75% of reports received. 

Question 2: What Are Lawyers Required To Do?  

 Lawyers are included in the definition of “public or private officials” who have a duty to 

report child abuse. ORS 419B.005(3)(m). Physicians, compensated youth coaches, higher 

education employees, school employees, social workers, police, firefighters, clergy, 

psychologists, day care workers, youth camp workers, and members of the Legislative Assembly 

are among the other mandatory reporters. Reporting is required when a lawyer has 

“reasonable cause to believe that any child with whom the [lawyer] comes in contact has 

suffered abuse or that any person with whom the [lawyer] comes in contact has abused a 

child. . . .” ORS 419B.010(1). 

 Child abuse reporting is a 24-hour-a-day, 7-day-a-week responsibility. Originally, the statute 

required public and private officials to report only information they learned in the performance 

of official duties. In 1991, however, the statute was amended to eliminate that language, with 

the result that mandatory reporters are never “off-duty” for purposes of child abuse reporting. 

The duty to report child abuse is personal to the mandatory reporter.  See HB 4016 (2012).  

A mandatory reporter is required to personally report even if his or her employer has internal 

policies or procedures for addressing reports of child abuse.  Id. 
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Failure to report as required by the statute is a Class A violation. ORS 419B.010(5). The 

penalty for a Class A violation is a maximum fine of $2000, according to ORS 153.018(2)(a). 

 Oregon Rule of Professional Conduct 1.6(a) prohibits a lawyer from revealing information 

relating to the representation of a client.1   Oregon RPC 1.6(b)(5) permits, but does not require, 

a lawyer to disclose information relating to the representation of a client when required by law. 

A lawyer may thus report child abuse as required by law without violating the lawyer’s ethical 

duty of confidentiality to a client. Note that when one of the exceptions to reporting applies 

(discussed in Question 6, infra), the law does not require reporting, and therefore would not 

permit a lawyer to disclose information protected by Oregon RPC 1.6. In addition, Oregon RPC 

1.6(b)(5) permits disclosure to the extent that is required by law; it does not give a lawyer 

permission to reveal information about child abuse that the law does not require be reported. 

In other words, a lawyer cannot use the permission in the disciplinary rule to justify disclosing 

information about child abuse that is not required to be reported by the exceptions in ORS 

419B.010. 

Question 3: What Is “Reasonable Cause?”  

 There are no reported cases applying or interpreting this phrase specifically in connection 

with ORS 419B.010(1). One case interprets “reasonable cause” in connection with ORS 

419B.020, a provision that requires the Department of Human Services to investigate a report 

of child abuse and make a determination of whether the allegations of abuse are “founded,” 

that is, whether there is “reasonable cause to believe that abuse has occurred.” ORS 

419B.020(2). In Berger v. State Office for Services to Children and Families, 195 Or App 587, 98 

P3d 1127 (2004), the court noted that the agency’s determination of whether charges are 

founded is limited only to “whether there is evidence that creates a reasonable suspicion of 

child abuse; [the agency] does not decide whether child abuse in fact occurred or even 

probably occurred.” Id. at 590. 

 Child Protective Services investigators who have reasonable suspicion that a suspicious 

physical injury is or may be the result of abuse are required to immediately photograph the 

                                                 

1 Lawyers are required by ORS 9.460 to “maintain the confidences and secrets of…clients 

consistent with the rules of professional conduct…” ORS 9.460 uses the terminology of former 

DR 4-101, which has been replaced by Oregon RPC 1.6. 
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injury and ensure that a medical assessment is conducted within 48 hours. ORS 419B.023(2). 

“Reasonable suspicion” in this context means “a reasonable belief given all of the 

circumstances, based upon specific and describable facts, that the suspicious physical injury 

may be the result of abuse.” OAR 413-015-0115. The administrative rule further explains that 

“the belief must be subjectively and objectively reasonable. In other words, the person 

subjectively believes that the injury may be the result of abuse, and the belief is objectively 

reasonable considering all of the circumstances. The circumstances that may give rise to a 

reasonable belief may include, but not be limited to, observations, interviews, experience, and 

training. The fact that there are possible non-abuse explanations for the injury does not negate 

reasonable suspicion.” 

Similarly, “reasonable suspicion” for an officer to stop an individual in the criminal law 

context is defined as “a belief that is reasonable under the totality of the circumstances existing 

at the time and place the peace officer acts.” ORS 131.605(5). The standard is an “objective test 

of observable facts” and requires the officer “to point to specific articulable facts that give rise 

to a reasonable inference that a person has committed a crime.” State v. Ehly, 317 Or 66, 80, 

854 P2d 421 (1993).  

By contrast, the standard of “probable cause” for arrest in the criminal law context is 

generally thought of as a higher standard than that of “reasonable suspicion.” “Probable cause” 

is defined by ORS 131.005(11) as a “substantial objective basis for believing that more likely 

than not an offense has been committed and a person to be arrested has committed it.”  

“Reasonable cause,” has also been defined in a variety of criminal and civil cases and 

sometimes has been equated with “probable cause.” In State v. Childers, 13 Or App 622, 511 

P2d 447 (1973), the court held that a police officer did not have probable cause to make a 

warrantless search for marijuana since he was uncertain whether he had smelled it. The court 

cited the probable cause standard as the existence of circumstances that would lead a 

reasonably prudent person to believe that an event has occurred, and it is distinguishable from 

“mere suspicion or belief, unsupported by facts of circumstances.” Id. at 629. This articulation 

of probable cause sounds more like the reasonable suspicion standard.  

Interpreting “reasonable cause” in the context of obtaining a subpoena for bank records 

under ORS 192.565(6), the court in State v. McKee, 89 Or App 94, 99, 747 P3d 395 (1987) found 
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that a showing of reasonable cause requires a recital of known facts, not merely conclusory 

statements. By contrast, a merchant was found to have reasonable cause to detain a suspected 

shoplifter when the merchant saw the person leaving the store with unpaid-for merchandise 

partially concealed in a pocket. Delp v. Zapp’s Drug & Variety Stores, 238 Or 538, 395 P2d 137 

(1964). The statute cited in Delp, which allows merchants to detain suspected shoplifters, has 

since been amended to require “probable cause” as opposed to “reasonable cause.” See ORS 

131.655(1). 

 As used in ORS 419B.010(1) and in order to qualify for immunity, “reasonable cause” is a 

good faith determination that child abuse has occurred based on facts reasonably believed by 

the reporter to be true. See ORS 419B.025. 

Question 4: What Is “Comes In Contact?” 

 “Comes in contact” is a more nebulous phrase that is also not defined in the statute or case 

law. A dictionary definition of “contact” includes “coming together…,” “not being separated by 

space . . . ,” and “being in communication.” Webster’s Illustrated Encyclopedic Dictionary, 

Tormont Publications (Montreal: 1990). That definition and common usage suggest that a 

lawyer is required to report child abuse only when the lawyer has had some kind of physical 

contact with a person who has abused a child or with a child who has been abused. This does 

not necessarily mean “in person” contact; telephone or even email or written contact would 

likely suffice. 

 The “comes in contact” requirement does not appear to modify the “reasonable cause” 

requirement. In other words, the statute does not appear to require reporting only when the 

lawyer learns of the abuse directly from the child or abuser. Reliable second- or third-hand 

information may provide the reasonable cause to believe that abuse has occurred; reporting 

would then be required if the lawyer had come in contact with the abuser or the child. For 

example, if a neighbor tells a lawyer that she heard from another neighbor that a child living 

down the street (with whom the lawyer has occasional contact) appears to have been abused, 

the lawyer may have reasonable cause to believe that abuse occurred if the lawyer believes the 

neighbors are reliable sources of information.  

 It is sometimes suggested that, under a broad reading of the statute and its purpose, that 

contact includes knowledge of child abuse even without any physical contact with the victim or 
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abuse. The Oregon Attorney General does not interpret the statute so broadly, opining that 

“physicians, psychologists and social workers who serve as members of the board of directors 

of a self-help child abuse prevention organization, but who do not provide direct services, are 

not required to report suspected child abuse…when they acquire that information indirectly in 

their official capacities as board members.” Oregon AG Opinion No. OP-5543 (1984). The basis 

for the opinion lies primarily in the fact that the list of mandatory reporters in Oregon consists 

of professionals and service providers who are most likely to come into direct contact with 

victims or perpetrators of child abuse. “We believe that if the drafter of [the statute] had 

intended to impose a mandatory reporting duty, violation of which is punishable by a 

substantial fine…, upon persons who merely have knowledge about child abuse, from whatever 

source, they would have said so clearly.” Id. 

Question 5: How Is A Lawyer Expected To Identify Child Abuse? 

 The child abuse reporting statute identifies various types of conduct that constitute child 

abuse. ORS 419B.005(1)(a). Lawyers, like many mandatory reporters, may not be experts in 

identifying child abuse and are not expected to be. The intent of the statute is to get at-risk 

children into a system where the circumstances will be evaluated and, as necessary, addressed 

by qualified professionals. Hence, the standard for reporting is only “reasonable cause,” not 

“certainty.” 

 Abuse that leaves physical marks is relatively easy to recognize. Some forms of neglect are 

also visible, such as malnutrition or young children left unattended. Criminal assault and certain 

sex crimes constitute child abuse, as does allowing a child to be in a place where 

methamphetamines are manufactured. Other kinds of child abuse, such as mental injury, may 

be more difficult to detect, particularly where contact with the child is limited. The mandatory 

reporting law does not require lawyers to conduct investigations into suspected child abuse, 

but lawyers should make reasonable inquiry where possible to follow up on initial observations 

or information that appears to involve child abuse to ensure that they have “reasonable cause” 

to believe that abuse has occurred. 

The Oregon Department of Human Services publishes a booklet entitled “What You Can 

Do About Child Abuse--A Guide for Mandatory Reporters” that lawyers may find helpful. It is 
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available on-line at http://dhsforms.hr.state.or.us/Forms/Served/DE9061.pdf. DHS will also 

answer questions and consult about whether a situation should be reported. 

 

Question 6: Are There Any Exceptions To The Reporting Requirement? 

 There are three exceptions to the statutory reporting requirement:  

A Lawyers, together with clergy, psychiatrists, psychologists and guardian ad litems 

appointed under ORS 419B.231 are not required to report information “communicated 

by a person if the communication is privileged under ORS 40.225 to 40.295 or 

419B.234(6).”  

B A lawyer is also not required to report child abuse based on information 

communicated to the lawyer “in the course of representing a client, if disclosure of the 

information would be detrimental to the client.” 

C No official is required to report if the information about child abuse is acquired “by 

reason of a report” or “by reason of a proceeding arising out of a report” made under 

ORS 419B.010, provided the official “reasonably believes that the information is already 

known by a law enforcement agency or the Department of Human Services.” ORS 

419B.010(2). 

A. Privileged Communications 

The first exception relates to statutory privileges. Lawyers are not required to report 

information that is “privileged under ORS 40.225 to 40.295.” ORS 40.225 is the lawyer-client 

privilege.2 The reference, however, encompasses thirteen other privileges: psychotherapist-

                                                 

2 A client has a privilege to refuse to disclose and to prevent any other person from disclosing 

confidential communications made for the purpose of facilitating the rendition of professional 

legal services to the client. A “confidential communication” is one that is “not intended to be 

disclosed to third persons other than those to whom disclosure is in furtherance of the 

rendition of professional legal services to the client or those reasonably necessary for the 

transmission of the communication.” Confidential communications include those (1) between 

the client or the client’s representative and the client’s lawyer or a representative of the 

lawyer, (2) between the client’s lawyer and the lawyer’s representative, (3) by the client or the 

client’s lawyer to a lawyer representing another in a matter of common interest, (4) between 
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patient (40.230), physician-patient (40.235), nurse-patient (40.240), school employee-student 

(40.245), clinical social worker-client (40.250), husband-wife (40.255), clergy-penitent (40.260), 

counselor-client (40.262), stenographer-employer (40.265), public officer (40.270), disabled 

person-sign language interpreter (40.272), non-English speaking person-interpreter (40.273), 

and informer (40.275). 

 Clearly, if a lawyer learns in a privileged communication with a client that the client has 

abused a child, the lawyer is not required to report. What, however, of information protected 

by one of the other privileges contained in ORS 40.225 to 40.295? Can ORS 419B.010(1) be read  

to also exempt a lawyer from reporting information that is protected by any one of the other 

thirteen privileges even if it was not, for some reason, covered by the attorney-client privilege? 

For instance, what if the lawyer receives a report containing the client’s disclosure to a 

psychotherapist that the client committed child abuse, but the client has never made the 

disclosure directly to the lawyer. Is the lawyer exempted from reporting the information 

because it is protected by the psychotherapist-patient privilege? Or is the psychotherapist-

patient privilege lost when the report is delivered to the lawyer? The first question to ask in a 

situation such as the foregoing is whether the information continues to be privileged; if so, 

there remains the unanswered question of whether a lawyer is excepted from reporting the 

information protected by the other privileges. 

 Although the plain language of the statute suggests that lawyers, psychiatrists, 

psychologists and clergy are excused from reporting information protected by all the statutory 

privileges, there is no authority interpreting the scope of the privilege exception. Given that 

absence of authority and the broad protective purpose behind the statute, prudence may 

dictate a less expansive reading. 

B. Information Detrimental to Client if Disclosed 

 The second exception to mandatory reporting applies only to lawyers, and tracks to some 

extent a lawyer’s ethical obligation to protect confidential client information. Lawyers are 

prohibited by Oregon RPC 1.6(a) from revealing “information relating to the representation of a 

client.” “Information relating to the representation of a client” is defined in Oregon RPC 1.0(f) 

                                                                                                                                                             

representatives of the client or between the client and a representative of a client, or (5) 
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as both “information protected by the lawyer-client privilege under applicable law” and “other 

information gained in a current or former professional relationship that the client has 

requested be held inviolate or the disclosure of which would be embarrassing or would be likely 

to be detrimental to the client.”3 

 Clearly then, “information relating to the representation” is not limited to information that 

is privileged because communicated by the client. Information protected under Oregon RPC 1.6 

includes information learned from witnesses and other third parties as well as information 

imparted by the client that is, for some reason, not covered by the privilege. All that is required 

is that it be gained during the course of the professional relationship between the lawyer and 

the client, and either that the client has requested it be “held inviolate” or that it would be 

embarrassing or detrimental to the client if revealed.  

 In creating the statutory exception for some of the information that would be protected by 

Oregon RPC 1.6,4 the legislature limited it to information that would be detrimental (not merely 

embarrassing) if disclosed. This appears to be the legislature’s way of reconciling the sanctity of 

the lawyer-client relationship with the interest of protecting children. The legislature appears to 

have concluded that mere embarrassment to a client is not sufficient justification for the lawyer 

to ignore child abuse.  

C. Information Learned from an Official Report 

 The final exception to the reporting requirement applies to all mandatory reporters. 

Reporting is not required of information learned “by reason of a report” or “by reason of a 

proceeding arising out of a report” made under the mandatory reporting statute. The exception 

applies if the reporter “reasonably believes that the information is already known by a law 

enforcement agency or the Department of Human Services.” This relatively new exception5 

appears to be the legislature’s attempt to clarify that mandatory reporters do not need to 

                                                                                                                                                             

between lawyers representing the client. OEC 503 (ORS 40.225). 

3 These are the definitions, respectively, of “confidences” and “secrets” from former DR 4-101. 

4 This exception was added by the 2001 Legislature in response to suggestions by lawyers that 

the exception for privileged communications could easily put lawyers in the difficult situation of 

having to violate their ethical duties to clients in order to comply with the statute. 

5 This exception was also added by the 2001 Legislature. 
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report when the only information they have comes from an existing report. The language is not 

crystal clear, however, as it suggests that reports may be made and proceedings may arise 

therefrom, yet the information might not be known to DHS. Although it is difficult to image a 

situation where that could actually be the case, a lawyer who learns about abuse (involving a 

person with whom the lawyer has had contact) from another reporter’s report would be 

prudent to confirm that DHS is aware of the situation. If DHS cannot confirm its existing 

knowledge of the abuse, the lawyer should report. 

 The effect of these statutory exceptions to the duty to report is that most of the 

information a lawyer will be required to report will be that learned outside the lawyer’s “official 

capacity.” For instance, witnessing an act of child abuse in a public place will trigger the 

reporting obligation, despite the fact that the lawyer may not have a lot of information to 

report. Similarly, information that a non-client friend or neighbor is abusing a child or is a victim 

of abuse must be reported. 

Question 7: What If Someone Expresses The Intent To Commit An Act Of Child Abuse?  

 ORS 419B.010(1) mandates reporting only when there is reasonable cause to believe that a 

child “has suffered abuse” or that a person “has abused a child.” It does not require advance 

reporting of possible future child abuse, except where the future abuse constitutes a 

“threatened harm” under ORS 419B.005(G). Threatened harm is defined broadly to include any 

situation that subjects a child to a substantial risk of harm to the child’s health or welfare. 

 If the situation does not involve “threatened harm” within the meaning of ORS 419B.005(G), 

reporting may still be possible.  Oregon RPC 1.6(b)(1) permits a lawyer to reveal confidential 

information to the extent the lawyer reasonably believes necessary “to disclose the intention of 

the lawyer’s client to commit a crime and the information necessary to prevent the crime.” 

There is also no lawyer-client privilege under ORS 40.225(4)(a) “if the services of the lawyer 

were sought or obtained to enable or aid anyone to commit or plan to commit what the client 

knew or reasonably should have known to be a crime or fraud.” Oregon RPC 1.6(b)(2) permits a 

lawyer to reveal information otherwise protected to the extent the lawyer reasonably believes 

necessary “to prevent reasonably certain death or substantial bodily harm,” whether or not a 

crime is involved. When used in reference to degree or extent, “substantial” denotes “a 

material matter of clear and weighty importance.” Oregon RPC 1.0(o). 
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It is not clear that all incidents of child abuse identified in the statute constitute crimes. 

A lawyer whose client has expressed a clear intention to commit child abuse in the future 

should ascertain first whether the intended conduct is a crime or if it puts a person at risk of 

reasonably certain death or substantial bodily harm. If so, the lawyer may disclose information 

necessary to prevent the commission of the crime.  

A voluntary report of suspected future abuse that is not required under ORS 419B.010 

would nevertheless be subject to the same statutory confidentiality and immunity as a 

mandatory report. 

Question 8: Are Lawyers Obligated to Report Child Abuse Occurring Outside Of Oregon?  

 While all states have adopted mandatory child abuse reporting laws, the laws are not 

uniform and lawyers are not mandatory reporters in all jurisdictions. Lawyers who are licensed 

in multiple jurisdictions should be attentive to the statutory requirements of each jurisdiction 

as well as to the interplay between those statutory requirements and the disciplinary rules to 

which the lawyer is subject.  

 Additionally, the scope of Oregon’s mandatory child abuse reporting law is not clear with 

respect to incidents occurring outside of Oregon or involving abusers and victims who are not 

residents of Oregon. Nothing in ORS 419B.010 can be read to limit reporting only to incidents 

occurring within the state. The language of the statute sweeps broadly to include “any child” 

who has been abused and “any person” who has abused on child. On the other hand, if a 

lawyer fails to report an incident of child abuse involving non-Oregonians and learned about 

while visiting another state, it may be difficult for Oregon to assert jurisdiction over the lawyer 

for purposes of citing a violation pursuant to ORS 419B.010(3). 

A lawyer who wishes to act most cautiously should make a report to DHS of the out-of-state 

incident and allow DHS to determine whether and how to deal with the information. Reporting 

in that circumstance does not violate any ethical responsibility of the lawyer or violate any right 

of the persons involved; moreover, it is consistent with the policy behind the child abuse 

reporting statute to protect children not only by requiring reports, but also “to encourage 

voluntary reports.” ORS 419B.007.   

Question 9: What Type Of Report Is Required And To Whom Must It Be Made?  
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 The statute requires that reports be made “immediately,” ORS 419B.010(1), and the report 

must be “an oral report by telephone or otherwise.” ORS 419B.015. That combined language 

suggests that a letter will not suffice. (It has been suggested to the author that a fax, if sent 

during office hours, meets the requirement at least in part because it is transmitted by 

telephone.) In-person or telephone reports are obviously preferred. Reports must be made to 

the local office of the Department of Human Services, its designee, or a law enforcement 

agency within the county where the person making the report is located at the time of the 

contact. In SB 234(2011), the Legislature defined law enforcement agency to mean: 

� A city or municipal police department. 

� A county sheriff’s office. 

� The Oregon State Police. 

� A police department established by a university. 

� A county juvenile department. 

The report must contain, if known: 

� the names and addresses of the child and the parents of the child or other persons 

responsible for care of the child, 

� the child’s age, 

� the nature and extent of the abuse, including any evidence of previous abuse, 

� the explanation given for the abuse, and 

� any other information that might be helpful in establishing the cause of the abuse 

and the identity of the abuser. 

 

Question 10: Are Child Abuse Reports Confidential? 

 Notwithstanding Oregon’s public records law, “reports and records compiled under [the 

mandatory child abuse reporting law] are confidential and are not accessible for public 

inspection.” ORS 419B.035. DHS is required to make the reports available in some 

circumstances and permitted to do so in other circumstances. Id.  In either case, however, the 

name, address or other identifying information about the reporter cannot be disclosed except 

on court order. ORS 419B.035(3).  Recipients of records under DHS’s mandatory or permissive 

disclosure authority are also required to maintain the confidentiality of the records and commit 

a Class A violation for failure to do so. 
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 The confidentiality is not absolute, as a reporter may be required to testify in juvenile or 

criminal court proceedings relating to the report. In criminal proceedings, the alleged abuser’s 

constitutional right to confront witnesses would override the statutory confidentiality. 

 Confidentiality may be enhanced by reporting anonymously. While there is no requirement 

in the statute that the reporter identify him- or herself, it is also clear that the statute does not 

contemplate anonymous reporting and it is likely not preferred by DHS. Police and DHS will 

accept anonymous reports, however. Because of the liability that can result from not reporting, 

lawyers should weigh the desire for confidentiality with the possible need for proof that a 

report was in fact made as required. 

Question 11: What If I Am Wrong, And There Really Was No Abuse? 

 A person who acts in good faith in making a report of child abuse and who has reasonable 

grounds for doing so, is immune from civil or criminal liability for making the report and for the 

content of the report. Reporters have the same immunity with respect to their participation in 

any judicial proceeding resulting from the report. ORS 419B.025. See McDonald v. State of 

Oregon, 71 Or App 751, 694 P2d 569 (1984)(negligence claim against teacher dismissed 

because plaintiffs failed to assert any facts to negate teacher’s good faith and reasonable 

grounds to report child abuse, notwithstanding the fact that the report was later determined to 

be unfounded). 

 The efficacy of the foregoing immunity provision may be open to question, based on the  

Oregon Supreme Court’s decision in Smothers v. Gresham Transfer, Inc., 332 Or 83, 23 P3d 333 

(2001). That case held that the exclusive remedy of the Workers’ Compensation statutes 

violated Article I, Section 10 of the Oregon Constitution to the extent it left the plaintiff without 

a remedy for an injury not compensable under the workers’ compensation system. Similarly, 

the immunity granted by ORS 419B.025 may conflict with the arguable common-law right of an 

alleged abuser to sue a reporter for defamation. 

 This immunity provision will not shield an attorney from civil or criminal liability if he or she 

knowingly made a false report.  In 2011, the Legislature enacted HB 2183, which provides it is a 

Class A violation to knowingly make a false child abuse report in order to influence a custody, 

parenting time, visitation or child support decision. 

 Question 12: Are Lawyers Liable For Not Reporting Child Abuse?  
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 As mentioned above, failure to report child abuse when required under the statute is a 

Class A violation punishable by a fine. The bar is aware of at least one case in which a 

mandatory reporter (not a lawyer) was prosecuted for failing to report. In that case, the official 

informed the parents of the victim, who took immediate and apparently successful steps to 

protect her. The official also informed her supervisor. She was prosecuted for not reporting to 

DHS exactly as the statute required; she was eventually acquitted. 

 Civil liability is also a possibility. There are no reported cases in Oregon imposing liability on 

mandatory reporters for failure to report child abuse, but at least one jury has rendered a 

verdict in favor of a plaintiff based in part on the defendant’s failure to report child abuse. See 

Shin v. Sunriver Prep. School, 199 Or App 352, 111 P3d 352 (2005). A statutory tort theory may 

provide the basis for liability because the mandatory reporting statute “imposes a duty to 

protect a specified group of persons.” Scovill v. City of Astoria, 324 Or 159, 172, 921 P2d 1312 

(1996)(setting forth statutory tort analysis in context of protective custody statute, ORS 

430.399). In addition, the court of appeals has held that a child who had been sexually abused 

could state a claim for negligence against the Children’s Services Division (CSD) by alleging that 

CSD breached its statutory duty to investigate abuse allegations. Blachly v. Portland Police 

Dept., 135 Or App 109, 898 P2d 784 (1995). 

Legislation that would have eliminated any private right of action under the mandatory 

child abuse reporting law was vetoed by the governor during the 1999 legislative session. Other 

jurisdictions have imposed liability on mandatory reporters for failure to report suspected 

abuse. See Singley, Failure to Report Suspected Child Abuse: Civil Liability of Mandated 

Reporters, 19 J Juv L 236 (1998). 

 The Professional Liability Fund also has defended and settled two claims arising out of a 

lawyer’s failure to report when there was no privilege or other exception to the duty to report. 

If you are an attorney in private practice, a claim for failure to report child abuse will be 

covered under the Professional Liability Fund Coverage Plan only if the claim falls within the 

definition of a “Covered Activity,” that is, it arises from an act, error, or omission by a lawyer in 

rendering professional services in his or her capacity as a lawyer. In short, the lawyer must have 

obtained the information about child abuse while on the job, in the context of rendering 

professional legal services. See PLF Plan, Section V—Exclusions from Coverage, Comments to 
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Exclusion 16. Claims not covered by the PLF may also be covered under a lawyer’s commercial 

general liability policy or homeowner’s policy. 

Question 13: What Does The Law Require The Oregon State Bar To Do In Connection With 

Child Abuse Reporting?  

 The Oregon State Bar is required to identify those persons regulated by the bar (Oregon 

lawyers) “who in their official capacity have regular and ongoing contact with children” and to 

notify them every two years of their duty to report child abuse. ORS 418.702(2). The notice 

must also advise them of the symptoms to look for and provide a contact number for further 

information. The bar meets this statutory obligation by publishing notice regularly in the 

Oregon State Bar Bulletin. 

 The Bar is also required to ensure that attorneys complete one hour of training every three 

years on the duties of attorneys under the mandatory child abuse reporting law. ORS 9.114. The 

legislature enacted this educational requirement in 1999, in the apparent belief that lawyers 

were not sufficiently aware of their duties as mandatory child abuse reporters. 

Question 14: Are Lawyers Also Mandatory Reporters Under The Elderly And Disabled Person 

Abuse Prevention Act, ORS 124.050, Et Seq.?  

 Generally, no. ORS 124.060 requires reporting of elder abuse by “any public or private 

official” who comes in contact with the abused elder or with the abuser while the reporter is 

“acting in an official capacity.” The definition of “public or private official” in ORS 124.050(5) 

does not specifically include lawyers. Cf. ORS 419B.005(m). However, “public or private official” 

does include “any public official who comes in contact with elderly persons in the performance 

of the official’s duties.” ORS 124.050(5)(k). Thus, although lawyers generally are not covered by 

the Act, lawyers who are public officials and who come in contact with elderly persons in the 

performance of their official duties must comply with the Elderly Abuse Reporting Act. 

In addition, ORS 441.640 requires any public or private official to report abuse of a 

resident of a long-term care facility. The definition of “public or private official” in this section 

includes legal counsel for the resident, guardian or family member of the resident. ORS 

441.630(6)(h). Long-term care facility means “a facility with permanent facilities that include 

inpatient beds, providing medical services, including nursing services but excluding surgical 
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procedures except as may be permitted by the rules of the director, to provide treatment for 

two or more unrelated patients.” ORS 442.015(2) 

 

Question 15: Are Lawyers Also Mandatory Reporters of Abuse of Adults with Mental Illness 

or Developmental Disabilities? 

Yes.  ORS 430.765(1) provides, “Any public or private official who has reasonable cause to 

believe that any adult with whom the official comes in contact while acting in an official 

capacity, has suffered abuse, or that any person with whom the official comes in contact while 

acting in an official capacity has abused an adult shall report or cause a report to be made in 

the manner required in ORS 430.743.” The legislature has defined “public or private official” to 

include attorneys. ORS 430.735(12)(i). Under the statute, “Adult” means any person 18 years of 

age or older with “(a) A developmental disability who is currently receiving services from a 

community program or facility or was previously determined eligible for services as an adult by 

a community program or facility; or (b) A mental illness who is receiving services from a 

community program or facility.”  ORS 430.735(2). 

The statute defines abuse to include: abandonment, physical abuse, sexual abuse, neglect, 

verbal abuse of a person with a developmental disability, financial exploitation of a person with 

a developmental disability, involuntary seclusion of a person with a developmental disability, 

the wrongful use of a physical or chemical restraint upon a person with a developmental 

disability (unless prescribed by a physician or court order), and any death of an adult caused by 

other than accidental or natural means. ORS 430.735(1). 

Although this mandatory reporting requirement provides an exception for attorneys whose 

reports are based on information that is attorney-client privileged under ORS 40.225, unlike the 

mandatory child abuse reporting requirement, it does not recognize an exception for 

information that is confidential and detrimental to a client if disclosed.  ORS 430.765(2).   

Lawyers who make a report of abuse of an adult with a mental illness or developmental 

disability in good faith, based on reasonable grounds, are entitled to civil immunity, as well as 

immunity “with respect to participating in any judicial proceeding resulting from the report.”  

ORS 430.753. 
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APPENDIX A 

OREGON REVISED STATUTES 2011** 

REPORTING OF CHILD ABUSE—ORS 419B.005 et seq. 

 419B.005 Definitions.  

419B.005. As used in ORS 419B.005 to 

419B.050, unless the context requires 

otherwise: 

(1)(a) “Abuse” means: 

(A) Any assault, as defined in ORS chapter 

163, of a child and any physical injury to a 

child which has been caused by other than 

accidental means, including any injury 

which appears to be at variance with the 

explanation given of the injury. 

(B) Any mental injury to a child, which shall 

include only observable and substantial 

impairment of the child's mental or 

psychological ability to function caused by 

cruelty to the child, with due regard to the 

culture of the child. 

(C) Rape of a child, which includes but is not 

limited to rape, sodomy, unlawful sexual 

penetration and incest, as those acts are 

described in ORS chapter 163. 

(D) Sexual abuse, as described in ORS 

chapter 163. 

(E) Sexual exploitation, including but not 

limited to: 

(i) Contributing to the sexual delinquency of 

a minor, as defined in ORS chapter 163, and 

any other conduct which allows, employs, 

authorizes, permits, induces or encourages 

a child to engage in the performing for 

people to observe or the photographing, 

filming, tape recording or other exhibition 

which, in whole or in part, depicts sexual 

conduct or contact, as defined in ORS 

167.002 or described in ORS 163.665 and 

163.670, sexual abuse involving a child or 

rape of a child, but not including any 

conduct which is part of any investigation 

conducted pursuant to ORS 419B.020 or 

which is designed to serve educational or 

other legitimate purposes; and 

(ii) Allowing, permitting, encouraging or 

hiring a child to engage in prostitution or to 

patronize a prostitute, as defined in ORS 

chapter 167. 

(F) Negligent treatment or maltreatment of 

a child, including but not limited to the 

failure to provide adequate food, clothing, 

shelter or medical care that is likely to 

endanger the health or welfare of the child. 

(G) Threatened harm to a child, which 

means subjecting a child to a substantial 

risk of harm to the child's health or welfare. 

(H) Buying or selling a person under 18 

years of age as described in ORS 163.537. 

(I) Permitting a person under 18 years of 

age to enter or remain in or upon premises 

where methamphetamines are being 

manufactured. 

(J) Unlawful exposure to a controlled 

substance, as defined in ORS 475.005, that 

subjects a child to a substantial risk of harm 

to the child's health or safety. 

(b) “Abuse” does not include reasonable 

discipline unless the discipline results in one 

of the conditions described in paragraph (a) 

of this subsection. 
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(2) “Child” means an unmarried person who 

is under 18 years of age. 

(3) “Higher education institution” means: 

(a) A community college as defined in ORS 

341.005; 

(b) A public university listed in ORS 352.002; 

(c) The Oregon Health and Science 

University; and 

(d) A private institution of higher education 

located in Oregon. 

(4) “Law enforcement agency” means: 

(a) A city or municipal police department. 

(b) A county sheriff's office. 

(c) The Oregon State Police. 

(d) A police department established by a 

university under ORS 352.383. 

(e) A county juvenile department. 

(5) “Public or private official” means: 

(a) Physician, osteopathic physician, 

physician assistant, naturopathic physician, 

podiatric physician and surgeon, including 

any intern or resident. 

(b) Dentist. 

(c) School employee, including an employee 

of a higher education institution. 

(d) Licensed practical nurse, registered 

nurse, nurse practitioner, nurse's aide, 

home health aide or employee of an in-

home health service. 

(e) Employee of the Department of Human 

Services, Oregon Health Authority,  Early 

Learning Council, Youth Development 

Council Child Care Division of the 

Employment Department, the Oregon 

Youth Authority, a county health 

department, a community mental health 

program, a community developmental 

disabilities program, a county juvenile 

department, a licensed child-caring agency 

or an alcohol and drug treatment program. 

 (f) Peace officer. 

(g) Psychologist. 

(h) Member of the clergy. 

(i) Regulated social worker. 

(j) Optometrist. 

(k) Chiropractor. 

(L) Certified provider of foster care, or an 

employee thereof. 

(m) Attorney. 

(n) Licensed professional counselor. 

(o) Licensed marriage and family therapist. 

(p) Firefighter or emergency medical 

services provider. 

(q) A court appointed special advocate, as 

defined in ORS 419A.004. 

(r) A child care provider registered or 

certified under ORS 657A.030 and 657A.250 

to 657A.450. 

(s) Member of the Legislative Assembly. 

(t) Physical, speech or occupational 

therapist. 

(u) Audiologist. 

(v) Speech-language pathologist. 

(w) Employee of the Teacher Standards and 

Practices Commission directly involved in 

investigations or discipline by the 

commission. 

(x) Pharmacist. 

(y) An operator of a preschool recorded 

program under ORS 657A.255. 

(z) An operator of a school-age recorded 

program under ORS 657A.257. 

(aa) Employee of a private agency or 

organization facilitating the provision of 
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respite services, as defined in ORS 418.205, 

for parents pursuant to a properly executed 

power of attorney under ORS 109.056. 

(bb) Employee of a public or private 

organization providing child-related services 

or activities: 

(A) Including but not limited to youth 

groups or centers, scout groups or camps, 

summer or day camps, survival camps or 

groups, centers or camps that are operated 

under the guidance, supervision or auspices 

of religious, public or private educational 

systems or community service 

organizations; and 

(B) Excluding community-based, nonprofit 

organizations whose primary purpose is to 

provide confidential, direct services to 

victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, 

stalking or human trafficking. 

(cc) A coach, assistant coach or trainer of an 

amateur, semiprofessional or professional 

athlete, if compensated and if the athlete is 

a child. 

 

419B.007 Policy. The Legislative Assembly 

finds that for the purpose of facilitating the 

use of protective social services to prevent 

further abuse, safeguard and enhance the 

welfare of abused children, and preserve 

family life when consistent with the 

protection of the child by stabilizing the 

family and improving parental capacity, it is 

necessary and in the public interest to 

require mandatory reports and 

investigations of abuse of children and to 

encourage voluntary reports. [1993 c.546 

§13] 

  

      419B.010 Duty of officials to report 

child abuse; exceptions; penalty. (1) Any 

public or private official having reasonable 

cause to believe that any child with whom 

the official comes in contact has suffered 

abuse or that any person with whom the 

official comes in contact has abused a child 

shall immediately report or cause a report 

to be made in the manner required in ORS 

419B.015. Nothing contained in ORS 40.225 

to 40.295 or 419B.234 (6) affects the duty 

to report imposed by this section, except 

that a psychiatrist, psychologist, member of 

the clergy, attorney or guardian ad litem 

appointed under ORS 419B.231 is not 

required to report such information 

communicated by a person if the 

communication is privileged under ORS 

40.225 to 40.295 or 419B.234 (6). An 

attorney is not required to make a report 

under this section by reason of information 

communicated to the attorney in the course 

of representing a client if disclosure of the 

information would be detrimental to the 

client. 

      (2) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of 

this section, a report need not be made 

under this section if the public or private 

official acquires information relating to 

abuse by reason of a report made under 

this section, or by reason of a proceeding 

arising out of a report made under this 

section, and the public or private official 

reasonably believes that the information is 

already known by a law enforcement 

agency or the Department of Human 

Services. 

      (3) The duty to report under this section is 

personal to the public or private official alone, 

regardless of whether the official is employed 

by, a volunteer of or a representative or agent 

for any type of entity or organization that 

employs persons or uses persons as volunteers 

who are public or private officials in its 

operations. 

      (4) The duty to report under this section 

exists regardless of whether the entity or 

organization that employs the public or private 

official or uses the official as a volunteer has its 

own procedures or policies for reporting abuse 

internally within the entity or organization. 
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      (5) A person who violates subsection (1) of 

this section commits a Class A violation. 

Prosecution under this subsection shall be 

commenced at any time within 18 months after 

commission of the offense. 

 

      419B.015 Report form and content; 

notice. (1)(a) A person making a report of 

child abuse, whether the report is made 

voluntarily or is required by ORS 419B.010, 

shall make an oral report by telephone or 

otherwise to the local office of the 

Department of Human Services, to the 

designee of the department or to a law 

enforcement agency within the county 

where the person making the report is 

located at the time of the contact. The 

report shall contain, if known, the names 

and addresses of the child and the parents 

of the child or other persons responsible for 

care of the child, the child’s age, the nature 

and extent of the abuse, including any 

evidence of previous abuse, the explanation 

given for the abuse and any other 

information that the person making the 

report believes might be helpful in 

establishing the cause of the abuse and the 

identity of the perpetrator. 

      (b) When a report of child abuse is 

received by the department, the 

department shall notify a law enforcement 

agency within the county where the report 

was made. When a report of child abuse is 

received by a designee of the department, 

the designee shall notify, according to the 

contract, either the department or a law 

enforcement agency within the county 

where the report was made. When a report 

of child abuse is received by a law 

enforcement agency, the agency shall notify 

the local office of the department within 

the county where the report was made. 

      (2) When a report of child abuse is 

received under subsection (1)(a) of this 

section, the entity receiving the report shall 

make the notification required by 

subsection (1)(b) of this section according 

to rules adopted by the department under 

ORS 419B.017. 

      (3)(a) When a report alleging that a child 

or ward in substitute care may have been 

subjected to abuse is received by the 

department, the department shall notify 

the attorney for the child or ward, the 

child’s or ward’s court appointed special 

advocate, the parents of the child or ward 

and any attorney representing a parent of 

the child or ward that a report has been 

received. 

      (b) The name and address of and other 

identifying information about the person 

who made the report may not be disclosed 

under this subsection. Any person or entity 

to whom notification is made under this 

subsection may not release any information 

not authorized by this subsection. 

      (c) The department shall make the 

notification required by this subsection 

within three business days of receiving the 

report of abuse. 

      (d) Notwithstanding the obligation 

imposed by this subsection, the department 

is not required under this subsection to 

notify the parent or parent’s attorney that a 

report of abuse has been received if the 

notification may interfere with an 

investigation or assessment or jeopardize 

the child’s or ward’s safety. [1993 c.546 

§15; 1993 c.734 §1a; 2005 c.250 §1; 2007 

c.237 §1] 

  

      419B.017 Time limits for notification 

between law enforcement agencies and 

Department of Human Services; rules. (1) 

The Department of Human Services shall 

adopt rules establishing: 

      (a) The time within which the 

notification required by ORS 419B.015 (1)(a) 

must be made. At a minimum, the rules 

shall: 
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      (A) Establish which reports of child 

abuse require notification within 24 hours 

after receipt; 

      (B) Provide that all other reports of child 

abuse require notification within 10 days 

after receipt; and 

      (C) Establish criteria that enable the 

department, the designee of the 

department or a law enforcement agency to 

quickly and easily identify reports that 

require notification within 24 hours after 

receipt. 

      (b) How the notification is to be made. 

      (2) The department shall appoint an 

advisory committee to advise the 

department in adopting rules required by 

this section. The department shall include 

as members of the advisory committee 

representatives of law enforcement 

agencies and multidisciplinary teams 

formed pursuant to ORS 418.747 and other 

interested parties. 

      (3) In adopting rules required by this 

section, the department shall balance the 

need for providing other entities with the 

information contained in a report received 

under ORS 419B.015 with the resources 

required to make the notification. 

      (4) The department may recommend 

practices and procedures to local law 

enforcement agencies to meet the 

requirements of rules adopted under this 

section. [2005 c.250 §3] 

  

      Note: 419B.017 was added to and made 

a part of 419B.005 to 419B.050 by 

legislative action but was not added to any 

smaller series therein. See Preface to 

Oregon Revised Statutes for further 

explanation. 

  

      419B.020 Duty of department or law 

enforcement agency receiving report; 

investigation; notice to parents; physical 

examination; child’s consent; notice at 

conclusion of investigation. (1) If the 

Department of Human Services or a law 

enforcement agency receives a report of 

child abuse, the department or the agency 

shall immediately: 

      (a) Cause an investigation to be made to 

determine the nature and cause of the 

abuse of the child; and 

      (b) Notify the Child Care Division if the 

alleged child abuse occurred in a child care 

facility as defined in ORS 657A.250. 

      (2) If the abuse reported in subsection 

(1) of this section is alleged to have 

occurred at a child care facility: 

      (a) The department and the law 

enforcement agency shall jointly determine 

the roles and responsibilities of the 

department and the agency in their 

respective investigations; and 

      (b) The department and the agency shall 

each report the outcomes of their 

investigations to the Child Care Division. 

      (3) If the law enforcement agency 

conducting the investigation finds 

reasonable cause to believe that abuse has 

occurred, the law enforcement agency shall 

notify by oral report followed by written 

report the local office of the department. 

The department shall provide protective 

social services of its own or of other 

available social agencies if necessary to 

prevent further abuses to the child or to 

safeguard the child’s welfare. 

      (4) If a child is taken into protective 

custody by the department, the department 

shall promptly make reasonable efforts to 

ascertain the name and address of the 

child’s parents or guardian. 

      (5)(a) If a child is taken into protective 

custody by the department or a law 

enforcement official, the department or law 

enforcement official shall, if possible, make 

reasonable efforts to advise the parents or 

guardian immediately, regardless of the 

time of day, that the child has been taken 
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into custody, the reasons the child has been 

taken into custody and general information 

about the child’s placement, and the 

telephone number of the local office of the 

department and any after-hours telephone 

numbers. 

      (b) Notice may be given by any means 

reasonably certain of notifying the parents 

or guardian, including but not limited to 

written, telephonic or in-person oral 

notification. If the initial notification is not 

in writing, the information required by 

paragraph (a) of this subsection also shall 

be provided to the parents or guardian in 

writing as soon as possible. 

      (c) The department also shall make a 

reasonable effort to notify the noncustodial 

parent of the information required by 

paragraph (a) of this subsection in a timely 

manner. 

      (d) If a child is taken into custody while 

under the care and supervision of a person 

or organization other than the parent, the 

department, if possible, shall immediately 

notify the person or organization that the 

child has been taken into protective 

custody. 

      (6) If a law enforcement officer or the 

department, when taking a child into 

protective custody, has reasonable cause to 

believe that the child has been affected by 

sexual abuse and rape of a child as defined 

in ORS 419B.005 (1)(a)(C) and that physical 

evidence of the abuse exists and is likely to 

disappear, the court may authorize a 

physical examination for the purposes of 

preserving evidence if the court finds that it 

is in the best interest of the child to have 

such an examination. Nothing in this section 

affects the authority of the department to 

consent to physical examinations of the 

child at other times. 

      (7) A minor child of 12 years of age or 

older may refuse to consent to the 

examination described in subsection (6) of 

this section. The examination shall be 

conducted by or under the supervision of a 

physician licensed under ORS chapter 677 

or a nurse practitioner licensed under ORS 

chapter 678 and, whenever practicable, 

trained in conducting such examinations. 

      (8) When the department completes an 

investigation under this section, if the 

person who made the report of child abuse 

provided contact information to the 

department, the department shall notify 

the person about whether contact with the 

child was made, whether the department 

determined that child abuse occurred and 

whether services will be provided. The 

department is not required to disclose 

information under this subsection if the 

department determines that disclosure is 

not permitted under ORS 419B.035. [1993 

c.546 §16; 1993 c.622 §7a; 1997 c.130 §13; 

1997 c.703 §1; 1997 c.873 §33; 2007 c.501 

§4; 2007 c.781 §1] 

  

      419B.022 Short title. ORS 419B.023 and 

419B.024 shall be known and may be cited 

as “Karly’s Law.” [2007 c.674 §1] 

  

      Note: 419B.022 was enacted into law by 

the Legislative Assembly but was not added 

to or made a part of ORS chapter 419B or 

any series therein by legislative action. See 

Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for 

further explanation. 

  

      419B.023 Duties of person conducting 

investigation under ORS 419B.020. (1) As 

used in this section: 

      (a) “Designated medical professional” 

means the person described in ORS 418.747 

(9) or the person’s designee. 

      (b) “Suspicious physical injury” includes, 

but is not limited to: 

      (A) Burns or scalds; 

      (B) Extensive bruising or abrasions on 

any part of the body; 
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      (C) Bruising, swelling or abrasions on the 

head, neck or face; 

      (D) Fractures of any bone in a child 

under the age of three; 

      (E) Multiple fractures in a child of any 

age; 

      (F) Dislocations, soft tissue swelling or 

moderate to severe cuts; 

      (G) Loss of the ability to walk or move 

normally according to the child’s 

developmental ability; 

      (H) Unconsciousness or difficulty 

maintaining consciousness; 

      (I) Multiple injuries of different types; 

      (J) Injuries causing serious or protracted 

disfigurement or loss or impairment of the 

function of any bodily organ; or 

      (K) Any other injury that threatens the 

physical well-being of the child. 

      (2) If a person conducting an 

investigation under ORS 419B.020 observes 

a child who has suffered suspicious physical 

injury and the person is certain or has a 

reasonable suspicion that the injury is or 

may be the result of abuse, the person 

shall, in accordance with the protocols and 

procedures of the county multidisciplinary 

child abuse team described in ORS 418.747: 

      (a) Immediately photograph or cause to 

have photographed the suspicious physical 

injuries in accordance with ORS 419B.028; 

and 

      (b) Ensure that a designated medical 

professional conducts a medical assessment 

within 48 hours, or sooner if dictated by the 

child’s medical needs. 

      (3) The requirement of subsection (2) of 

this section shall apply: 

      (a) Each time suspicious physical injury is 

observed by Department of Human Services 

or law enforcement personnel: 

      (A) During the investigation of a new 

allegation of abuse; or 

      (B) If the injury was not previously 

observed by a person conducting an 

investigation under ORS 419B.020; and 

      (b) Regardless of whether the child has 

previously been photographed or assessed 

during an investigation of an allegation of 

abuse. 

      (4)(a) Department or law enforcement 

personnel shall make a reasonable effort to 

locate a designated medical professional. If 

after reasonable efforts a designated 

medical professional is not available to 

conduct a medical assessment within 48 

hours, the child shall be evaluated by an 

available physician. 

      (b) If the child is evaluated by a health 

care provider as defined in ORS 127.505 

other than a designated medical 

professional, the health care provider shall 

make photographs, clinical notes, diagnostic 

and testing results and any other relevant 

materials available to the designated 

medical professional for consultation within 

72 hours following evaluation of the child. 

      (c) The person conducting the medical 

assessment may consult with and obtain 

records from the child’s regular pediatrician 

or family physician under ORS 419B.050. 

      (5) Nothing in this section prevents a 

person conducting a child abuse 

investigation from seeking immediate 

medical treatment from a hospital 

emergency room or other medical provider 

for a child who is physically injured or 

otherwise in need of immediate medical 

care. 

      (6) If the child described in subsection 

(2) of this section is less than five years of 

age, the designated medical professional 

may, within 14 days, refer the child for a 

screening for early intervention services or 

early childhood special education, as those 

terms are defined in ORS 343.035. The 

referral may not indicate the child is subject 

to a child abuse investigation unless written 
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consent is obtained from the child’s parent 

authorizing such disclosure. If the child is 

already receiving those services, or is 

enrolled in the Head Start program, a 

person involved in the delivery of those 

services to the child shall be invited to 

participate in the county multidisciplinary 

child abuse team’s review of the case and 

shall be provided with paid time to do so by 

the person’s employer. 

      (7) Nothing in this section limits the 

rights provided to minors in ORS chapter 

109 or the ability of a minor to refuse to 

consent to the medical assessment 

described in this section. [2007 c.674 §3; 

2009 c.296 §1] 

  

      Note: 419B.023 was added to and made 

a part of 419B.005 to 419B.050 by 

legislative action but was not added to any 

smaller series therein. See Preface to 

Oregon Revised Statutes for further 

explanation. 

  

      419B.024 Critical Incident Response 

Team for child fatality; rules. (1) The 

Department of Human Services shall assign 

a Critical Incident Response Team within 24 

hours after the department determines that 

a child fatality was likely the result of child 

abuse or neglect if: 

      (a) The child was in the custody of the 

department at the time of death; or 

      (b) The child was the subject of a child 

protective services assessment by the 

department within the 12 months 

preceding the fatality. 

      (2) During the course of its review of the 

case, the Critical Incident Response Team 

may include or consult with the district 

attorney from the county in which the 

incident resulting in the fatality occurred. 

      (3) The department shall adopt rules 

necessary to carry out the provisions of this 

section. The rules adopted by the 

department shall substantially conform 

with the department’s child welfare 

protocol regarding Notification and Review 

of Critical Incidents. [2007 c.674 §4] 

  

      Note: 419B.024 was enacted into law by 

the Legislative Assembly but was not added 

to or made a part of ORS chapter 419B or 

any series therein by legislative action. See 

Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for 

further explanation. 

  

      419B.025 Immunity of person making 

report in good faith. Anyone participating 

in good faith in the making of a report of 

child abuse and who has reasonable 

grounds for the making thereof shall have 

immunity from any liability, civil or criminal, 

that might otherwise be incurred or 

imposed with respect to the making or 

content of such report. Any such participant 

shall have the same immunity with respect 

to participating in any judicial proceeding 

resulting from such report. [1993 c.546 §17] 

  

      419B.028 Photographing child during 

investigation; photographs as records. (1) 

In carrying out its duties under ORS 

419B.020, any law enforcement agency or 

the Department of Human Services may 

photograph or cause to have photographed 

any child subject of the investigation for 

purposes of preserving evidence of the 

child’s condition at the time of the 

investigation. Photographs of the anal or 

genital region may be taken only by medical 

personnel. 

      (2) When a child is photographed 

pursuant to ORS 419B.023, the person 

taking the photographs or causing to have 

the photographs taken shall, within 48 

hours or by the end of the next regular 

business day, whichever occurs later: 

      (a) Provide hard copies or prints of the 

photographs and, if available, copies of the 
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photographs in an electronic format to the 

designated medical professional described 

in ORS 418.747 (9); and 

      (b) Place hard copies or prints of the 

photographs and, if available, copies of the 

photographs in an electronic format in any 

relevant files pertaining to the child 

maintained by the law enforcement agency 

or the department. 

      (3) For purposes of ORS 419B.035, 

photographs taken under authority of this 

section shall be considered records. [1993 

c.546 §18; 2007 c.674 §5] 

  

      419B.030 Central registry of reports. (1) 

A central state registry shall be established 

and maintained by the Department of 

Human Services. The local offices of the 

department shall report to the state registry 

in writing when an investigation has shown 

reasonable cause to believe that a child’s 

condition was the result of abuse even if 

the cause remains unknown. Each registry 

shall contain current information from 

reports cataloged both as to the name of 

the child and the name of the family. 

      (2) When the department provides 

specific case information from the central 

state registry, the department shall include 

a notice that the information does not 

necessarily reflect any subsequent 

proceedings that are not within the 

jurisdiction of the department. [1993 c.546 

§19] 

  

419B.035. (1) Notwithstanding the 

provisions of ORS 192.001 to 192.170, 

192.210 to 192.505 and 192.610 to 192.990 

relating to confidentiality and accessibility 

for public inspection of public records and 

public documents, reports and records 

compiled under the provisions of ORS 

419B.010 to 419B.050 are confidential and 

may not be disclosed except as provided in 

this section. The Department of Human 

Services shall make the records available to: 

(a) Any law enforcement agency or a child 

abuse registry in any other state for the 

purpose of subsequent investigation of 

child abuse; 

(b) Any physician, at the request of the 

physician, regarding any child brought to 

the physician or coming before the 

physician for examination, care or 

treatment; 

(c) Attorneys of record for the child or 

child's parent or guardian in any juvenile 

court proceeding; 

(d) Citizen review boards established by the 

Judicial Department for the purpose of 

periodically reviewing the status of children, 

youths and youth offenders under the 

jurisdiction of the juvenile court under ORS 

419B.100 and 419C.005. Citizen review 

boards may make such records available to 

participants in case reviews; 

(e) A court appointed special advocate in 

any juvenile court proceeding in which it is 

alleged that a child has been subjected to 

child abuse or neglect; 

(f) The Child Care Division for certifying, 

registering or otherwise regulating child 

care facilities; 

(g) The Office of Children's Advocate; 

(h) The Teacher Standards and Practices 

Commission for investigations conducted 

under ORS 342.176 involving any child or 

any student in grade 12 or below; and 

(i) Any person, upon request to the 

Department of Human Services, if the 

reports or records requested regard an 

incident in which a child, as the result of 

abuse, died or suffered serious physical 

injury as defined in ORS 161.015. Reports or 

records disclosed under this paragraph 

must be disclosed in accordance with ORS 

192.410 to 192.505; and 
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(j) The Child Care Division of the 

Employment Department for purposes of 

ORS 657A.030 (8)(g). 

(2)(a) When disclosing reports and records 

pursuant to subsection (1)(i) of this section, 

the Department of Human Services may 

exempt from disclosure the names, 

addresses and other identifying information 

about other children, witnesses, victims or 

other persons named in the report or 

record if the department determines, in 

written findings, that the safety or well-

being of a person named in the report or 

record may be jeopardized by disclosure of 

the names, addresses or other identifying 

information, and if that concern outweighs 

the public's interest in the disclosure of that 

information. 

(b) If the Department of Human Services 

does not have a report or record of abuse 

regarding a child who, as the result of 

abuse, died or suffered serious physical 

injury as defined in ORS 161.015, the 

department may disclose that information. 

(3) The Department of Human Services may 

make reports and records compiled under 

the provisions of ORS 419B.010 to 419B.050 

available to any person, administrative 

hearings officer, court, agency, organization 

or other entity when the department 

determines that such disclosure is 

necessary to administer its child welfare 

services and is in the best interests of the 

affected child, or that such disclosure is 

necessary to investigate, prevent or treat 

child abuse and neglect, to protect children 

from abuse and neglect or for research 

when the Director of Human Services gives 

prior written approval. The Department of 

Human Services shall adopt rules setting 

forth the procedures by which it will make 

the disclosures authorized under this 

subsection or subsection (1) or (2) of this 

section. The name, address and other 

identifying information about the person 

who made the report may not be disclosed 

pursuant to this subsection and subsection 

(1) of this section. 

(4) A law enforcement agency may make 

reports and records compiled under the 

provisions of ORS 419B.010 to 419B.050 

available to other law enforcement 

agencies, district attorneys, city attorneys 

with criminal prosecutorial functions and 

the Attorney General when the law 

enforcement agency determines that 

disclosure is necessary for the investigation 

or enforcement of laws relating to child 

abuse and neglect. 

(5) A law enforcement agency, upon 

completing an investigation and closing the 

file in a specific case relating to child abuse 

or neglect, shall make reports and records 

in the case available upon request to any 

law enforcement agency or community 

corrections agency in this state, to the 

Department of Corrections or to the State 

Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision 

for the purpose of managing and 

supervising offenders in custody or on 

probation, parole, post-prison supervision 

or other form of conditional or supervised 

release. A law enforcement agency may 

make reports and records compiled under 

the provisions of ORS 419B.010 to 419B.050 

available to law enforcement, community 

corrections, corrections or parole agencies 

in an open case when the law enforcement 

agency determines that the disclosure will 

not interfere with an ongoing investigation 

in the case. The name, address and other 

identifying information about the person 

who made the report may not be disclosed 

under this subsection or subsection (6)(b) of 

this section. 

(6)(a) Any record made available to a law 

enforcement agency or community 

corrections agency in this state, to the 

Department of Corrections or the State 

Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision 
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or to a physician in this state, as authorized 

by subsections (1) to (5) of this section, shall 

be kept confidential by the agency, 

department, board or physician. Any record 

or report disclosed by the Department of 

Human Services to other persons or entities 

pursuant to subsections (1) and (3) of this 

section shall be kept confidential. 

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) of this 

subsection: 

(A) A law enforcement agency, a 

community corrections agency, the 

Department of Corrections and the State 

Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision 

may disclose records made available to 

them under subsection (5) of this section to 

each other, to law enforcement, community 

corrections, corrections and parole agencies 

of other states and to authorized treatment 

providers for the purpose of managing and 

supervising offenders in custody or on 

probation, parole, post-prison supervision 

or other form of conditional or supervised 

release. 

(B) A person may disclose records made 

available to the person under subsection 

(1)(i) of this section if the records are 

disclosed for the purpose of advancing the 

public interest. 

(7) An officer or employee of the 

Department of Human Services or of a law 

enforcement agency or any person or entity 

to whom disclosure is made pursuant to 

subsections (1) to (6) of this section may 

not release any information not authorized 

by subsections (1) to (6) of this section. 

(8) As used in this section, “law 

enforcement agency” has the meaning 

given that term in ORS 181.010. 

(9) A person who violates subsection (6)(a) 

or (7) of this section commits a Class A 

violation. 

   

      419B.040 Certain privileges not grounds 

for excluding evidence in court 

proceedings on child abuse. (1) In the case 

of abuse of a child, the privileges created in 

ORS 40.230 to 40.255, including the 

psychotherapist-patient privilege, the 

physician-patient privilege, the privileges 

extended to nurses, to staff members of 

schools and to regulated social workers and 

the husband-wife privilege, shall not be a 

ground for excluding evidence regarding a 

child’s abuse, or the cause thereof, in any 

judicial proceeding resulting from a report 

made pursuant to ORS 419B.010 to 

419B.050. 

      (2) In any judicial proceedings resulting 

from a report made pursuant to ORS 

419B.010 to 419B.050, either spouse shall 

be a competent and compellable witness 

against the other. [1993 c.546 §21; 2009 

c.442 §37] 
 

      419B.045 Investigation conducted on 

public school premises; notification; role of 

school personnel. If an investigation of a 

report of child abuse is conducted on public 

school premises, the school administrator 

shall first be notified that the investigation 

is to take place, unless the school 

administrator is a subject of the 

investigation. The school administrator or a 

school staff member designated by the 

administrator may, at the investigator’s 

discretion, be present to facilitate the 

investigation. The Department of Human 

Services or the law enforcement agency 

making the investigation shall be advised of 

the child’s disabling conditions, if any, prior 

to any interview with the affected child. A 

school administrator or staff member is not 

authorized to reveal anything that 

transpires during an investigation in which 

the administrator or staff member 

participates nor shall the information 

become part of the child’s school records. 

The school administrator or staff member 

may testify at any subsequent trial resulting 
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from the investigation and may be 

interviewed by the respective litigants prior 

to any such trial. [1993 c.546 §22; 2003 c.14 

§225] 
 

       419B.050 Authority of health care 

provider to disclose information; immunity 

from liability. (1) Upon notice by a law 

enforcement agency, the Department of 

Human Services, a member agency of a 

county multidisciplinary child abuse team or 

a member of a county multidisciplinary 

child abuse team that a child abuse 

investigation is being conducted under ORS 

419B.020, a health care provider must 

permit the law enforcement agency, the 

department, the member agency of the 

county multidisciplinary child abuse team or 

the member of the county multidisciplinary 

child abuse team to inspect and copy 

medical records, including, but not limited 

to, prenatal and birth records, of the child 

involved in the investigation without the 

consent of the child, or the parent or 

guardian of the child. A health care provider 

who in good faith disclosed medical records 

under this section is not civilly or criminally 

liable for the disclosure. 

      (2) As used in this section, “health care 

provider” has the meaning given that term 

in ORS 192.519. [1997 c.873 §27; 1999 

c.537 §3; 2001 c.104 §150; 2005 c.562 §27] 

HB 2183 (2011) (Laws 2011, c. 606, § 2, eff. 

Jan. 1, 2012) provides: 

(1) A person commits the offense of making 

a false report of child abuse if, with the 

intent to influence a custody, parenting 

time, visitation or child support 

decision, the person: 

(a) Makes a false report of child abuse tot 

eh Department of Human Services or a 

law enforcement agency, knowing that 

report is false; or  

(b) With the intent that a public or private 

official make a report of child abuse tot 

eh Department of Human Services or a 

law enforcement agency, makes a false 

report of child abuse to the public or 

private official, knowing that the report 

is false. 

(2) Making a false report of child abuse is a 

Class A violation.
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APPENDIX B 

OREGON REVISED STATUTES 2011 

PRIVILEGES—ORS 40.225 & 40.252 

 

  40.225 Rule 503. Lawyer-client privilege. 

(1) As used in this section, unless the 

context requires otherwise: 

(a) “Client” means a person, public officer, 

corporation, association or other 

organization or entity, either public or 

private, who is rendered professional legal 

services by a lawyer, or who consults a 

lawyer with a view to obtaining professional 

legal services from the lawyer. 

(b) “Confidential communication” means a 

communication not intended to be 

disclosed to third persons other than those 

to whom disclosure is in furtherance of the 

rendition of professional legal services to 

the client or those reasonably necessary for 

the transmission of the communication. 

(c) “Lawyer” means a person authorized, or 

reasonably believed by the client to be 

authorized, to practice law in any state or 

nation. 

(d) “Representative of the client” means: 

(A) A principal, an officer or a director of the 

client; or 

(B) A person who has authority to obtain 

professional legal services, or to act on legal 

advice rendered, on behalf of the client, or 

a person who, for the purpose of 

effectuating legal representation for the 

client, makes or receives a confidential 

communication while acting in the person's 

scope of employment for the client. 

(e) “Representative of the lawyer” means 

one employed to assist the lawyer in the 

rendition of professional legal services, but 

does not include a physician making a 

physical or mental examination under ORCP 

44. 

(2) A client has a privilege to refuse to 

disclose and to prevent any other person 

from disclosing confidential 

communications made for the purpose of 

facilitating the rendition of professional 

legal services to the client: 

(a) Between the client or the client's 

representative and the client's lawyer or a 

representative of the lawyer; 

(b) Between the client's lawyer and the 

lawyer's representative; 

(c) By the client or the client's lawyer to a 

lawyer representing another in a matter of 

common interest; 

(d) Between representatives of the client or 

between the client and a representative of 

the client; or 

(e) Between lawyers representing the 

client. 

(3) The privilege created by this section may 

be claimed by the client, a guardian or 

conservator of the client, the personal 

representative of a deceased client, or the 

successor, trustee, or similar representative 

of a corporation, association, or other 

organization, whether or not in existence. 

The person who was the lawyer or the 

lawyer's representative at the time of the 

communication is presumed to have 

authority to claim the privilege but only on 

behalf of the client. 

(4) There is no privilege under this section: 

(a) If the services of the lawyer were sought 

or obtained to enable or aid anyone to 

commit or plan to commit what the client 

knew or reasonably should have known to 

be a crime or fraud; 

(b) As to a communication relevant to an 

issue between parties who claim through 
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the same deceased client, regardless of 

whether the claims are by testate or 

intestate succession or by inter vivos 

transaction; 

(c) As to a communication relevant to an 

issue of breach of duty by the lawyer to the 

client or by the client to the lawyer; 

(d) As to a communication relevant to an 

issue concerning an attested document to 

which the lawyer is an attesting witness; or 

(e) As to a communication relevant to a 

matter of common interest between two or 

more clients if the communication was 

made by any of them to a lawyer retained 

or consulted in common, when offered in 

an action between any of the clients. 

(5) Notwithstanding ORS 40.280, a privilege 

is maintained under this section for a 

communication made to the office of public 

defense services established under ORS 

151.216 for the purpose of seeking 

preauthorization for or payment of 

nonroutine fees or expenses under ORS 

135.055. 

(6) Notwithstanding subsection (4)(c) of this 

section and ORS 40.280, a privilege is 

maintained under this section for a 

communication that is made to the office of 

public defense services established under 

ORS 151.216 for the purpose of making, or 

providing information regarding, a 

complaint against a lawyer providing public 

defense services. 

(7) Notwithstanding ORS 40.280, a privilege 

is maintained under this section for a 

communication ordered to be disclosed 

under ORS 192.410 to 192.505. 

 

[Laws 1981, c. 892, § 32; Laws 1987, c. 680, 

§ 1; Laws 2005, c. 356, § 1; Laws 2005, c. 

358, § 1; Laws 2007, c. 513, § 3, eff. June 

20, 2007; Laws 2009, c. 516, § 1, eff. Jan. 1, 

2010.] 

40.252 Rule 504-5. Communications 

revealing intent to commit certain crimes. 

(1) In addition to any other limitations on 

privilege that may be imposed by law, there 

is no privilege under ORS 40.225, 40.230 or 

40.250 for communications if: 

      (a) In the professional judgment of the 

person receiving the communications, the 

communications reveal that the declarant 

has a clear and serious intent at the time 

the communications are made to 

subsequently commit a crime involving 

physical injury, a threat to the physical 

safety of any person, sexual abuse or death 

or involving an act described in ORS 

167.322; 

      (b) In the professional judgment of the 

person receiving the communications, the 

declarant poses a danger of committing the 

crime; and 

      (c) The person receiving the 

communications makes a report to another 

person based on the communications. 

      (2) The provisions of this section do not 

create a duty to report any communication 

to any person. 

      (3) A person who discloses a 

communication described in subsection (1) 

of this section, or fails to disclose a 

communication described in subsection (1) 

of this section, is not liable to any other 

person in a civil action for any damage or 

injury arising out of the disclosure or failure 

to disclose. [2001 c.640 §2; 2007 c.731 §4] 
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APPENDIX C 

OREGON REVISED STATUTES 2011 

TRAINING--ORS 418.702 & 9.114 

 

418.702 Training and continuing education for mandatory reporters; notice to persons 

required to report child abuse. (1) The Department of Human Services shall implement a 

training and continuing education curriculum for persons other than law enforcement officers 

required by law to investigate allegations of child abuse. The curriculum shall address the areas 

of training and education necessary to facilitate the skills necessary to investigate reports of 

child abuse and shall include but not be limited to: 

      (a) Assessment of risk to the child; 

      (b) Dynamics of child abuse, child sexual abuse and rape of children; and 

      (c) Legally sound and age appropriate interview and investigatory techniques. 

      (2) The Oregon State Bar and each board that licenses, certifies or registers public and 

private officials required to report child abuse under ORS 419B.010 shall identify those persons 

regulated by the board who in their official capacity have regular and on-going contact with 

children and shall notify those persons every two years of their duty to report child abuse. Such 

notice shall contain what the person is required to report and where such report shall be made 

and also advise of the symptoms to look for and provide a contact number for further 

information. 

      (3) The department shall develop content of the notice for such a mailing. The cost of 

distribution shall be paid by the board. 

      (4) The department shall develop and make available, at cost, training materials that may be 

used at training conferences and other similar events involving such public and private officials, 

as defined in ORS 419B.005. [Formerly 418.749] 

 

 

 

ORS 9.114 Mandatory training on duties relating to reporting child abuse. The Oregon State 

Bar shall require that attorneys complete one hour of training every three years designed to 

provide education on the duties of attorneys under ORS 419B.010. All training under this 

section shall be applied by the bar against the hours of continuing legal education required of 

attorneys as a condition of membership in the bar or as a condition to the practice of law in this 

state. Credit acquired under this section shall be applied first against any requirement of 

continuing legal education relating to ethics. [1999 c.953 §2]
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APPENDIX D 

Selected Oregon Rules of Professional Conduct 

 

 

Rule 1.0  Definitions  

* * * 

(f) “Information relating to the representation of a client” denotes both information protected 

by the attorney-client privilege under applicable law, and other information gained in a current 

or former professional relationship that the client has requested be held inviolate or the 

disclosure of which would be embarrassing or would be likely to be detrimental to the client. 

 
Rule 1.6  Confidentiality of Information 

(a) A lawyer shall not reveal information relating to the representation of a client unless the 

client gives informed consent, the disclosure is impliedly authorized in order to carry out the 

representation or the disclosure is permitted by paragraph (b). 

(b) A lawyer may reveal information relating to the representation of a client to the extent the 

lawyer reasonably believes necessary: 

(1) to disclose the intention of the lawyer's client to commit a crime and the information 

necessary to prevent the crime; 

(2) to prevent reasonably certain death or substantial bodily harm;  

(3) to secure legal advice about the lawyer's compliance with these Rules; 

(4) to establish a claim or defense on behalf of the lawyer in a controversy between the 

lawyer and the client, to establish a defense to a criminal charge or civil claim against the 

lawyer based upon conduct in which the client was involved, or to respond to allegations in 

any proceeding concerning the lawyer's representation of the client;  

(5) to comply with other law, court order, or as permitted by these Rules;  

(6) to provide the following information in discussions preliminary to the sale of a law 

practice under Rule 1.17 with respect to each client potentially subject to the transfer: the 

client's identity; the identities of any adverse parties; the nature and extent of the legal 

services involved; and fee and payment information. A potential purchasing lawyer shall 

have the same responsibilities as the selling lawyer to preserve information relating to the 

representation of such clients whether or not the sale of the practice closes or the client 

ultimately consents to representation by the purchasing lawyer; or 

(7) to comply with the terms of a diversion agreement, probation, 

conditional reinstatement or conditional admission pursuant to BR 2.10, BR 6.2, BR 

8.7or Rule for Admission Rule 6.15. A lawyer serving as a monitor of another lawyer on 

diversion, probation, conditional reinstatement or conditional admission shall have the 

same responsibilities as the monitored lawyer to preserve information relating to the 

representation of the monitored lawyer’s clients, except to the extent reasonably necessary 

to carry out the monitoring lawyer’s responsibilities under the terms of the diversion, 

probation, conditional reinstatement or conditional admission and in any proceeding 

relating thereto. 

 


