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Introduction and History

• Original Juvenile Compact enacted in 1955

• New Juvenile Compact written in 2000, enacted in 2008

• Law in 47 states/territories with more to join (7.1.10)*

• Provides for the welfare and protection of juveniles and 
the public

• Is the only legal process for returning runaways

• Promotes public safety and ensures effective monitoring 
of juveniles moving across state lines
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Introduction and History - cont.

• Every jurisdiction in each member state is subject to ICJ 

rules

• Commission has statutory authority to enforce 

compliance

• Members pay an annual assessment fee

• Every state shall establish an Advisory Council

• Establishes uniform system for reporting, collecting & 

exchanging data

• Rule making authority which has force and effect of 
federal law
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Why is there a Need for an Interstate 

Compact?

• Due to variations in state laws, a person who is 

considered a juvenile in one state may not be 

considered a juvenile in another state

• A person’s status as a juvenile is determined by the 

sending or demanding state

• The Supreme Court has ruled that Compact law is 

special legislation and, as such, supersedes state law. 

[Virginia v West Virginia, 246 US 565 (1918).]
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Other Compacts of Interest

• Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children 
(ICPC)

• Interstate Compact on Mental Health (ICMH)

• Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision 
(ICAOS)

• Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for 
Military Children (MIC3)
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What Situations Require the Return 

of a Juvenile?

Situations where a:

• Non-delinquent juvenile runs away

• Delinquent juvenile runs away

• Juvenile under supervision has a failed placement 
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Release of Non-delinquent 

Juveniles to Parent/Guardian

• Authorities may release a juvenile to their parent/legal 

guardian within the first 24 hours (excluding weekends 

& holidays) without applying Rule 6-102

– Exceptions to this rule are instances where abuse/neglect is 

suspected

• If the juvenile remains in custody beyond 24 hours, the 

holding state’s ICJ Office must be notified

Rule 6-101
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Holding Non-delinquents in Secure 
Facilities

• Non-delinquent juveniles who are endangering 

themselves or others held beyond 24 hours are to be 

held in secure facilities until returned by the home state

OJJDPA Exclusion – Out of State runaways held beyond 

24 hours solely for the purpose of being returned to 

proper custody must be reported

Juveniles held pursuant to the ICJ are excluded from this 

federal requirement

Rule 6-101
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Voluntary Return of Out-of-State 

Juveniles 

• When an out-of-state juvenile is found and detained:
1. Holding state’s ICJ Office will inform home state’s ICJ Office of 

the case

• Home state’s ICJ Office determines juvenile’s 
residency/jurisdictional facts

2. At a court hearing, the judge informs the juvenile of his/her 
rights using ICJ Juvenile Rights Form (optional form)

• Court may appoint counsel or guardian ad litem

If the juvenile agrees to return, the juvenile signs ICJ 

Form III (Consent for Voluntary Return)

Rule 6-102
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Voluntary Return of Out-of-State 

Juveniles – cont.

3. Home state responds to holding state’s court order in 
returning its juvenile

4. Juveniles are returned to home state within 5 business 
days of receipt of ICJ Form III (Consent for Voluntary 
Return)

5. Can be extended with approval from both ICJ 
Offices

Rule 6-102
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Non-voluntary Return of 

Out-of-State Juveniles

1. The appropriate person or authority in the 
home/demanding state shall prepare a written requisition 
within 60 days of notification of refusal of the juvenile to sign 
the consent form for the return of a juvenile who has refused 
to voluntarily return or to request that a court take into 
custody a juvenile that is allegedly located in their 
jurisdiction.

2. Judge in the home state determines if;
- Petitioner is entitled to legal custody
- The juvenile ran away without consent
- The juvenile is an emancipated minor
- It is in the best interest of the juvenile to compel his/her 

return to the home state

Rule 6-103
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Non-voluntary Return of 

Out-of-State Juveniles (cont.)

3. The judge signs the requisition if it is determined that the 
juvenile should be returned

4. The Requisition is addressed to the juvenile court in the 
holding state
Verified by 2 copies of affidavit
Accompanied by 2 certified copies of supporting 
documents that show entitlement

Judgment

Order of Adjudication

Petition alleging delinquency

Birth Certificate

Custody Decree

Letter of Guardianship

Serving Juveniles While 

Protecting Communities

14



8/3/2010

8

Non-voluntary Return of 

Out-of-State Juveniles (cont.) 

5. Home state’s ICJ Office ensures the requisition is in 
order and forwards 2 copies to the ICJ Office in the 
holding state

6. ICJ Office in holding state forwards requisition to the 
court where the juvenile is believed to be located.

7. Maximum time juveniles can be held, pending receipt 
of requisition, is 90 days

8. A hearing commences in the holding state within 30
calendar days of receipt of requisition

9. ICJ Office in the holding state notifies demanding state 
of outcome

Rule 6-1039
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Non-voluntary Return of 

Out-of-State Juveniles  (cont.) 

10. A hearing commences within 30 calendar days of 
receipt of requisition

– Time can be extended by approval of both ICJ offices

– The court may elect counsel or guardian ad litem

– If requisition is in order, the judge orders the return of juvenile 
to home state

– If requisition is not honored, judge shall issue order in writing 
advising why

– Order of return is sent immediately to the holding state’s ICJ 
Office and home state’s ICJ Office

Rule 6-103
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Non-voluntary Return of 

Out-of-State Juveniles  (cont.) 

11. Requisitioned juveniles are accompanied while they 
are being retrieved by the home state unless both ICJ 
offices determine otherwise

– Juveniles are to be retrieved within 5 business days of receipt 
of order by demanding state’s ICJ Office

Rule 6-103
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Warrants

• All warrants must be entered into the National Crime 

Information Center (NCIC) in order for another state to 

pick up juvenile

– Holding state honors all warrants

• Once a juvenile is detained

– demanding state has up to 2 business days to decide if juvenile 

will be retrieved (Rule 6-108)

• Juvenile to be held in secure detention

• “No bond/bail warrants”

– Juvenile remains in custodial detention regardless of individual 

state statute

– Juvenile DOES have opportunity for a hearing     Rule 6-108
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Custodial Detention

• ICJ Office in home state will retrieve juvenile within 5 
business days
– After confirmation that due process rights have been met

– Time period may be extended with approval both ICJ Offices

• Holding state liable for charges of detaining juvenile 
unless
– ICJ Office in home state is non-responsive within the 

5 business day period

• If after 10 business days the home state fails to retrieve 
juvenile
– A judicial hearing will be provided 

– The juvenile may be discharged to parent/legal guardian if 
holding state fails to provide hearing in 10 days

Rule 6-109
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Timeframe for Returning a Juvenile

• After notice, the sending state has 5 business days to 

retrieve the juvenile

– Time limit may be extended with approval of both ICJ Offices

• Decision of sending state to retake juvenile is NOT 

reviewable by the receiving state

– The exception to this rule is if the juvenile is suspected of having 

committed a criminal offense/act of juvenile delinquency in the 

receiving state

Rule 6-104
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New Charges in Holding/

Receiving State

• Juveniles are retrieved only: 

– With the consent of holding/receiving state

– After charges are resolved when pending charges 

exist in holding/receiving state

Rule 6-107
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Form IA/VI & Due Process

• If  the ICJ Application for Compact Services and MOU & 

Waiver Form (Form IA/VI) has the appropriate 

signatures, no further court procedures are required

– The ICJ pre-signed voluntary waiver provides the due process 

requirement for this return

– This form is also used when requesting supervision and must be 

signed by the sending states Judge

• After notifying the sending state’s ICJ Office, an 

accredited officer of the sending state may enter 

receiving state and retake juvenile

– A warrant may be issued if such action is not practical

Rule 6-104
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Form IA/VI
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