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Out-of-State Child Custody and Parenting Time Judgments — 
Information on Registration and Enforcement 

Packet 5C 
 
 An Oregon court may enforce a judgment or order from another state if one parent is not following the provisions 
of the judgment or order and a party is located in Oregon.  The preferred procedure for enforcement starts with 
registration of the out-of-state judgment in an Oregon Circuit Court.  However, if your case involves emergency 
circumstances, you may file your enforcement papers immediately.  In this case, it is recommended that you start the 
registration process at the same time you file your request for enforcement. 
 

1. Process for Registering an Out of State Judgment. 
 
 A. File the following papers with the Circuit Court: 

 
  •  A letter requesting registration and enforcement. 

•  Two copies (one must be certified) of the Out-of-State judgment or Order. 
•  A sworn statement (you may use the Affidavit in Packet 5C) that the order or judgment 
has not been modified and information regarding the custodial status of the child/ren . 

 
 B. Complete Service. 
  
 You must serve any parent or person acting as a parent who has been awarded custody, parenting 
time or visitation in the judgment that you are asking the court to register with the following documents: 

•    the attached Notice (informing them of the right to contest the registration), 
  •    a true copy of the judgment or order you are registering, and 
  •    a true copy of the affidavit you filled out above. 
 
 You may use the Sheriff’s office or a process server to complete this step. 
 
 C. Confirmation of the Registered Order or Judgment. 
  
 Your registration is confirmed after 21 days have passed from the date of service if the party (or 
parties) served do not request a hearing. If no hearing was requested within the 21 day time period, fill 
out the Notice of Confirmation of Registration of Child Custody Determination and serve it to all parties 
that were served with the documents from part B above.  If a hearing is requested, the court will hold a 
hearing to decide whether the registered order or judgment will be confirmed. 
 
2. Filing to Enforce the Judgment or Order. 
 You may request that the Circuit Court enforce the registered order or judgment by using either 
the custody or parenting time enforcement packets (Packets 5A or 5B).   
 

•  For enforcement of PARENTING TIME (VISITATION), use the forms available on 
the OJD Family Law Website-Parenting Plan Enforcement link 
(http://www.courts.oregon.gov/familylaw) which includes forms specifically required by 
the county in which you are seeking enforcement, or if your county does not have these 
forms, use Packet 5A-Parenting Time/Plan Enforcement (Oregon and Out-of-State 
Orders). 

 
•  For enforcement of CUSTODY, use Packet 5B-Custody Enforcement (Oregon and 
Out-of-State Orders/Judgments) and follow the directions for either Oregon or out-of-
state custody judgments, whichever applies to your situation. 


