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Question 1: What is Mandatory Elder Abuse Reporting? 

  The Oregon elder abuse reporting law is found at ORS 124.050 to ORS 124.095. It 

imposes a legal obligation on certain “public and private officials” to report elder abuse. 

Lawyers are included in the definition of “public or private officials” having a duty to report. 

ORS 124.050(9). Physicians; dentists; optometrists; chiropractors; nurses; police officers; 

firefighters; Department of Human Services (DHS) and Oregon Health Authority workers; 

owners and employees of adult foster care facilities; clergy; social workers; psychologists, 

counselors, and psychotherapists; physical, speech and occupational therapists; audiologists; 

speech pathologists; senior center workers; information and referral or outreach workers and 

members of the Legislative Assembly are among the other mandatory reporters. 

  Oregon is in the midst of a demographic shift: As baby boomers age, our population as a 

whole is aging. Each year, over 50,000 Oregonians turn 65 years old. The median age of 

Oregon’s population was 30.3 in 1980, but is forecast to rise to 39.7 by 2020. With advancing 

age come declining health and greater reliance on family members and caregivers. And elder 

abuse is a significant problem. In 2014, DHS investigated and substantiated over 2,500 

instances of elder abuse in Oregon. Nationally, one in ten elders living at home is subject to 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation.  

Question 2: What Are Lawyers Required To Do?  

Elder abuse reporting is a 24-hour-a-day, 7-day-a-week responsibility. Reporting is 

required whenever a lawyer has “reasonable cause to believe that any person 65 years of age 

or older with whom the [lawyer] comes in contact has suffered abuse, or that any person with 

whom the [lawyer] comes in contact has abused a person 65 years of age or older … .” 
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ORS 124.060. The administrative rules encourage voluntary reporting in situations where 

reporting is not mandated. OAR 411-020-0020(2). Failure to report as required by the statute is 

a Class A violation. ORS 124.990. The penalty for a Class A violation is a maximum fine of 

$2,000. ORS 153.018(2)(a). 

  Oregon Rule of Professional Conduct (RPC) 1.6(a) prohibits a lawyer from revealing 

information relating to the representation of a client.1   RPC 1.6(b)(5) permits, but does not 

require, a lawyer to disclose information relating to the representation of a client when 

required by law. A lawyer may report elder abuse as required by law without violating the 

lawyer’s ethical duty of confidentiality to a client.  

Note that when one of the exceptions to reporting applies (Question 6, below), the law 

does not require reporting, and therefore would not permit a lawyer to disclose information 

protected by RPC 1.6. In addition, RPC 1.6(b)(5) permits disclosure only to the extent required 

by law; it does not give a lawyer permission to reveal information about elder abuse that the 

law does not require be reported. A lawyer cannot use the permission in the disciplinary rule to 

justify disclosing information about elder abuse that is not required to be reported by the 

exceptions in ORS 419B.010. 

Question 3: What Is “Reasonable Cause?”  

There are no reported cases applying or interpreting this term specifically in connection 

with the abuse reporting statutes. The Department of Human Services interprets “reasonable 

cause” in related statutes as being equivalent to “reasonable suspicion.” A.F. v. Dep’t of Human 

Res. ex rel. Child Protective Servs. Div., 251 Or App 576, 590, 98 P3d 1127 (2012); Berger v. State 

Office for Services to Children and Families, 195 Or App 587, 590, 98 P3d 1127 (2004). In that 

context, “‘[r]easonable suspicion’ means a reasonable belief given all of the circumstances, 

based upon specific and describable facts, that the suspicious physical injury may be the result 

of abuse.” The rule further explains:  

                                                 

1 Lawyers similarly are required by ORS 9.460 to “maintain the confidences and secrets of … 

clients consistent with the rules of professional conduct … .” ORS 9.460 uses the terminology of 

former DR 4-101, which has been replaced by RPC 1.6. 
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“The belief must be subjectively and objectively reasonable. In other 

words, the person subjectively believes that the injury may be the result of 

abuse, and the belief is objectively reasonable considering all of the 

circumstances. The circumstances that may give rise to a reasonable belief may 

include, but not be limited to, observations, interviews, experience, and training. 

The fact that there are possible non-abuse explanations for the injury does not 

negate reasonable suspicion."  

 

OAR 413-015-0115(37). Similarly, “reasonable suspicion” for an officer to stop an individual in 

the criminal law context is defined as “a belief that is reasonable under the totality of the 

circumstances existing at the time and place the peace officer acts.” ORS 131.605(5). The 

standard is an “objective test of observable facts” and requires the officer “to point to specific 

articulable facts that give rise to a reasonable inference that a person has committed a crime.” 

State v. Ehly, 317 Or 66, 80, 854 P2d 421 (1993).  

 By contrast, the standard of “probable cause” for arrest in the criminal law context is 

generally thought of as a higher standard than that of “reasonable suspicion.” “Probable cause” 

is defined by ORS 131.005(11) as a “substantial objective basis for believing that more likely 

than not an offense has been committed and a person to be arrested has committed it.” In 

State v. Childers, 13 Or App 622, 511 P2d 447 (1973), the court held that a police officer did not 

have probable cause to make a warrantless search for marijuana since he was uncertain 

whether he had smelled it. The court cited the probable cause standard as the existence of 

circumstances that would lead a reasonably prudent person to believe that an event had 

occurred, and distinguished it from “mere suspicion or belief … .” Id. at 629.  

 Interpreting “reasonable cause” in the context of obtaining a subpoena for bank records 

under ORS 192.565(6), the court in State v. McKee, 89 Or App 94, 99, 747 P3d 395 (1987), held 

that a showing of reasonable cause required a recital of known facts, not mere conclusory 

statements. In another case, a merchant was found to have reasonable cause to detain a 

suspected shoplifter when the merchant saw the person leaving the store with unpaid-for 
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merchandise partially concealed in a pocket. Delp v. Zapp’s Drug & Variety Stores, 238 Or 538, 

395 P2d 137 (1964).2  

  A potential “floor” for “reasonable cause” is found in ORS 124.075, which provides 

immunity to reporters for criminal and civil liability. In order to qualify for immunity, the 

reporter must “participat[e] in good faith” in the reporting process, and have “reasonable 

grounds” for the making of the report. Outside the client representation context, attorneys are 

well advised to use this standard for determining when to make a report of potential elder 

abuse. 

Question 4: What Is “Comes In Contact?” 

  “Comes in contact” is a more unfamiliar phrase that is also not defined in the statute or 

case law. A dictionary definition of “contact” includes “a touching or meeting” and “association 

or relationship (as in physical or mental or business or social meeting or communication).” 

Webster’s Third New International Dictionary 490 (unabridged ed 1993). That definition, and 

common usage, suggest that a lawyer is required to report elder abuse only when the lawyer 

has had some kind of physical or associational contact with a person who has abused an elder 

or with an elder who has been abused. This does not necessarily mean “in person” contact; 

telephone or even email or written contact would likely suffice. 

  The “comes in contact” requirement does not appear to modify the “reasonable cause” 

requirement. In other words, the statute does not appear to require reporting only when the 

lawyer learns of the abuse directly from the victim or the abuser. Reliable second- or third-hand 

information may provide reasonable cause to believe that abuse has occurred; reporting would 

then be required if the lawyer had come in contact with either the abuser or the victim. For 

example, if a neighbor tells a lawyer that she heard from another neighbor that an elder living 

down the street (with whom the lawyer has occasional contact) appears to have been abused, 

                                                 

2 The statute applied in Delp, which allows merchants to detain suspected shoplifters, has since 

been amended to require “probable cause” as opposed to “reasonable cause.” See 

ORS 131.655(1). 
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the lawyer may have reasonable cause to believe that abuse occurred if the lawyer believes the 

neighbors are reliable sources of information.  

  It is sometimes suggested, under a broad reading of the statute and its purpose, that 

“contact” includes knowledge of abuse even without any physical or associational contact with 

the victim or the abuser. The Attorney General does not interpret the statute so broadly, 

opining in another context that “physicians, psychologists and social workers who serve as 

members of the board of directors of a self-help child abuse prevention organization, but who 

do not provide direct services, are not required to report suspected child abuse when they 

acquire that information indirectly in their official capacities as board members.” Attorney 

General Letter of Advice to Sen Margie Hendriksen (OP-5543) (June 12, 1984). The basis for the 

opinion lies primarily in the fact that the list of mandatory reporters in Oregon consists of 

professionals and service providers who are most likely to come into direct contact with victims 

or perpetrators of child abuse. “We believe that if the drafter of [the statute] had intended to 

impose a mandatory reporting duty, violation of which is punishable by a substantial fine … , 

upon persons who merely have knowledge about child abuse, from whatever source, they 

would have said so clearly.” Id. 

Question 5: What Is Elder Abuse? 

  The elder abuse reporting statute identifies the types of conduct that constitute elder 

abuse:  

• Infliction of Pain or Physical Injury: Pain or injury caused by other than accidental means 

or apparently inconsistent with the explanation given for it. According to regulation, this 

includes force-feeding and all physical punishments. OAR 411-020-0002(a)(B)(ii). 

Physical abuse is presumed to injure and inflict pain upon someone who is non-

responsive. See OAR 411-020-0002(a)(C).  

• Abandonment or Neglect: This includes desertion as well as withholding caretaking 

responsibilities. 
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• Financial Exploitation: Defined in ORS 124.050(4). Wrongful taking of an elder’s 

property; a threat of taking that causes alarm to an elder; stealing or transferring 

account funds without authorization (even if jointly held); failing to use the elder’s 

resources effectively for their support.  

• Sex Abuse: Commission of a crime enumerated in the statute, including both public and 

private indecency. 

• Involuntary Seclusion: For convenience or discipline.  

• Wrongful Use of Physical or Chemical Restraints: Authorized medical or legal uses are 

excluded. 

ORS 124.050(1).  

Lawyers, like many mandatory reporters, may not be experts in identifying abuse and 

are not expected to be. The law does not require lawyers to conduct investigations into 

suspected abuse, but lawyers should make reasonable inquiries where possible to follow up on 

initial observations or information that appears to involve elder abuse, to ensure that they have 

“reasonable cause” to believe that abuse has occurred. The intent of the statute is to get at-risk 

seniors into a regulatory system where the circumstances will be evaluated and, as necessary, 

addressed by qualified professionals. Hence, the standard for reporting is only “reasonable 

cause,” not “certainty.”  

Question 6: Are There Any Exceptions To The Reporting Requirement? 

  There are three exceptions to the statutory reporting requirement:  

• Lawyers, together with clergy, psychiatrists, and psychologists, are not required to 

report information “communicated by a person if the communication is privileged under 

ORS 40.225 to 40.295 [OEC 503 – OEC 295].” ORS 124.060.  

• A lawyer is also not required to report elder abuse based on information communicated 

to the lawyer “in the course of representing a client if disclosure of the information 

would be detrimental to the client.” Id.  



 

Elder Abuse Reporting   7 

Oregon State Bar General Counsel’s Office 

Last Updated March 2016 

    

• “An elderly person who in good faith is voluntarily under treatment solely by spiritual 

means through prayer in accordance with the tenets and practices of a recognized 

church or religious denomination by a duly accredited practitioner thereof shall, for this 

reason alone, not be considered subjected to abuse by reason of neglect … .” 

ORS 124.095.  

The effect of these statutory exceptions to the duty to report is that most of the 

information a lawyer will be required to report will be that learned outside the lawyer’s “official 

capacity.” For instance, witnessing an act of abuse in a public place will trigger the reporting 

obligation, despite the fact that the lawyer may not have a lot of information to report. 

Similarly, information that a non-client friend or neighbor is abusing an elder, or is a victim of 

abuse, must be reported. 

A. Privileged Communications. 

The first exception relates to statutory privileges. Lawyers are not required to report 

information that is “privileged under ORS 40.225 to 40.295.” ORS 40.225 is OEC 503, the 

lawyer-client privilege.3 The reference, however, encompasses thirteen other privileges: 

psychotherapist-patient (OEC 504), physician-patient (OEC 504-1), nurse-patient (OEC 504-2), 

school employee-student (OEC 504-3), clinical social worker-client (OEC 504-4), husband-wife 

(OEC 505), clergy-penitent (OEC 506), counselor-client (OEC 507), stenographer-employer 

                                                 

3 A client has a privilege to refuse to disclose and to prevent any other person from disclosing 

confidential communications made for the purpose of facilitating the rendition of professional 

legal services to the client. A “confidential communication” is one that is “not intended to be 

disclosed to third persons other than those to whom disclosure is in furtherance of the 

rendition of professional legal services to the client or those reasonably necessary for the 

transmission of the communication.” Confidential communications include those (1) between 

the client or the client’s representative and the client’s lawyer or a representative of the 

lawyer, (2) between the client’s lawyer and the lawyer’s representative, (3) by the client or the 

client’s lawyer to a lawyer representing another in a matter of common interest, (4) between 

representatives of the client or between the client and a representative of a client, or (5) 

between lawyers representing the client. OEC 503. 
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(508A), public officer (OEC 509), disabled person-sign language interpreter (OEC 509-1), non-

English speaking person-interpreter (OEC 509-2), and informer (OEC 510).4 

Clearly, if a lawyer learns in a privileged communication with a client that the client has 

abused an elder, the lawyer is not required to report. What, however, of information protected 

by one of the other privileges contained in ORS 40.225 to 40.295? Can ORS 419B.010(1) be read 

to also exempt a lawyer from reporting information that is protected by any one of the other 

thirteen privileges even if it was not, for some reason, covered by the attorney-client privilege? 

For instance, what if the lawyer receives a report containing the client’s disclosure to a 

psychotherapist that the client committed abuse, but the client has never made the disclosure 

directly to the lawyer. Is the lawyer exempted from reporting the information because it is 

protected by the psychotherapist-patient privilege? Or is the psychotherapist-patient privilege 

lost when the report is delivered to the lawyer? The first question to ask in a situation such as 

the foregoing is whether the information continues to be privileged; if so, there remains the 

unanswered question of whether a lawyer is excepted from reporting information protected by 

the other privileges. 

Although the plain language of the statute suggests that lawyers, psychiatrists, 

psychologists and clergy are excused from reporting information protected by all the statutory 

privileges, there is no authority interpreting the scope of the privilege exception. Given that 

absence of authority and the broad protective purpose behind the statute, prudence may 

dictate a less expansive reading. 

B. Information Detrimental to Client if Disclosed.  

The second exception to mandatory reporting applies only to lawyers, and tracks to 

some extent a lawyer’s ethical obligation to protect confidential client information. Lawyers are 

prohibited by RPC 1.6(a) from revealing “information relating to the representation of a client.” 

“Information relating to the representation of a client” is defined in RPC 1.0(f) as both 

                                                 

4 Also included is OEC 512, “privileged matter disclosed under compulsion or without 

opportunity to claim privilege.” 
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“information protected by the lawyer-client privilege under applicable law” and “other 

information gained in a current or former professional relationship that the client has 

requested be held inviolate or the disclosure of which would be embarrassing or would be likely 

to be detrimental to the client.”5 

Clearly then, “information relating to the representation” is not limited to information 

that is privileged because communicated by the client. Information protected under Oregon 

RPC 1.6 includes information learned from witnesses and other third parties as well as 

information imparted by the client that is, for some reason, not covered by the privilege. All 

that is required is that it be gained during the course of the professional relationship between 

the lawyer and the client, and either that the client has requested it be “held inviolate” or that 

it would be embarrassing or detrimental to the client if revealed.  

In creating a statutory exception for only some of the information that would be 

protected by RPC 1.6, the legislature limited the reporting exception to information that would 

be detrimental (not merely embarrassing) to the client if disclosed. This appears to be the 

legislature’s way of reconciling the sanctity of the lawyer-client relationship with the interest of 

protecting elders from abuse. The legislature appears to have concluded that mere 

embarrassment to a client is not sufficient justification for the lawyer to ignore elder abuse. 

C. Treatment by Spiritual Means Through Prayer. 

This exception is not elaborated in case law or in regulation. Practitioners should note 

that it is very narrow. The treatment must be “voluntary”; beliefs of the caregiver are irrelevant 

to the determination of whether reporting is required. The treatment must be “through 

prayer.” It must be “in accordance with the tenets and practices of a recognized church or 

religious denomination” and conducted “by a duly accredited practitioner” of the church. Here 

as elsewhere, attorneys should err on the side of reporting and letting DHS evaluate the 

situation.  

  

                                                 

5 These are the definitions, respectively, of “confidences” and “secrets” from former DR 4-101. 
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Question 7: What If Someone Expresses The Intent To Commit An Act Of Elder Abuse?  

  ORS 124.060 mandates reporting only when there is reasonable cause to believe that an 

elder “has suffered abuse” or that a person “has abused a person 65 years of age or older.” It 

does not require advance reporting of possible future abuse, except where the future abuse 

constitutes “verbal abuse” under ORS 124.050(1)(f). “Verbal abuse” is defined in regulation to 

include “threatening significant physical harm or threatening or causing significant emotional 

harm to an adult … .” OAR 411-020-0002(1)(d)(A).  

  If the situation does not involve “verbal abuse” within the meaning of ORS 124.050(1)(f), 

reporting may still be possible.  RPC 1.6(b)(1) permits a lawyer to reveal confidential 

information to the extent the lawyer reasonably believes necessary “to disclose the intention of 

the lawyer’s client to commit a crime and the information necessary to prevent the crime.” 

There is also no lawyer-client privilege under OEC 503(4)(a) “if the services of the lawyer were 

sought or obtained to enable or aid anyone to commit or plan to commit what the client knew 

or reasonably should have known to be a crime or fraud.” RPC 1.6(b)(2) permits a lawyer to 

reveal information otherwise protected to the extent the lawyer reasonably believes necessary 

“to prevent reasonably certain death or substantial bodily harm,” whether or not a crime is 

involved. When used in reference to degree or extent, “substantial” denotes “a material matter 

of clear and weighty importance.” RPC 1.0(o). 

It is not clear that all incidents of elder abuse identified in the statute constitute crimes. 

A lawyer whose client has expressed a clear intention to commit elder abuse in the future 

should ascertain first whether the intended conduct is a crime or if it puts a person at risk of 

reasonably certain death or substantial bodily harm. If so, the lawyer may disclose information 

necessary to prevent the intended conduct.  

A voluntary report of suspected future abuse that is not required under ORS 124.060 is 

subject to the same statutory confidentiality and immunity as a mandatory report. See 

ORS 124.075; ORS 124.085; ORS 124.090.  
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Question 8: Are Lawyers Obligated to Report Elder Abuse Occurring Outside Of Oregon?  

  While all states have adopted some form of elder abuse prevention laws, the laws are 

not uniform and lawyers are not mandatory reporters in all jurisdictions. Lawyers who are 

licensed in multiple jurisdictions should be attentive to the statutory requirements of each 

jurisdiction as well as to the interplay between those statutory requirements and the 

disciplinary rules to which the lawyer is subject.  

  The scope of Oregon’s mandatory elder abuse reporting law is not clear with respect to 

incidents occurring outside of Oregon or involving abusers and victims who are not residents of 

Oregon. Nothing in the statute can be read to limit reporting only to incidents occurring within 

the state. The language of the statute sweeps broadly to include “any person 65 years of age or 

older” who has been abused and “any person” who has abused an elder.  

 A lawyer who wishes to act most cautiously should make a report to DHS of the out-of-

state incident and allow DHS to determine whether and how to deal with the information. 

Reporting in that circumstance does not violate any ethical responsibility of the lawyer or 

violate any right of the persons involved; moreover, it is consistent with the policy behind the 

DHS regulation that encourages encourage voluntary reporting. See OAR 411-020-0020(2).  

Question 9: What Type Of Report Is Required And To Whom Must It Be Made?  

  The statute requires that “an oral report be made immediately by telephone or 

otherwise … .”6 ORS 124.065(1). Reports must be made to the local office of the Department of 

Human Services or a law enforcement agency within the county where the person making the 

report is located at the time of the contact.  ORS 124.050(6) defines “law enforcement agency” 

to mean: 

• a city or municipal police department, 

• a county sheriff’s office,  

• the Oregon State Police,  

• a police department established by a university, or 

                                                 

6 The statewide telephone number for reporting suspected abuse is 1-855-503-SAFE (7233). 
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• any district attorney. 

The report must contain, if known: 

• the names and addresses of the elderly person and any persons responsible for care 

of the elderly person, 

• the nature and extent of the abuse, including any evidence of previous abuse, 

• the explanation given for the abuse, and 

• any other information that might be helpful in establishing the cause of the abuse 

and the identity of the perpetrator. 

ORS 124.065(1).  

When a report of a potential crime is received by DHS, it is required to notify law 

enforcement. ORS 124.065(2); see also ORS 124.065(3). When law enforcement receives a 

report of elder abuse, it is required to notify both DHS and the law enforcement agency having 

jurisdiction. ORS 124.065(4). 

Question 10: Are Elder Abuse Reports Confidential? 

  Notwithstanding Oregon’s public records law, “the names of the public or private official 

or any other person who made the complaint, the witnesses and the elderly persons, and the 

reports and records compiled under the [elder abuse reporting law], are confidential and are 

not accessible for public inspection. ORS 124.090(1). DHS is required to make the reports 

available in some circumstances and permitted to do so in other circumstances. 

ORS 124.090(2). Recipients of records under DHS’s mandatory or permissive disclosure 

authority are also required to maintain the confidentiality of the records. ORS 124.090(3).  

The confidentiality is not absolute, as a reporter may be required to testify in juvenile or 

criminal court proceedings relating to the report. In criminal proceedings, the alleged abuser’s 

constitutional right to confront witnesses would override the statutory confidentiality. 

  Confidentiality may be enhanced by reporting anonymously. While there is no 

requirement in the statute that the reporter identify him- or herself, it is also clear that the 

statute does not contemplate anonymous reporting, and it is likely not preferred by DHS. Law 

enforcement and DHS will accept anonymous reports. Because of the liability that can result 
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from not reporting, lawyers should weigh the desire for confidentiality with the possible need 

for proof that a report was in fact made as required. 

Question 11: What If I Am Wrong, And There Really Was No Abuse? 

  A person who acts in good faith in making a report of elder abuse, and who has 

reasonable grounds for doing so, is immune from civil or criminal liability for making the report 

and for the content of the report. Reporters have the same immunity with respect to their 

participation in any judicial proceeding resulting from the report. ORS 124.075(1); see also 

McDonald v. State of Oregon, 71 Or App 751, 694 P2d 569 (1984) (negligence claim against 

teacher dismissed because plaintiffs failed to assert any facts to negate teacher’s good faith and 

reasonable grounds to report child abuse, notwithstanding the fact that the report was later 

determined to be unfounded). 

  The efficacy of the foregoing immunity provision may be open to question, based on the  

Oregon Supreme Court’s decision in Smothers v. Gresham Transfer, Inc., 332 Or 83, 23 P3d 333 

(2001). That case held that the exclusive remedy of the workers’ compensation statutes 

violated Article I, Section 10, of the Oregon Constitution, to the extent that it left the plaintiff 

without a remedy for an injury not compensable under the workers’ compensation system. 

Similarly, the immunity granted by ORS 124.075(1) may conflict with the arguable common-law 

right of an alleged abuser to sue the abuse reporter for defamation. 

Question 12: Are Lawyers Liable For Not Reporting Elder Abuse?  

  As mentioned above, failure to report elder abuse when required under the statute is a 

Class A violation, punishable by a fine. The bar is aware of at least two cases in which a 

mandatory reporter (not a lawyer) was prosecuted for failing to report child abuse. In one case, 

the official informed the parents of the victim, who took immediate and apparently successful 

steps to protect her. The official also informed her supervisor. She was prosecuted for not 

reporting to DHS exactly as the statute required; she was eventually acquitted.  In another case, 

a mother who was also a mandatory reporter was found to have violated her duty when she 

failed to immediately report the abuse of her own daughter.  See Dep't of Human Servs. v. 

F.L.B., 255 Or App 709, 711–12, ___ P3d ___ (2013). 
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  Civil liability is also a possibility. There are no reported cases in Oregon imposing liability 

on mandatory reporters for failure to report elder abuse, but at least one jury has rendered a 

verdict in favor of a plaintiff based in part on the defendant’s failure to report child abuse. See 

Shin v. Sunriver Prep. School, 199 Or App 352, 111 P3d 352 (2005). A statutory tort theory may 

provide the basis for liability because the mandatory reporting statute “imposes a duty to 

protect a specified group of persons.” Scovill v. City of Astoria, 324 Or 159, 172, 921 P2d 1312 

(1996) (setting forth the statutory tort analysis in the context of the protective custody statute, 

ORS 430.399). In addition, the Court of Appeals has held that a child who had been sexually 

abused could state a claim for negligence against the Children’s Services Division (CSD) by 

alleging that CSD breached its statutory duty to investigate abuse allegations. Blachly v. 

Portland Police Dept., 135 Or App 109, 898 P2d 784 (1995). 

Question 13: What Does the Law Require the Oregon State Bar to Do in Connection with 

Elder Abuse Reporting?  

  The bar is required to ensure that attorneys complete one hour of training every three 

years regarding their obligations under the mandatory elder abuse reporting law. ORS 9.114.  

Question 14: Are Lawyers also Mandatory Reporters of Child Abuse?  

  Yes.  The parameters are similar to the elder abuse reporting requirement. A lawyer 

must report child abuse when he or she has reasonable cause to believe child abuse has 

occurred, and the lawyer has had contact with the potential victim or the alleged abuser. 

ORS 419B.010(1). The threshold for reporting is low, and the scope of abuse encompassed 

within the law is broad. Additional information may be found in a separate Q&A sheet on child 

abuse reporting. An exception is provided for information acquired in a privileged context. See 

id.  

Question 15: Are Lawyers Mandatory Reporters of Abuse in Other Contexts? 

 Yes.  First, in certain contexts, lawyers must report suspected abuse of people with 

developmental disabilities or mental illness. ORS 430.765(1) provides, “Any public or private 

official who has reasonable cause to believe that any adult with whom the official comes in 

contact while acting in an official capacity, has suffered abuse, or that any person with whom 

the official comes in contact while acting in an official capacity has abused an adult shall report 
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or cause a report to be made in the manner required in ORS 430.743.” The legislature has 

defined “public or private official” to include attorneys. ORS 430.735(12)(i). Under the statute, 

“Adult” means any person 18 years of age or older with “(a) A developmental disability who is 

currently receiving services from a community program or facility or was previously determined 

eligible for services as an adult by a community program or facility; or (b) A mental illness who 

is receiving services from a community program or facility.”  ORS 430.735(2). 

In addition, ORS 441.640 requires any public or private official to report abuse of a 

resident of a long-term care facility. The definition of “public or private official” in this section 

includes legal counsel for the resident, guardian or family member of the resident. ORS 

441.630(6)(h). Long-term care facility means “a facility with permanent facilities that include 

inpatient beds, providing medical services, including nursing services but excluding surgical 

procedures except as may be permitted by the rules of the director, to provide treatment for 

two or more unrelated patients.” ORS 442.015(2).  
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APPENDIX A 

OREGON REVISED STATUTES 2015 

REPORTING OF ELDER ABUSE 

 

      124.050 Definitions for ORS 124.050 to 

124.095. As used in ORS 124.050 to 

124.095: 

      (1) “Abuse” means one or more of the 

following: 

      (a) Any physical injury to an elderly 

person caused by other than accidental 

means, or which appears to be at variance 

with the explanation given of the injury. 

      (b) Neglect. 

      (c) Abandonment, including desertion or 

willful forsaking of an elderly person or the 

withdrawal or neglect of duties and 

obligations owed an elderly person by a 

caretaker or other person. 

      (d) Willful infliction of physical pain or 

injury upon an elderly person. 

      (e) An act that constitutes a crime under 

ORS 163.375, 163.405, 163.411, 163.415, 

163.425, 163.427, 163.465, 163.467 or 

163.525. 

      (f) Verbal abuse. 

      (g) Financial exploitation. 

      (h) Sexual abuse. 

      (i) Involuntary seclusion of an elderly 

person for the convenience of a caregiver or 

to discipline the person. 

      (j) A wrongful use of a physical or 

chemical restraint of an elderly person, 

excluding an act of restraint prescribed by a 

physician licensed under ORS chapter 677 

and any treatment activities that are 

consistent with an approved treatment plan 

or in connection with a court order. 

      (2) “Elderly person” means any person 

65 years of age or older who is not subject 

to the provisions of ORS 441.640 to 

441.665. 

      (3) “Facility” means: 

      (a) A long term care facility as that term 

is defined in ORS 442.015. 

      (b) A residential facility as that term is 

defined in ORS 443.400, including but not 

limited to an assisted living facility. 

      (c) An adult foster home as that term is 

defined in ORS 443.705. 

      (4) “Financial exploitation” means: 

      (a) Wrongfully taking the assets, funds 

or property belonging to or intended for the 

use of an elderly person or a person with a 

disability. 

      (b) Alarming an elderly person or a 

person with a disability by conveying a 

threat to wrongfully take or appropriate 

money or property of the person if the 

person would reasonably believe that the 

threat conveyed would be carried out. 

      (c) Misappropriating, misusing or 

transferring without authorization any 

money from any account held jointly or 

singly by an elderly person or a person with 

a disability. 

      (d) Failing to use the income or assets of 

an elderly person or a person with a 

disability effectively for the support and 

maintenance of the person. 

      (5) “Intimidation” means compelling or 

deterring conduct by threat. 

      (6) “Law enforcement agency” means: 

      (a) Any city or municipal police 

department. 

      (b) Any county sheriff’s office. 

      (c) The Oregon State Police. 

      (d) Any district attorney. 

      (e) A police department established by a 

university under ORS 352.121 or 353.125. 

      (7) “Neglect” means failure to provide 

basic care or services that are necessary to 

maintain the health or safety of an elderly 

person. 

      (8) “Person with a disability” means a 

person described in: 

      (a) ORS 410.040 (7); or 
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      (b) ORS 410.715. 

      (9) “Public or private official” means: 

      (a) Physician or physician assistant 

licensed under ORS chapter 677, 

naturopathic physician or chiropractor, 

including any intern or resident. 

      (b) Licensed practical nurse, registered 

nurse, nurse practitioner, nurse’s aide, 

home health aide or employee of an in-

home health service. 

      (c) Employee of the Department of 

Human Services or community 

developmental disabilities program. 

      (d) Employee of the Oregon Health 

Authority, local health department or 

community mental health program. 

      (e) Peace officer. 

      (f) Member of the clergy. 

      (g) Regulated social worker. 

      (h) Physical, speech or occupational 

therapist. 

      (i) Senior center employee. 

      (j) Information and referral or outreach 

worker. 

      (k) Licensed professional counselor or 

licensed marriage and family therapist. 

      (L) Member of the Legislative Assembly. 

      (m) Firefighter or emergency medical 

services provider. 

      (n) Psychologist. 

      (o) Provider of adult foster care or an 

employee of the provider. 

      (p) Audiologist. 

      (q) Speech-language pathologist. 

      (r) Attorney. 

      (s) Dentist. 

      (t) Optometrist. 

      (u) Chiropractor. 

      (v) Personal support worker, as defined 

by rule adopted by the Home Care 

Commission. 

      (w) Home care worker, as defined in ORS 

410.600. 

      (10) “Services” includes but is not 

limited to the provision of food, clothing, 

medicine, housing, medical services, 

assistance with bathing or personal hygiene 

or any other service essential to the well-

being of an elderly person. 

      (11)(a) “Sexual abuse” means: 

      (A) Sexual contact with an elderly person 

who does not consent or is considered 

incapable of consenting to a sexual act 

under ORS 163.315; 

      (B) Verbal or physical harassment of a 

sexual nature, including but not limited to 

severe or pervasive exposure to sexually 

explicit material or language; 

      (C) Sexual exploitation; 

      (D) Any sexual contact between an 

employee of a facility or paid caregiver and 

an elderly person served by the facility or 

caregiver; or 

      (E) Any sexual contact that is achieved 

through force, trickery, threat or coercion. 

      (b) “Sexual abuse” does not mean 

consensual sexual contact between an 

elderly person and: 

      (A) An employee of a facility who is also 

the spouse of the elderly person; or 

      (B) A paid caregiver. 

      (12) “Sexual contact” has the meaning 

given that term in ORS 163.305. 

      (13) “Verbal abuse” means to threaten 

significant physical or emotional harm to an 

elderly person or a person with a disability 

through the use of: 

      (a) Derogatory or inappropriate names, 

insults, verbal assaults, profanity or ridicule; 

or 

      (b) Harassment, coercion, threats, 

intimidation, humiliation, mental cruelty or 

inappropriate sexual comments.  

  

      124.055 Policy. The Legislative Assembly 

finds that for the purpose of preventing 

abuse, safeguarding and enhancing the 

welfare of elderly persons, it is necessary 

and in the public interest to require 
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mandatory reports and investigations of 

allegedly abused elderly persons. 

  

      124.060 Duty of officials to report; 

exception. Any public or private official 

having reasonable cause to believe that any 

person 65 years of age or older with whom 

the official comes in contact has suffered 

abuse, or that any person with whom the 

official comes in contact has abused a 

person 65 years of age or older, shall report 

or cause a report to be made in the manner 

required in ORS 124.065. Nothing contained 

in ORS 40.225 to 40.295 affects the duty to 

report imposed by this section, except that 

a psychiatrist, psychologist, member of the 

clergy or attorney is not required to report 

such information communicated by a 

person if the communication is privileged 

under ORS 40.225 to 40.295. An attorney is 

not required to make a report under this 

section by reason of information 

communicated to the attorney in the course 

of representing a client if disclosure of the 

information would be detrimental to the 

client.  

  

      124.065 Method of reporting; content; 

notice to law enforcement agency and to 

department. (1) When a report is required 

under ORS 124.060, an oral report shall be 

made immediately by telephone or 

otherwise to the local office of the 

Department of Human Services or to a law 

enforcement agency within the county 

where the person making the report is at 

the time of contact. If known, such reports 

shall contain the names and addresses of 

the elderly person and any persons 

responsible for the care of the elderly 

person, the nature and the extent of the 

abuse (including any evidence of previous 

abuse), the explanation given for the abuse 

and any other information which the person 

making the report believes might be helpful 

in establishing the cause of the abuse and 

the identity of the perpetrator. 

      (2) When a report of a possible crime is 

received by the department under ORS 

124.060, the department or the designee of 

the department shall notify the law 

enforcement agency having jurisdiction 

within the county where the report was 

made. If the department or the designee of 

the department is unable to gain access to 

the allegedly abused elderly person, the 

department or the designee of the 

department may contact the law 

enforcement agency for assistance and the 

agency shall provide assistance. 

      (3) If the department or the designee of 

the department determines that there is 

reason to believe a crime has been 

committed, the department or the designee 

of the department shall immediately notify 

the law enforcement agency having 

jurisdiction within the county where the 

report was made. The law enforcement 

agency shall confirm to the department or 

the designee of the department its receipt 

of the notification. 

      (4) When a report is received by a law 

enforcement agency, the agency shall 

immediately notify the law enforcement 

agency having jurisdiction if the receiving 

agency does not. The receiving agency shall 

also immediately notify the local office of 

the department in the county where the 

report was made. 

  

      124.070 Duty to investigate; notice to 

law enforcement agency and department; 

written findings; review by district 

attorney. (1) Upon receipt of the report 

required under ORS 124.060, the 

Department of Human Services or the law 

enforcement agency shall cause an 

investigation to be commenced promptly to 

determine the nature and cause of the 

abuse. The investigation shall include a visit 
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to the named elderly person and 

communication with those individuals 

having knowledge of the facts of the 

particular case. If the alleged abuse occurs 

in a residential facility, the department shall 

conduct an investigation regardless of 

whether the suspected abuser continues to 

be employed by the facility. 

      (2) If the department finds reasonable 

cause to believe that a crime has occurred, 

the department shall notify in writing the 

appropriate law enforcement agency. If the 

law enforcement agency conducting the 

investigation finds reasonable cause to 

believe that abuse has occurred, the agency 

shall notify the department in writing. Upon 

completion of the evaluation of each case, 

the department shall prepare written 

findings that include recommended action 

and a determination of whether protective 

services are needed. 

      (3) After receiving notification from the 

department that there is reasonable cause 

to believe that a crime has occurred, a law 

enforcement agency shall notify the 

department: 

      (a) That there will be no criminal 

investigation, including an explanation of 

why there will be no criminal investigation; 

      (b) That the investigative findings have 

been given to the district attorney for 

review; or 

      (c) That a criminal investigation will take 

place. 

      (4) If a law enforcement agency gives 

the findings of the department to the 

district attorney for review, the district 

attorney shall notify the department that 

the district attorney has received the 

findings and shall inform the department 

whether the findings have been received 

for review or for filing charges. A district 

attorney shall make the determination of 

whether to file charges within six months of 

receiving the findings of the department. 

      (5) If a district attorney files charges 

stemming from the findings of the 

department and the district attorney makes 

a determination not to proceed to trial, the 

district attorney shall notify the department 

of the determination and shall include 

information explaining the basis for the 

determination. 

  

      124.071 Deadline to complete abuse 

investigation; exception; written report 

required. (1) Investigations commenced by 

the Department of Human Services 

pursuant to ORS 124.070 must be 

completed by the department on or before 

120 days after receipt of the report of 

abuse made under ORS 124.060, unless 

there is an ongoing concurrent criminal 

investigation, in which case the department 

may take a reasonable amount of additional 

time in which to complete the investigation. 

      (2) Upon completion of an investigation 

in accordance with subsection (1) of this 

section, a written report shall be prepared 

that includes information as required by 

rule adopted by the department, including 

but not limited to the following: 

      (a) The date and location of the report 

of abuse and of the incident of abuse that 

was reported; 

      (b) The dates that the investigation was 

commenced and completed and by what 

entity; 

      (c) A description of documents and 

records reviewed during the investigation; 

      (d) An identification of any witness 

statements that were obtained during the 

investigation; and 

      (e) A statement of the factual basis for 

any findings and a summary of the findings 

made as a result of the investigation. 
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      124.072 Required disclosure of 

protected health information to law 

enforcement agency; liability for 

disclosure. (1) Upon notice by a law 

enforcement agency that an investigation 

into abuse is being conducted under ORS 

124.070, and without the consent of the 

named elderly person or of the named 

elderly person’s caretaker, fiduciary or 

other legal representative, a health care 

provider must: 

      (a) Permit the law enforcement agency 

to inspect and copy, or otherwise obtain, 

protected health information of the named 

elderly person; and 

      (b) Upon request of the law 

enforcement agency, consult with the 

agency about the protected health 

information. 

      (2) A health care provider who in good 

faith discloses protected health information 

under this section is not civilly or criminally 

liable under state law for the disclosure. 

      (3) For purposes of this section: 

      (a) “Health care provider” has the 

meaning given that term in ORS 192.556. 

      (b) “Protected health information” has 

the meaning given that term in ORS 

192.556. 

  

      124.073 Training for abuse 

investigators. (1) The Department of 

Human Services shall: 

      (a) Using new or existing materials, 

develop and implement a training and 

continuing education curriculum for 

persons other than law enforcement 

officers required by law to investigate 

allegations of abuse under ORS 124.070 or 

441.650. The curriculum shall address the 

areas of training and education necessary to 

facilitate the skills required to investigate 

reports of abuse, including, but not limited 

to, risk assessment, investigatory technique, 

evidence gathering and report writing. 

      (b) Using new or existing materials, 

develop and implement training for persons 

that provide care to vulnerable persons to 

facilitate awareness of the dynamics of 

abuse, abuse prevention strategies and 

early detection of abuse. 

      (2) For purposes of this section, 

“vulnerable person” means a person 65 

years of age or older. 

  

      124.075 Immunity of person making 

report in good faith; identity confidential. 

(1) Anyone participating in good faith in the 

making of a report of elder abuse and who 

has reasonable grounds for making the 

report shall have immunity from any 

criminal or civil liability that might 

otherwise be incurred or imposed with 

respect to the making or content of such 

report. Any such participant shall have the 

same immunity with respect to 

participating in any judicial proceeding 

resulting from such report. 

      (2) The identity of the person making 

the report shall be treated as confidential 

information and shall be disclosed only with 

the consent of that person or by judicial 

process, or as required to perform the 

functions under ORS 124.070. 

  

      124.077 Immunity for disclosure to 

prospective employer. A person who has 

personal knowledge that an employee or 

former employee of the person was found 

by the Department of Human Services, a 

law enforcement agency or a court to have 

committed abuse under ORS 124.005 to 

124.040, 124.050 to 124.095 or 124.100 to 

124.140, is immune from civil liability for 

the disclosure to a prospective employer of 

the employee or former employee of 

known facts concerning the abuse. 
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      124.080 Photographing of victim; 

photograph as record. (1) In carrying out its 

duties under ORS 124.070 a law 

enforcement agency or the Department of 

Human Services may photograph or cause 

to have photographed any victim who is the 

subject of the investigation for purposes of 

preserving evidence of the condition of the 

victim at the time of the investigation. 

      (2) For purposes of ORS 124.090, 

photographs taken under authority of 

subsection (1) of this section shall be 

considered records. 

  

      124.085 Catalog of abuse records; 

confidentiality. A proper record of 

complaints made under ORS 124.060 and 

124.065 shall be maintained by the 

Department of Human Services. The 

department shall prepare reports in writing 

when investigation has shown that the 

condition of the elderly person was the 

result of abuse even if the cause remains 

unknown. The complaints and investigative 

reports shall be cataloged under the name 

of the victim but shall be treated as 

confidential information subject to ORS 

124.090, and shall be disclosed only with 

the consent of that person or by judicial 

process. 

  

      124.087 Policies and guidelines to plan 

for development and standardization of 

certain resources and technologies. The 

Department of Human Services shall adopt 

policies and guidelines to plan for the 

development and standardization of 

resources and technologies to: 

      (1) Create a database, registry or other 

electronic record of reports of abuse made 

under ORS 124.060 and 441.640 and 

investigations of abuse conducted pursuant 

to ORS 124.070 and 441.650 with 

information including, but not limited to: 

      (a) The date and location of the report 

of abuse and the incident of abuse that was 

reported; 

      (b) If applicable, the date that the initial 

status report required under ORS 441.650 

was completed and a summary of the 

information required to be contained in the 

initial status report as set forth in ORS 

441.650; 

      (c) The date that the investigation was 

commenced and by what entity; 

      (d) Any actions taken during the course 

of the investigation, including but not 

limited to the actions required under ORS 

441.650 (6); 

      (e) The date that a written report, 

including but not limited to the written 

report required under ORS 124.071 and 

441.650 (6), was completed and a summary 

of the information contained in the written 

report; and 

      (f) The disposition of the report of abuse 

or the investigation of the report, including 

but not limited to the date and time that 

the investigation, if applicable, was 

completed and the date that a letter of 

determination under ORS 441.677 was 

prepared; 

      (2) Standardize procedures and 

protocols for making and responding to 

reports of abuse made under ORS 124.060 

and 441.640; 

      (3) Standardize procedures and 

protocols for investigations of reports of 

abuse conducted pursuant to ORS 124.070 

and 441.650; and 

      (4) Promote and coordinate 

communication and information sharing 

with law enforcement agencies regarding 

reports and investigations of abuse under 

ORS 124.060, 124.070, 441.640 and 

441.650.  
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      124.090 Confidentiality of records; 

exceptions. (1) Notwithstanding the 

provisions of ORS 192.410 to 192.505, the 

names of the public or private official or any 

other person who made the complaint, the 

witnesses and the elderly persons, and the 

reports and records compiled under the 

provisions of ORS 124.050 to 124.095, are 

confidential and are not accessible for 

public inspection. 

      (2) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of 

this section, the Department of Human 

Services or the department’s designee may, 

if appropriate, make the names of the 

witnesses and the elderly persons, and the 

reports and records compiled under ORS 

124.050 to 124.095, available to: 

      (a) A law enforcement agency; 

      (b) A public agency that licenses or 

certifies residential facilities or licenses or 

certifies the persons practicing in the 

facilities; 

      (c) A public agency or private nonprofit 

agency or organization providing protective 

services for the elderly person; 

      (d) The Long Term Care Ombudsman; 

      (e) A public agency that licenses or 

certifies a person that has abused or is 

alleged to have abused an elderly person; 

      (f) A court pursuant to a court order or 

as provided in ORS 125.012; and 

      (g) An administrative law judge in an 

administrative proceeding when necessary 

to provide protective services as defined in 

ORS 410.040 to an elderly person, when in 

the best interests of the elderly person or 

when necessary to investigate, prevent or 

treat abuse of an elderly person. 

      (3) Information made available under 

subsection (2) of this section, and the 

recipient of the information, are otherwise 

subject to the confidentiality provisions of 

ORS 124.050 to 124.095.  

  

      124.095 Spiritual treatment not abuse. 

An elderly person who in good faith is 

voluntarily under treatment solely by 

spiritual means through prayer in 

accordance with the tenets and practices of 

a recognized church or religious 

denomination by a duly accredited 

practitioner thereof shall, for this reason 

alone, not be considered subjected to 

abuse by reason of neglect under ORS 

124.050 to 124.095. 
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APPENDIX B 

OREGON REVISED STATUTES 2015 

PRIVILEGES 

 

      40.225 Rule 503. Lawyer-client 

privilege. (1) As used in this section, unless 

the context requires otherwise: 

      (a) “Client” means a person, public 

officer, corporation, association or other 

organization or entity, either public or 

private, who is rendered professional legal 

services by a lawyer, or who consults a 

lawyer with a view to obtaining professional 

legal services from the lawyer. 

      (b) “Confidential communication” means 

a communication not intended to be 

disclosed to third persons other than those 

to whom disclosure is in furtherance of the 

rendition of professional legal services to 

the client or those reasonably necessary for 

the transmission of the communication. 

      (c) “Lawyer” means a person authorized, 

or reasonably believed by the client to be 

authorized, to practice law in any state or 

nation. 

      (d) “Representative of the client” means: 

      (A) A principal, an officer or a director of 

the client; or 

      (B) A person who has authority to obtain 

professional legal services, or to act on legal 

advice rendered, on behalf of the client, or 

a person who, for the purpose of 

effectuating legal representation for the 

client, makes or receives a confidential 

communication while acting in the person’s 

scope of employment for the client. 

      (e) “Representative of the lawyer” 

means one employed to assist the lawyer in 

the rendition of professional legal services, 

but does not include a physician making a 

physical or mental examination under ORCP 

44. 

      (2) A client has a privilege to refuse to 

disclose and to prevent any other person 

from disclosing confidential 

communications made for the purpose of 

facilitating the rendition of professional 

legal services to the client: 

      (a) Between the client or the client’s 

representative and the client’s lawyer or a 

representative of the lawyer; 

      (b) Between the client’s lawyer and the 

lawyer’s representative; 

      (c) By the client or the client’s lawyer to 

a lawyer representing another in a matter 

of common interest; 

      (d) Between representatives of the 

client or between the client and a 

representative of the client; or 

      (e) Between lawyers representing the 

client. 

      (3) The privilege created by this section 

may be claimed by the client, a guardian or 

conservator of the client, the personal 

representative of a deceased client, or the 

successor, trustee, or similar representative 

of a corporation, association, or other 

organization, whether or not in existence. 

The person who was the lawyer or the 

lawyer’s representative at the time of the 

communication is presumed to have 

authority to claim the privilege but only on 

behalf of the client. 

      (4) There is no privilege under this 

section: 

      (a) If the services of the lawyer were 

sought or obtained to enable or aid anyone 

to commit or plan to commit what the 

client knew or reasonably should have 

known to be a crime or fraud; 

      (b) As to a communication relevant to an 

issue between parties who claim through 

the same deceased client, regardless of 

whether the claims are by testate or 

intestate succession or by inter vivos 

transaction; 



 

Oregon Revised Statutes (2015)   24 

      (c) As to a communication relevant to an 

issue of breach of duty by the lawyer to the 

client or by the client to the lawyer; 

      (d) As to a communication relevant to an 

issue concerning an attested document to 

which the lawyer is an attesting witness; or 

      (e) As to a communication relevant to a 

matter of common interest between two or 

more clients if the communication was 

made by any of them to a lawyer retained 

or consulted in common, when offered in 

an action between any of the clients. 

      (5) Notwithstanding ORS 40.280, a 

privilege is maintained under this section 

for a communication made to the office of 

public defense services established under 

ORS 151.216 for the purpose of seeking 

preauthorization for or payment of 

nonroutine fees or expenses under ORS 

135.055. 

      (6) Notwithstanding subsection (4)(c) of 

this section and ORS 40.280, a privilege is 

maintained under this section for a 

communication that is made to the office of 

public defense services established under 

ORS 151.216 for the purpose of making, or 

providing information regarding, a 

complaint against a lawyer providing public 

defense services. 

      (7) Notwithstanding ORS 40.280, a 

privilege is maintained under this section 

for a communication ordered to be 

disclosed under ORS 192.410 to 192.505.  

 

      40.252 Rule 504-5. Communications 

revealing intent to commit certain crimes. 

(1) In addition to any other limitations on 

privilege that may be imposed by law, there 

is no privilege under ORS 40.225, 40.230, 

40.250 or 40.264 for communications if: 

      (a) In the professional judgment of the 

person receiving the communications, the 

communications reveal that the declarant 

has a clear and serious intent at the time 

the communications are made to 

subsequently commit a crime involving 

physical injury, a threat to the physical 

safety of any person, sexual abuse or death 

or involving an act described in ORS 

167.322; 

      (b) In the professional judgment of the 

person receiving the communications, the 

declarant poses a danger of committing the 

crime; and 

      (c) The person receiving the 

communications makes a report to another 

person based on the communications. 

      (2) The provisions of this section do not 

create a duty to report any communication 

to any person. 

      (3) A person who discloses a 

communication described in subsection (1) 

of this section, or fails to disclose a 

communication described in subsection (1) 

of this section, is not liable to any other 

person in a civil action for any damage or 

injury arising out of the disclosure or failure 

to disclose.  
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APPENDIX C 

Selected Oregon Rules of Professional Conduct 

(As amended, effective February 19, 2015) 

 

Rule 1.0  Terminology  

 

(f) “Information relating to the 

representation of a client” denotes both 

information protected by the attorney-

client privilege under applicable law, and 

other information gained in a current or 

former professional relationship that the 

client has requested be held inviolate or the 

disclosure of which would be embarrassing 

or would be likely to be detrimental to the 

client. 

 

Rule 1.6 Confidentiality of Information 

(a) A lawyer shall not reveal information 

relating to the representation of a client 

unless the client gives informed consent, 

the disclosure is impliedly authorized in 

order to carry out the representation or the 

disclosure is permitted by paragraph (b). 

(b) A lawyer may reveal information relating 

to the representation of a client to the 

extent the lawyer reasonably believes 

necessary: 

(1) to disclose the intention of the lawyer's 

client to commit a crime and the 

information necessary to prevent the crime; 

(2) to prevent reasonably certain death or 

substantial bodily harm;  

(3) to secure legal advice about the lawyer's 

compliance with these Rules; 

(4) to establish a claim or defense on behalf 

of the lawyer in a controversy between the 

lawyer and the client, to establish a defense 

to a criminal charge or civil claim against 

the lawyer based upon conduct in which the 

client was involved, or to respond to 

allegations in any proceeding concerning 

the lawyer's representation of the client;  

(5) to comply with other law, court order, or 

as permitted by these Rules; or 

(6) in connection with the sale of a law 

practice under Rule 1.17 or to detect and 

resolve conflicts of interest arising from the 

lawyer’s change of employment or from 

changes in the composition or ownership of 

a firm. In those circumstances, a lawyer 

may disclose with respect to each affected 

client the client's identity. the identities of 

any adverse parties, the nature and extent 

of the legal services involved, and fee and 

payment information, but only if the 

information revealed would not 

compromise the attorney-client privilege or 

otherwise prejudice any of the clients. The 

lawyer or lawyers receiving the information 

shall have the same responsibilities as the 

disclosing lawyer to preserve the 

information regardless of the outcome of 

the contemplated transaction. 

(7) to comply with the terms of a diversion 

agreement, probation, conditional 

reinstatement or conditional admission 

pursuant to BR 2.10, BR 6.2, BR 8.7or Rule 

for Admission Rule 6.15. A lawyer serving as 

a monitor of another lawyer on diversion, 

probation, conditional reinstatement or 

conditional admission shall have the same 

responsibilities as the monitored lawyer to 

preserve information relating to the 

representation of the monitored lawyer’s 

clients, except to the extent reasonably 

necessary to carry out the monitoring 

lawyer’s responsibilities under the terms of 

the diversion, probation, conditional 
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reinstatement or conditional admission and 

in any proceeding relating thereto. 

(c) A lawyer shall make reasonable efforts 

to prevent the inadvertent or unauthorized 

disclosure of, or unauthorized access to, 

information relating to the representation 

of a client. 

 


