
Filing a Motion for Relief from Failure to Appear Judgment on a Parking Citation 
In the Circuit Court of the State of Oregon for Multnomah County 

 
Under Oregon law, the court may enter judgment against a person who does not appear on a parking citation. ORS 
153.820. Because the bail amount doubles if the defendant does not appear within 30 days from issuance of the ticket, a 
person who posts only the original bail amount after the 30 day period has expired and the bail has doubled has not 
made an “appearance” as required by court rule. Supplementary Local Rule 17.015 and 17.067. Judgments entered 
under ORS 153.820 are termed “failure to appear” judgments and the financial obligation imposed on the judgment is the 
full amount of the bail due. The judgment is owed to the State of Oregon. 
 
A failure to appear judgment based on a parking citation does not become a lien on real property of the debtor, but failure 
to pay the judgment will result in referral of the judgment to the Oregon Department of Revenue (DOR) or to a private 
agency for collection. 
 
Oregon allows you to request that the failure to appear judgment be set aside. Pursuant to ORS 153.820(7), this request 
must be made within one year from the date of entry of the judgment. You must establish good cause for the court to set 
aside the judgment. For a judge to consider whether relief should be granted you need to accomplish the following steps 
using the form of motion and declaration supplied to you with these instructions. 
 

(1) You must file the motion requesting relief from the judgment and the motion must be supported by a sworn 
statement, a declaration.  The sworn statement must set out the reasons why you are entitled to relief from the 
judgment. When signing the sworn statement, you declare, to the best of your knowledge and belief, that the 
statement is true and can be used as evidence in court.  The sworn statement is subject to penalty for perjury. (2). 

 
(2)  Complete the Motion for Relief from Default Judgment and Order.  Fill in the blanks on the top portion of the 

motion:  your name, citation number(s), date and sign.  
 

(3)  Complete the Declaration in Support of Motion for Relief from Default Judgment.  Fill in your name and the citation 
number(s).  Provide your sworn statement, related to the specific citation(s), that you wish the court to consider.  

 
(4)  Deposit with the court the full amount of the financial obligation which remains outstanding in the judgment. This 

payment must accompany the motion and declaration for relief at the time of filing with the court. The motion and 
declaration will not be submitted to a judge for review unless the full amount of the financial obligation is 
deposited into court at the time the motion is filed. Payment may be made on-line at 

www.courts.oregon.gov/Multnomah or by check, money order or cash [Note: Cash payments must be made 

at the courthouse, not by mail]. 

 (5) File the original motion and declaration, together with the required deposit for the remaining financial obligation (if 
payment is made on-line, court staff will identify that your payment has been made).  For in-person payment, go to 
Parking Citation Office, Room 106, Multnomah County Courthouse, 1021 S.W. 4th Avenue, Portland, OR, 97204. 
The mailing address is: Multnomah County Circuit Court, Parking Citation Office, P. O. Box 78, Portland, OR 
97207-0178. 

 
When payment is confirmed, the clerk will forward the motion and declaration to the judge.  The court may allow or deny 
the motion without a hearing or may require a hearing. If the court requires a hearing you will be notified and must appear 
at the hearing to provide further information to the court in support of the motion. 
 
If the court allows the motion, the court will set aside the failure to appear judgment and order the clerk to set the case(s) 
for trial and notify the parties (the officer and defendant) of the trial date. The money posted with the motion will be held by 
the court until the conclusion of the case. 
The court may deny the motion and leave the judgment in full force and effect. In addition, if the court denies the motion, 
the court may order that money posted with the motion is to be applied to the judgment owed the State. 
 
Allow 60 days after filing the motion and declaration before inquiring with the Parking Citation Office, regarding the judge’s 
decision on your motion. The telephone number to the Parking Citation Office is: (503) 988-3235, Option 2. 
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IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON 

FOR MULTNOMAH COUNTY 
1021 SW 4th Avenue 
Portland, OR  97204 

503.988.3235 
 
 

STATE OF OREGON,   ) Citation No. _______________________ 
      ) 
   Plaintiff,  ) 
 vs.     ) DECLARATION IN SUPPORT OF MOTION  
      ) FOR RELIEF FROM DEFAULT FAILURE TO  
________________________________, ) APPEAR JUDGMENT 
              Defendant.  ) 
 
 
 
I, ___________________________________, the above-named defendant, under oath, depose and say: 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
I hereby declare that the above statement is true to the best of my knowledge and belief, and that I understand it is made 
for use as evidence in court and subject to penalty for perjury. 
 
 
Date_________________________    ____________________________________________ 
          Signature 
 
 
        ____________________________________________ 
         Print Name 
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IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON 

FOR MULTNOMAH COUNTY 
1021 SW 4th Avenue 
Portland, OR  97204 

503.988.3235 
 

 
STATE OF OREGON,    ) Citation No. _______________ 
     Plaintiff, ) 
 vs.      ) MOTION FOR RELIEF FROM  

  ) FAILURE TO APPEAR JUDGMENT 
______________________________________ ) AND ORDER 
     Defendant. ) 
 
Defendant moves this court for an Order granting relief from a failure to appear judgment in the above-entitled case. The 
motion is supported by the attached declaration which sets forth the defendant’s ground for relief from the judgment. 
 
 
Dated this _________ day of ______________, 20________. 
 

Respectfully submitted, 
 
        ________________________________ 

Defendant’s signature 
 

Points and Authorities: 
ORS 153.820(7) [parking statute]: 
Supplemental Local Rule 17.067 [parking court rules]. 

 
ORDER ON MOTION FOR RELIEF FROM JUDGMENT 

 
The Court, having reviewed the declaration of the defendant, FINDS: 
 

 The declaration set forth sufficient grounds upon which relief from the judgment entered under ORS 153.820 and 
the motion is granted. 

 The declaration does not set forth sufficient grounds required by ORS 153.820(7) for relief from the judgment, the 
motion is denied. 

  The defendant’s motion was not filed within one year of the entry of judgment under ORS 153.820, relief from the 
judgment is not permitted by law, and the motion is denied. 
 

NOW, THEREFORE, THE COURT ORDERS that: 

 The judgment is set aside, the clerk shall set the action for trial and notify the parties of the date set and the bail 
posted is continued, pending final resolution of this action. 

 The judgment remains in full force and effect and the bail posted is to be applied to the judgment. 

 Fine(s) reduced to $_________________________ plus any late payment fees and collections fees required by 
statute, ORS 1.202, which cannot be waived or suspended by the court. 

 Other______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
SIGNED this _______ day of ___________________, 20_________. 
     

_____________________________________________ 
   Judge’s Signature 
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